RDFL 2014 Thread

Heard this week that the RDFL is looking to base themselves out in Melton West somewhere Arnolds Creek I think. its so far west it might as well be in Ballarat. anyone heard of this?
Any comments. Is the Riddell League to become the second division of the BFL

We are already a part AFL gold fields
This will happen or if we are left to our selfs may not survive
Things are changing as that's what happens in our modern times

quote="Sambookaman, post: 30847417, member: 145128"]Cricket might be a prob[/quote]
Speak to someone that actually has an affiliation with Romsey Footy Club as they have a fantastic relationship with the cricket club .

If people are so down on our league and continue to say things like " if we are left to ourselves we will not survive " leave our league and move on to yet another . It is just negative feedback,if you don't like what this league has to offer walk away .

quote="Sambookaman, post: 30847417, member: 145128"]Cricket might be a prob
Speak to someone that actually has an affiliation with Romsey Footy Club as they have a fantastic relationship with the cricket club .[/quote]
Touchy
Was only stating that if cricket finals where to be hosted could be a problem take a chill,pill
Showing true form

If people are so down on our league and continue to say things like " if we are left to ourselves we will not survive " leave our league and move on to yet another . It is just negative feedback,if you don't like what this league has to offer walk away .
A

Touchy touchy
This is already been discussed
The move to Melton etc
Get up to speed with vic footy
LEO Telstoy have to agree

My opinion on a couple of issues from previous pages.

Loved what Romsey attempted with the night game but thought the lights were not quite up to standard. Couldn't imagine many teams volunteering to play the game but could be wrong. Good luck to them if they can get it. Gives us something to watch.

Armstrong Creek idea has plenty of critics among the clubs I have contact with. Im sure the league hasn't gone into it blindly though and must have done due diligience. The location is not ideal but plenty of us live out Melton way too.Would be good to have a base. Not really any alternatives around.

Believe th

Loved what Romsey attempted with the night game but thought the lights were not quite up to standard. Couldn't imagine many teams volunteering to play the game but could be wrong. Good luck to them if they can get it. Gives us something to watch.

Armstrong Creek idea has plenty of critics among the clubs I have contact with. Im sure the league hasn't gone into it blindly though and must have done due diligience. The location is not ideal but plenty of us live out Melton way too.Would be good to have a base. Not really any alternatives around.[

Armstrong Creek idea has plenty of critics among the clubs I have contact with. Im sure the league hasn't gone into it blindly though and must have done due diligience. The location is not ideal but plenty of us live out Melton way too.Would be good to have a base. Not really any alternatives around.
The lights are at playing standard 100 lux
The game last year was fine its when you look across the ground into the pockets seems dark but on the field is fine
We probably needed extra lighting around the outside of the oval
Good luck guys hope you build on what we achieved last season
Was a great night all round

Hey Sambookaman can you tell me where and when the Arnolds Creek move was discussed on Vic footy am trying to find it to read up as you suggested????

Hi Sean
This has been discussed for over two years there is discussion on this on the 2013 thread
But the rdfl that is now run by afl gold fields have been in discussion re this move so all presidents should be up to speed

This going forward will not damage the leaugues but give them and teams longevity
Its apart of all major associations

There still will be the rdfl !

Blueboy67 thats not fair he's just a sparkie trying to make his way.
Dont pick on Riddell and hows the Golburn property going

If he can sign on as an apprentice electrician he can make this type of money. How many 'sparkies' are there on the Bombers list these days?

Maybe that shows they are 1 step ahead of the pack and don't spend as much as everyone else!! Smart recruiting to me!! As I said earlier, there are more ways to recruit than just throw $$$ at people!!!

Riddell have always been good at recruiting and have fantastic backing of some very big sponsors who also happen to be able to employ a few along the way.

Hi Sean
This has been discussed for over two years there is discussion on this on the 2013 thread
But the rdfl that is now run by afl gold fields have been in discussion re this move so all presidents should be up to speed

This going forward will not damage the leaugues but give them and teams longevity
Its apart of all major associations

There still will be the rdfl ![/quote
There will be an rdfl just not situated near 80pc of the teams playing in it.
So sambookaman where has this been discussed.

They're still throwing $$$ at their players, just in a different way. A bit like the Chris Judd - Visy arrangement. Riddell are in a very fortunate position and I respect them as a club. Good luck to you, but I wouldn't class it as smart recruiting as such. Every club would do the same if they were fortunate enough to be in the same position. Once again, I respect Riddell and their Pres and I wish them all the best.

I also have been flicking through looking to where this has previously been discussed and cannot find it . Please enlighten us Sambookaman . I must say though there is some funny reading in there though , thank god good result is banned lol

Heard this week that the RDFL is looking to base themselves out in Melton West somewhere Arnolds Creek I think. its so far west it might as well be in Ballarat. anyone heard of this?
Any comments. Is the Riddell League to become the second division of the BFL

They're still throwing $$$ at their players, just in a different way. A bit like the Chris Judd - Visy arrangement. Riddell are in a very fortunate position and I respect them as a club. Good luck to you, but I wouldn't class it as smart recruiting as such. Every club would do the same if they were fortunate enough to be in the same position. Once again, I respect Riddell and their Pres and I wish them all the best.

From what your saying, I wouldn't say paying a bloke to work is 'throwing $$$ at them'!! Doesn't everyone get paid to work? If they are getting a 2-1 deal, good on em!

Still not as good as my old mate from the Kangaroos who shall remain nameless, decided to make a "comeback" as a playing coach, started on the bench, tore his calf jogging onto the ground in his first attempt, never to play again, didn't even make it into position... Hilarity at it's finest... :thumbsu::D
Sorry to change the topic
There has now been for a while many people about the league and at headquarters
Discussing the possible move to a new headquarters and also the upgrading of the comp to fit in with the afl goldfields etc etc
Have you any info in regards to this or heard any thing ?
Cheers

Geez, Riddell must have sum coin. Heard Carris is getting 10k sign on and $1300.00 a game !
Not too bad for an arvo's work ! :cool:

What a load of rubbish. I find most guesses at player payments you can halve and be closer to the truth.

Riddell did not become the most successful side in the RDFL over the last 10 years by throwing a third of their player payments at 1 player. This is tall poppy syndrome at its best!! A team has success and attracts good players and then the player payments guessing starts. Riddell would be in a group of 3 or 4 club for player payments.

What they offer is not always about money - a good social club and a good football team that gives itself a great chance of winning a flag. That is why some clubs struggle to complete with the Riddell’s of the football world.

For example if Doona and Scoble at the start of 2013 were talking with a good player - they both offer the same amount to play - where does the player end up? Get smashed each week and don't win a game or lose 1 game and win a flag? This is where Kilmore are in trouble - to get a player they now have to over pay to compete. Now that is neither teams fault - but the price of having success.

Carriss is joining Riddell for less than he was getting at Sunbury - he wants to play at a club he has some great mates at. Maybe if you were not so negative about Carriss and Riddell you would not be locked out of the rooms at half time. Some people never learn.

RDFL 2014 Thread