Autopsy Rd 6 Carlton d Sydney by 19 points

He was our fifth selection so even we didn't rank him highly.

Knightmare had him at #35. May have been another list, think Fox Sports had him in the 90's.
Pick 35: Fremantle
Who they'll pick: Tom Williamson
Why he goes here: With an aging back half, Fremantle may look to Williamson, a 188cm, 79kg, athletic flanker to provide some drive off half-back. He shows genuine run and dare with ball in hand and is a risk taker with scope to develop.

Here's the Inside Footy write up.

e022e1cde73a865bf749aaf41123bf8f.jpg

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Something must have clicked when he turned 18 then.

General awareness looks bloody good to me.
Looks damn competitive to me.
Ball winning? That I can understand, but given the run he's giving us......

Plenty to work with, altogether. The young man is a beauty.

Maybe our great developments where you don't get too low on a lost and not too high on a win did it :D:D:D

Tom must be think this AFL is a lot easier than junior footy. That KE was terrible. Explains why the guys who believe the stats don't lie passed on him.
Something must have clicked when he turned 18 then.

General awareness looks bloody good to me.
Looks damn competitive to me.
Ball winning? That I can understand, but given the run he's giving us......

Plenty to work with, altogether. The young man is a beauty.

Probably a mix of maturing quickly and the style of AFL actually suiting him.

The game is obviously played very differently in AFL to U18's...i reckon the extra structure and spread you see in AFL might actually help Williamsons game.

Tom must be think this AFL is a lot easier than junior footy. That KE was terrible. Explains why the guys who believe the stats don't lie passed on him.
You really shouldn't be looking at stats to determine how good someone's disposal is (unless you've got a nice algorithm going).

Have to watch them live.

I find this discussion fascinating.

I particularly look forward to watching TW's career progress.

He isn't the first low-draft pick to become a good AFL player, but usually it takes a few years for them to make the transition, to overcome whatever it was that held them back during their teens.

I only just watched the game.

Gibbs and Murphy were great early on. Set the game up a bit in the first half. The young guys held us up in the second half which was great to see. Sydney were definitely worried about Casboult. I wonder if that knock to the head actually took a bit out of him. He wasn't as sharp after that.

Imo Williamson should have got the Rising Star nom. He was fantastic, best of the youngsters. Curnow looked comfortable and a couple of times looked like he just decided that ball was his and took it. Didn't matter what was happening around him. Very Kouta like in that mentality a couple of times. Also want to point out JSilvagni. He got crunched 3 or 4 times sitting in packs early on but didn't shirk it once and always brought the ball to ground. Shame about his shoulder but his impact was solid early despite only the 2 possessions.

Loved the ability to play through injury for the lads. Very brave and shows they're committed to the cause. Kreuz was struggling, and the corkies were a plenty but they pushed through without any complaints. Very exciting to see.

I only just watched the game.

Gibbs and Murphy were great early on. Set the game up a bit in the first half. The young guys held us up in the second half which was great to see. Sydney were definitely worried about Casboult. I wonder if that knock to the head actually took a bit out of him. He wasn't as sharp after that.

Imo Williamson should have got the Rising Star nom. He was fantastic, best of the youngsters. Curnow looked comfortable and a couple of times looked like he just decided that ball was his and took it. Didn't matter what was happening around him. Very Kouta like in that mentality a couple of times. Also want to point out JSilvagni. He got crunched 3 or 4 times sitting in packs early on but didn't shirk it once and always brought the ball to ground. Shame about his shoulder but his impact was solid early despite only the 2 possessions.

Loved the ability to play through injury for the lads. Very brave and shows they're committed to the cause. Kreuz was struggling, and the corkies were a plenty but they pushed through without any complaints. Very exciting to see.
Add to that.. :E Curnow also was a standout. Haven't heard much about him this week but he was very good.

And since when are WE the bullies? Singling a player out and niggling them all match is a side I've not seen from Carlton for a long time. Williamson not taking getting nudged was great and also the general mentality for most of the game was we're not taking any rubbish. Could make for some great fireworks this week!

Watched his junior highlights again recently, has an almost lazy style of kicking. Never seems to be putting all his effort into the kick, yet it has power and accuracy. Has scope to get better.

The kids he was kicking too don't push themselves to the same limits AFL listed players do to make space for themselves, or get on the end of a kick to space. When you know that you can kick to a spot and be confident of someone being there, he will push boundaries that will take your breath away. Kid has the awareness and the ability to execute, hope the confidence (and that of his team mates) soon matches the rest of his game.

I just hope that when/if Williamson does get his rising star nomination, the media don't look up his Facebook page and go at him like they did Boekhorst!

Is there something there like Boekhorsts?
Yeah. He wasn't too pleased with Judd beating Swanny for the Brownlow. Called Judd overrated and claimed he only won because he plays for a sh*t club. Obviously it was way back in 2010 though, and he would have only been a young fella. Still... It wouldn't surprise me if the media dig it up if/when he gets a rising star nomination and beat it way out of proportion.

Why on earth are you stalking the kid's FB posts from 7 years ago...?

Had a Collingwood supporter mate point it out to me. My response was exactly the same!
Doesnt facebook have some age requirement of 12 or something like that?

Not sure Tommy wouldve been 12 at the time, though I havent gotten the dates so cant confirm.

What a rebel is Tommy.

Not sure Tommy wouldve been 12 at the time, though I havent gotten the dates so cant confirm.

What a rebel is Tommy.
He would have been 11 when Judd won the brownlow

What a rebel is Tommy.
I'm not sure what age restrictions are on Facebook as I seldom use it.
All I know is I have a Collingwood mate giving me grief that not even our own players like our club. I hate banter and try to keep away from banter threads as much as possible (Because I'm terrible at it!).
I just remind my dim witted friend (has to be if he's a pies supporter, right?) that he would have been a kid at the time and now he's a future gun on our list!
I did immediately think of Boekhorst when he showed it to me though.

I'm not sure what age restrictions are on Facebook as I seldom use it.
All I know is I have a Collingwood mate giving me grief that not even our own players like our club. I hate banter and try to keep away from banter threads as much as possible (Because I'm terrible at it!).
I just remind my dim witted friend (has to be if he's a pies supporter, right?) that he would have been a kid at the time and now he's a future gun on our list!
I did immediately think of Boekhorst when he showed it to me though.
Maybe we can offer him to the pies when he is 35, and they can come up with a massive 10 year contract so he gets us tier 1 FA.

Autopsy Rd 6 Carlton d Sydney by 19 points