RDFL 2014 Thread

I'd have to agree Clarke from Diggers the best ruckman in the comp this year, seen him a few times and he's clearly ahead of Carris for mine. With the Big Fish from Sunbury out for 2014, and Jamie Cuffe retired it's Clarke for me. Heard the Big Fish might be back in RDFL IN 2015, not sure at which club though ! Reckon he'd look ok in Redbacks colours !

He would look great in redback colours!!! Always welcome at romsey

The Diggers we saw on Saturday was amazing.. they didn't just beat Riddell, they absolutely pants them.. as Omni said, the margin could have been greater.. how a team kicked 1.8 in the first term and then finishes the game with 12 straight for the second half is amazing.. Riddell didn't have too many winners on the day.. it was a case of role reversal because the Bombers would've served up Diggers Rest's performance to all teams this year.. I spoke to one of the committee members before the game and said that if Riddell weren't up by at least six goals at half time, I'd be surprised.. scores were level but Diggers were the better side at that point.. I'm a big believer in what they have built up in recent weeks and all of a sudden, we have five teams that can win it this year.. especially if Sunbury get close and or win over Romsey on Saturday.. Diggers are the real deal.. look out! :)
My point exactly Ledg, Diggers are the real deal and yes I do follow Romsey lets be blunt about it ... However.Diggers are harder tougher and hungrier than any other side I have watched this year ...Ask Doug Hawkins what he thought of Diggers after they belted Bacchus Marsh earlier this year ?? Although I have just joined this league from the GFL this year I find it so much more interesting because lets face it their are 5 live chances to play off at this stage !!! Great for the competition !!

Pat Cariss and Chris Petroro have made the 44 man squad for the Victorian Squad what if they both get selected to play ?? That game is on Saturday July 12 th coincidently on the same day as Riddell v Romsey ???

Great effort from the 4 picked. Is this the 1st time the RDFL have been included in Div 2 vic country? I have never known them to have 2 sides.

The top squad is made up of major league players (OMFL, GVFL etc etc), and to the best of my knowledge Div.2 is represented by the district level comps.

And has RDFL players represented div 2 before? More recognition that this league is becoming stronger.

I think Carriss also made the div 1 team when playing at Sunbury.

And has RDFL players represented div 2 before? More recognition that this league is becoming stronger.

I cant answer that one, I do remember a mate (John Rowe) once making a Vic Metro squad whilst playing at Kilmore. He didn't make the 22 from memory and Im not sure what division it was.

Correction - carriss did not play div 1 interleague. Ashley Brand did from the rdfl.

Keston said: .... "Fair call then perhaps also those that have no facts say cast no stones"

Two sides to every story, which is why facts become clouded. Now I see Josh Wheeler has left the club, what happened there?

heard at the ground on saturday that he was forced to pay out his contract even though the others before him didnt? was the kid just a soft target for the club compared to the others?

Someone's having a lend of you ghost surely. Wheels is a club junior (a cracking kid to boot) and my mail is Yea were forced to pay a sum of money to Broadford to ensure the clearance would go thru. 3 senior and 3 reserves games surely didn't accumualte to figure I heard when I got a phonecall Friday alerting me to the fact.

Doesn't sound like a "country" footy club way of conducting things, but I guess it's the way of the world now. Got no doubt it jeopardises the chance of getting him back anytime soon though.

Whilst on facts, did anyone see this one last week? "Travel less and better fit with 18s no 18s in hdfl where losing players to kilmore wallan etc effected longevity of club on the Hume 55 min to shep. Our juniours play up that way also makes sence"

If less travel is a selling point then some "due dilligence" (as I keep continually hearing) needs to be re-visited. Rockbank is currently the longest trip from Broadford, highway km's mind you and about 98 of them. Last time I checked, and when I live in Broadford and participated in that particular comp there are I reckon 8 clubs further away than Rockbank.

Also, the club juniors referred to play nowhere near Shepp - Puckapunyal, Tallarook, Seymour, Heathcote, Nagambie/Avenel, Yea, Euroa, Alexandra, Thornton are the venues they visit.

Anyone from the Riddell DFL area going to the Tooboorac FC reunion tomorrow? 1973/1974 were their last flags, and I believe they're combining it with a "back to" for all past players/supporters as well as a book launch on the history of their past club.

Nothing better than occasions like this I reckon, would love to hear from anyone who goes, or if they know of anyone who may be going.

