Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

Sorry I thought you were in this part "Please spare me the fairy stories of bad sportsmanship on Australia's part"
Maybe misunderstood.
His actions were atrocious but where do these stories of poor sportsmanship in the lead up come from.

It's not a crime to win and all teams chatter, who knows what their saying.

Then do it in play. Or man up and deal with it, and be mindful of the fact that you're representing your country, and that other countries feel that same way about the way Australia plays, so you'd reckon we could take it if we're going to dish it out.
Did you watch the overhead video in the link above. No excuses for that when in your country's colours, I don't care what the other guy did leading up to it. Am disgusted by the guy and the pathetic press conference BB Australia gave this morning. Didn't even mention the Aus player's actions until asked about it during question time.
Well if you don't care what the other guy did leading up to it then I guess we are just two different types of blokes and we will agree to disagree.:thumbsu:

Their bloke threw two cheap shot dangerous elbows to our players face in the seconds leading up to Kickert retaliating with his cheap shot.
If your gonna start throwing 2 dog act elbows don't be complaining when someone throws a bigger one back.
Poor form by both teams but that bloke Kickert hit deserved everything he got.
see heres my take on it ... in suburban social basketball you get guys who sign up to play D grade basketball when they are really B grade players.. in these comps these b grade players like to strut about like they are all that and a bit more and tend to find enjoyment out of humiliating their opponent, they have a tendancy to mouth off all game and really make the game unenjoyable for anyone... that to me describes Chris Goulding... he is renouned for being a yapper he is an antagonist and gets under the skin of his opponent especially when he is better then them.. the Filipino guy at the centre of it is known to be a dirty player from the onset, and the Philippines are a very proud nation they take their basketball seriously and they especially dont take well to being disrespected. (there is an interesting article i read a while back linking the stereotyping of asian men being smaller endowed on the back of the Filipinos coming to America and being quite popular with the ladies so the yanky guys started rumours about them and that cause a heap of anger in the Filipinos so they dont like being shown as lesser men)... Goulding was pushing their buttons and got a reaction i dont think he was expecting , Kickert threw fuel onto that fire .. the Filipinos threw gun powder into the fire.....

the fact this is the "second string" aussie team i think shows that lack of class in how to win ...

I'm repeating what Shane heal reported.

I didn't realise you were there st trav let alone part of the Philippine's huddle.
other news sources have reported it differantly in a similar vein as to what i have writen ... Heal a former boomer isnt the most reliable unbiased source ...

I'll put my hand up and say I don't like basketball.
Never watch it.
All I saw on the news was a Phillipino player hit an Aus player with 2 cheap shot elbows.
Then the other Aussie bloke started world war 3 by throwing a very nasty payback elbow.
Dirty by both sides and bad for sport.but I don't think the bloke Kickert hit can claim to be a victim.

I'll put my hand up and say I don't like basketball.
Never watch it.
All I saw on the news was a Phillipino player hit an Aus player with 2 cheap shot elbows.
Then the other Aussie bloke started world war 3 by throwing a very nasty payback elbow.
Dirty by both sides and bad for sport.but I don't think the bloke Kickert hit can claim to be a victim.
Nah, as you said agree to disagree, and I'd rather talk about footy. But yeah, I couldn't care less what the bloke Kickert hit claims, not interested in whether he sees himself as a victim or not. I'm only concerned about the actions of Australians representing their team. The cricketers disgraced their sport, that should have put other national representatives on notice as far as I'm concerned. Last thing we need is this kind of crap being associated with our sporting reputation (and we do have one, whether it's basketball, soccer, cricket, or probably even lawn bowls for all I know).
I don't like basketball much either, mainly because of the attitudes of the players and all the American-like talk that goes with it. Plus for a sport where they can hardly touch each other, they seem to want to overcompensate with aggressive chat and off the ball crap like this. At least in footy if you want to be tough, you can play tough. Like I think Trav was saying, social basketball is rife with it. I went to watch my mates play in a social league once and would never go back after all the childish crap that went on every 5 minutes.

brawlkickertstart.jpg

Nah, as you said agree to disagree, and I'd rather talk about footy. But yeah, I couldn't care less what the bloke Kickert hit claims, not interested in whether he sees himself as a victim or not. I'm only concerned about the actions of Australians representing their team. The cricketers disgraced their sport, that should have put other national representatives on notice as far as I'm concerned. Last thing we need is this kind of crap being associated with our sporting reputation (and we do have one, whether it's basketball, soccer, cricket, or probably even lawn bowls for all I know).
I don't like basketball much either, mainly because of the attitudes of the players and all the American-like talk that goes with it. Plus for a sport where they can hardly touch each other, they seem to want to overcompensate with aggressive chat and off the ball crap like this. At least in footy if you want to be tough, you can play tough. Like I think Trav was saying, social basketball is rife with it. I went to watch my mates play in a social league once and would never go back after all the childish crap that went on every 5 minutes.

