Review Rd 2 - Coll vs Rich - Postmatch discussion

In short we have no depth. None of the young players are nowhere near ready for AFL footy. Reminds me a bit of when we through Ben Reid in at a very early age, he was terrible. 4 years later he was nominated for the AFL rising star award. Just because you throw a few games at the kids doesnt mean they will be ready later in the year for AFL finals footy.

Show how far we have fallen since 2010 in depth, it really is a joke.

I have to say it was very surprisnig to me that under Mick we spilled @ 13 players 2 seasons in a row. I guess Hine knows what he's doing,

Geez you'd think we lost the game with all the negativity. You guys have to realise that it's only round 2, it's a long long season, and hopefully we're building towards our peak at the right time. Considering we have a few young fellas, guys coming back from injuries and learning a slightly different game plan with a new coach I'd be taking a comfortable win in round 2.

Too true, but the forward entries are atrocious, that much I do know. Everything else is early days as you say.

Strange game to watch at the ground, the crowd was subdued, mostly due to the lack of intensity from both sides early.

But to sum it up, we won the game in 10 minutes of "old school" Collingwood football, when just after half time Daisy and Fasolo went bang, bang, bang and put us 8 goals up.

That 10 minutes is what we should focus on, it showed what we are capable of when we are on, and we can think Jake King for firing us up just before half time.

Other positives were Marty Clarke, Lachie Keefe, Ben Reid's return to form and Dayne Beams getting through the game.

Once again tonight proved we need close to our full side to be competitive with the best teams, let alone beat them, and next week will prove that even more so.

We are 1-1, with an almost level percentage after 2 rounds, it's not yet time to panic, I'd like us to be 7-4 at the half way mark at worse, and that is achievable IMO.:thumbsu:

Was there tonight and my thoughts are:
Reid good game as was Sidebottom, Blair, Jolly, Cloke kicking straighter, Beams back for first game and will get better. Night games obviously don't suit Dawes as many times going for mark shielded his eyes? Thought that this was corrected?
Not so disappointed as don't think that Ball, Pendlebury and Swan will make as many errors again.
We had kids in Sinclair, Paine, Seedsman and Keefe trying hard and will get better.

It will take a few weeks to get our structures right - missing Krak, Caff, Davies but as they are not going to be there need to give the kids a go.
Next week we should get back Johnson and Maxwell.
Glad to get 4 points even though we need to really step up next week against 'them".

Probably the dullest game I've footy I've been to for ten years. What a load of rubbish. Need a huge improvement for next week.

Anybody having some doubts over Buckley's tactics? I know it's early but they don't look like they're all that matchwinning at this stage. We relied on a lot of individual brilliance to win tonight.

We are lacking some composure coming out of the backline. I think we need johnno to play the Leon role down back. Marty isn;t ready to play that role just yet and Heater always has someone running with him which makes hard for him early to shake them off.

We were definitely trying to use the corridor more often. We made some pretty bad desicions with the footy tonight. Our skills were poor as was a lot of our defensive work.

Happy with the four points. I'm hearing a strain to Taz's calf (cold still be 1 to 2 weeks- maybe 3 at his age). Did Wellingham get injured in the magoos today?

Worst game I've seen swan play in years. Just horrible. Toovey somehow got worse.

Blair is back to his 2010 best. Ball was much better as was Thomas. Pendles was slightly down, which means that hosted of being perfect, he was only awesome.

Cloke was beaten but still kicked 3 which is good. Reid bounced back massively. Harry was better but still below average.

Jolly pretty average again. I expect zero from him this year. Be done with him after 2012 if he doesn't improve massively.

Paine and Seedsman both showed signs. Sinclair is gaaawwwwn. Useless unfortunately.

Overall we were pretty bad outside a nice 6 minute patch in the third. Fasolo will be the new Didak.

Carlton will destroy us next week unless a different side comes out.

