Autopsy Rd 15 Blues by 4. No Cripps, No Charlie, No Doc, No Harry, no ******* problem!

Who played well for Carlton against the Dockers in Round 15?

So let me get this straight, you wanted him to have a 30 possession 8 tackle game that was less error ridden?

Yes, his disposal was off but remember we are talking about a kid in his first year who is achieving things never seen before at AFL level.

The 2nd sentence has no bearing on what I have said about Walsh's game yesterday, my comments are based on yesterdays game and yesterdays game only. He butchered the ball - a lot and was costly. Effort was great (as we have come to expect from him) but disposal was a long way off AFL standard yesterday (and yesterday only)

He was Paddy Dow-esque in disposal yesterday (and to be fair to Dow, Dow was much better yesterday)

I liked that he had Ed on Fyfe from the start, but when that didn't work out sent JSOS to him who did a good job, and let Ed hunt the ball and he finished with a ridiculous 16 clearances.

Teague is showing good tactical and match day nous.

2 wins (almost 3) in 3 weeks is certainly something to ponder for the coaching recruitment team.

I think our priority should now shift towards getting the best senior and line coaches.

Just my opinion on his game today, woeful disposal. I don't care about Brayshaw or the fact it's Walsh's first year. Comments all based around this game only. Today was one of his worst games. If dow did what he did today with his disposal the knives would be out.

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

First year player, round 15, coming off the bye, travelling to Perth (first time playing there), hostile, overwhelmingly opposition crowd.

Just don't get why you need to make a thing of it...?

OK, his disposal was a bit off. And?

The 2nd sentence has no bearing on what I have said about Walsh's game yesterday, my comments are based on yesterdays game and yesterdays game only. He butchered the ball - a lot and was costly. Effort was great (as we have come to expect from him) but disposal was a long way off AFL standard yesterday (and yesterday only)

He was Paddy Dow-esque in disposal yesterday (and to be fair to Dow, Dow was much better yesterday)

Wait, you thought Paddy Dow played better than Walsh yesterday?

Oh dear...

First year player, round 15, coming off the bye, travelling to Perth (first time playing there), hostile, overwhelmingly opposition crowd.

Im not making a thing of it, I pointed out in my opinion he had a poor game and people keep calling me out on it. So I answer their questions. Like your post, im answering the question.

What we now know is that SPS plays his best football when Crippa is not around the stoppages.
That has been evident at various times this season.
Quite the conundrum and a fantastic problem to have.

Oh and Andrew Russell your a marvel.

Wait until next year. He's not happy with the standard at the moment

Wait, you thought Paddy Dow played better than Walsh yesterday?

Oh dear...

Not what I said, I was referring to Dow's disposal was better yesterday than it has been for most of the year. Just my opinion, I thought Walsh had a shocker, even with 30 disposals (I like the 8 tackles stat) - and no I haven't looked at the stats, these have been quoted to me as proof of a great game.......

Seems like he's spending a lot more time forward which i'm fine with.

Less demanding position physically as opposed to always attending centre bounces and being in the thick of it like he was under Bolton and gets to learn how to play a different position.

He was essentially playing Cuningham's role last night. Got some score involvements which was good, and a nice goal himself. Obviously doesn't have Cuningham's crumbing nous.

Just filled a role for us.

Honestly watch the game instead of stats. Most of his ‘ineffective’ disposals were hacks out of congested situations. He played very inside. I felt he could have kicked it better maybe 2-3 times.

It almost seemed like he tried to do Cripps' role. Understandably, fell a bit short of what the great man can do. But for an 18 year old... FMD, he's going to be something special.

:hearts: Walshy :hearts:

Really have to hand it to our Senior players this weeek. I said it at the start of the year but the group of Murphy, Thomas, E Curnow, Simpson is not that bad. They all stepped up yesterday, every one of them.

Realistically I think this is our true spot - we are a very young 10th - 14th placed side who is capable of causing an upset.

Side note - how good does LOB look all of a sudden?

Not what I said, I was referring to Dow's disposal was better yesterday than it has been for most of the year. Just my opinion, I thought Walsh had a shocker, even with 30 disposals (I like the 8 tackles stat) - and no I haven't looked at the stats, these have been quoted to me as proof of a great game.......

I'm not sure what you want then? An upgraded Walsh with less errors in his first year?

Were you spoilt as a child?

I'm not sure what you want then? An upgraded Walsh with less errors in his first year?

Were you spoilt as a child?

I wanted him to kick the ball better, A LOT better. Again this first year nonsense, his kicking has been good in other games, yesterday was terrible. That's all my criticism is/was. Why do you keep mentioning the whole year?

And usually when people bring into personal attacks (bringing my childhood into it - like it has something to do with my opinion) it means they have lost the argument, in my opinion.

+1
Walsh gets 30 possessions playing inside in Crippa's absence. (Can there be any bigger boots to fill in footy today?) "Oh, but he sprayed a few! Tut tut." **** that! :mad:
Today is a day to be happy - we won, and Walsh racked up another awesome game. End of story.

I can't understand why anyone would have the "knives" out for Paddy, either! He hasn't even been at the club for two full seasons, but already he's played so much senior footy, perhaps it's easy to forget that he's still basically a noob.
I think he's doing just fine thanks.
I am quietly thrilled with the prospect of having guys like Walsh, Paddy, LOB and SPS all in the same team, once they're all in the 100+ games bracket. :cool:

Im not making a thing of it, I pointed out in my opinion he had a poor game and people keep calling me out on it. So I answer their questions. Like your post, im answering the question.

OK, so - observation, Walsh's disposal wasn't up to his usual standard today.

No worries. If this is an off game for Sam, we're very fortunate. Don't think there's any cause for concern, and as before I can list a bunch of possible factors in why he may have had an off day. Appreciate now you're not having a go at him, but still think your language is perhaps a little on the strong side and comes across as rather unfair criticism of an 18yo who has compiled one of, if not the, best debut season for a draftee our game has ever seen.

Dow will be a freak but is going to require patience. He is imo at least 3 years off being a gun full time midfielder. His weapon will be his explosiveness and I truly reckon his kicking will come on. His action is beautiful - head over it and kicks through it and more often than not keeps them low (albeit inaccurate). When he grows into his body he will be a freak.

Until then though we just have to take the good with the bad and back him in. Yesterday was a perfect example - all class crumbing goal then followed by almost costing us the game.

Autopsy Rd 15 Blues by 4. No Cripps, No Charlie, No Doc, No Harry, no ******* problem!