B Train

Rookie
Im a saints supporter. I am biased, i stick up for all my players except this bloke. The worst player i've easily seen play for the saints in my 21 yrs. He is so slow, shit skills, soft, doesn't look interested. Has go at yrs end.

Raph has only come back from injury maybe 5 or 6 weeks ago. I have to admit that I didn't rate him the last year or so either - but I reckon as he plays more footy - he will get better.

Speaking of our list - how about Aaron Fiora? I think he needs to harden up a lot.

Im a saints supporter. I am biased, i stick up for all my players except this bloke. The worst player i've easily seen play for the saints in my 21 yrs. He is so slow, shit skills, soft, doesn't look interested. Has go at yrs end.

I dunno about "worst player for the saints in the last 21 yrs" but to me he has shown nothing in his 4 yrs at StKFC to suggest that he is at AFL standard. His lack of ability was hidden to a degree back in 2004/2005 because we were that good that we could carry him, plus because the game was slower then than it is now.

Too slow? - yes.
Sh!t skills? - yes.
soft? - i dunno about that. he has tried hard the last few weeks so i commend him for that.
doesnt look interested? - dunno about that.

Id add to that list...he is very indecisive, turns the ball over too much - lacks decision-making skills.

He was hardly on the ground at all in the 2nd half against collingwood. After the match im pretty sure Ross Lyon said this was because they couldnt find the right match-up. Hopefully the penny has dropped.

Give him more time - someone posted somewhere else that a lot of people thought Goddard was a mistake. I'm guessing from his 2nd half last year & when he was playing this year most of those people would now retract that statement - we're really missing him now.

I think Raph should be given more time. I agree with ShadowFox - my biggest concern is his decision making & he does appear to not go hard enough at the ball - got to remember he hasn't had THAT much game time thru injury etc.

"As for the worst St Kilda player in 21 years" ... surely not - can list a few others before Raph Clarke

Raph Clarke is deceptive.

His laconic style of play, even the way he runs, makes it look as if he is not fully committed. Nothing could be further from the truth. His kicking may look as if he is just not hitting targets, but he simply needs more games under his belt. He will begin to show his sublime skills more and more frequently as he gains in confidence. Decision-making is a skill made up 10% natural instinct and 90% experience. How the hell can he improve in it without playing him?

Gram has a nice long kick, but his short to medium passes are average.
Raph is already better than him in this regard, but no-one is bagging Grammy. Why is that ?

He will begin to show his sublime skills more and more frequently as he gains in confidence. Decision-making is a skill made up 10% natural instinct and 90% experience. How the hell can he improve in it without playing him?

That's what the ressies are for - and that's where he'll be this week and not before time.

No one is bagging Gram because he has the runs on the board mate n has shown plenty. To someone else's comment, Goddard was looking borderline like a mistake but always showed he had it. Raph has never shown this n never will in my opinion. Raph has no good kicks, long or short. His first 2 kicks in AFL summed up the player he is.....

We needed Raph Clarke a the beginning of the season.

Not anymore.

Sammy Gilbert has developed into the rebounding, tall and running defender that we were after to compliment our defense.