RDFL 2014 Thread

This topic has nothing to do with Kilmore or $$$ as I keep hearing Bford people use as an excuse.

I've never once heard anyone from Kilmorw in the last 2-3 years question the RDFL or where they should be.

Anyway I thought it was suggested Bford people pull back from contributing on social forums ;-)

This topic has nothing to do with Kilmore or $$$ as I keep hearing Bford people use as an excuse.

I've never once heard anyone from Kilmorw in the last 2-3 years question the RDFL or where they should be.

Anyway I thought it was suggested Bford people pull back from contributing on social forums ;-)
Mate narky narky just used it as a example lets then say if it was who ever
But talking to the good folk at kilmore a few weeks ago they even stated that it was impossible to compete
I'm not involved in the move mate just having general conversation
Also edit that post to make ya happy

Let me say one more thing that it is the topic at all clubs that is about the $$$$$$$$' not just rdfl vic wide it's out of controll
Read through other forumsforums

How many games has he played this year?
He's only played 2, whats the deal with finals, do you have to play 4 games to qualify?
Romsey deserve to go into the finals as absolute favorites, it is theirs to loose. They have a soft run in (bye, woodend, macedon) and would more than likely be put through some hard nights on the track to be prepared for finals. Riddell have been hit and miss this year, they have had some big wins, but the 2 losses would have been very disappointing, and they were given a good run by Rupo early on. They have a tough run in with Rupo, Sunbury and Rockbank, this week could seal 2nd spot and a shot at redemption for a couple weeks ago, with their best side in don't count them out (a few people did it last year).
Rupo have been going along nicely, improving week by week and seem to have depth. They have won 10 of their last 11 and only lost that by 2 points to Romsey. Have the skill and speed to match any team by may lack some height, difficult run home with Riddell, bye then Diggers. Win this week and they can grab 2nd, loose and they will be in a fight to stay 3rd. Diggers are the sleeping giants, pushed Romsey and tend to find form latter in the year. Big bodied and hard at the footy. Not as polished as Romsey but have a couple of weeks to work on that, have Lancefield, Melton and Rupo to finish, they could finish 3rd and possibly play Romsey for a shot at the big dance. Sunbury have been there without making to much noise, had a couple of shock losses to Rockbank and Lancefield early on in the year but dominated when on song. They have a lot of finals experience and can never be forgotten about, have the bye, Kilmore and Riddell to finish, hard to see them moving up from 5th but don't be surprised if they do and make it deep into the finals.
The race for 6th is between Rockbank and Lancefield, who ever gets in will struggle to match it in the 1st week of finals against a possible Riddell, Rupo or Diggers.

week 1
Romsey v Riddell
Rupo v Rockbank
Diggers v Sunbury

week 2
Romsey v Rupo
Riddell v Diggers

week 3
Rupo v Riddell

week 4
Romsey v Rupo/Riddell (shouldn't matter because its Romsey's to loose)

W
He's only played 2, whats the deal with finals, do you have to play 4 games to qualify?
Romsey deserve to go into the finals as absolute favorites, it is theirs to loose. They have a soft run in (bye, woodend, macedon) and would more than likely be put through some hard nights on the track to be prepared for finals. Riddell have been hit and miss this year, they have had some big wins, but the 2 losses would have been very disappointing, and they were given a good run by Rupo early on. They have a tough run in with Rupo, Sunbury and Rockbank, this week could seal 2nd spot and a shot at redemption for a couple weeks ago, with their best side in don't count them out (a few people did it last year).
Rupo have been going along nicely, improving week by week and seem to have depth. They have won 10 of their last 11 and only lost that by 2 points to Romsey. Have the skill and speed to match any team by may lack some height, difficult run home with Riddell, bye then Diggers. Win this week and they can grab 2nd, loose and they will be in a fight to stay 3rd. Diggers are the sleeping giants, pushed Romsey and tend to find form latter in the year. Big bodied and hard at the footy. Not as polished as Romsey but have a couple of weeks to work on that, have Lancefield, Melton and Rupo to finish, they could finish 3rd and possibly play Romsey for a shot at the big dance. Sunbury have been there without making to much noise, had a couple of shock losses to Rockbank and Lancefield early on in the year but dominated when on song. They have a lot of finals experience and can never be forgotten about, have the bye, Kilmore and Riddell to finish, hard to see them moving up from 5th but don't be surprised if they do and make it deep into the finals.
The race for 6th is between Rockbank and Lancefield, who ever gets in will struggle to match it in the 1st week of finals against a possible Riddell, Rupo or Diggers.

week 1
Romsey v Riddell
Rupo v Rockbank
Diggers v Sunbury

week 2
Romsey v Rupo
Riddell v Diggers

week 3
Rupo v Riddell

week 4

Wallan still a chance for 6th. Will need to beat Lancefield and rockbank plus we have a bye. Will need Broadford to beat rockbank this week. Could possibly come down to the round 18 clash Wallan Vs Rockbank to decide 6th spot.

