Autopsy Rd 15 Blues by 4. No Cripps, No Charlie, No Doc, No Harry, no ******* problem!

Who played well for Carlton against the Dockers in Round 15?

Dow will be a freak but is going to require patience. He is imo at least 3 years off being a gun full time midfielder. His weapon will be his explosiveness and I truly reckon his kicking will come on. His action is beautiful - head over it and kicks through it and more often than not keeps them low (albeit inaccurate). When he grows into his body he will be a freak.

Until then though we just have to take the good with the bad and back him in. Yesterday was a perfect example - all class crumbing goal then followed by almost costing us the game.

His role has changed since Teague has taken over. Playing fwd more and thus getting less disposals. Ideally probably needs to play a few more midfield minutes but the midfield mix has been working so not too much an issue. What I have liked from him since the move is he generally getting the ball in dangerous positions and showing his football smarts (also decent hands at times - marking wise). But like a lot of our HFF, just needs to find it another 10 times a game (JSOS, Cunners etc)

His technique in his set shot for goal yesterday looked more natural than the robotic technique he used a few weeks back. Reckon they did some work over the bye on that.

Not enough marchy love so far!

Marchbank needs the midfield up and about, pure and simple.

When the ball comes in long and high, he gets himself in exactly the right spots. Seems like Weiters, Jones and Plowman know that their primary job at that point is to take body and let Marchbank drift in for the intercept.

Caleb is, however, prone to getting beaten one-on-one when the opposition get clean entries.

Nothing wrong with that, it's his role in the side and not every player is going to be good at every facet of the game.

Backline is pretty well sorted, barring a (fit) running defender.
Forward line is pretty well sorted, barring a dangerous small forward (or two).
Midfield is well stocked, but youth = inconsistency, so another experienced midfielder would be handy.

What we now know is that SPS plays his best football when Crippa is not around the stoppages.
That has been evident at various times this season.
Quite the conundrum and a fantastic problem to have.

Oh and Andrew Russell your a marvel.
Wasnt yesterday the first game that crippa has missed this year?. Seem to remember sps playing a ripper in a win over the dogs teaming with the great man.

Just my opinion on his game today, woeful disposal. I don't care about Brayshaw or the fact it's Walsh's first year. Comments all based around this game only. Today was one of his worst games. If dow did what he did today with his disposal the knives would be out.

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

Huh? Dow doesn’t get it 30 times a game and lay half a dozen tackles and run a half marathon.

Standard of what Soap? Fitness? Strength? Training?
It's a bit baffling how behind the 8-ball we are with the high-performance stuff. Considering Bolton came from Hawks during their golden era under Russell I would've thought he bought some knowledge with him?

Heard the other day that Bolts made the young guys do a shitload of homework to the point where it'd be a priority over being in the gym *cringe*.

Keen to see how the boys look physically and carry themselves mentally after an all-out 4 month flogging from Russell.

Wasnt yesterday the first game that crippa has missed this year?. Seem to remember sps playing a ripper in a win over the dogs teaming with the great man.
Go back and watch that again. Crippa was off the ball a lot and SPS dominated. At the time Bolton was moving Cripps about trying to shake the tag off him. The same happened against the pies.

How many times is too many times to watch the last 2 mins?

Casboult was huge in the goal square, shaking off tackles left, right and centre to get the ball out to the Fish, who taps to Murph and bang!
They say half the Freo team are still trying to bring him to ground right now.

OK, so - observation, Walsh's disposal wasn't up to his usual standard today.

No worries. If this is an off game for Sam, we're very fortunate. Don't think there's any cause for concern, and as before I can list a bunch of possible factors in why he may have had an off day. Appreciate now you're not having a go at him, but still think your language is perhaps a little on the strong side and comes across as rather unfair criticism of an 18yo who has compiled one of, if not the, best debut season for a draftee our game has ever seen.

I think rather than people getting upset with Frumpy's comments we should take this attitude -

He probably did have a bad day with his disposal (in tough conditions) - but this kids has set the bar so high with his performances that it's almost a compliment that we are criticising a 30-disposal game by a first year player.

I'm not sure what you want then? An upgraded Walsh with less errors in his first year?

Were you spoilt as a child?
Take it easy. Walsh's disposal wasn't great yesterday. Most would agree. Pointing it out doesn't mean he needs to be delisted, or that there's unfair expectations on him. It's just how he played. He's going to be a gun, no doubt.

It's a bit baffling how behind the 8-ball we are with the high-performance stuff. Considering Bolton came from Hawks during their golden era under Russell I would've thought he bought some knowledge with him?

Heard the other day that Bolts made the young guys do a ****load of homework to the point where it'd be a priority over being in the gym *cringe*.

Keen to see how the boys look physically and carry themselves mentally after an all-out 4 month flogging from Russell.
Geez, if true, Bolts sounds a lot like me. All theory, no practice. [emoji23]

I'm an armchair bodybuilder and mma fighter. [emoji1787]

Maybe there is some truth to the belief that you have to have played at a high level to coach at a high level.

Same here. My 9 year old was devo when Freo slotted that goal with a minute to go. Those tears dried up quickly.

It’s not just the players who get something out of this, it’s the young Carlton supporters who have been teased at school, have questioned why they have to barrack for this side (and don’t care that we’ve been supporting the Blues for generations) and who scream with delight when we get up and win. Makes it all worth it.

I honestly didn’t think we’d win going into it, so purposely didn’t put the game on the TV to try and save my 7 year old the disappointment of another loss(he’s so close to being a Dogs supporter for some reason) so I watched on my phone while I made dinner. On his way to bed he saw my phone on the bench, I think we were a couple of goals down at that stage.
I wouldn’t tell him the result this morning and we are going to watch the replay when he gets him from school. He loves Murph so he’s going to be stoked when he slots the winner.

