Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

PS I believe CDB may actually be more expensive than traditional... could be wrong. I know someone setting up a shop overseas and they're selling a gram for 10 euro. How does that compare? Pretty similar I feel.

It's funny, I have lots of international friends. The French people I know are the happiest most good natured people I know. I was out with my US mates the other night and they are as down beat as ****. One is from New York and has a very pessimistic outlook. They are lefties though and see the Trump regime as the dark years.

I know plenty of Aussies that are pretty bleak about the future too. It's just a bit of a mixed bag where ever you're from.
i gotta shaddow you observations .... ive travelled a fair bit so i have got friends in most corners of the world and i gotta agree for the most part my american friends are turning very pessimistic , they used to be very positive "life is great" people but now its a fair bit bleaker (that may be an aspect of getting older though)
my dutch friends are by far the happiest (and not cause the weed, hookers and booze) they seem to have the ballance right between work and life they are by no means rich but they are content and comfortable , their kids are also among the brightest and most creative and fun loving in the world..

my Singaporean friends are the most stressed out of the lot ... litterally everyone of them is insecure about work, money, bills ect everyone of them are in desperate need to take a holiday cause i can see them working themselves into the ground

my australian friends and workmates are all just agro.. ive noticed it in myself as well for no reason at all i find myself beeing angry more and more , i get frustrated over things that really i should let go... its noticable to the point where im taking steps to adress it but for the best part i think Anger is an over whelming emotion in our country at the moment.

Nostalgia is the ultimate use of confirmation bias. Things weren't that much better in the so-called good old days, if at all. We choose to remember things that comfort us and reinforce our world view. I'll never forget stories my dad told me about POW camp in WW2. Almost made it sound like a holiday camp where everyone got up to mischief. There were snippets of reality that occasionally slipped through, balancing the nostalgia ledger somewhat.
i think the thing that gets me the most is the 65 year old boomers who make these comments like the country needs to bring back conscription force the youth of today to do national service to straighten them up .. this is a generation who fought to end national service this is a generation who were seeing their friends anf family getting sent to war and said no enough is enough ... now they want to push that back onto this generation...

my australian friends and workmates are all just agro.. ive noticed it in myself as well for no reason at all i find myself beeing angry more and more , i get frustrated over things that really i should let go... its noticable to the point where im taking steps to adress it but for the best part i think Anger is an over whelming emotion in our country at the moment.
Funny you say this Trav, just the other day I was having a yarn with one of our subby drivers and we both were saying the same thing. We get over emotional and invested in things that we should be past investing so much emotion into. Just stupid, everyday things like the price of screws or bolts at Bunnings. Things that are inconsequential.
In my younger years I spent a bit of time with the padre doing an anger management course. I'm not sure the overall content has helped in any way but some of the exercises I find myself using more and more frequently....maybe we're just turning into grumpy old men?

I watch zero FTA TV these days, it's not just because it's all in French! It's all garbage here too, but I have a few British mates here with UK satellites and their TV seems even worse. I don't have much time for UK culture these days, bar watching Liverpool FC. I have Netflix my Saints membership gives me the WatchAFL channel for the footy and watch a few things on YouTube; thats enough for me. The news is the same as it ever was; take it all with a pinch of salt.
French news is funny, guaranteed to have one report about food every day, and then of course there's the nightly 3 hour debate about anything at all; ******s are obsessed with bloody food and arguing.

This thread is pretty cool, I've never really read it.

I'm also extremely picky about FTA TV, weeks will go by where I don't watch a thing besides AFL (game, not discussion).

News programs are another story again....

Funny you say this Trav, just the other day I was having a yarn with one of our subby drivers and we both were saying the same thing. We get over emotional and invested in things that we should be past investing so much emotion into. Just stupid, everyday things like the price of screws or bolts at Bunnings. Things that are inconsequential.
In my younger years I spent a bit of time with the padre doing an anger management course. I'm not sure the overall content has helped in any way but some of the exercises I find myself using more and more frequently....maybe we're just turning into grumpy old men?
maybe its a part of getting older ... maybe its in part our diet .. maybe its the non-personal interatctions we have now days .. maybe its the climate both political and physical .. maybe its our access to information.. maybe its our need to have our opinion vocalised and accepted .. or maybe we are just being conditioned to be less trusting and that in turn brings up differant emotions based on our environment for us it brings anger , for the americans it brings sadness/hopelessness for the Singaporeans it brings feelings of inadequacy and nervousness... Maybe the dutch have got it figured out ???

We came to the conclusion we were tired of having our time wasted and being bullshit to - hence why we were frustrated in our day to day dealings with people. We isolated it down to the point we began feeling over emotional to when the conversation got to the point of being inane, condescending or repetitive.
I walked away thinking we had either made a profound discovery or more likely were over-analysing and talking crap. Still, it made me realise some trigger points and at least now i can be mindful of it and a little more patient.

Football related, Saints disco random discussion - not sure where to put this.

I went to the Community Cup on Saturday at Victoria Park.

Great Melbourne football experience. The game reminded me so much of the current AFL - a rolling scrum broken up by flashes of football brilliance.

