Random Memories

Our 100-99 win over Geelong in 2005. And Yze's 250th, where he kicked five goals, & after the match Nathan Jones went to give him a hug, swung his arm over his shoulder & smacked Colin Sylvia right in the face as he was coming up behind Yze.

So Kozi's been stealing jonesy's material??

The Wizz kicking that mad goal at Waverly running from half back, linking up with Lyon and getting it back to kick a spiral from 60m in the teaming rain to bounce in the square and slide through.

Woewodins goal against Port, can anyone confirm that at some stage they replayed in on the MCG screens and counted each bounce as it replayed?? Or did I dream that up that night?

Farmer's mark verse the Tigers where he leaped Gazza, can't say what year but I'm almost certain it was Round 22.

Schwarz holding the ball aloft as he ran into an open goal and banged it into the highest tier he could.

Going to Demon clinics on a Saturday? morning at Junction oval, meeting the stars and getting photo's with Grgic...balanced out with Jimmy! Doing activities like 'What was the decision payed in this clip' and getting most wrong (age 5..I'd still struggle today but thats the AFL's fault). Peters and Tooheys Red were sponsors. And eating sausage rolls there..odd what you remember.

I think the 1st or 2nd game I watched at Subi was the win when Woewodin poled those 3 votes. We won 177 to 77, one of the only scores I remember. Distinctly remember his break from the centre and goal on the run from 55m.

Wizz diving in the fwd pocket to kick the winning goal for Freo against us at Subi after the Siren. Massive Dive!

-A cold, wet day in '99 against Sydney at the G where they gave it to us in the 2nd half. Went with a bloke who worked for my old man and was a mate of the Ox's. After the game we headed into the rooms and the first thing I saw was Anthony Ingerson walking straight across the room, stark naked, on his way to the showers. Horrific.

-Beating the Pies in '98 by 3 points, was sitting on the top level of the Olympic, a couple of rows behind me was this middle-aged woman who didn't exactly have all her marbles and pledged allegiance to both teams through her incessant chant..."Collywood, Melbourne, Collywood, Melbourne, Colly..."

-Also in '98, the day the Wiz took the hanger against Richmond. In the final quarter, Richo was taking a free kick on their defensive 50mt mark. Looks to kick the ball towards CHB (for them), instead manages to hit Todd Viney perfectly on the chest. Viney goes back and drills it from 48.

-The night we kicked 3.9 against Port, Leigh Newton having probably his best game ever for us. Neil Balme's last night in charge. Just interesting to note that in the past two times our coach has been replaced mid-season, the caretaker has gone on to win his first game in charge (Hutchison V Richmond, Riley V Carlton).

Melb v North at Colonial, as it was then known, in 98 when we played out of our skin for 3 quarters only to lose by a point due to North's 11 goal 2nd quarter. Someone got a handball out to Ox 30m from goal as the siren went.... shattering.

Melb v Sydney at the G in '98 on a Monday Night (wtf?). It was Rd 21 and Lockett kicked his 100th goal for the year. Was only 6 and was all excited yet soon realised it would be a bit hard to run on as I was seated in the 2nd level of the ponsford stand.

Another Monday night fixture at Colonial in 2000 against Brisbane when Garry Lyon and his mates tried to bring back the pie night by giving every kid a free pie and coke or something? we won the game but all i can remember is the stench that filled the stands on the city side due to sourige (?) problems.

A 95 point win against Brisbane at the G in 98 when Jeff White kicked 5 and took an absolute hanger on the final siren.

Melb v North at Colonial, as it was then known, in 98 when we played out of our skin for 3 quarters only to lose by a point due to North's 11 goal 2nd quarter. Someone got a handball out to Ox 30m from goal as the siren went.... shattering.

That was 2000. I remember because I cut the shit out of my hand on a half constructed Colonial seat punching it at the final siren. Steven Pitt bobbed up for a couple of goals.

Could someone tell me why viney & OX wore white headbands in the very early 90's?

-Shaun Smith backing into a contest and getting cleaned up by Lockett against the swans at the G'

-Some random Brawl between Essendon in 94 or 95

Game against Freo on a Friday night in 1999 (who thought that would rate?) We're there way early and Tone is having a kick on the ground with Waterhouse. There's a couple of teenage groupies behind the goals and for want of anybody else around they ask me to take the photo of them with Modra (what? no photo with Clive?). So I grab the camera and issue the immortal line "Now, you two smile - and you don't kick ten goals"

The **** didn't even thank me in his post-match interviews.

that night was ****ing hell :thumbsd:

Was the only game we lost after the midseason break until of course the grand final :(

-Also in '98, the day the Wiz took the hanger against Richmond. In the final quarter, Richo was taking a free kick on their defensive 50mt mark. Looks to kick the ball towards CHB (for them), instead manages to hit Todd Viney perfectly on the chest. Viney goes back and drills it from 48.