Another pretty big round of footy to look forward to this weekend.. All of which I will look forward to seeing the results of after I get off the plane.

Obviously Riddell picked up the first win of Round 8 with a win over Wallan early in the year, but that leaves 4 big matches Saturday and 1 on Sunday.

Woodend/Hesket Vs Rockbank
The Hawks host the Rams and will be hoping to pick up another win, they have improved again this year the Hawks and the young talent keep developing, they have picked up some great wins already this season, none better than the win over Centrals a couple of weeks ago, there is no doubt that the Hawks will be eyeing off what they would have considered another "winnable" game.
The Rams have now put themselves in a position to push for the top 6 with the win over Wallan last week, no matter how horribly inaccurate they were, this is another game they cannot afford to drop in the race for that spot.
I think the Rams will win, but they certainly won't have it all their own way and will have to fight to take home the points.
Rockbank by 20 points

Kilmore Vs Melton Centrals

Kilmore have been pretty competitive to date in most games and are seeking that elusive first win, they may just get their chance here as Centrals have been struggling in recent weeks, the loss to Woodend/Hesket and only just scraped past Macedon, to be in the mix for that 6th spot, they need to be far more convincing in these types of contests.
The trip to Kilmore is never an easy one to make either, if Centrals are struggling to find form, Kilmore can be the most difficult place to rediscover it, but well worth it if you do. Centrals should be able to do enough here, Wheels will be able to turn his teams fortunes around and this might just be the kick start they need.
Centrals by 25 points

Macedon Vs Rupertswood

The Cats are playing some pretty solid football on the back of the form of James Wright, who kicked 5 goals against Centrals. The Cats have had a tough start to the year, but will be looking to build some momentum, that might just be a bit difficult to do with their opponent this week though, Rupertswood have improved every week and are no doubt now one of the leading contenders. They should be far too good for the Cats with most of the interest centered around whether Dan Jordan makes his debut for the Sharks this week.
Rupo by 65 points

Romsey Vs Sunbury Kangaroos

No doubt the "Game of the Round" the Kangaroos travel to Romsey to take on the Redbacks. The Roos form has been indifferent so far this season, but the win against Broadford last week was comprehensive, surely this will give the Roos confidence heading into this game.
The Redbacks are flying though, clearly the side in best form currently, Matt Davidson is flying, the new recruits have slotted in nicely and right across the field the Redbacks are well balanced, that is still with some key players to return.
This should be an interesting game, there has long been a little extra in these clashes.
Romsey by 30 points

Diggers Rest Vs Broadford

Despite plenty of talk over the off season, Broadford have been nothing short of disappointing so far, sitting on the bottom of the ladder and winless after 7 Rounds is not where they expected to be sitting, and nor should they have been. Despite their active off season, the other Roos have gone backwards. But this week shapes differently, the presence of Barry Hall will always do that, the other Roos will see themselves every chance in this contest.
The Burra made everyone take notice after a dominant win over the Bombers last week, could they finally be finding the form that had them mentioned with the other sides making up the top 5. Leonard Clark is in exceptional form, Matty Krul is having an impact and the Burras are still without two very talented goal kickers.
Should be an interesting game with Hall out there for the Roos, it will no doubt keep them in the match as he will always be a danger, but the rest of the Broadford set up just seems to have holes that the Burras will pick apart.
Diggers Rest by 32 points.

Another pretty big round of footy to look forward to this weekend.. All of which I will look forward to seeing the results of after I get off the plane.

Obviously Riddell picked up the first win of Round 8 with a win over Wallan early in the year, but that leaves 4 big matches Saturday and 1 on Sunday.

The Hawks host the Rams and will be hoping to pick up another win, they have improved again this year the Hawks and the young talent keep developing, they have picked up some great wins already this season, none better than the win over Centrals a couple of weeks ago, there is no doubt that the Hawks will be eyeing off what they would have considered another "winnable" game.
The Rams have now put themselves in a position to push for the top 6 with the win over Wallan last week, no matter how horribly inaccurate they were, this is another game they cannot afford to drop in the race for that spot.
I think the Rams will win, but they certainly won't have it all their own way and will have to fight to take home the points.
Rockbank by 20 points

