Random Random Thoughts Rebooted

• Thread starter Thread starter RW

It's one of the things that amuses me about BF, how two sets of fans can see things so differently, like Trump and Clinton supporters after the election. :p

I know what you mean

Roles reversed exactly we would all be annoyed anyone questioned the umps getting us a flag for a start

Anyway, back to random thoughts: is anyone actually secretly looking forward to seeing how Trump will go after he gets sworn in? I mean, I'm not expecting much, but it will be fascinating to see how he handles the office. If nothing else it might provide us with some entertainment, assuming the world doesn't go to shit first :p

Slightly concerned about escalations with a China who will not back down. Hit's a little closer to home when there's serious potential for conflict in South east asia too.

Just like his ridiculous wall I'm expecting him to be much more bark than bite though. I feel really sorry for good hardworking Americans who think this guys will give them a better future & got tricked into voting for him.

Here's random....
How often do you dislike your jobs? Ever? Occasionally? For me, it's summertime. Have grumbled pretty much all the way through it so far.
Summer = more people.
More people = more potential for trouble, risky behaviour, bad driving, bad choices, tragedies.
Looking forward to a break

Here's random....
How often do you dislike your jobs? Ever? Occasionally? For me, it's summertime. Have grumbled pretty much all the way through it so far.
Summer = more people.
More people = more potential for trouble, risky behaviour, bad driving, bad choices, tragedies.
You do a job that I think you probably don't get thanked enough for Maxi. A mate of mine is an ambo & I reckon our ambos, coppers, firies etc all need better support with more flexiblity. We as a society need you guys fighting fit & on top of your game. So hope you get a good break & come back recharged & kicking butt.

Slightly concerned about escalations with a China who will not back down. Hit's a little closer to home when there's serious potential for conflict in South east asia too.

Just like his ridiculous wall I'm expecting him to be much more bark than bite though. I feel really sorry for good hardworking Americans who think this guys will give them a better future & got tricked into voting for him.

His beef with China seems to be mostly economic, the trade between the two countries is too important.

The wall isn't that ridiculous - with the threat of potential terrorists entering the country as we are seeing in Europe, I would have thought you wouldn't want to take any chances by skimping on border security. At one stage Hillary even supported building a wall along parts of the border to stop illegal immigration, she is a massive hypocrite. Countries have to take whatever steps necessary to protect themselves.

His economic plan seems to be to take advantage of the historically low interest rates by investing in infrastructure hence creating jobs. Sure you might have to go further into debt to pay for it but if you invest in enough positive NPV projects, or at least projects with an IRR exceeding the cost of capital* then the country might have a chance of growing its way out of the current economic situation.

*Threw those terms in to see who is paying attention :p

You do a job that I think you probably don't get thanked enough for Maxi. A mate of mine is an ambo & I reckon our ambos, coppers, firies etc all need better support with more flexiblity. We as a society need you guys fighting fit & on top of your game. So hope you get a good break & come back recharged & kicking butt.
Naww, you're throwing the hugs around tonight GTG!!! I don't want thanks. I just want everyone to f off back to wherever they came from!

Amen to that! Always back our law enforcement to do their job and keep us safe - same as your friendly moderators keep you safe from nasty troll attacks :p

His beef with China seems to be mostly economic, the trade between the two countries is too important.

The wall isn't that ridiculous - with the threat of potential terrorists entering the country as we are seeing in Europe, I would have thought you wouldn't want to take any chances by skimping on border security. At one stage Hillary even supported building a wall along parts of the border to stop illegal immigration, she is a massive hypocrite. Countries have to take whatever steps necessary to protect themselves.

His economic plan seems to be to take advantage of the historically low interest rates by investing in infrastructure hence creating jobs. Sure you might have to go further into debt to pay for it but if you invest in enough positive NPV projects, or at least projects with an IRR exceeding the cost of capital* then the country might have a chance of growing its way out of the current economic situation.

*Threw those terms in to see who is paying attention :p
The promises he has made aren't based on any logical sensible spending IMO.

Like the often bandied about "stimulation" term from GFC's past, it's use was to grab votes while remaining as vague with the details as possible so you can backflip later. I guess we'll see how much of his vision he can actually get into action.

