MVP Rd. 4 Votes vs Hawthorn

KENNEDY is overated, NicNat was shite, these KPs need to step up, over this bombing it long.
Pressure was good, inside mids, great work Gaff special mention...
Forward line lacks smalls...that is all

Couldn't help yourself again Rids ..... he was so epic we were routinely flogged in the middle .... it was a standard Priddis performance, hard working, lots off first hands on the ball, minimal actual effect on the result ... he remains a very very B grade midfielder when judged against the standard of players playing the same position in decent sides... EPIC? :D

Pot.. Kettle.. Black

5 - Priddis
4 - Kennedy
3 - Darling
2 - Butler
1 - Glass

You were one I argued with about Beau Wilkes ... enough said :D

Its not hate. Its realism. We are 2-2 and have beaten 2 of the worst teams in the AFL. We have flooded the shit out of the midfield in the 4 games like poor sides do in soccer. We have lost to sides who have beaten us because of superior class. Priddis played against Mitchell today and was well beaten for impact on the game, for disposals and was beaten in clearances. He got him for tackles, but Sewell takes that role for the Hawks and he actually sticks them in space. Priddis was arguably in our best 5 today but if a talented player got the service and possessions he did we would win..... thats my point. When the game is on the line does he win the clearance and get it going our way? No. He works his arse off in an admirable fashion and its not his fault that he should be a rotation mid and he is played as the key man - but he is and it holds us back....

Maybe 1 vote today for sheer involvement in the game but if it was an MVP, well his impact was limited.

Lets keep playing him 80%+ of game time and build our midfield around him and aim for a series of 10th or 11th placed finishes ...

The Priddis love is exactly the same as the McManus love that we used to laugh at ... 228 games of mediocrity that defined the Dockers ....

Plenty of other threads actually related to the topic...

Thanks Dad :)

He's got a point. If you're not going to actually give your 5-4-3-2-1 in these threads (and I don't think I've ever seen you do so), then why come in at all? Other than to harangue posters for giving votes to Priddis, McGinnity and anyone else you have a deep-seated hatred of, of course.

Whats the point of people giving votes if they don't give some reasons to support those votes.

Its allegedly an MVP. Typically the notion of an MVP is the player who is most valuable, who has the most impact on a teams performance. I am simply asking people to clarify what impact the people they vote for actually had.

And I have given my votes before but generally reckon its pointless unless you have some real criteria and some real context. At present, I could vote for Justin Bieber and it would be about as relevant as most of the efforts in here....
:)

Whats the point of people giving votes if they don't give some reasons to support those votes.

Its allegedly an MVP. Typically the notion of an MVP is the player who is most valuable, who has the most impact on a teams performance. I am simply asking people to clarify what impact the people they vote for actually had.

And I have given my votes before but generally reckon its pointless unless you have some real criteria and some real context. At present, I could vote for Justin Bieber and it would be about as relevant as most of the efforts in here....
:)

I think the main point of his post was if your not going to vote dont bother posting. You could always make a thread about how pointless the voting system is if you want son?

Priddis played against Mitchell today and was well beaten for impact on the game,
No he didn't - just got home from footy and watched the game - Sewell and Priddis went with each other pretty much the whole game

Might need to take the blinkers off occasionally on that one.

A lot of love missing for Lynch in my opinion - really clunked his marks and made some good decisions - one kick was poor - other than that - i thought that was probably the best game I've seen him play in quite a while

Kennedy
Darling
Lynch

thought they were standouts

Scooter
Priddis

Very poor today were Brown, Nico and Dalziell.

No he didn't - just got home from footy and watched the game - Sewell and Priddis went with each other pretty much the whole game

Might need to take the blinkers off occasionally on that one.

Hahaha ... imagine you flying in late to defend Matty ...

They were playing the same role for the opposing sides. A duel if you like. Which one did that to greater effect?

Shit, I'd strongly suggest that Sewell was more effective with ball in hand than Priddis. And he pretty much matched him for tackle count.

No blinkers at all. The key inside mid for Hawthorn flogged our key inside mid. Regardless of who stood next to who at times ... and I watched the game too and have watched a replay since :)

They were playing the same role for the opposing sides. A duel if you like. Which one did that to greater effect?

Shit, I'd strongly suggest that Sewell was more effective with ball in hand than Priddis. And he pretty much matched him for tackle count.

No blinkers at all. The key inside mid for Hawthorn flogged our key inside mid. Regardless of who stood next to who at times ... and I watched the game too and have watched a replay since :)

I'm not a priddis lover - think he's a good honest footballer - who does a solid job week in week out. Might even be the first time i've given him votes all season.

However your assertion that he played on Mitchell above was wrong - he played on sewell directly - not Mitchell.

In terms of 'hurt factor' as you love to use - how do we assess this? Well Priddis set 2 goals up - sewell set zero up. In terms of impacting the scoreboard - Priddis had sewell covered today - which is why i put him in the votes.

I also put 2 through the sticks today - but i wouldn't put myself in the votes :)

Why don't you lead by example then, and give your 5-4-3-2-1 with your reasons for your decision?

The weekly "why are people voting for Priddis" complaining is getting a bit tiring, to be honest. We get it, you don't think he adds much.

Thought that Mitchell got most of his first half possessions across half back same as he did the last time we played the hawks in tassie. I thought sewell and priddis went pretty much head to head with priddis taking the honours early but sewell had more impact as the game wore on

anyway I don't think we had a standout best over four quarters but

5 Kennedy
4 darling
3 glass
2 butler
1 s selwood

1 - Priddis
2 - Priddis
3 - Priddis
4 - Priddis
5 - Darling

:cool:

Thought that Mitchell got most of his first half possessions across half back same as he did the last time we played the hawks in tassie. I thought sewell and priddis went pretty much head to head with priddis taking the honours early but sewell had more impact as the game wore on

Spot on. It was actually Kerr that Mitchell flogged early on his way to 27 touches at half time. Having said that, I can't remember so many possessions with so little influence (except maybe Priddis v Hawks a couple of years ago ;)).

Thought Priddis was actually far more creative this week than usual. Playing the Hawks works for him because his complete lack of pace is nowhere near as much of an issue - until Cyril goes near the ball that is....

MVP Rd. 4 Votes vs Hawthorn