Preview Rd 21 Changes v Melbourne

Amen. I was consoling shattered Demon fans at half time while having a smoke. Worst footy day ever.

Purple Haze

images

wet weather = bad percentage booster?
Stopping the other mob scoring helps percentage to so it can go both ways. We have the bullocking type players like DeBoer and Mayne who are good at just forcing the ball toward the goals. Melbourne lack a bit of heart in this area.

According to Ryan Daniels (at the airport), just Hill out for Sutty this week.

EDIT: Confirmed by Bondy

Hill in you mean with Sutty out? Staggered Sheridan keeps holding his place ahead of Sutty and Croz. He hasn't been bad by any means, just think the others offer more at this stage.

Sheridan was playing half back last week so far as I could tell. Or if it wasn't half back it was certainly a defensive role. Perhaps that is the answer.

I agree, although I want to see Sheridan get opportunities I would rather Sutty get a game a head of him as I think he would be a better player to be playing come finals. Sutty has more influence on games than Sherro IMO.

I also think Crozier offers more than Sherro though they both play different roles in the team and Ross may have a particular job for Sherro.

He needs games into him (and +10kgs). I can see Sheridan going past most of the pack (except maybe Neale) in the next year. Croz always struck me as a forward anyway, he can run and find the pill so he ends up in the midfield rotation, but he doesn't have the poise in traffic that most of our pure mids do. Sutty is more of an outside mid, so he's competing more with Hill and D.Pearce (tough competition). I think his inclusion is to allow Mundy a bit more rest (65% game time instead of 85%). This kind of management of the older players is a bloody good sign, it means we are setting up for a barnstorming September.

Lol about Sheridan.

I said to my mate this morning (Freo supporter): 'I bet you the only change for the game will be Hill for Sutty'.
Him: 'Why Sutcliffe? He'll come in for Sheridan surely!?'
Me: 'Sheridan is well ahead on the list mate'
Him: 'Why? What makes him so special?'
Me: 'You just don't get it!'
Him: 'Why not?'
Me: 'You're not on Big Footy'

Explains it all.

Just dangling Sheridan in front of the Demon's nose, give him a full game, hope he gets 25 touches and a goal or two... if he wants to go home at the end of the year as possibly rumoured, may as well extract full value for him.

Sutty on the other hand will be a permanent midfield fixture in the future.

Lol about Sheridan.

I said to my mate this morning (Freo supporter): 'I bet you the only change for the game will be Hill for Sutty'.
Him: 'Why Sutcliffe? He'll come in for Sheridan surely!?'
Me: 'Sheridan is well ahead on the list mate'
Him: 'Why? What makes him so special?'
Me: 'You just don't get it!'
Him: 'Why not?'
Me: 'You're not on Big Footy'

Explains it all.

I'm on BF and I don't get it either, I'm becoming more and more convinced this is just to boost his trade value. Would much rather Crozier have played in this game.

Ross Lyon didn't fly with the team today, as they flew out to Melbourne to take on the Dees.
According to the Freo Facebook account, RTB didn't travel with the team today. I'm expecting a late change with RTB to be substituted by Kirky citing general fatigue. They'll want to manage him heading into the finals series.

Made the AFL site as well :eek: Expect a nice shot of Ross during the game.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-08-16/lyon-leaves-early-to-scout-hawkspies-clash

FREMANTLE coach Ross Lyon flew to Melbourne early on Friday to scout possible finals opponents Hawthorn and Collingwood at the MCG.

The Dockers coach was scheduled to give a press conference at Perth Airport on Friday afternoon but left early, leaving football manager Chris Bond to speak to the press ahead of Sunday's clash with the Demons.

"He only just left about an hour or so ago just to have a bit of a look at that game," Bond said.

Any chance of you guys having a late withdrawal? any whispers?

Interesting off of twitter:

Fox Footy Analyst@FoxFootyAnalyst
Gary Ablett has had under 30 disp 3 weeks in a row, first time in 3 years (R16-19, 2010). S.Selwood, J.McKenzie, K.Cornes doing the jobs.

Who will McKenzie go to tomorrow? Hill? I know Melbourne came under fire for their treatment of Ablett but I reckon they might use the same tactics.

Interesting off of twitter:

Fox Footy Analyst@FoxFootyAnalyst
Gary Ablett has had under 30 disp 3 weeks in a row, first time in 3 years (R16-19, 2010). S.Selwood, J.McKenzie, K.Cornes doing the jobs.

Who will McKenzie go to tomorrow? Hill? I know Melbourne came under fire for their treatment of Ablett but I reckon they might use the same tactics.

Impact on GC of Ablett getting successfully tagged is huge. Impact for Freo of losing one of our midfielders to a tag is minimal due to the evenness across the team.