Highlights had to be in the second quarter when the Rock Dogs were kicking with the wind. Not much happening in defence so Kram ( Spiderbait), Ash Naylor (The Stems and Even) and some else I couldn't pick out set up the drum kit and some amps in the goal square and started cracking out a couple of tunes.

The other highlight was when Kutcha Edwards told the crowd to remember the Nicky Winmar incident and pointed to the wing - got a great cheer from the crowd.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

i think the thing that gets me the most is the 65 year old boomers who make these comments like the country needs to bring back conscription force the youth of today to do national service to straighten them up .. this is a generation who fought to end national service this is a generation who were seeing their friends anf family getting sent to war and said no enough is enough ... now they want to push that back onto this generation...
St trav I haven't heard one credible person run that line.

Nut jobs, shock jocks and maybe a Pauline Hanson type.

As a matter of interest I always had the impression WA was a bit of a readneck wonderland.

Is this the sort of thing you hear there or was in from elsewhere and is that true of WA.

I've never heard of the first one! Nah, not a boy band fan or middle aged man band fan. But actually Nakai from SMAP grew on me. Can't sing for crap but seems like a really great guy. The others I'd be happy to never see again.

But yeah anything by the Downtown guys, Ametalk and loads of the annual comedy specials. Some of the Dokkiri surprise and monitoring shows are cruel as, but jeez they're funny.

Haha, I was (trying to be) funny / sarcastic. I thought you were talking about the dramas. If I never see another variety show in my life I'll die happy - although I have another dose coming up - heading to wifey's home town (it's in Oita) for two weeks shortly and that (variety shows) is most of what her parents watch...

There's a saying in Japanese culture "The nail that sticks out gets hammered down.” It’s hard to be different, and any deviance is met with resistance.

it should be a BigFooty proverb

its interesting i hadn't deviated onto other club boards for a while, so I thought what was happening on our board was unique. the dissatisfaction with the clubs performance and the attack your own mentality the comes up when trying to defend it. but since i was quoted on another club board, it turns out its not. quite a few of the clubs are very unhappy with the performance of their side and quite a few have a bit of infighting going on.

a good example of this that i discovered on the weekend was on the freo board. they have an interesting poster on there called memia (spelling?), he was a very loyal freo supporter and attended all of their affiliates games. very nice bloke. what made him interesting is that english was his 2nd language, so he unfairly copped it for his spelling/grammar from people who were not aware that it was his 2nd language. but most knew and it didn't hinder him in getting his point across. he was very well liked. anyways they've now effectively run him off their own board, which is a real shame. all because he had a view that countered the popular view on their board, mainly because it that was pessimistic on the performance of their club. he's been labelled disloyal and not a true supporter, which couldn't be further from the truth. it's a real shame because they had something unique in him and a true supporter and a genuine good bloke, all because he dared suggest that maybe the club isn't as good as people think it is. which tbh as a neutral looking at their club, i would agree. if they can't crack the top 6 now with players like fyfe, walters, neale, pearce, hill playing amazing football with a solid batch of players underneath that like mundy, sandi, wilson, ryan, hamling, matera, brad hill, cerra, brayshaw etc. then they aint going anywhere and there will come a point where they hit the wall with their core and drop off again.

it should be a BigFooty proverb

its interesting i hadn't deviated onto other club boards for a while, so I thought what was happening on our board was unique. the dissatisfaction with the clubs performance and the attack your own mentality the comes up when trying to defend it. but since i was quoted on another club board, it turns out its not. quite a few of the clubs are very unhappy with the performance of their side and quite a few have a bit of infighting going on.

a good example of this that i discovered on the weekend was on the freo board. they have an interesting poster on there called memia (spelling?), he was a very loyal freo supporter and attended all of their affiliates games. very nice bloke. what made him interesting is that english was his 2nd language, so he unfairly copped it for his spelling/grammar from people who were not aware that it was his 2nd language. but most knew and it didn't hinder him in getting his point across. he was very well liked. anyways they've now effectively run him off their own board, which is a real shame. all because he had a view that countered the popular view on their board, mainly because it that was pessimistic on the performance of their club. he's been labelled disloyal and not a true supporter, which couldn't be further from the truth. it's a real shame because they had something unique in him and a true supporter and a genuine good bloke, all because he dared suggest that maybe the club isn't as good as people think it is. which tbh as a neutral looking at their club, i would agree. if they can't crack the top 6 now with players like fyfe, walters, neale, pearce, hill playing amazing football with a solid batch of players underneath that like mundy, sandi, wilson, ryan, hamling, matera, brad hill, cerra, brayshaw etc. then they aint going anywhere and there will come a point where they hit the wall with their core and drop off again.
If that's what happened, then running the guy off the board in that way and criticising his imperfect English is a disgrace. Those responsible should be ashamed of themselves, and the board admins should have stepped in before things went that far.

