Autopsy Rd 20 - Another Giant loss for the outclassed Blues

Getting smashed by a genuine flag contender in GWS whilst fielding half a VFL side against them is no surprise and says not much about the future - merely underlines what needs to be addressed.

I must be a weirdo because once injury toll was announced combined with continued lack of midfield depth I knew it was going to be a very very tough year. I understand people expecting 'more' - especially given the background of disappointment over the last years, but I don't understand why people expect Carlton to be able to achieve any better than any other Club going through a full rebuild and having a terrible run of injury.

I think that any issues regarding the quality of injury management and player physical development ( as an example) or the effectiveness of line coaches ( as another) or whether Bolton could do with better game day coaching support ( Neil was always going to be a big loss) will be looked at and addressed by the Club. There is also no doubt in my mind that the Club is better positioned to explore in greater depth and hopefully with better outcomes the glaring deficiency in the list and that is a couple of developed AFL quality midfielders.

My preference is to embrace the positive potential of better outcomes that this year's performances or lack thereof will see a professional Club look at , analyse, and address. Rome wasn't built in a day but more importantly the Acropolis took over 100 hundred years to complete. The 66 game rebuild was always going to be arriving at a base level of core depth from which the Club could then look forward to building upon and increase competitiveness over the next 2-3 years.

I think Charlie/Harry/Dow/Fisher/Kennedy/Polson and SPS will be core players in future success fully capable of supporting Cripps and Docherty's leadership. Defensive lines with full complement available if supported by a competitive midfield will be close to finals if not better capability in 2019. Continuity and time together combined with SOS continuing to add to sustainable quality and depth will only add to my personal positive outlook.

Chin up Blues supporters - our time of gloating and boasting will come.

Getting smashed by a genuine flag contender in GWS whilst fielding half a VFL side against them is no surprise and says not much about the future - merely underlines what needs to be addressed.

I must be a weirdo because once injury toll was announced combined with continued lack of midfield depth I knew it was going to be a very very tough year. I understand people expecting 'more' - especially given the background of disappointment over the last years, but I don't understand why people expect Carlton to be able to achieve any better than any other Club going through a full rebuild and having a terrible run of injury.

I think that any issues regarding the quality of injury management and player physical development ( as an example) or the effectiveness of line coaches ( as another) or whether Bolton could do with better game day coaching support ( Neil was always going to be a big loss) will be looked at and addressed by the Club. There is also no doubt in my mind that the Club is better positioned to explore in greater depth and hopefully with better outcomes the glaring deficiency in the list and that is a couple of developed AFL quality midfielders.

My preference is to embrace the positive potential of better outcomes that this year's performances or lack thereof will see a professional Club look at , analyse, and address. Rome wasn't built in a day but more importantly the Acropolis took over 100 hundred years to complete. The 66 game rebuild was always going to be arriving at a base level of core depth from which the Club could then look forward to building upon and increase competitiveness over the next 2-3 years.

I think Charlie/Harry/Dow/Fisher/Kennedy/Polson and SPS will be core players in future success fully capable of supporting Cripps and Docherty's leadership. Defensive lines with full complement available if supported by a competitive midfield will be close to finals if not better capability in 2019. Continuity and time together combined with SOS continuing to add to sustainable quality and depth will only add to my personal positive outlook.

Not a weirdo at all...just using common sense. Of course it was going to be a tough year the moment we lost Docherty on the back of Gibbs. It cant be underestimated how difficult that made things. Then we dont see Williamson at all , we have no continuity in the ruck at all, and other young men are in second year blues. Theres a swag of circumstances. And in the midst of all that we unearth more green shoots.
But for some its easier to throw insults at the ones left to battle on and belittle every aspect of the club.

Good down to earth post of how weekend's game should be seen in our overall circumstances.

I didn't say they were playing for their coach. I said Bolts hadn't lost them. There is a world of difference.

I think they were cooked. They chased tail all day and had nothing left.
How can you possibly say that he has not lost them? Listless, lack of interest, unwilling to chase or tackle, ignoring the basics of football. They were playing a team with no bench and an eye on just not getting any more injuries and they still outplayed us. Then you say they chased tail all day and had nothing left. More evidence as to how the coaching staff have failed. Time to clean out the swamp.

