RDFL 2014 Thread

I can give you ours. Romsey Seniors 29.18 def Sanctuary Lakes 1.0

Romsey Reserves 13.9 def Sanctuary Lakes 4.3

3 from 3 for both teams, great stuff Redbacks.

We are primed and ready for next weeks Round 1 clash agin Broadford under lights. This is sure to be the game of the round no doubt, this same game last year proved to be a real winner for a number of reasons, and not just because we came away with the win, having Barry Hall play was a real crowd puller, and what an absolute gentlemen he was, nothing was a bother for him all night and he was one of the last to leave thanks Barry and the BFNC, i know i was impressed with him, it was also the RDFNL first game under lights for premiership points which proved to be a great success for the league in general and we are excited the league has sanctioned us to host 2 more night games in 2014.

Whether Barry Hall plays this game or not you can rest assured we are ready to play, so for those interested in having a look at our new and energised team this is your best opportunity to get a first hand glimpse of why we are so excited at the Mighty Redbacks plus we will have a live band will be playing straight after the game to keep the entertainment and atmosphere of the night humming along, all welcome.

Plus. Sunday morning recovery session the next day followed by a pleasant Sunday afternoon with special guest Jeff Gieschen the former National Umpire Manager of the AFL and a former VFL/AFL player and coach.

Everyone is welcome to come down and listen to a man who has lived, loved, and played the game at its highest level in all of its facets this will surely be a day with a difference and one you will not want to miss.

From 12 to 5pm cost $30pp with roast lunch n veggies provided and drinks at bar prices come and enjoy a nice relaxing pleasant Sunday arvo with good friends and great company @ Romsey club rooms.

I can give you ours. Romsey Seniors 29.18 def Sanctuary Lakes 1.0

Romsey Reserves 13.9 def Sanctuary Lakes 4.3

3 from 3 for both teams, great stuff Redbacks.

We are primed and ready for next weeks Round 1 clash agin Broadford under lights. This is sure to be the game of the round no doubt, this same game last year proved to be a real winner for a number of reasons, and not just because we came away with the win, having Barry Hall play was a real crowd puller, and what an absolute gentlemen he was, nothing was a bother for him all night and he was one of the last to leave thanks Barry and the BFNC, i know i was impressed with him, it was also the RDFNL first game under lights for premiership points which proved to be a great success for the league in general and we are excited the league has sanctioned us to host 2 more night games in 2014.

Whether Barry Hall plays this game or not you can rest assured we are ready to play, so for those interested in having a look at our new and energised team this is your best opportunity to get a first hand glimpse of why we are so excited at the Mighty Redbacks plus we will have a live band will be playing straight after the game to keep the entertainment and atmosphere of the night humming along, all welcome.

Plus. Sunday morning recovery session the next day followed by a pleasant Sunday afternoon with special guest Jeff Gieschen the former National Umpire Manager of the AFL and a former VFL/AFL player and coach.

Everyone is welcome to come down and listen to a man who has lived, loved, and played the game at its highest level in all of its facets this will surely be a day with a difference and one you will not want to miss.

From 12 to 5pm cost $30pp with roast lunch n veggies provided and drinks at bar prices come and enjoy a nice relaxing pleasant Sunday arvo with good friends and great company @ Romsey club rooms.

Could be time for a special designated Romsey thread ;)

I was really disappointed in reading this response doona. You are one of the main contributors to this dying thread and you've tried hard to keep the footy discussion coming regardless. So I'm disappointed that u would put this comment on here when a very hard working loyal footy member of a club in our league tries to promote what's going on. I saw omni post about all the positivity coming out of the reigning premiers Riddell yet u had no problem with that. Numerous people on here have asked for praccy match results in which the romsey footy club have obliged and kept everyone updated. I have been questioned about posting on here and later deleting by sum people also. I accept that and explain now that a rant is great sometimes however in this forum it's just set upon by people with absolutely no involvement in opposition clubs bar being spectators. For what it's worth romsey are proud of the hard work that all involved are putting in and are only happy to divulge the info for the exposure of the club and a little thing called pride in what they do. U have coached 2 senior teams in this comp so I'm totally shocked that u of all people can't see the need for promotion of your club. You needn't worry tho mate, romsey people will not make the mistake of communicating on here again. I know you'll say we are overreacting but we both know that nothing good has come from this thread for a very long time. So I guess we can all get used of waiting for Sundays papers to come out and guess what might have happened in the games. Mongrels final post

I reckon you may have missed the large touch of sarcasm in Doona's post there Mongrel. Don't take everything so personally mate

Correct ROOTA, tongue in cheek was all it was meant to be. I agree with everything Mongrel has said in regards to promotion etc of all our clubs, as a standard the RDFL is continuing to grow and the last thing I wanted to do was push away people who bring good things to the table.

Apologies to anyone who's taken this the wrong way, conflict and upsetting people are always the furtherest thing from my intentions :(

Time for some Rd.1 tips people .....

Centrals
Macedon
Kilmore
Romsey
Riddell
Rupo

I hear Kilmores big recruit Harrison can't play until half way through the year through suspension, is this true? And if so how does this solve any of there problems? Where are there goals coming from?

Harro won't be back til about rd 7 , but he did get about 8 others too the club and a couple of them are very handy forwards !!! Looking forward too weekend

That's quite a interesting way to open your big footy career, straight to the point though as if you've been round these parts before? Finally got to meet Harro a few weeks ago, must say I'm looking forward to seeing him out there when time permits. I remember seeing him in action for Bundoora and I'm sure his leadership off field at present (locals love him) will transcend into some good on the field later in the year.

As for goals, Christ they only have to kick 5-6 or more a week and they've improved dramatically on last year. Surely with what's been added to the list that can occur. Looking forward to a double header round one, Kilmore vs Trav Hede's new mob then head across for Romsey and the new look Broadford.

bit of a writeup in the local over here today about the three local clubs wallan, Broadford and Kilmore. according to what was printed all three clubs have picked up way more than they have lost. Braodford a top four shot aparently and I dont know enough about the clubs to know whos done well but i hope wallan can improve a bit on last year.

ahapu6a2.jpg

I know it's not footy so delete if it's not appropriate.

Wallan District Cricket Club are seeking applications for a playing or non playing coach. For more details, follow the link.

bit of a writeup in the local over here today about the three local clubs wallan, Broadford and Kilmore. according to what was printed all three clubs have picked up way more than they have lost. Braodford a top four shot aparently and I dont know enough about the clubs to know whos done well but i hope wallan can improve a bit on last year.
Broadford lol. They are a KDFL side at best

Hopefully it was tongue in cheek both ways Doona, otherwise
that was one of the top dummy spits in RDFL Big Footy history.

Heard on the wittle grapefine today thst tulla boys reckon sunbury will be too fast for all rdfl sides and expect them to be the team to beat.

Congratulations to the league and Melton Toyota on an amazing night last night.. it was great to see so many members from all the clubs there and a brilliantly set-up venue.. needless to say that the league is off to the perfect start for the year :) Loved meeting Dan Jordan for the first time.. such a great guy to lead Rupo into the next big exciting phase :)

think you mean Ben there mate, Dan is staying at East Point and playing a handful of games when work commitments allow..

RDFL 2014 Thread