Cant get the game out of my head this morning, so good. Like the last 8 weeks or so, I just love watching Casboult play at the moment. Chock full of confidence and it shows in his kicking and ball use. Looking inside and pulling the trigger and hitting the target, little left foot to a man inside 50 and I knew he would kick the set shot yesterday, just based on his self confidence. For a bloke who was offered to up at trade time for a pack of chips and not taken, to now best 22 again, good on him.

I voted for every player except Charlie today, given he only played 12m. But seeing him cheer on the boys with one leg kinda makes me want to go back and swing him one, too.

Couldn't be more proud of the boys. Without Crippa, Harry and Charlie - it was heartwarming to see our leaders step up (Ed, Kreuz, Daisy + Murph) and some of the young bucks have their best games for the year.

Could rattle off 100 moments, but my faves:
  • SPS bonecruncher in the fourth
  • Murph and Daisy clutch goals at the death
  • SOS on Fyfe, shut him TF out
  • Ed lead from the front all day
  • As did Kreuz, who poleaxed Fyfe with a monster shoulder charge
  • Lochie and Walshy standing up for Kennedy in the pocket
  • Kennedy slotting two and enjoying his footy
  • The general support for each other and love for the game
  • Absolutely unwavering and unrelenting will to get back into the contest
Second time in as many weeks that we've been down by a fair margin and come back - Teague is proving himself to be a great game-day coach and clearly has the players.

So proud.

Geez, if true, Bolts sounds a lot like me. All theory, no practice. [emoji23]

I'm an armchair bodybuilder and mma fighter. [emoji1787]

Maybe there is some truth to the belief that you have to have played at a high level to coach at a high level.

Possibly Bolts would have benefited from a few more years as an assistant before making the jump to head coach. Maybe a few years at a different club too, in a different system. A less successful environment than Hawthorn, to see up close how some clubs really battle. Who knows?

christ I thought the umpire bleating was chronic on this board at times - the freo posters are out of control - not all of them mind you - although I notice in 30 pages the umpires just haven't rated much mention at all here tonight - love to know why that is - oh wait............

We won the free kick count that's why. :p

The way they sang the song was different.
It was sung with a more mature attitude. It was more serious and with intent.
There is a growing we can do this aura about them.

Just wish they'd cut the high pitched "wew" and "yew" moments between words. They do it every rendition. Smacks of our dark days to me and I hate it.

And this is coming from a guy who enjoys butchering great songs at karaoke. I know good karaoke. This "wew" and "yew" shit is hideous.

If you're reading this boys, get that shit outta here!

I honestly didn’t think we’d win going into it, so purposely didn’t put the game on the TV to try and save my 7 year old the disappointment of another loss(he’s so close to being a Dogs supporter for some reason) so I watched on my phone while I made dinner. On his way to bed he saw my phone on the bench, I think we were a couple of goals down at that stage.
I wouldn’t tell him the result this morning and we are going to watch the replay when he gets him from school. He loves Murph so he’s going to be stoked when he slots the winner.

My step kids were at their dad's yesterday so wouldn't know the results (they don't watch footy there) so a bit down they didn't get to watch it. Been trying to get them into footy but been hard the last 2 years with the results (they do still talk about the GWS game when we won by a point and we were at the game)

They give votes to 4 players and the votes depend on how well you play not a 3,2,1 system. If anything the Age system should favour players in poor sides.

Okay, fair enough. My ignorance.
A different system to the one I remember. This just reminds me how long it has been since I paid much attention to The Age. (Or any mainstream rag for that matter.)

I voted for every player except Charlie today, given he only played 12m. But seeing him cheer on the boys with one leg kinda makes me want to go back and swing him one, too.

Couldn't be more proud of the boys. Without Crippa, Harry and Charlie - it was heartwarming to see our leaders step up (Ed, Kreuz, Daisy + Murph) and some of the young bucks have their best games for the year.

Could rattle off 100 moments, but my faves:
  • SPS bonecruncher in the fourth
  • Murph and Daisy clutch goals at the death
  • SOS on Fyfe, shut him TF out
  • Ed lead from the front all day
  • As did Kreuz, who poleaxed Fyfe with a monster shoulder charge
  • Lochie and Walshy standing up for Kennedy in the pocket
  • Kennedy slotting two and enjoying his footy
  • The general support for each other and love for the game
  • Absolutely unwavering and unrelenting will to get back into the contest
Second time in as many weeks that we've been down by a fair margin and come back - Teague is proving himself to be a great game-day coach and clearly has the players.

So proud.

Brilliant snapshot. Couldn't agree more with that final point. Thanks for putting this together.

I guess I'm not ready to jump on his bandwagon yet. Obviously most ppl disagree with me. But I'm still not convinced. But that's cool it would be boring if we all agreed with each other. The only constant in these threads is our luv for the blues.

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Don't get me wrong, he has a long way to go but is well and truly earning his spot atm.

He has elite winger potential but needs time and experience at this level.

My step kids were at their dad's yesterday so wouldn't know the results (they don't watch footy there) so a bit down they didn't get to watch it. Been trying to get them into footy but been hard the last 2 years with the results (they do still talk about the GWS game when we won by a point and we were at the game)

Make them watch this, then take them to the Melbourne game - because finally, we know this team will bring unconditional effort week in, week out. Results don't matter as much when effort holds true!

Autopsy Rd 15 Blues by 4. No Cripps, No Charlie, No Doc, No Harry, no ******* problem!