W

Wallan still a chance for 6th. Will need to beat Lancefield and rockbank plus we have a bye. Will need Broadford to beat rockbank this week. Could possibly come down to the round 18 clash Wallan Vs Rockbank to decide 6th spot.

You're a wallan man aren't you?

Heard about a young bloke up there named josh barber... Apparently should have been drafted but didn't have the right attitude... Loads of talent from what I hear

Let me say one more thing that it is the topic at all clubs that is about the $$$$$$$$' not just rdfl vic wide it's out of controll
Read through other forumsforums
I hope people aren't hanging their hat on a points system to all of a sudden make their clubs competitive...In my experience the clubs that have the money, also have good administration which makes for a healthy club environment, which leads to a good reputation which means players want to play there..I'm not saying money doesn't play a part in some players decisions, but overall its the club as a whole, which is the reason for their success..Their are examples of clubs buying flags ie Marby in the EDFL and Deer Park in the WRFL, but these examples are in the minority..Their are many clubs around Victoria who spend significant money who don't play in the finals, often due to poor recruiting, culture of the club, so the points system wont address a lot of those issues...

Comp is still wide open. Many an undefeated side has come a cropper come September. Brett Chambers to win the Bowen.
Totally agree the comp is still wide open there's only one pot stirrer that thinks otherwise,anyone that thinks the coache or players at romsey are thinking anything other than hard work is what it's going to take is kidding

I hope people aren't hanging their hat on a points system to all of a sudden make their clubs competitive...In my experience the clubs that have the money, also have good administration which makes for a healthy club environment, which leads to a good reputation which means players want to play there..I'm not saying money doesn't play a part in some players decisions, but overall its the club as a whole, which is the reason for their success..Their are examples of clubs buying flags ie Marby in the EDFL and Deer Park in the WRFL, but these examples are in the minority..Their are many clubs around Victoria who spend significant money who don't play in the finals, often due to poor recruiting, culture of the club, so the points system wont address a lot of those issues...
Spot on big dog. We have had players at the club for 3-4 years now that enjoy the friendships and the culture of the club. By the time a points system came in (if it did), many would be classed as 'local', and wouldn't have points against their names. A club that is trying to bring new players in, may build up the point numbers, but still not move forward successfully. All starts from the top.
"A fish rots from the head down"....points system isn't going to be the magic anecdote for all!!

Here Here to the Big Dog, all starts with strength at committee level ..... also you need to drop the s off "Clubs" as the amount that keep mentioning a points system isn't plural.

So your saying the majority of clubs that don't do well is because of culture
Bad administration etc you are kidding players shop themselfs around
For the $$ yes
but don't think many unpaid volunteers would be happy with you view in some towns it's just not sustainable to spend big
and it don't help marby are fighting off relegation
The fact is somthing needs to be done what don't know but it's better to try then to do nothing
Doona club administration is run by volunteers who get sick of handing over fists of $$ have sleepless nights and in the end get no thanks unless ya win a flag
I'm not saying I know the answer but it seems no one else does ether

For the $$ yes
but don't think many unpaid volunteers would be happy with you view in some towns it's just not sustainable to spend big
The fact is somthing needs to be done what don't know but it's better to try then to do nothing
Doona club administration is run by volunteers who get sick of handing over fists of $$ have sleepless nights and in the end get no thanks unless ya win a flag
C'mon mate! you have been around footy for a long time. You need people who are going to work to raise funds, you also surround yourself with people who can help you accomplish the goals you set & then you network & recruit. So what purpose does a committee have? everything I have just stated. A chair has a purpose, you sit on it. So what does the committee want to be? a committee who goes out to reach their goals or do they just become chairs? Its a work ethic, just like any successful business, if you want it, make it happen! Al Lever had a vision, he went out & made it happen!

Agree 100 percent but is what's happening at som clubs sustainable lets see
Also some country clubs can't work on $$ value that others do and that's a fact
I understand more than anyone as you would about vision and working a club like a buisness !

