RDFL 2014 Thread

Lots of changes going on in this thread. all of a sudden we have posters that have had accounts for years posting again.

Good to have them back posting with one of the best final series in recent times coming up.
Where are diggers landing these players from ?
First jason williams now wilson

Where are diggers landing these players from ?
First jason williams now wilson
Williams has a few mates at diggers, so when the coach he went to Pascoe vale with got the flick he rang diggers looking for a game, Wilson is room mates with the full forward they picked up from the wafl, smailes..he wasn't going to play this year but changed his mind..with tuckey and a few others getting injured, they had room in the budget to get them..

Are you saying that Diggers Rest, the club that has always claimed to not pay players, are now paying players??:confused:

i thought they would have made the 6 at the start of the year, but have failed to put the scores on the board. Their run home is killer; Sunbury, Rupo, Rockbank, Riddell, Bye, Diggers, Broadford. They would be lucky to win 1 or 2 of those but Rockbank and Broadford are both away (i don't see them beating the others). Not sure if they have injuries or expect players to come into the side (i havent seen them apart from the riddell game where they pushed riddell in the 1st half) but based on current form I don't see them winning too many more games.
Thanks for the honest response, form is a funny thing in this game though! Like a lot of teams who are a bit off the top lot at the moment the difference between our best and worst is way too big, as you can obviously attest to if you saw Centrals v Riddell! Looking forward to the challenge of the killer run home though! It would be terribly boring if you didn't have a challenge every week!

Romsey (44); Riddell (40); Rupo/Diggers/Rockbank (32); Kanga's (28)
Melton/Lancefield (24); Wallan (16)

Things start to take the usual twists and turns from this point onwards. Teams start needing to knock certain others off, and at times rely on others to do them a favour also. Crucial games this weekend for some clubs, all whilst Riddell has a freshen up before the big one against Romsey next Satdy.

Wallan's trip to Woodend is not and easy one, whilst they do appear a touch rooted already, dropping this one would mean yibbidy yibbida. Melton v Sunbury is an interesting one too, with Lancefield outsiders to defeat Rupo, a Kanga's win would give them a 2 game clear buffer from the chasers. Whilst Romsey should account for the improved Rockbank it will be good to see how far the Rams have come in a short time. I'll get in early for Rd.12 ....

Romsey by 7-8 goals
Rupo by 40
Diggers by lots
Wallan just
Sunbury 3-4 goals
Broadford by 20-25pts
Weather forecast has changed up this way to 5deg and hail for Satdy. Might've went off early tipping Broadford by 4-5 goals as 4-5 goals could be the total scored by both teams combined if this said weather hits. Fog didn't lift all day apparently in town, and as the Rockbank people can attest to a fortnight ago, when the fogs down up on the hill at Clancy Reserve it makes for different football.

All jokes aside, this potentially could be the last time these two great football rivals take each other on so hope a few get along rain, hail or shine for a squizz

Weather forecast has changed up this way to 5deg and hail for Satdy. Might've went off early tipping Broadford by 4-5 goals as 4-5 goals could be the total scored by both teams combined if this said weather hits. Fog didn't lift all day apparently in town, and as the Rockbank people can attest to a fortnight ago, when the fogs down up on the hill at Clancy Reserve it makes for different football.

All jokes aside, this potentially could be the last time these two great football rivals take each other on so hope a few get along rain, hail or shine for a squizz
Doona surely you don't think the mad man will get his way and move the club someone up there must have a better idea than moving leagues. On a positive note looking forward to seeing how much rock bank have improved this year hearing a lot of good things about them this year it's a credit to their hard working commitee.

Interesting who are you quoting as the mad man down there ?

Very interesting!
Ah now I know who ya are ..

Lol :p
How about talking footy instead of crap
Romsey to win easly over rockbank even in the wet 60 plus points
Broadford to be to strong in and under by 30 to 50 plus points vs kilmore
Woodend to cause a upset end wood ends finals hopes 9 points
Ruppo just against a desperate lancefield maybe
Sunbury by 3 at Melton but could be a upset
Digger to strong against a struggling macedon
There is a couple that could swing either way
Interesting round

Doona surely you don't think the mad man will get his way and move the club someone up there must have a better idea than moving leagues. .

I'm not fussed either way to be honest. As my Mrs keeps pointing out, the place will never be what I knew it as nor what it was when my dad was there so time to move on. As it was pointed out 2 weeks ago no point just rolling up to the meeting when I'm not prepared to help which is fair enough, although one woulda thought turning up many didn't could be seen as a possibility .... I do however wish (and always will) the club well in whatever they decide.

The Mad man I think you're referring to, and from what I saw at the meeting a fortnight ago wasn't too involved, certainly didn't have any input on the night. Be tough having only just gone there.

I know we all have our fun on here, but not everyone is gunna be liked wherever they go in this world. The Mad Man obviously isn't popular at Romsey for whatever reason, probably the same as myself in Broadford. People who were nice as pie to me 3-4 years ago now only talk to you thru the summer but come footy season wont even acknowledge you or try to give out the tough guy stares ha ha!!!

And if it is the last time we see Bford/Kilmore clash well let's hope its an entertaining contest, maybe a bit of biffo, a few send offs, with everyone then in the social club for a beer afterwards :D

I'm not fussed either way to be honest. As my Mrs keeps pointing out, the place will never be what I knew it as nor what it was when my dad was there so time to move on. As it was pointed out 2 weeks ago no point just rolling up to the meeting when I'm not prepared to help which is fair enough .... I wish the club well in whatever they decide.

The Mad man I think you're referring to, and from what I saw at the meeting a fortnight ago wasn't too involved, certainly didn't have any input on the night. Be tough having only just gone there.