I call it ridiculous because, while it is the kind of infrastructure investment which helps provides jobs in the short term, what growth or development do you get out of a wall? That and all the cheap labour that would build it are on the other side of it.

You are going to spend this money building a wall & propping up "made in USA" investment when the best options may very well be left off the table because of such insular vision. We live in a global economy. Don't be scared of it. Lead. Use it to your advantage.

Terrorism? If serious... Are you drunk? The liklihood of terrorism is moreso coming from some1 who is already in the US. The "homegrown" terrorist than a poor family seeking opportunity & a fresh start away from a gang/cartel ravaged homeland IMO.

Amen to that! Always back our law enforcement to do their job and keep us safe - same as your friendly moderators keep you safe from nasty troll attacks :p
I just like how one of our mods is called scaryness now. I hope he takes that username literally too. Friendly, sure. But scary too.

As long as he:

1) isn't Hillary Clinton
2) doesn't invade a bunch of countries (see 1 above)
3) doesn't raise taxes too much

then he'll be OK

As long as he:

1) isn't Hillary Clinton

then he'll be OK
To be honest, the options weren't exactly spectacular were they?

Yes, simplistically. No war. No corruption. No abuse of power. Trying to do the best for the most people as possible.

Going to be a very interesting few months over there I reckon.

The promises he has made aren't based on any logical sensible spending IMO.

Like the often bandied about "stimulation" term from GFC's past, it's use was to grab votes while remaining as vague with the details as possible so you can backflip later. I guess we'll see how much of his vision he can actually get into action.

I call it ridiculous because, while it is the kind of infrastructure investment which helps provides jobs in the short term, what growth or development do you get out of a wall? That and all the cheap labour that would build it are on the other side of it.

You are going to spend this money building a wall & propping up "made in USA" investment when the best options may very well be left off the table because of such insular vision. We live in a global economy. Don't be scared of it. Lead. Use it to your advantage.

Terrorism? If serious... Are you drunk? The liklihood of terrorism is moreso coming from some1 who is already in the US. The "homegrown" terrorist than a poor family seeking opportunity & a fresh start away from a gang/cartel ravaged homeland IMO.

Fair points, it's not clear exactly what he is going to do. I am just giving an opinion of course and because I am not an expert in these matters my opinion probably isn't worth much, but that has never stopped anyone posting on BF before. :p

As long as he:

1) isn't Hillary Clinton

then he'll be OK

You read Scott Adams blog?

Fair points, it's not clear exactly what he is going to do. I am just giving an opinion of course and because I am not an expert in these matters my opinion probably isn't worth much, but that has never stopped anyone posting on BF before. :p
Haha. Same here.

Just hoping he backs off from the agressive anti trade stuff a bit (but doubt he will).

He's not a millionaire for nothing. It really is a wait and see.

Then you have the situation in Melbourne atm where 80 cops are fining J Walkers, when we have these gangs going crazy in the suburbs. It doesn't make sense.

It will be fascinating albeit scary. He seems such a loose cannon that it wouldn't surprise me if he lasts 6 months before shrugging his shoulders and saying this isn't as good as I thought it would be and chucking in the towel. I could see the likes of China and Russia taking advantage of his stupidity, yet I could also force the being extremely wary for the same reasons. They piss him off and he could easily turn, which is plain frightening.

Here's random....
Summer = more people.
In teaching, it used to be report writing time. We now use a continuous reporting system, so "report writing" happens all throughout the year rather then middle and end. It is a blessing!

That being said, the teaching side of things I have never disliked. The worst part of the job is the parents (and depending on the school the colleagues).

He's not a millionaire for nothing. It really is a wait and see.

He has declared bankrupty numerous times...he is a millionaire because of the family he was born into and for no other reason.

if he kept his inherited wealth in a bank account with an interest rate of 2% p.a he'd be richer than he is today.

Here's random....
Summer = more people.

I'm a programmer,

The only times I dislike my job are when people say they want X, then when you demonstrate it to them, they say what about 'Y'?

Absolutely boggles the mind, I'm no longer allowed to do demonstrations. I've told clients they're idiots too many times.

Aside from that solving problems is very rewarding, and i get to to spend most of my day at my desk thinking :)