Was round 22 i think, if Richmond won they were going to play finals the tiger army was out in force, think we got 72k to that game, and we smashed them, Ninthmond was born :D

How about the QB game where Brent Grgic starred and the papers hailed him as a future elite player, Tony Shaw was coach of the pies, i remember he had this canvas rollout mat that he would take out onto the ground at quarter time and 3qtr time it was a miniture copy of half the ground complete with goal square and 50 metre arc, he would make both Roccas stand on it to explain to them where he wanted them leading, i havent seen this done by anyone ever past or since, i remember laughing my arse off then i saw Anthony on the footy show and i could understand why it was needed.... :)

Schwarz making his return from three knee reco's in 1997 against Adelaide at the MCG. We were losing (finished last that year) but the sight of the big number 5 warming up on the bench ready to come on was magical. I think he then took a mark with in his first contest but was paid a free kick against. Crowd went nuts at the white maggot who dared to ruin The Ox's comeback.

1998 when we marched into the finals on the back of some awesome form, particularly at the MCG. I think we won five straight, then smashed Adelaide and St Kilda in the first two finals. Still can't believe the Crows pinched that flag.

Loved that bump! That was the start of Neita's resurgence as a goalkicking machine.

Also, Whelan's bump on Hird in the 2004 EF, followed up by Johnstone's goal on the boundary. Magic!

(Although, it says a lot about Hird that he was able to recover and lead his side to victory with a great performance. Gee he was a champion.)

Glad to see them showing the R20, 2005 game against Geelong on the big screen before the game today. Worst deliberate ever on Philthy - have never seen the last few minutes since and I'm glad that for once I remembered something correctly.

Wild scenes with Shannon Motlop running around in #53.

This was a top thread.

Stephen Pitt, Michael Clark, Ross Funcke, Cameron Hunter, Heath Neville, Aaron Rogers. I miss our noughties slop.

I take back my comment in the last post, Philthy's deliberate was only the 2nd worst ever. The worst is undoubtedly McDonald against Port in 2007 - we're within a goal with 30 seconds left, his handball is errant, bounces out... DELIBERATE. My reaction was shamefully blue.

I remember the first game I went to. Carlton at the MCG
Brent Heaver kicking 5 goals on debut. Laughing at Kernahan, who kicked 1.6 for the day. Thinking I was clever calling Mil Hanna "baldy". Throwing my scarf in the air after a goal and it landing on a Blues fan's head.

Also remember the Richmond game in 1998.

Last game at Waverly. Lost to Essendon in the pre-season cup. Remember thinking that Aaron Henneman was going to be a star for the Bombers. Oh dear.

Jim Stynes winning the Brownlow. Getting smashed and watching Woewodin win his Brownlow.

Having a substitute teacher in Grade 5 - Miss Kowal. I asked her if she was related to Darren. *cringe*

Getting told off by Grade 3 teacher for only ever bringing in my new footy cards for Show and Tell every week, and nothing else.

Watching my first ever game of footy, in one of the country leagues. The local team was the Demons, so I adopted the Demons as my team.

My first ever pack of footy cards. Dipper.......yep, next. Swans logo.....yep, next. Doug Hawkins.....yep, next. Shane Zantuck.......Yay!!!!!!! Didn't realise how big Dipper and Hawk were at the time, only cared that they didn't play for the Dees.

I take back my comment in the last post, Philthy's deliberate was only the 2nd worst ever. The worst is undoubtedly McDonald against Port in 2007 - we're within a goal with 30 seconds left, his handball is errant, bounces out... DELIBERATE. My reaction was shamefully blue.

I was just about to post that. From memory it was in a sequence of games that we lost by under a kick. Worst deliberate ever.

Yes, two weeks later we got dudded again by North when Andrew Swallow kicked that flipping goal.

Another shameful incident. Probably the two biggest outbursts I'd ever had at the footy. Massive stress levels from not having won a game after being touted as alleged flag contenders.

Ben Beams' last quarter heroics in a wet win over Sydney, shortly before he broke his arm and was never seen again. (98ish)

Your turn.

I think that was actually Craig Smoker mate back in 98. Was a ripper game - Toddy Viney had a blinder

Beams broke his arm in 2000 and still came back to get 0 touches in the GF.

And Smoker gave it to Brisbane in R3, 1998 (http://wiki.fcmelbourne.com/tiki-index.php?page=Round+3+1998). Got two in the wet against Sydney in R5 though.

I want to put in for The Einstein Factor with the 1998 Melbourne season as my special subject :D