Game Day Rd 17 2013: Melbourne v Brisbane

Felt for Toumpas. Wears his heart on his sleeve - love that. Would like to know if it was heat related. Just looked shot.

Over the moon with Mayes though. :thumbsu:

Figured Greeny would have been the sub/been subbed - good to see him go so well and play the entire game in that heat.

Putting it down to the conditions largely (was 26 deg and humid at the first bounce), although as usual our structures around stoppages looked off allowing them to get some quick breaks on. Didn't take our chances on the scoreboard either.

Conditions were obviously tough - like playing wet weather football in an oven I suspect. We toughed it out. Rockliff was very good, as was Patfull.

Back home from a lovely dinner, in time for the last qtr.

Always difficult for non-locals to play in Darwin. The heat can make it difficult to catch one's breath.

Some may write 'a win is a win'. But we kept pressure on the Demons and won the game, without players of the class of Brown, Black and Moloney.

Congratulations to the boys for keeping their cool (pun intended) and winning.

As some others have written, why is it we are required to travel two weeks in a row? Add to that the stress on the players bodies from the humidity and heat of Darwin.

Port had a scare against the Saints, so we have a chance. Plus the Eagles should lose to the Swans tomorrow, which will make our run into the top 8 a little easier.

But us beating Port is exactly what Carlton need and they might lose to the Suns next week.

I had a look at the draws of Carlton, West Coast and Port for the rest of the season. The 3 teams that we need to fail in order for us to sneak into the the eighth spot. All 3 play Gold Coast over the next 3 weeks but on the whole they have pretty tough draws which is a good thing for us. I would love for the team to beat Port next week and make things interesting for us fans.

look like "hydrolytes" to me - electrolyte rehydration fluid sticks - preparation need to start immediately post game when AFL gives Lions game in Darwin one week followed by Adelaide the next. Somehow don't think Collingwood would get that combination of games...

In fact don't think any of the major Melbourne clubs would be sent to Darwin at all - conditions at night don't really allow great footy - much worse than a dewy night at the Gabba

Melbourne sell the game to Darwin as they believe they will earn more money from a visit there rather than playing a non victorian team in Melbourne. Melbourne won't sell a home game to the Colliewobbles to Darwin as they earn heaps of money from that game. Annoying for us Melbourne based supporters that the Lions have had two games of Hawthorn and Melbourne played in Tassie and Darwin due to Melb based sides selling off their games etc.

Worried we were going to get run over in the last quarter. Relieved that we won. Not sure about Bewick tonight. Thought Redden was good.

Sorry I have to disagree with you on that one.
Melbourne have been improving and were quite good tonight.
Saw no signs of arrogance at all ,just a hard slog by a young side, in tough conditions.

If you think that is a good enough effort - that's fine. But we might as well throw away the prospect of ever playing finals again if we think an effort like that is good enough.

We are never going to be a top team and challenge for another premiership if we don't have everyone putting in for the overwhelming majority of games.

Melbourne were good - but we clearly didn't expect them to come out like they did given the way we reacted in the second half of the first quarter and the first half of the second. This was a team that had just created the record for the least inside 50's ever recorded.

And it was infuriating that they clearly adapted to the conditions a lot better than us having been there for five days. We thought we were from Brisbane so we could handle it - we couldn't, we didn't train at night under similar slippery conditions that everyone knew were coming, and because of it we dropped countless sitters and handled the ball poorly throughout the night.

That is arrogance.

If you think that is a good enough effort - that's fine. But we might as well throw away the prospect of ever playing finals again if we think an effort like that is good enough.

We are never going to be a top team and challenge for another premiership if we don't have everyone putting in for the overwhelming majority of games.

Melbourne were good - but we clearly didn't expect them to come out like they did given the way we reacted in the second half of the first quarter and the first half of the second. This was a team that had just created the record for the least inside 50's ever recorded.

And it was infuriating that they clearly adapted to the conditions a lot better than us having been there for five days. We thought we were from Brisbane so we could handle it - we couldn't, we didn't train at night under similar slippery conditions that everyone knew were coming, and because of it we dropped countless sitters and handled the ball poorly throughout the night.

That is arrogance.

Fair enough, if thats what you believe.

I really, really wish St Kilda got over the line against Port. If they did and we beat them next week we would have been on equal points.

I'm glad Port Adelaide won, because it leaves Collingwood sweating about whether they'll make the eight.

They play GWS next week, and then their draw gets scary.

At this stage just glad we won, obviously we have pissed the umpires off something rotten, somehow it seems they have a vendetta against us.

Yes the play was sloppy, most likely due to the conditions, but we almost got to 100 points in those conditions and if we hadn't kicked 16 behinds.... so all in all we have tried hard and while we shoulda beaten them by more, I will take the win, and move on to next week.

There is no use getting frustrated with a win, let's push forward and combine our energies into focussing on Port as we have all seen what a difference adding Moloney, Black and Brown can have on the team as a whole. Thats a hell of a lot of grunt and leadership, if they all make it back in, we are going to crack in and give Port a red hot run for their money, and who knows, anything is possible.