Terry Wallace summed it up on twitter. The type of loss CFC incurred damages the clubs fabric. I agree with you to a point, however I just do not believe that BB is the right person for the job. We have potentially a lot of good young players, but they are starting to become retarted in their development because of these defeats. They are not playing the game they should be playing in taking on all comers, and instead they are in survival mode. Everyone who has played footy at any level will understand and appreciate survival mode, where you play for yourself and not the team.

Petrevski-Seeton is one eg. He was at 16 the best junior in the country. Looking at him now, I would pencil him in as a sub par player. He was given the task of tagging Mitchell, where he was promptly slaughtered, and may as well been a boundary umpire. He has not had a pre-season i hear. Ok, but he has played most of the games so fitness is not an issue.

Carlton will lose another 8-10 from this list at seasons end, which will represent about 900 games of AFL experience. These youngsters had better step up now, or next year will be a fully fledged disaster.

Stop tempting fate!

Apart from that, it's ironic to declare how someone else's passion is clouding their judgement before going on a deeply emotional rant about the game.

I get that it's hard and getting harder; I don't think you have anyone here without at least some empathy. But sadness and rage at the direction in which we're heading is still passion, and it can definitely cloud your judgment just as passion for the club and a desire to support it could be clouding ours.

I want to rant on about your message, but I just don't understand it. My anger is clouded.

Terry Wallace summed it up on twitter. The type of loss CFC incurred damages the clubs fabric. I agree with you to a point, however I just do not believe that BB is the right person for the job. We have potentially a lot of good young players, but they are starting to become retarted in their development because of these defeats. They are not playing the game they should be playing in taking on all comers, and instead they are in survival mode. Everyone who has played footy at any level will understand and appreciate survival mode, where you play for yourself and not the team.

Petrevski-Seeton is one eg. He was at 16 the best junior in the country. Looking at him now, I would pencil him in as a sub par player. He was given the task of tagging Mitchell, where he was promptly slaughtered, and may as well been a boundary umpire. He has not had a pre-season i hear. Ok, but he has played most of the games so fitness is not an issue.

Carlton will lose another 8-10 from this list at seasons end, which will represent about 900 games of AFL experience. These youngsters had better step up now, or next year will be a fully fledged disaster.
nah

they would be better off asking grommit..he has more of a clue

How can you possibly say that he has not lost them? Listless, lack of interest, unwilling to chase or tackle, ignoring the basics of football. They were playing a team with no bench and an eye on just not getting any more injuries and they still outplayed us. Then you say they chased tail all day and had nothing left. More evidence as to how the coaching staff have failed. Time to clean out the swamp.

I can say it because I believe it to be true. A bad year, or a bad performance or several bad performances with such a young and developing side, does not automatically mean the players don't like or believe in their coach anymore. It's such a convenient go too statement.

I'm unsure why you think repeating yourself is somehow going to bully me into changing my mind. I'll make my own mind up about things in my own time.

I've played and coached at first grade level in rugby and was a contracted player for the Rabbitohs at age 14 mate - there is nothing anyone on here can tell me about contact sport or coaching youngsters that I haven't been through myself or coached. Terry Wallace isn't a great source to call on btw - all he is today is a clickbait type nuff nuff which is him doing his job for an earn and fair enough.

Jury is out on Bolton - of course it is - but as has been mentioned time after time during the year - he is contracted and being backed by the Club to put together a young bunch of kids who will all come through together. He has been forced into playing too many kids at the same time who cant execute at AFL level whilst at the same time having to make do with ordinary VFL players pretending to be AFL. Neither Bolts or SOS or anyone else now at the Club are at fault for this reality - I am sure they are working as hard as they can to improve.

I think your concerns might be more valid if there was another 12 months and still similar results. For now I reckon you are prematurely concerned - and are making way too much of points and losses. However, all that said - you are entitled to be concerned and you might end up being right about Bolton - too early for anyone to make the call though imo.

I've played and coached at first grade level in rugby and was a contracted player for the Rabbitohs at age 14 mate - there is nothing anyone on here can tell me about contact sport or coaching youngsters that I haven't been through myself or coached. Terry Wallace isn't a great source to call on btw - all he is today is a clickbait type nuff nuff which is him doing his job for an earn and fair enough.

