Rawlings Gone

• Thread starter Thread starter BigCat1

Originally posted by Catman
Sorry, I don't really rate him and he obviously doesn't rate us if he wont sign a new contract.
I agree. If he had his heart in at Geelong he would've signed with the batch of other guys who signed mid-season.

Although I reckon he will stay, and that he's just milking us for the best deal, I reckon it doesn't show much about his passion and commitment for the club.

Play for the love of the club, take the deal you get, you're only young.

Originally posted by JUBJUB
A lot of people have over rated Rawlings as a forward.He's made his name as a backman and had half a good season up forward.Suddenly he's the big ray of sunshine.

I've upset one precious North fan with this comment.Poor,poor Lee. :rolleyes:

Maybe the fact that Rawlings chose the Kangas points to bigger probs at Geelong - the coach for one! He escapes heaps of criticism for a very underperformed team.
Money wasn't an issue and Geelong is a nice town that seems to improve every year. So why is it so hard to get a big name player down there?
Look at the people doing the negotiating who have accepted a poor year so calmly - sends a bad message to everyone outside the club.

Originally posted by kanga fan
Maybe the fact that Rawlings chose the Kangas points to bigger probs at Geelong - the coach for one! He escapes heaps of criticism for a very underperformed team.

Dipwad
He chose North because his brother plays for them.If his brother played at Melbourne he would've gone to the Dee's.If his brother was at Geelong he would've gone there.

Brotherly love meant nothing all week when Geelong were the hot faves and Melb second fave to get Rawlings. Came down to skilled club negotiators who did the best negotiating - Geelong are amateurs at that - Kangas are pros.
Compare the clubs - Kangas are fair dinkum and Geelong are pretty boys who have underachieved for the last 15 years.
His biggest criteria for selecting a new club was playing finals. That ruled Geelong out in the end.
Wake up sleepy hollow and start acting professionally - a good way to start would be making people responsible for failure.

Yesterday, Rawlings said the chance to play football alongside his younger brother, Brady, was a big factor in his decision.

"My brother is my best mate and I see the Kangaroos with an enormous future and good window of opportunity to have some success," Jade Rawlings said. "That is the basis of my decision."

With almost four years difference in their ages, the brothers have never played football in the same side. "We have always spoken about it and back in 1999, when I was struggling, I thought I was going to go to the Kangaroos then because I couldn't get a game at Hawthorn. So it is a great irony that five years down the track that were are hopefully going to be teammates," Rawlings said.

Rawlings also praised the Cats for their professionalism in recent weeks and said he "felt bad" he could not chose the club. "Geelong were extremely professional with the way they dealt with me and I've got enormous respect with the way they approached me and my management," he said.

Despite offering less money than their rivals, the Roos did offer Rawlings the three-year-deal that the 25-year-old had wanted from the Hawks.

Yes, there are problems with the way we go about it... and yes his brother had no impact on his decision whatsoever. *rolleyes*

He chose North because his brother plays for them.If his brother played at Melbourne he would've gone to the Dee's.If his brother was at Geelong he would've gone there.
Agreed.

It is this very reason that I am sure Nathan Ablett will either play for Geelong alongside his older brother Gary, or nobody at all.

Take into account travelling up and down the highway every day...

Brotherly love meant nothing all week when Geelong were the hot faves and Melb second fave to get Rawlings. Came down to skilled club negotiators who did the best negotiating - Geelong are amateurs at that - Kangas are pros.

If,and it's a big if,you can read,then get a copy of todays papers and read Jade's comments.

There's only one pro at the Kanga's.Her name is Kelli.

If,and it's a big if,you can read,then get a copy of todays papers and read Jade's comments.

There's only one pro at the Kanga's.Her name is Kelli.
Here's a quote from today's Geelong Advertiser...

"Take his brother out of the picture and he would have been wearing a Geelong jumper," he (Pickering) said.