brawlkickertstart.jpg
fair enough mate.
Not sure about that picture though. wouldve been more balanced with pics of the two elbows before that which started everything.
But yeah. Lets just move on.

brawlkickertstart.jpg

Fair screen IMO

Who is this non playing Jackie Chan mofo with the big fist?

He needs to be banned from any basketball match anywhere, anytime!

And then sorted the feck right out. Weak prick...

I knew Manny Pacquiao loved his basketball, but didn’t realise he was an official

brawlkickertstart.jpg
its a fair comment you make about the Aussie mentality in sports in all honesty we do tip toe that line an awful lot of being massive flogs for many of our national teams ...
i think for a big chunk of it we tend to talk the talk a fair bit more than we walk the walk ..
in your chosen sport i think reaching the top and representing your country would be the highest honour but i think some of the national teams need to maybe take a look at our footy teams to learn a bit about letting actions speak louder then words .

its a fair comment you make about the Aussie mentality in sports in all honesty we do tip toe that line an awful lot of being massive flogs for many of our national teams ...
i think for a big chunk of it we tend to talk the talk a fair bit more than we walk the walk ..
in your chosen sport i think reaching the top and representing your country would be the highest honour but i think some of the national teams need to maybe take a look at our footy teams to learn a bit about letting actions speak louder then words .

https://www.foxsports.com.au/basket...s/news-story/95727f0e3ad79ed12eb4586507393e0a

looks like the aussies never kicked off the shit behaviour. i think there's a stereotype of aussie sports people that they're arrogant and unsportsman like on the field. so any conflict must be because they have talked shit or instigated it. its totally unfair IMO.

sure we have history but its no different to any other competitive nation around the world, so we can't keep jumping on our own based on a stereotype. it appears we are more prepared to through our fellow country men under the bus than other nations are prepared to do. sand paper gate is absolute proof of that. whilst i think its good we hold our sides to a higher standard than other countries i do think we need to get better at coming to the defence of our own.

lets be honest if an opposition player tried to trip you up in what is a harmless warm up, you would probably push them or have words with them over their campaignerish behaviour. it appears from that moment on the aussies probably had their back up knowing they're prepared to go to do some pretty assholish shit to get a win. so once that block happened, which from that angle would look like a forearm to the face, the aussie probably tried to do the same thing and overcooked it.

that by no means excuses our behaviour but i do think the focus here should be on what started it and the serious nature of a mob assaulting what is an athelete in a foreign country.

Vision wise:
  • Two wrongs don't make a right, but do make chairs levitate.
  • Flying kicks means that people actually have to actually extend a leg, not just jump. The leg extends forward generally to make a kicking motion.
  • Bloke kicks me in the shin then walks away, bloke is getting underpants inserted into rectum followed by foot as a response. Play on.
FIBA with correct call to cite both teams for making a mockery of Muay Thai. Get good kids.

see now this is a half truth being streched to become a compleate fabrication ... the Philippines coach said to be physical not tak a backwards step put them on their arse ... he was coaching to get his team to stand up and not be ragdolled around like they had the entire game ... somewhere in the heat of the moment it got out of control, then when the flying elbow came out it just went nuts ... the guys on the philipines team were totally out of line but to say the coach insighted the fight is not a true reflection of the events ... Kickerts elbow started it
So who emptied their benches and had coaches involved.

Who had 6 having an Australian player down kicking him and hitting him with a chair?

So real apologists for those Filipino animals.
Gutless cowards

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

It seems to be in vogue to bash Aussie sportsman/teams at the moment. The Filipino’s are a bunch of amateur flogs & a blight on any sport. The country should never be allowed to participate in national sport ever again. Life ban, all sportsman, all sports. Feck them.
lol.... Don't hold back Bro.....:fire:

It seems to be in vogue to bash Aussie sportsman/teams at the moment. The Filipino’s are a bunch of amateur flogs & a blight on any sport. The country should never be allowed to participate in national sport ever again. Life ban, all sportsman, all sports. Feck them.

Better yet..

Save Bangladesh!
Sink the Phillipines instead.
DamnyouGaia!