Jury is out on Bolton - of course it is - but as has been mentioned time after time during the year - he is contracted and being backed by the Club to put together a young bunch of kids who will all come through together. He has been forced into playing too many kids at the same time who cant execute at AFL level whilst at the same time having to make do with ordinary VFL players pretending to be AFL. Neither Bolts or SOS or anyone else now at the Club are at fault for this reality - I am sure they are working as hard as they can to improve.

I think your concerns might be more valid if there was another 12 months and still similar results. For now I reckon you are prematurely concerned - and are making way too much of points and losses. However, all that said - you are entitled to be concerned and you might end up being right about Bolton - too early for anyone to make the call though imo.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Lets consider how many times we have heard coaches, players and so called expert analysts say your game only needs to be out by 2% and you are looking at a loss. Naturally they are talking about the mental aspect of the game, but when you list doesn't run too deep and you have injuries to a large amount of best 22 players, what percentage can can we factor in for that? Thrashing after thrashing starts to play with the more fragile younger brain yet to be battle hardened. Bolt's coaching ability and whether he has lost the players or not will be assessed on how we bounce back over the next few weeks and next season with a full list. More of the same will necessitate change. The nucleus is being built, yes they are young and can only get better, we now need to build around it and then we can make educated calls on coach and every department.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Lets consider how many times we have heard coaches, players and so called expert analysts say your game only needs to be out by 2% and you are looking at a loss. Naturally they are talking about the mental aspect of the game, but when you list doesn't run too deep and you have injuries to a large amount of best 22 players, what percentage can can we factor in for that? Thrashing after thrashing starts to play with the more fragile younger brain yet to be battle hardened. Bolt's coaching ability and whether he has lost the players or not will be assessed on how we bounce back over the next few weeks and next season with a full list. More of the same will necessitate change. The nucleus is being built, yes they are young and can only get better, we now need to build around it and then we can make educated calls on coach and every department.

I never wanted to go full Melbourne but in essence … this year …. we did exactly that.

Wallace? Still?

More lazy "journalism/commentary" to enact a reaction. Really is pathetic

PS Re: SPS. Looks brilliant to me. A pre season and he will be awesome

More lazy "journalism/commentary" to enact a reaction. Really is pathetic

PS Re: SPS. Looks brilliant to me. A pre season and he will be awesome

You cant begrudge him … just trying to earn a dollar appealing too the lowest common denominator.

With respect to Terry Wallace, what exactly does he know about the Carlton football club, in its current or previous incarnations, that would provide for him the relevant details or expertise in our goings on that would allow him to be able to make that judgement?

How long has it been since he was a functional member of an AFL club? Inside the last ten or so years?

Terry's found himself a lovely little niche, able to make claims about clubs and players without needing to do much to prove them. He's relying on the laziness of the common punter and the nostalgia that some get when they hear his name. It's a living, but it doesn't give him pertinence to our situation, nor does it lend him expertise when he talks.

With respect to Terry Wallace, what exactly does he know about the Carlton football club, in its current or previous incarnations, that would provide for him the relevant details or expertise in our goings on that would allow him to be able to make that judgement?

How long has it been since he was a functional member of an AFL club? Inside the last ten or so years?

Terry's found himself a lovely little niche, able to make claims about clubs and players without needing to do much to prove them. He's relying on the laziness of the common punter and the nostalgia that some get when they hear his name. It's a living, but it doesn't give him pertinence to our situation, nor does it lend him expertise when he talks.

Premiership player, 254 games with 3 clubs, finals coach, media analyst, he knows a lot about football. He does not have to be sitting in the inner sanctums of a club to know that a loss of that magnitude will hurt a club's fabric. He watches a lot of Reserves football and has commented all year about Harry McKay, that it was a waste of time playing him in the ressies. He needed to learn his craft in the firsts.

He understands more about where Carlton is at, because he has been in the same predicament as a player and a coach.

Forget the jury, In English law, the black cap was worn by a judge when passing a sentence of death. By July next season, BB will be gone. Our lack of midfield grunt will continue to hurt us next season. They will probably roll out Barker to take over for the rest of the year, and then we will be faced with having to recruit another untried/unproven coach, or throw 5 million at Roos, or possibly lure Horse from Sydney, as his time is nearly up.