Haha, I was (trying to be) funny / sarcastic. I thought you were talking about the dramas. If I never see another variety show in my life I'll die happy - although I have another dose coming up - heading to wifey's home town (it's in Oita) for two weeks shortly and that (variety shows) is most of what her parents watch...
Nice, I still haven't made it to Kyushu. Some beautiful spots down there. I'm in Nagano and rarely leave the area. The dramas... how bad are they? If people acted that badly in a high school production in Oz you'd boo them off stage!
Variety shows are awful except for the comedy shows I mentioned. Waay funnier than Aussie tv comedy which is so conservative. They can get away with a lot more here without being scolded in the papers the next day. That's occasionally not a good thing mind you.

Nice, I still haven't made it to Kyushu. Some beautiful spots down there. I'm in Nagano and rarely leave the area. The dramas... how bad are they? If people acted that badly in a high school production in Oz you'd boo them off stage!
Variety shows are awful except for the comedy shows I mentioned. Waay funnier than Aussie tv comedy which is so conservative. They can get away with a lot more here without being scolded in the papers the next day. That's occasionally not a good thing mind you.
I watch Vs Arashi on SBS. My son loves it and it reminds me of old school It's a Knockout

St trav I haven't heard one credible person run that line.

Nut jobs, shock jocks and maybe a Pauline Hanson type.

As a matter of interest I always had the impression WA was a bit of a readneck wonderland.

Is this the sort of thing you hear there or was in from elsewhere and is that true of WA.
not really redneck out this way bogan yes ... i mean its not uncommon to see the mullet hairdo stepping out of a bright purple HSV with accadacca blearing ... but for the most part i dont think we have anymore rednecks then other states ...
im going to make the assumption you are not a gen Y so that may be why you havent prehaps heard the national service dig ... for my work i manage a number of mechanical workshops with that i have a number of guys well my senior and a number of apprentices and younger guys starting out in the industry now listening to the older guys they will have you believe that the young guys are usless, they are lazy, they do half arsed jobs and need a kick up the backside blah blah yet as my job i measure their output, their error rate, their efficency and honestly my best 10 guys in the company are all under the age of 30 ... its the old boilers that are the ones lagging and needing to be prompted...

If that's what happened, then running the guy off the board in that way and criticising his imperfect English is a disgrace. Those responsible should be ashamed of themselves, and the board admins should have stepped in before things went that far.
True.
I'll raise my hand and admit I'm not exactly what you'd call a " highly educated man" .
To be honest my grammar " ain't too goodly".
And I'm always being pulled up by the 'Grammar Nazi's' for mistakes. And to be honest I FARRKEN HATE IT:mad::p

True.
I'll raise my hand and admit I'm not exactly what you'd call a " highly educated man" .
And I'm always being pulled up by the 'Grammar Nazi's' for mistakes. And to be honest I FARRKEN HATE IT:mad::p
No need for an apostrophe after "Nazi" there mate.

Yeah I love that about Japan it just feels really safe where ever you go. I'm probably being a bit of a stereo typer anyway. Some are more open than others. One of my mates has a Japanese wife who is like silent demon. She never raises her voice or conveys anything outwardly but radiates ill will when we go out drinking or stay too late when she's had enough. She's awesome. She looks sweet as pie but you can just feel the inner hard arse coming through. She has him by the balls without needing to make a noise. My wife is eastern european so no filter, if she thinks it she says it. They couldn't be more different.

My other mate with a Japanese wife has the opposite she's chill as **** and like doesn't get upset about anything, she's like one of the boys.
The safest place I've ever worked and lived, from a purely security aspect, was in was Tehran. Seriously. No alcohol was probably a major reason, as was the fact if you were considering acting up, there was the religious police to deal with as well as the rank and file coppers, who all seemed to be armed with automatic weapons. So if you could put up with those factors, the pay off was that it was relatively safe to walk the streets at any time. Penalties for offending were savage as well. An interesting study in trading civil liberties for safety. Personally, I'd much rather live here. That would also apply if you are a woman.......

No need for an apostrophe after "Nazi" there mate.
putersmash.gif

Hmmm, now where have I seen that phrase before?

Oh yeah... https://nagmag.jp/87-of-gaijin-totally-get-japan-in-less-than-two-months/

I reckon the headline sums up Aussies pretty well in general. We are all experts with no basis here....Melbourne cup, every Melbournian has the form guide out talking about horse racing like they train horses them selves then spend 35 minutes at the TAB trying to feed incorrectly filled out tickets in to the machine. Every election we become experts at politics and know everything about economics. We spend 10 minutes anywhere and we think we're locals.

True.
If you hate that, imagine how much I hate reading "should of" and "he's shoulder" and terrible spelling of basic words despite everyone having auto correct. I can get that it's a footy forum, but it physically makes me wince reading all these low-level errors - maybe because they're so common.

I reckon the headline sums up Aussies pretty well in general. We are all experts with no basis here....Melbourne cup, every Melbournian has the form guide out talking about horse racing like they train horses them selves then spend 35 minutes at the TAB trying to feed incorrectly filled out tickets in to the machine. Every election we become experts at politics and know everything about economics. We spend 10 minutes anywhere and we think we're locals.
Yeah, I consider myself a 2018 draft expert having just skim read the draft thread on Bigfooty each week. Stay tuned for my phantom draft.