Agree 100 percent but is what's happening at som clubs sustainable lets see
Also some country clubs can't work on $$ value that others do and that's a fact
I understand more than anyone as you would about vision and working a club like a buisness !
unfortunately some clubs don't have the people to help BUT if they are to go forward they MUST recruit a strong committee & then get the right people in the football department to take the club forward.

Agree old friend
but some times these people hard to find as the game and clubs take its toll and people stay away

week 1
Romsey v Riddell
Rupo v Rockbank
Diggers v Sunbury

week 2
Romsey v Rupo
Riddell v Diggers

week 3
Rupo v Riddell

week 4

He needs to play two more then.

For the $$ yes

Nope, I'm just saying money isn't the only factor that allow clubs to succeed...players shop themselves around, no doubt, but why do the Tuckey's, Petroro's, etc choose rdfl clubs???I can tell you clubs offered more for Tuckey when he was looking for a club a few years ago and still continue to offer him more than diggers pay him, so if it was just about the money he would be long gone...No disrespect to the volunteers, but I reckon in some clubs people are doing it coz no-one else will, meanwhile the successful clubs have people with a passion and a vision and networks and they drive the results...Points system will not protect the weak unless these clubs attract the above mentioned types to their club, otherwise they will continue to lose the players they seek to keep...

Let me state this I 100 % agree clubs need good administration buisness plans etc but it has to be a plan that's sustainable getting money into clubs short term doesn't give sustainability
Speaking to chris at diggers they have a great buisness structure but it's somthing other clubs couldn't sustain
I agree the points system may not work or whatever else they throw up but can they just sit back and alow clubs with a 100 plus years of history to disappear
Footy has change as has lifestyles people can work Saturdays earn $$
Or play and earn $$$ the pressure put on volunteers is so great it's causing them to burn out family comes first and I will agree I'm over all the negative crap it's turned the game into somthing a lot are starting to hate
So I've put my opinion based on listening to many don't give a crap t who wins the flag
just that footy is not winning at the moment even look at the afl the $$$ rules before the fan

Good luck to all hope you get what you want out of footy
Go broadford under 18 s
They just can't sit back and let a club with 100 years of history? Who are they? They are the committee, it's up to them & no won else!

y
W

you're right Iceman, sorry it was getting late and I missed Wallan, things would have to go very right for them in other games, but can play good footy when on, gave it to Rupo for a half! Their finals hopes are in their own hands if Rockbank loose this week, could get 12 points in the last 3 and scrape in.

I was at the Romsey vs diggers game. I must say diggers got lucky . With Romsey having 17 men in the last quarter. Romsey by far 6-10 goal better side

Nope, I'm just saying money isn't the only factor that allow clubs to succeed...players shop themselves around, no doubt, but why do the Tuckey's, Petroro's, etc choose rdfl clubs???I can tell you clubs offered more for Tuckey when he was looking for a club a few years ago and still continue to offer him more than diggers pay him, so if it was just about the money he would be long gone...No disrespect to the volunteers, but I reckon in some clubs people are doing it coz no-one else will, meanwhile the successful clubs have people with a passion and a vision and networks and they drive the results...Points system will not protect the weak unless these clubs attract the above mentioned types to their club, otherwise they will continue to lose the players they seek to keep...
This is spot on.. one only has to look at the Kyneton Football Club.. they're Senior club folded due to culture and poor decisions by the committee.. clubs don't need to succeed on the field to be successful off the field.. there are some quality people and committees in this league.. I have always admired the way that Macedon have been managed over the years.. they're committee structure was the ideal blue print for clubs to succeed with.. they're Senior team was never the powerhouse, but they're management off the field was remarkable internally.. the work that that club has been able to do with its infrastructure is to be admired..

Look at what Riddell did.. they're a successful club on the field, but they're success off the field speaks greater volumes than the on-field success.. to create and nurture such a strong community environment to almost single handedly build their social rooms on their own, kicks more goals than their football team have..
The Sunbury Kangaroos are the same.. if you walk through their doors, you acknowledge the success, the amazing atmosphere of the hard working and dedicated people behind the scenes that bring the club to life off the field.. Romsey have a hard working off field team that make it appealing for any quality player to enjoy life at.. there are many others that have followed that path..
The most important part of the club is it's success off the field.. on-field success is just another part of the parcel.. you'll often find that off-field elements of clubs have great local people who have family that play with the club.. at any level..

RDFL 2014 Thread