Rate Dale Thomas..

in my OP he is a decent player not awsome but not bad the papers make him out to be a superstar wen he is just an average player. i dont know why hodgepodge insists on comparing every player to a carlton player. and as for people baggin hodge for 1 bad game get a life and stop stirrin shit the guy is a gun and a great leader for hawthorn

I was speaking to guy who works in recruiting at an AFL club, who thinks he will be the best from the 2005 draft still.

He believes Thomas is still yet to find himself as a player, and is at less than 50% of his capacity, and he still manages to be a key player for a top 8 side, which is challenging the top 4.

Stupid comments by people like The Ox saying he's the best wet weather footy player is stupid - of course those comments are over rating him.

I think the way I rate him is fair. Promising young player, who has the potential to be one of the premier players in the AFL.

The whole 'soft' reputation confuses me. On the weekend 12 out of 21 possessions were contested for him. There are a number of Collingwood players who don't go hard enoguh at times (Ben Johnson, Ryan Lonie at tiems, Pendlebury) but Thomas is one of the ones whose intencity is always at a premium.

In 2 or 3 years time, there will be a hell of a lot of bumping of 'Dale Thomas is over rated' threads.

Check the crowd figures. The atmosphere is generally grater than a lot of Hawthorn's other home and away games. Hence, more pressure.

Don't cry.

I wouldn’t have thought the importance of games depended on crowd numbers but seeing as Collingwood has only crowd numbers and nothing else to hang their hat on, I can see why you would make such a point.

Firstly, I didn't make the point Einstein, someone else did.

I just told you why the matches could produce a lot more pressure. Bigger crowd + bigger atmosphere. Importance is just something you randomly introduced just then. But whatever works for you.

Big crowd + big atmosphere = A big game with pressure

I can try explaining that slower to you if you wish.

Firstly, I didn't make the point Einstein, someone else did.

I just told you why the matches could produce a lot more pressure. Bigger crowd + bigger atmosphere. Importance is just something you randomly introduced just then. But whatever works for you.

Big crowd + big atmosphere = A big game with pressure

I can try explaining that slower to you if you wish.

my definition of a big game is somewhat different to yours, but whatever makes you feel more comfortable about thomas will work fine....
What the hell?

The big game discussion was in relation to Luke Hodge.

Do you usually invent arguments?

What the hell?

The big game discussion was in relation to Luke Hodge.

Do you usually invent arguments?

i dunno what you were previously talking about but i'm talking about thomas taking a hanger and dribbling a goal when the game is over/not important and then doing nothing when they play quality opposition and the game is up for grabs.

Spot on. If we just discount his brilliant performance in our overtime semi-final victory, match-winning performance against the Saints last year, match-winning performance against the Swans last year, his great performance in our 11 point victory over the Dees last year, his wet-weather domination in our close loss to Port last year, his performance against the Saints this year (9 point win), or his two excellent running goals to mount a comeback against the Tiges last year, before they ran over the top of us... if we discount all that, plus all the times he kicked early goals, pulled an outstanding goal assist through traffic out of his arse, turned the ball over at crucial times with his relentless chasing and pressure... then we can clearly see that he's a downhill skier who never touches the ball until the end of the match. Of course, the fact that his 1st and 4th quarters are far better than his 2nd and 3rd quarters has nothing to do with his high-interchange time in the middle quarters, due to his tank (and high-intensity playing style) restricting him to being somewhat of a burst player. Let's just ignore all of that, just to suit my pathetic agenda. Woohoo!

i dunno what you were previously talking about but i'm talking about thomas taking a hanger
You mean like the multiple hangers he took in the first term against Sydney where he was BOG at quarter time, where he set up our victory?

Meaningless contributions like those ones?

Or maybe his BOG performance against Sydney in 2007?

Or maybe against West Coast this year when they had kicked multiple goals on the trot and were only a few goals away, and Thomas stood up with a solo run from half back to re-gain the momentum before half time, then kick the first goal in the third term as well?

But what people like you do is not actually watch games. You talk about that dribbling goal against Geelong when the game was over, but what people like you fail to grasp is the fact he had 7 tackles that game as well. But I suppose he only tackles when Collingwood is a certain amount in front, yes?

I suppose some people just watch the replays of goals instead of actually watching the full game. You can't help that I guess.

Yet you continually refer to the geelong game as the biggest game in hodgey's career, that's why he choked right? :rolleyes:

I believe Thomas is overrated. The ability to do freakish things has made people feel good about him, and it has helped him escape some criticism in media circles, whereas players like Tambling don't get off anywhere near as easily.

This isn't to say he doesn't have ability, I just think he drifts in and out of games quite regularly, isn't overly consistent, and yet people like Mike Sheehan are putting him in their top 50. Hype can achieve a lot for a player.

In any case, he can be a fantastic player in the future, so we'll see what happens.

Thats it mate keep pulling one offs and say they happen all the time. Wouldn't mind knowing the "Hangers" his taking in junk time. I can think of 1 last quarter mark but surely there is heaps more than just one for you to write that.

I think he is very overrated. Rated only a month by Mark Robinson and Mark Sheehan as a big chance for the AA HFF position.

I am so sick of Collingwood supporters raving on how good he is when his best and flashy qtrs in games each week are when Collingwood are well down. You only have to look at last week. In the first qtr when the pies got smashed, he had 11 touches. He was ok all together in the first half but the pies were still well held. Then when Collingwood very close in the second half, he went totally missing.

He could be something but at the moment he still has more ground to make up than Buddy does with his goal kicking. When will the day come when Magpie fans hit earth and realize he is nowhere near the player he is made out to be?

Better than not being rated at all.

Least people take notice of him. You obviously can't get your mind off him.

Who are you?

I think that he is a good young delveloping player, but is his own worst enemy by being constantly on media street. Resulting in a lot of negative attention.

I just reckon he needs to focus on being a consistently good player before getting involved in all this self promotion.

I think that he is a good young delveloping player, but is his own worst enemy by being constantly on media street. Resulting in a lot of negative attention.

I just reckon he needs to focus on being a consistently good player before getting involved in all this self promotion.
Yes, I'm sure he writes all those writes up on himself.

Rated according to whom?

Bigfooty? Underrated.

The media? Overrated.

So I'll say neither.
he is overrated by the media, he's not bad, very flashy player needs to put it together more consistantly, probably got built up by media too early for his own good and started to believe his own hype.

Yes, I'm sure he writes all those writes up on himself.

Never said he writes anything. Having said that, it seems that he is always very quick to put up his hand to appear on BTG and TFS whenever he is asked.

If he wasnt so visible in the media, then I am sure that polls like this wouldnt eventuate.