RDFL 2014 Thread

What a load of rubbish. I find most guesses at player payments you can halve and be closer to the truth.

Riddell did not become the most successful side in the RDFL over the last 10 years by throwing a third of their player payments at 1 player. This is tall poppy syndrome at its best!! A team has success and attracts good players and then the player payments guessing starts. Riddell would be in a group of 3 or 4 club for player payments.

What they offer is not always about money - a good social club and a good football team that gives itself a great chance of winning a flag. That is why some clubs struggle to complete with the Riddell’s of the football world.

For example if Doona and Scoble at the start of 2013 were talking with a good player - they both offer the same amount to play - where does the player end up? Get smashed each week and don't win a game or lose 1 game and win a flag? This is where Kilmore are in trouble - to get a player they now have to over pay to compete. Now that is neither teams fault - but the price of having success.

Carriss is joining Riddell for less than he was getting at Sunbury - he wants to play at a club he has some great mates at. Maybe if you were not so negative about Carriss and Riddell you would not be locked out of the rooms at half time. Some people never learn.

Wild Bill, Riddell obviously does offer a great social club and a good football team, but what you forget to mention is that they can also offer employment to a number of players which is a very fortunate position to be in. Good luck to the Bombers for being able to do that, but obviously clubs like Rockbank, Broadford etc are unlikely to be able to have that luxury. Riddell is obviously a very well run club but other clubs can work their 'ring' off selling raffle tickets and organising swap meets and still not be in the position that Riddell is in. I don't hold anything against the Bombers, I'm just jealous!

Carriss was a sparky before he joined Riddell and does not work for Power and Allen. Yes they have some players that work for them but they also have very good footballers that work for them but play for other football club. They are running a business and not a charity store. You have to be a good worker to survive there - no matter how good a footballer they are.

I would also think a lot of clubs would help players obtain employment. Riddell is not revolutionary in this department.

Can we all move on from Riddell offering whatever they do, I know I am one person from another club that sure does envy what they can offer. ( would like to know who is a sparkie and works for them that dosnt play there though?)
Spoke to my president tonight apparently the draw will be out soon, can confirm that we will be playing Rupo at Rupo rd1 and also playing Riddell on the Queens bday weekend on the Sunday.

Can we all move on from Riddell offering whatever they do, I know I am one person from another club that sure does envy what they can offer. ( would like to know who is a sparkie and works for them that dosnt play there though?)
Spoke to my president tonight apparently the draw will be out soon, can confirm that we will be playing Rupo at Rupo rd1 and also playing Riddell on the Queens bday weekend on the Sunday.

fixture is out....r1 rupo v kanga
melt v rock
lanc v riddell
kilm v wallan
mac v wood
rom v broad night game
digger has the bye season commences april 5

I do declare doona a that mongrel may be right and you should come to Romsey

Appreciate the thought, but as I said to our prez today after the last 2 years I've endeared I'm not just going to just do something for the sake of it coz I like footy and footy clubs. For a bloke with a crap record, dont get me wrong it has been humbling the amount of phone calls that have come in but to be truthful I was disappointed I couldn't stay at Kilmore. I was equally as shattered for Jamie when whatever happened, happened at Diggers.

It would have to be something pretty good to get the spark re-ignited. In hindsight, a job with impressionable teens (who actually want to learn) may have been better, based on the amount of kids we've worked with the past two years ;)

What a load of rubbish. I find most guesses at player payments you can halve and be closer to the truth.

Riddell did not become the most successful side in the RDFL over the last 10 years by throwing a third of their player payments at 1 player. This is tall poppy syndrome at its best!! A team has success and attracts good players and then the player payments guessing starts. Riddell would be in a group of 3 or 4 club for player payments.

What they offer is not always about money - a good social club and a good football team that gives itself a great chance of winning a flag. That is why some clubs struggle to complete with the Riddell’s of the football world.

For example if Doona and Scoble at the start of 2013 were talking with a good player - they both offer the same amount to play - where does the player end up? Get smashed each week and don't win a game or lose 1 game and win a flag? This is where Kilmore are in trouble - to get a player they now have to over pay to compete. Now that is neither teams fault - but the price of having success.

Carriss is joining Riddell for less than he was getting at Sunbury - he wants to play at a club he has some great mates at. Maybe if you were not so negative about Carriss and Riddell you would not be locked out of the rooms at half time. Some people never learn.

Spot on :thumbsu: also, if only the amount of "handy" locals driving out of town to play their footy actually considered Kilmore the club wouldn't be forced to pay the "overs" you suggest. Reading the local paper the past two weeks though, things are on the up over here so the success might finally be on its way.

Me too :(

Appreciate the thought, but as I said to our prez today after the last 2 years I've endeared I'm not just going to just do something for the sake of it coz I like footy and footy clubs. For a bloke with a crap record, dont get me wrong it has been humbling the amount of phone calls that have come in but to be truthful I was disappointed I couldn't stay at Kilmore. I was equally as shattered for Jamie when whatever happened, happened at Diggers.

It would have to be something pretty good to get the spark re-ignited. In hindsight, a job with impressionable teens (who actually want to learn) may have been better, based on the amount of kids we've worked with the past two years ;)

hey doona you can always take up a whistle:)

Anyone know what happened with the meeting re Arnolds Creek?

Is it true there is 3 games on Anzac day in the new fixture? Not overly concerned about it but did Rockbank and Sunbury play the fixture as a stand alone last season? If so I would have thought it should be set aside for them.

Meach I hope your new assistant coach isn't expecting your club to pay his phone bill? Cos I've been reading all his texts and numerous calls to my players. Alls good tho the boys are all having a great laugh at his expense.

Isn't that the job of a coach though? All coaches talk to players from other clubs.

Yeah Deano i will be paying his bill mate, been a massive help so far, if your refering to Davo he was given his number by a close romsey person who had mentioned that he may be on the move to Riddell along with Dawson who has already signed there, hope you recruiting is going well, when can you announce the massive signing you have secured?

Is it true there is 3 games on Anzac day in the new fixture? Not overly concerned about it but did Rockbank and Sunbury play the fixture as a stand alone last season? If so I would have thought it should be set aside for them.

Riddell and Rupertswood have not taken up the option of an Anzac day game.

So there will be 2 games on Anzac Day, one being the day fixture between Rockbank and Sunbury Kangaroos and the 2nd being a night fixture with Romsey.

I think there's a difference in letting players go or having them being poached as I'm sure you and your club can relate to?

If Collingwood and Essendon can share Anzac day then I am sure Sunbury and Rockbank can as well.

Yeah Deano i will be paying his bill mate, been a massive help so far, if your refering to Davo he was given his number by a close romsey person who had mentioned that he may be on the move to Riddell along with Dawson who has already signed there, hope you recruiting is going well, when can you announce the massive signing you have secured?
If you are off contract then you can be approached what's the problem all clubs do it

By the way hi guys I'm back lol ;) :hearts: :hearts: :thumbsu:

1. How do people know the draw already
2. How do I see it
3. Why should Broadford play romsey in a night game at romsey as it may not be beneficial to Broadford financially the same as last year

1. How do people know the draw already
2. How do I see it
3. Why should Broadford play romsey in a night game at romsey as it may not be beneficial to Broadford financially the same as last year

1. The draw was emailed out to the clubs.
2. Ask your club
3. Why not?

RDFL 2014 Thread