Rate a show: Coodabeen Champions

Timmy

You are a brick - cheers for that

(by the way, was it Plugger who had the burger with the lot ........... in batter)

LOL :D yes I believe it was Plugger. or maybe Massive - MMMMMAAAATTEEE!!

The Coodabeens were a must listen to at my place on a Saturday morning during the footy season, more so when they were on ABC radio way back in the day. When they sold out and went to AW they were "commercialised" but still funny now and then. My favourite "callers" were Massive, Digger and Timmy from Thomastown.

Not many quirky, little radio shows have been a Supreme Court Judge's greatest claim to notoriety - a la Justice Simon Whelan.

Believe it or not, I still have the Coodabeen Champions Big Bumper Footy Book that came out in 1990.

Probably the highlight from that one was a nice little bit of humour for all those unfortunate Doggies and Saints fans out there: The Grand Final for 2000 (Record price was $99!). Features a statement from League Commissioner Peter Landy :)D) - the match start would 10am (for the US audience) and the ladder:

Footscray
St. Kilda
Fitzroy
Darwin
Hobart
Canberra
Brisbane

And the best one: Bruce Doull as the AFL's new media director!!!

As for the program it is a must.

Was it Cliff from Clematis - "wet up here Tony" that had the rumours he needed checking out?

Can anyone remember any of the rumours - I am in need of a good laugh.
I liked the rumour that Cliff heard from his brother-in-law, who had spoken in the pub to someone whose cousin was doing some painting at AFL House; that there would be lines drawn down the wings connecting the ends of the 50m lines, and that the areas between the lines and the boundary would be marked "NML"; so as to illustrate when the ball was kicked into No Man's Land. :D :D :D

A friend of mine worked with Ian Cover a few years ago and would often ring me usually on a Fri arvo whwn i was flat out doing his "Denis from Dalkeith" impersonation which was quite good.
Needless to say the Libs lost the next state election.
Back in the 3AW days Darren James would often stick around and do his "John from Nth Melbourne" which cracked me up every time.

Liked Ivan from Ivanhoe and Peter from Peterborough - particularly when the Cats played the Demons:

'That Northerly chap's doing OK as coach, isn't he?'.

Digger - awesome. Loved how he was in the Nursing Home and had his Two Fruits for lunch. Then he found out that John Elliot's company (CUB) had bought out the company that made Two Fruits (IXL). Great Segment. 'He's murdered two fruits, he has'.

And - blowing my own trumpet - I won a comp - I was the Stewart Loewe Should Be Australian Wicketkeeper Society.

Their Greatest Hits CD is a classic. Never the same since Tony Leonard left, but I never drove off the road the first time I heard Guru Bob say:

"Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way when you criticize them, you are a mile away from them and you have their shoes."

My favourite Coodabeens memory was an interview between Digger and Tony when Digger said to Tony
"You'ld think the umpires couldn't care whether Collingwood won or lost!" to which Tony incredulously replied
"But Digger, they're not meant to!"
There was no reply from Diggger but a strangled noise as he had a coronary on air - very funny moment.

I had a cassette tape (remember them) of the interviews but unfortunately it was stolen probably by some unappreciative prick.

Was it Cliff from Clematis - "wet up here Tony" that had the rumours he needed checking out?

Can anyone remember any of the rumours - I am in need of a good laugh.

Hope you haven't been hanging on six years for that laugh, but...

My dad had heaps of their tapes and my main (only) Cliff memory from that was a follow on from the above Digger call, where Peter called, then Merv ('You know I don't normally complain about the umpires'/'No, you normally only complain about the catering down there') all complaining about the umpires, then Cliff called up saying that he'd heard a rumour that the umpires had been instructed to be biased against every club in the league.

I reckon Cliff would go well on Big Footy.

Still love the Coodabeens. Shame the ABC have stopped them from doing Cup day and Boxing day.

Digger and co were awesome but some of the newer callers are good. Pearl from the Peninsula is always a laugh and Sauce from Sea Lake isn't bad either.

Steve Kolynuik won a game for the Dogs with a late goal one year......He had a free kick about 70 out and was lining up for a long bomb when he decided to play on....ran around a half asleep Peter Daicos on the mark and kicked the winning goal from 50. Digger was not impressed.

"Its not fair Tony"
"Whats not fair Digger"
"That Bulldog player who did that terrible thing to Daics. Its a disgrace Tony"
"He just played on...hes allowed to do that"
"He pulled a knife on him Tony!!! Thats why Daics couldnt stop him !He had a knife!! Everybody saw it except those mongrel umpiires. Its a conspiracy Tony"!!!!!

And then theres the famous Mothers Day massacre in about 1987 when the Tigers belted Collingwood
"Its not fair Tony"
"Whats not fair"
"Darren Millane couldnt play against Richmond and its the VFL's fault"
"He was injured Digger....surely you cant blame the VFL for that"
"No he wasnt"
"Have you heard something else Digger?"
"Yes Tony...........He couldnt play because it was Mothers Day......HE LOVES HIS MUM TONY...He LOVES HIS MUM....he cant play on Mothers Day.........ITS A CONSPIRACY!!!!"

from Massive Merv's family cookbook

Hot fat footy snack for all you skinny blokes going to the footy in Melbourne in the depths of winter.

Serves 1

Cooked in a 44 gallon drum

1kg of Fat
1 thick crusty loaf of bread
4 pints of batter.

Cut the loaf in half, removing the centre leaving only the crust.
Cook the fat until smoking and very hot. Can go a little brown, no problems.
Pour 1 point batter in half loaf, fill rest with hot fat. Repeat for other half.
Put the whole loaf together and drop into the remaining batter.

Still love the Coodabeens. Shame the ABC have stopped them from doing Cup day and Boxing day.

Digger and co were awesome but some of the newer callers are good. Pearl from the Peninsula is always a laugh and Sauce from Sea Lake isn't bad either.
I can't stand Pearl. She's cringeworthy.

I discovered the Coodabeens 10 years ago, and have become a bigger and bigger fan of theirs in recent years. I was hoping to go see them on their tour last year, but the date closest to me clashed with a family birthday dinner, and the second closest date was a night where I had to be up at 5 the next morning for work :mad:

Although my knowledge of them goes back further than that: My mum actually bought me their Big Bumper Footy Book when I was about 10, but it was misplaced when we moved house a few years back (I recently got their non-footy book, 1992's The Coodabeens Take A Good Hard Look At Australia... brilliant despite its age)

On that note, thanks Beetlebum for putting up the Hot Fat Footy Snack recipe. Given the world we live in now, I reckon if the Massive Merv character came out today, someone would attempt to cook his recipes (and post the photos online for all the world to see)

I loved when they did john Farnham the laugh always cracked me up
was john farnham voiced by Darren James? Only good thing he ever did if so.
Other than get pissed with the old codger who would ring up about his 1956 juice extractor or whatever the hell it was.

Rate a show: Coodabeen Champions