Kilmore have been pretty competitive to date in most games and are seeking that elusive first win, they may just get their chance here as Centrals have been struggling in recent weeks, the loss to Woodend/Hesket and only just scraped past Macedon, to be in the mix for that 6th spot, they need to be far more convincing in these types of contests.
The trip to Kilmore is never an easy one to make either, if Centrals are struggling to find form, Kilmore can be the most difficult place to rediscover it, but well worth it if you do. Centrals should be able to do enough here, Wheels will be able to turn his teams fortunes around and this might just be the kick start they need.
Centrals by 25 points

Macedon Vs Rupertswood

The Cats are playing some pretty solid football on the back of the form of James Wright, who kicked 5 goals against Centrals. The Cats have had a tough start to the year, but will be looking to build some momentum, that might just be a bit difficult to do with their opponent this week though, Rupertswood have improved every week and are no doubt now one of the leading contenders. They should be far too good for the Cats with most of the interest centered around whether Dan Jordan makes his debut for the Sharks this week.
Rupo by 65 points

Romsey Vs Sunbury Kangaroos

No doubt the "Game of the Round" the Kangaroos travel to Romsey to take on the Redbacks. The Roos form has been indifferent so far this season, but the win against Broadford last week was comprehensive, surely this will give the Roos confidence heading into this game.
The Redbacks are flying though, clearly the side in best form currently, Matt Davidson is flying, the new recruits have slotted in nicely and right across the field the Redbacks are well balanced, that is still with some key players to return.
This should be an interesting game, there has long been a little extra in these clashes.
Romsey by 30 points

Diggers Rest Vs Broadford

Despite plenty of talk over the off season, Broadford have been nothing short of disappointing so far, sitting on the bottom of the ladder and winless after 7 Rounds is not where they expected to be sitting, and nor should they have been. Despite their active off season, the other Roos have gone backwards. But this week shapes differently, the presence of Barry Hall will always do that, the other Roos will see themselves every chance in this contest.
The Burra made everyone take notice after a dominant win over the Bombers last week, could they finally be finding the form that had them mentioned with the other sides making up the top 5. Leonard Clark is in exceptional form, Matty Krul is having an impact and the Burras are still without two very talented goal kickers.
Should be an interesting game with Hall out there for the Roos, it will no doubt keep them in the match as he will always be a danger, but the rest of the Broadford set up just seems to have holes that the Burras will pick apart.
Diggers Rest by 32 points.
FREAK!

Rockbank by 20 points

Centrals by 25 points

Macedon Vs Rupertswood

Rupo by 65 points

He is most definitely playing. First game for Rupo in 13 years!!

Congrats to these 2 boys but I am amazed Wright from Macedon hasn't been selected. Was dominant in last years Interleague win and close if not best again this year. Prob the classiest player in this league and would be best suited to playing higher level.

He was... As was Brett Chambers from Rupertswood.

Hard fought 3 goal win by Wheels' boys in Kilmore this arvo. Actually found it a good even contest most the day. I thought Richardsons second half was enormous for the victors as Crump and Harrison on debut each kicked a handful for Kilmore.

how did Romsey go today?

Well I'm not real sure mate as I chose to go see first hand just HOW good Rupo' are (with Dan Jordan included) & just how BAD Macedon have become.
Actually I was taken aback on both fronts. Rupo' are going along very nicely if you don't mind, they appear to be gathering momentum & a real resolve with every game they now play in the RDFL. Yesterday was their first taste of playing on the wide open expanses of the biggest ground in our competition the great MCG & it didn't daunt them one little bit. If anything they seemed to relish the experience of the extra space & took their game to a new level. Not content with just beating the Cats on their home turf they ruthlessly went about crushing them by 86pts. In fact, if I had to sum up Rupo's performance yesterday I would have to say they were.......... "Clinical", I guess in their demolition of Macedon. :rolleyes:
The Cats on the other hand are a shadow of their former selves. They looked undermanned, unskilled, undisciplined & unfortunately a team without a game plan or purpose. But I do empathise with their loyal core of players on this one. I totally blame their administration. Macedon are a Club going backwards........FAST ! For years now, the people in charge up their have chosen to massage their OWN egos rather than go out & recruit the type of players & coaches for that matter which will take the Club to the next level. Their ineptitude was never more better illustrated yesterday than the fact they cant even have their Canteen up & functioning for the main game. Incompetence at its best, & just plain Piss Poor !!! :cool:

RDFL 2014 Thread