Rawlings

We'd be better off with two raw Lings than one half-hearted Rawlings. How fair dinkum were his discussions with Geelong when he says playing football with his brother was an enormous factor in his decision, and he wanted to play finals (on this topic - apparently taking the word of a couple of Kanga players that North had a big future - wow, how persuasive!)? About as genuine as a Chinese Rolex - lots of glitter and not much ticker.

Obviously Jade had to see all his options before choosing the Roos. I'm sure he was pretty serious in his talks with Geelong, but in the end he had to choose someone, and there were going to be several un-happy clubs. If he came to Geelong, his heart would for sure be at the Cats.

You can look at it this way. The flip side is if he came to Geelong, there would be talks that he’s only playing for money. It works both ways; playing with his brother meant more than money, so it shows that money isn’t everything. The Kangaroos’ offer was appreciably less than of Geelong and Melbourne’s offers.

Playing with his brother was obviously something he wanted to do, and in the end that outweighed all the other deals on option.

Good to see that someone plays for loyalty to someone - even though not his original club - than money. Hell, as a Geelong supporter I wiould have loved him in hoops, but he chose his brother instead.

Richardson I would spew if he joined Geelong. I hate him. :mad:

What about Drew Petrie from North? He can play and obviously he will be no. 2 now Rawlings is coming. Would be good at CHF.

Plus also think to lads, McCarthy and Playfair are good. We also got a lad named Kingsley that can play - hell, he did not have the best year this year but he has played only two seasons.

Think lads of a forward line of the following..

HF: S.Johnson Playfair G. Ablett
FF: Chapman Kingsley McCarthy

3 crumbers and 3 talls. Playfair is OK on the ground too so things aren't that bad up there. A touch more experience from Playfair and McCarthy and things look good. Plus a bit more quality delivery from the midfield and things are good.

:D ;)

I reckon a bit more heart from Kingsley wouldn't go astray. McCarthy is going to be something good, and if he takes the second forward spot next season, he will develop into a great player. Playfair is still pretty raw, maybe in a few years he will shine, but for now we'll have to wait.

Obviously, the missing link there is the big name CHF we're looking for now.

Originally posted by BigCat1
The list of possibles mid year is down to:

Expierenced Players
Whitnall - Yes
Richo - At the right price
Bradshaw - No
Croad - At the right price
B. Holland - No
N. Holland - No
D. Haynes - Won't solve our problems, prefer Kingsley/Ricco/Johnson or even Green from the Dees.
Rocca - Anthony (yes), Sav (Hell no)
McKernan - No
T. Longmuir - No

What about someone like Petrie from the Kangas or perhaps Polak from the Dockers - I wish - ?

Polak especially cause he is young and can take a grab and also would be a focal point in attack and not defence.

Other than that, hope the pussie cats dont take some hack like a Sav Rocca or a Matthew 'give-me-the-ball-cause-I-wont-get-it' Richardson.

Maybe also someone like Mark Stevens from Adelaide might fit the bill. Yeah he's 28, but he can play and has both experience in finals as well. Also a Victorian boy.

Originally posted by catattack
Here's a quote from today's Geelong Advertiser...

"Take his brother out of the picture and he would have been wearing a Geelong jumper," he (Pickering) said.

You are targeting the wrong brother then, more than happy to trade Brady Rawlings to you for a player or draft picks, if you get Brady then you get Jade.

Gees it's not that hard.:rolleyes:

Compare the clubs - Kangas are fair dinkum and Geelong are pretty boys who have underachieved for the last 15 years.
His biggest criteria for selecting a new club was playing finals. That ruled Geelong out in the end.
Wake up sleepy hollow and start acting professionally - a good way to start would be making people responsible for failure.

After today's events,this had to be dragged up.

EAT MY SHORT'S !!!!!!!!!!!!

:o :o :o :o :o

I hope Jade gave back that $7.50 in change he recieved in a brown paper bag from Arch, Stevo, and Simpson. :D :D :D

Sorry couldn't help it