Probably the dullest game I've footy I've been to for ten years. What a load of rubbish. Need a huge improvement for next week.

Anybody having some doubts over Buckley's tactics? I know it's early but they don't look like they're all that matchwinning at this stage. We relied on a lot of individual brilliance to win tonight.

. I don't know what our gameplan is. Other than looking to play the middle more often, it didn't look to me that we had real purpose or direction out there tonight.

If Warnock is back next week it's a concern.

Still, Carlton's backs are ordinary and their forwards too. Daisy would want to lift his game and the inclusion of Wellingham is important.

Nobody left that game a happy person.

We played like shit and got the win - we should be commended for that.

The major positive is that it showed us our weaknesses in clear daylight. We need to improve and will improve on the following:
- Entries into 50. Didak and Beams are our best kickers into 50 by FAR. We get them back to full fitness in the next few weeks and we have one weakness sorted.
- Ease of movement out of the backline. Enter Maxwell, Johnson. I think Marty was great tonight and was one of the best on ground with fantastic disposal and I think with our captain back and a bit more run to help out Shaw and O'Brien in Johnson, our backline will be as strong as 2010. Keeffe had a good game and can cover for Tarrant if indeed he is out for 3-4 weeks.
- Forward Quality and midfield depth. The return of Wellingham will let us keep 2 quality mids in the forward line to crumb and present far far better than Sinclair and Seedsman had in the game. Not knocking Seedsman as I thought he held up his end of the deal, but we have better quality.

All this is clear and we will look to rectify it in the next week which is a positive to come out of the game.

Other than that, there isn't much else.

I honestly don't know why people are applauding Thomas' game. He rocked up for 1/8th of the game and then looked unfit, soft and sloppy for the other 7/8th's. Not impressed with his game on a whole.

Our midfield was not working as a team, we were not working hard enough for eachother. I haven't said one bad thing about Buckley yet but here we go this "find belief and confidence by yourself" philosophy is bullshit!!. That is not what leaders do. If that was Malthouse coaching he would have put an absolute rocket up every players ass at 1/4 TIME! You must lead them to find confidence and inspiration through your words, not in their own minds where they have probably lost all confidence because they are playing like shit.

If I was the umpire I would give votes like this: 3: Deledio - 2: Reid - 1: Blair.

Anyway, opinion and rant over.

Let's face it, at the moment our depth sucks, or at least is struggling, and it's showing.

Jock Mchale (greatest coach that ever lived) couldn't coach this team any better at the moment IMO, we are getting by on what we have.

Let's hope Maxy, Wellers and BJ come back next week, and for ****s sake bring Rounds back in, he shits all over any of the other kids played tonight (including Sinclair as a kid due to injuries over the years).

It doesn't mean our depth won't get any better as the season goes on, Lachie Keefe has already gone from outside our best 25 to easily cementing a spot in it, he won't be out of the 25 named all year if fit IMO.

Marty Clarke took a massive step tonight also, and hopefully the likes of Ugle, Wood, Ceglar, Rounds and a few others can take that next step, because it's going to be rare for a side to have their best 22 out there any given week.

We'll give the Scum a fight, don't you worry about that.:thumbsu:

LOWER THE F****** EYES! Tired of seeing us just bomb the ball to contested situations where we are heavily outnumbered.

Awful game really. Carlton will be favorites I'd say next week.

Agree the Bombing Crap is Pathetic and they do it in the VFL.

Yeah what I seen in the 1st 2 Rounds I reckon Blues will Flog Us:(

Very ordinary but let's take the positives..

