Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

Mother is Australian, father French, that's why she has the Aussie accent in English and also speaks perfectly accented French (Not that I would know, can't speak French).

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app
I like the sound (and look!) of this young lady, never heard of her before.

Any chance of this show with Nicky ending up on YouTube or something that would enable folks without access to Aussie TV to check out?

Here's another question you guys can answer. What do you reckon the general feeling towards the French is in Australia these days? My wife reckons it's quite negative but I don't remember many Aussies having any kind of opinion on French people, compared to say their opinions on Americans, Brits, Chinese, etc.

We're coming over to NSW for a short holiday (family thing mostly as my most members of my immediate family still live in Sydney) around Xmas time and I'm really looking forward to bring back again! Shame we won't catch any footy but should be awesome anyway.

Any chance of this show with Nicky ending up on YouTube or something that would enable folks without access to Aussie TV to check out?

Here's another question you guys can answer. What do you reckon the general feeling towards the French is in Australia these days? My wife reckons it's quite negative but I don't remember many Aussies having any kind of opinion on French people, compared to say their opinions on Americans, Brits, Chinese, etc.

We're coming over to NSW for a short holiday (family thing mostly as my most members of my immediate family still live in Sydney) around Xmas time and I'm really looking forward to bring back again! Shame we won't catch any footy but should be awesome anyway.
I wouldn't have though it was negative at all these days.

I guess with older people you may have some negativity around nuclear testing and the rainbow warrior incident, but that's going back a fair way now.

I wouldn't anticipate anything other than a warm welcome to be honest.

I wouldn't have though it was negative at all these days.

I guess with older people you may have some negativity around nuclear testing and the rainbow warrior incident, but that's going back a fair way now.

I wouldn't anticipate anything other than a warm welcome to be honest.
"Cheese eating surrender monkeys " according to Grounds Keeper Willie.:D

The French are well liked around St Kilda. We have the Alliance Francaise here they congregate. I think the only time the French had a really negative period was when they blew up the Rainbow Warrior Greenpeace boat, that was like in the 80s or something. Melbourne has a lot of French immigrants these days, most of the sporting teams my son has played in have at least one Frog kid and heaps at his school. One of the primary schools near us do full French immersion programs even.

Just make sure you arrive by plane and you'll be fine.

87adbd82ec21d38558ad6ac3fb2a2be1.jpg

Somebody posted this on reddit today with the caption that it was taken by Thai divers just prior to beginning the rescue of the soccer boys in the cave.

Apparently the photo depicts an embrace between two Thai divers who share the responsiblility for bringing one boy out, and an international diver who will act as above ground support.

Hug your kids. And send a kind thought into the universe for them.

Somebody posted this on reddit today with the caption that it was taken by Thai divers just prior to beginning the rescue of the soccer boys in the cave.

Apparently the photo depicts an embrace between two Thai divers who share the responsiblility for bringing one boy out, and an international diver who will act as above ground support.

I’m glued to the live updates on this.

Looks like 2 are safely out and another 4 on the way out (walking, so past the swim - essentially safe).

PhD final draft is all done! The Big Doc ends at about 88,000 words (not counting the Bibliography). 318 pages. 391 sources. One very tired Percy.

Now it's off to my supervisors for final revision for two weeks.

PhD final draft is all done! The Big Doc ends at about 88,000 words (not counting the Bibliography). 318 pages. 391 sources. One very tired Percy.

Fantastic work Perse!!! Tough slog but the end is nigh!

all 12 boys now out of the Cave !! and the Coach...
such a good result .. sadly the ordeal had one diver die in trying to save these kids .....
the coach of the team deserves a medal or something ...

meanwhile Don Pyke and the crows have enquired about caves in thailand for next seasons pre-season camp

Great work :thumbsu:

What do you hope to do with your PhD, Perse? Congrats

Honestly, it doesn't need to do much. I am extremely blessed, in that it was just the necessary PD for me in my work. I'll get a promotion, which is great. But I don't need it to be published. Having said that, one of my preferred examiners just happens to be a major player in Baptist history publishing, so hey, you never know your luck. ;)

Nice mate :thumbsu: yes hug your kids.

And also don't let your kids have a coach who thinks it's ok to walk 11 yr old boys 4hrs into a cave:drunk: