Random Violence

I've never had an altercation in the 3+ years i've been out on the town. Must be lucky because i've seen plenty of them. Scumbags man got nothing better to do with there lives.

I've been jumped before, and king hit at house parties for no reason. I guess I've gotten off lightly compared to the guys on the news who are set upon by a group and put in hospital or glassed in a bar.

I absolutely hate violence. Especially against innocent people. I don't even like going to Festivals anymore because you see it everywhere by the end of the night.

My theory is that these people are less evolved than us... They completely lack empathy.

I've been jumped before, and king hit at house parties for no reason. I guess I've gotten off lightly compared to the guys on the news who are set upon by a group and put in hospital or glassed in a bar.

I absolutely hate violence. Especially against innocent people. I don't even like going to Festivals anymore because you see it everywhere by the end of the night.

My theory is that these people are less evolved than us... They completely lack empathy.

I completely lack empathy does not mean i go looking for fights what they lack is as you said a normal developed brain

You have to finish that story??? People like that are usually the most dangerous as they have no idea what they're doing.
Ended up a bit of a non event in the end.

Well as he came up he recognised my mate from somewhere so he talked some crap about lucky he knew us cos he was going to 'chop' us etc, then he wondered off.

it's all about the way you look with these random attacks. stupidest idea as well, just because someone looks soft doesn't mean they are soft

About 10 years ago was going out with some mates to a pool hall. Got picked up by a mate driving his mums van. We are driving down the road and a shitbox coming the other way starts flashing its lights at us. As we cross paths, he throws a u-turn, chases us, overtakes, cuts in front of us and stops sideways across the road, blocking our way.

5 blokes pile out carrying baseball bats and tire levers. They went to town on the van, smashing windows and kicking in panels. One of them opened the back door, jumped in and smashed my mate square in the face - blood everywhere. He then grabbed me (front passenger seat) by the hair and tried to drag me over the back of the front seat.

One guy leaned in, grabbed the keys out of the ignition and threw them as far as he could over the roof of a nearby house.

They piled back in the car and took off. A bloke from a house saw what happened and wrote down the rego of their car. Police were called and went round to the registered address. The guy there denied all knowledge and the cops refused to take it any further saying their was not enough evidence as the witness didnt see the faces of the thugs and couldn't identify them.

To this day, I have no idea why they did it. Completely unprovoked.

New underpants were purchased the next day and I was a little nervous driving around at night for a while afterwards.

I've always wondered, do those guys sit around at home, and one says "We should go out and beat the shit out of some random guy tonight", and everyone else says "yep, that sounds like a great idea."​
****ing bizarre.​
I've somehow avoided random violence for the most part, despite stupidly wandering round some pretty dodgy areas when I lived in Redfern and worked nights, and didn't want to take the long way home at 3am.​

Could be a case of mistaken identity?
Either way, that is absolutely nuts. What do you even do in that situation..

Could be a case of mistaken identity?
Either way, that is absolutely nuts. What do you even do in that situation..

That was the only explanation we could come up with. They were probably mightily drugged up and maybe thought we were somebody else.

That's the scary part - there really is nothing you can do. An event that takes just a few seconds seems to go for an eternity. If they really want to kill you, more than likely its gonna happen.

There are some mighty messed up people out there.

I would have been 21 at the same time and my friends at the stage were a little younger (19/20). We saw a busker on King St who they had chatted with several times before and my friends begun talking to him when all of a sudden some little wog decides to launch a kebab at my friend's (female) head. Bit of a scuffle but could have ended pretty badly, another mate got king hit but we all just walked away.

It was stupid to say the least.

About 10 years ago was going out with some mates to a pool hall. Got picked up by a mate driving his mums van. We are driving down the road and a shitbox coming the other way starts flashing its lights at us. As we cross paths, he throws a u-turn, chases us, overtakes, cuts in front of us and stops sideways across the road, blocking our way.

5 blokes pile out carrying baseball bats and tire levers. They went to town on the van, smashing windows and kicking in panels. One of them opened the back door, jumped in and smashed my mate square in the face - blood everywhere. He then grabbed me (front passenger seat) by the hair and tried to drag me over the back of the front seat.

One guy leaned in, grabbed the keys out of the ignition and threw them as far as he could over the roof of a nearby house.

They piled back in the car and took off. A bloke from a house saw what happened and wrote down the rego of their car. Police were called and went round to the registered address. The guy there denied all knowledge and the cops refused to take it any further saying their was not enough evidence as the witness didnt see the faces of the thugs and couldn't identify them.

To this day, I have no idea why they did it. Completely unprovoked.

New underpants were purchased the next day and I was a little nervous driving around at night for a while afterwards.

That is nuts and no not much you can do, could you have reversed back the way you came?. And people wonder why some people are concealing weapons in their cars

I've always wondered, do those guys sit around at home, and one says "We should go out and beat the shit out of some random guy tonight", and everyone else says "yep, that sounds like a great idea."​
******* bizarre.​
Basically like in A Clockwork Orange. No doubt some people just get off on it. Adrenaline rush.

I've seen a bit, fortunately involved in nothing really. One time there was a tussle ahead in the street, then a guy walking up behind us said "you beauty" and went to join in - just loved it.

Of course there is also the drug/alcohol ones, but I don't think that's what this thread about.

What I want to know is this: is this shit really getting worse, or is it just reported more now, more vision captured now. I hear stories from parent's generation about certain pubs being 'rough' back in the day, certain suburbs were no-go zones, etc. But was this pub fights, or random violence?

I agree on how you can make yourself less likely to be a victim, but all the same "Random Violence" is just that - you don't choose if it happens to you.

in about year 9-10 I was at a little house party/gathering at a friends house.

was all sweet until we decided to get maccas from nearby, then it turned a little.
this pack of chavs turned up on our way back and confronted us. we tried to bail back to the house but got cornered in a train station carpark.

Then they started hurling bricks and those massive rail way stones at us for no real reason, finally we called the coppers, they heard sirens and they just took off.
A mate copped half a brick in the head, but was fine after some stitches.

bizarre to say the least, they didn't even try to jump us for anything.

I was the victim of a good old fashioned ****ta bashing about 15 years ago. I'd been out with some friends on a pub crawl when one of my more "flaming" friends upset a group of Pikies who then proceeded to jump us and belt seven bells of shit out of us as we were making our way home. My cheek bone was broken and they busted my nose. On the plus side I got to travel in the back of an ambulance, which had always been an ambition of mine.
Ringleader got seven years for it.

Good to hear.

Would have got less but one of our number was a 55 year old on blood thinners, who got spooked really badly as a result of it and had some mental issues. I was young and bounced back pretty quick, it took Rhys some time.

That's shit.

The worst street violence I ever saw was in Dublin. I was working a job that meant I walked home just at pub chucking out time and had to walk from one end of central Dublin to the other. Every Friday and Saturday night I'd either see a fight in progress, or the immediate aftermath, that is someone walking down the street with a bloody face etc.

That's shit.

The worst street violence I ever saw was in Dublin. I was working a job that meant I walked home just at pub chucking out time and had to walk from one end of central Dublin to the other. Every Friday and Saturday night I'd either see a fight in progress, or the immediate aftermath, that is someone walking down the street with a bloody face etc.
Before they deregulated the pub hours, Windsor at closing time with all the pissed up squaddies looking for a fight was pretty unpleasant.

Hahahaha. It would appear that way.

In all seriousness though thats pretty unlucky for your mate OP

I have had a knife pulled on me twice, and a machete pulled on me once.

Apart from that instance, what were your impressions of Liam Jurrah?