1. Reid BOG after ordinary last week
2. Harry much much better
3. Clarke was good, looked composed and at home
4. Goldsack looked good and his attck on the ball was great
5. Jolly looked good, fit, strong, completely back.
6. We won, four points
7. Another game under the kids belt, games into kids = improves your 'depth'
8. Keeffe had a good game and is now looking like an option down back
9. Fasolo will be a 200 game player
10. Payne chased like a demon, took a couple of grabs, doubt he'll play next week though.
11. Luke Ball was great early
12 Trav was very good again, kicked better this week than last week.
13. Seedsman will be a player, you can just tell.
14. Didn't think Dawes was as bad as some think, his pressure and team play is great
15. Blair was very good, forgot him earlier.
16. Beams was very good first game back aswell

Anyhow, negatives ..

1. Taz injury 3-4 weeks probably
2. Swannie's form - yeah 32 disposals or whatever, so many wasted
3. Apart from 5 minutes, Richmond, who were so wasteful 70% of the game, outscored us!!
That's the major worry. And if we play like that next week, it could be a drubbing of
serious proportions.

I notice Daisy got votes in the Didaka, he had a hot 5 minutes, busted the game which was good, but not in the form of last year yet.

We'd want Wellingham in for Sinclair next week, Wood ( ?? Ceglar) to help Jolly in the ruck, Dawes back to FF and Paine out.

Hopefully Maxwell fit to replace Taz.

I bolded the Most important Thing Swooop. We did not play well but WE WON THE GAME:D

Collingwood FC twitter:

"@Collingwood_FC: According to Director of Football Geoff Walsh, Chris Tarrant suffered "bad cramp" in his calf during the first quarter #gopies"

I don't Believe it was Just Cramp

We srsly need maxwell taz johno didak back and in form... and we srsly need good luck with injuries, because our only decent depth player it looks like is paine

Let's face it, at the moment our depth sucks, or at least is struggling, and it's showing.

Jock Mchale (greatest coach that ever lived) couldn't coach this team any better at the moment IMO, we are getting by on what we have.

Let's hope Maxy, Wellers and BJ come back next week, and for ****s sake bring Rounds back in, he shits all over any of the other kids played tonight (including Sinclair as a kid due to injuries over the years).

It doesn't mean our depth won't get any better as the season goes on, Lachie Keefe has already gone from outside our best 25 to easily cementing a spot in it, he won't be out of the 25 named all year if fit IMO.

Marty Clarke took a massive step tonight also, and hopefully the likes of Ugle, Wood, Ceglar, Rounds and a few others can take that next step, because it's going to be rare for a side to have their best 22 out there any given week.

We'll give the Scum a fight, don't you worry about that.:thumbsu:

Our Depth does not suck it's just it's so Young and Inexperinced

One question is will Wellingham play next week?

It was noted in the Traning Report from Good Friday that he didn't train.

Then he didn't play. When everyone else did, and he needed game time probably more than most. So, the likelihood is that he was injured (or sick) in some way.

Sounds very much like Maxy will be back next week, as judged by his interview with Lingy at the half time break.

So, Taz out, Maxy in.
Likely Paine out, Wood in ( Dawes can't second ruck v Warnock or Kreuzer)
Possibly Sinclair out, Johnson in ( or Ugle - less likely++)
Possibly Seedsman out, Wellingham in ( if fit- hope he is, we'll need his pace badly)

Our Depth does not suck it's just it's so Young and Inexperinced
Yeah, "Suck" was a harsh word, but it is a concern.

By the way Dave, those Pizzas were delicious.:p:thumbsu:

Yeah, "Suck" was a harsh word, but it is a concern.

By the way Dave, those Pizzas were delicious.:p:thumbsu:

It is a Concern but we can only make it better by giving kids Games when the Form say's they deserve it.

I just had a Bannana at the Game

By the way, if someone can explain to me why the goal kicker, even if it's Jolly or Cloke, has to come off after kicking a goal, I'd really appreciate it.

Watched Cloke sprint 100 meters to the boundary line, when he could have been standing still at FF, catching his breath waiting for the play to restart.

Plus we'd still have the best mark in the game at FF/CHF whatever at crucial times.

Review Rd 2 - Coll vs Rich - Postmatch discussion