I know we all have our fun on here, but not everyone is gunna be liked wherever they go in this world. The Mad Man obviously isn't popular at Romsey for whatever reason, probably the same as myself in Broadford. People who were nice as pie to me 3-4 years ago now only talk to you thru the summer but come footy season wont even acknowledge you or try to give out the tough guy stares ha ha!!!

And if it is the last time we see Bford/Kilmore clash well let's hope its an entertaining contest, maybe a bit of biffo, a few send offs, with everyone then in the social club for a beer afterwards :D
Yep ya can't make I'm all happy the only thing doon is it is generally the minority that don't like you and as you now the rest can't be bothered with it
Catch ya for a frothy Saturday :drunk::drunk:

Sadly Doon ya forecast was no good.Fair win by Bford but gee Kmore struggling.
Sadly it seems not enough at Wallan wanna finals.Didnt watch today but looks like scoreboard flattered em as Woodend kicked crap.From the recent games ive seen Not enough pies prepared to do the hard stuff like back into backs,onballers not prepared to help backs very dissapointing.
See romsey won easy with davo no goals?Lets hope Next weeks big clash livens the season up

Keston
Interested in your thoughts about Rupo. You picked them to get belted by Romsey and again to just get over the line against Lancefield today. They flogged your blokes earlier in the season. Seems that you don't rate them?

Keston
Interested in your thoughts about Rupo. You picked them to get belted by Romsey and again to just get over the line against Lancefield today. They flogged your blokes earlier in the season. Seems that you don't rate them?
Na do rate them very good side thought the wet at lanny might made it closer
Yeah they touched us up but we where still building reckon we would be more competitive now
But to answer your question think that ruppo are a very well coached and drilled side ,

Thought it was a pretty good contest out at Romsey Park yesterday, the ground is holding up well considering the weather.
The Redbacks just a bit too slick for the Rams, Phil Lobb up forward was outstanding and the best player on the ground for mine, but his contest with Trent Corbett was a cracker. Young Jordan Baumgartner was great keeping Davo goalless, but his job was made easier as the Rams midfield stuck it out in the middle and made sure the Redbacks didn't go in with uncontested disposal.
Brad Mitchell was brilliant for the Redbacks, wrapt to see him in great form off the back of the injury last year and my favorite player in the RDFNL Leigh Irwin combined well with Steve Burlak to provide drive through half back.

Huge games everywhere this week, none bigger than the Bombers and Redbacks.. There is no doubting how well the Redbacks are travelling on field, the players have a clear understanding of what Mongrel expects of them and they are all on the same page, it signals a team ready for this week and everyone knows the Bombers will be setting themselves as well.

Must say I'm really looking forward to this one too, I've only seen Romsey 3 times but like a few years ago I've liked the way Deano is going about his coaching he seems really comfortable and in a good space.

I know we usually see/hear/read reference to the umps when sides need an excuse for their inabilities to capitalise and make the correct decisions under the pressure but I thought the guys at Kilmore yesty did a top job. Yeh there are always 1-2 that you think "$hit didn't see that" but it comes down to the angle positions of the blokes in charge, not the angle in which us spectators or at times rival coaches boxes may view it.

Michael O'Keefe did the 3rds and then the ones game and when I had a chat with him he was like "well I'm always asking the other guys if they can double so its only fair I do too" ... perfect response I reckon. Hopefully this year when the finals umps are appointed he leaves his hat in the ring for a change at senior level as I still reckon the last 2 years he was easily in the better echelon but left his coaches/selectors hat on opted out of giving himself a gig.

I know we usually see/hear/read reference to the umps when sides need an excuse for their inabilities to capitalise and make the correct decisions under the pressure but I thought the guys at Kilmore yesty did a top job. Yeh there are always 1-2 that you think "$hit didn't see that" but it comes down to the angle positions of the blokes in charge, not the angle in which us spectators or at times rival coaches boxes may view it.

Michael O'Keefe did the 3rds and then the ones game and when I had a chat with him he was like "well I'm always asking the other guys if they can double so its only fair I do too" ... perfect response I reckon. Hopefully this year when the finals umps are appointed he leaves his hat in the ring for a change at senior level as I still reckon the last 2 years he was easily in the better echelon but left his coaches/selectors hat on opted out of giving himself a gig.
Have to agree we all thought that the umpiring in all three games was the best we had seen all year great job boys they let the game flow and umpired to the conditions

Must say I'm really looking forward to this one too, I've only seen Romsey 3 times but like a few years ago I've liked the way Deano is going about his coaching he seems really comfortable and in a good space.
Will be a hum dinger looking over the romsey list no weakness across any line also lots of depth dream team to coach riddle lots of season players they will have a crack and be well coached
If dry romsey by 39 points

Any news on the rockbank player that left in an ambulance???? Hopefully it wasnt too serious

He should be ok. Swelling around the neck, stayed in overnight for observation but should be home today.

Would be disappointed if umpiring was not of high standard....one being the coach and the other a 5 time senior grand final umpire

Sadly Doon ya forecast was no good.Fair win by Bford but gee Kmore struggling.

Yeh was a bit off hey, but what about this one after the Diggers Game ;)

I reckon Sunday's effort may see them turn their fortunes around looking at their next block of games ..... Wallan, Woodend, Macedon, Kilmore before a bye. Wonder if they're sitting on 16 points (3 wins and a bye) after the next month if the talk of the KDFL will subside?

I've snuck a look at B'ford in 3 of those 4 games and the footy they're playing now as opposed to the first 5-6 weeks are poles apart. Svarc and Boyall are really leading from the front, and from what I've seen Justin Webb is having his most consistent year of senior footy.

RDFL 2014 Thread