RDFL 2014 Thread

Great work Meach.. the club is definitely on the rise.. it's as good as it has been in it's short history.. the people around the club are some of the best in the league.. guys like yourself, Des and Al are some of the great guys in the league that help promote the club well.. plus the girls too.. it's definitely a club on the rise, and premierships don't count for total success.. I think you should've kept going with the positives.. made a few clubs jealous ;)

First of all where are you from Loot King?

Is success purely based on premierships?

Pretty sure we had a fantastic season on and especially off field

In my eyes as coach of the Sunbury Kangaroos we had a very successful year and I'm sure all my players and sponsors would totally agree, hence the fact we haven't had a walk out, or a new coach (due to in house problems), loss of any premiership players, the signing of 5 new players, a total of 51 players at our first training session tonight, 34 under 18s attending a meeting held for them, player budget upped by committee, all 4 major sponsors signing on for a further 3 years. I could go on and on mate but it would only be for my enjoyment.

like I first asked where are you from? And please tell me what your club rates as success?

Spot on mate :thumbsu: If success was judged on pure premierships then most of us would be rooted. Success breeds success, we all know that, but it just fascinates me the amount of people not prepared to do it hard at some point in time. Football don't build character, it reveals it. I remember my late father saying that one day when he coached and its stuck with me forever.

I remember playing practice games at Boardman against Sunbury Rovers many moons ago, the transformation of that club is a credit to all involved, and those who got the ball rolling that led up to recent successes. Most of you know of my admiration for Peddo, pretty sure he coached Rovers and also Centrals when they were in the position I was this year. Trust me it can be quite a rewarding experience in other area's that aren't win/loss related, Peddo kept telling me that and I believe him 100%.

Sustainability over long periods in this volatile dog eat dog environment is pretty important in my opinion. Riddell and others are proving they are very good at that, but correct me if I'm wrong but didn't even the great Riddell (and Lancefield) go into recess at one point? In Feb dont worry we spoke about the prospect but we said we'd much rather front up and learn as a young group than take the easy way out.

"It aint the amount of times we get knocked down, just as long as we keep getting up" .... was our theme all year.

When we lost our 3rds and a lot of players, we set ourselves a goal of not forfeiting a 2's game all year. We had guys double up most weeks to ensure that didn't happen, to me that showed plenty form a young/inexperienced group and when the good times come they'll be better for it.

Two other guages were getting a 3rds side going again (tick), and seeing how many of them boys saddle up to play footy somewhere in 2014. Doesn't have to be Kilmore but as long as they still like footy after what we went through then they'll stand up to anything footy (and life) throws up at them.

Wont know til March/April on the third item, but 2 out of 3 so far proves that we learnt together and as a club they've come out the other side ok, as the recent appointment of Jarrod and the signings that have followed indicates.

We can't all be judged on flags. Ive been lucky enough to have been part of senior teams that have won them and yeh its awesome, but I assure you the last 2 years have been just as fulfilling on a personal note - and in 5 years time if the majority of those 16-19 year olds I had this year are still playing footy then I will be one proud bloke when I go watch/support them :thumbsu:

Keep up the good work sunba I say.

Great work Meach.. the club is definitely on the rise.. it's as good as it has been in it's short history.. the people around the club are some of the best in the league.. guys like yourself, Des and Al are some of the great guys in the league that help promote the club well.. plus the girls too.. it's definitely a club on the rise, and premierships don't count for total success.. I think you should've kept going with the positives.. made a few clubs jealous ;)
Any news out of lancefield, woodend and macedon Chris? Recruits? Losses?

Well said Doona, and yes there is another person on here that does deserve a pat on the back for helping out our club get to where it is today (just wish he would stop potting us at evey chance he got) Football is a funny game that we all love no matter what the end result.

I got asked by a young apprentice today who is part of the riddell football club why we have started so early and that riddell only need 2 sessions before Christmas. At first I thought maybe because they are the bench mark and don't need to do much running? But my response was that my football club is also a huge social club for those involved, it has nothing to do with getting away from work, the wives/girlfriends, kids ect, its about being around ya mates and having a few froths after some hard works been done. Yeah we need to do a lot of work to be able to compete with the good sides, but also getting these boys on the track and around each other forming great relationships is just as important Win or lose.
Success is winning flags I agree, but if you could be a part of a club that has a great social side to it and friendly people that you can class a friends for ever then that equals success just as much to me. We will be right up there again next year I can promise you that and hopefully our crowds (biggest in the league) will again support is for the success we have achieved over the last 6 years.

Loot king I now remember where I knew that alias from and I used to work very close with the person who created it, if my memory serves me correct the password was actually passed over to a person who also regularly causes arguments on here may even be a moderator?

No worries Deano, I can respect what your saying but you need to talk to some people that you are are close to (that have nothing to do with the Kangas) who for some stupid reason keep lighting this fire.
I am Sunba97 and I only post under this name, I just wish people like Loot king ect who have several alias (which are not hard to find out) would not sit behind a computer and take pot shots.
We all need to move on and maybe one day talk about what has happened in years to come, but for now I can promise you it does not look good for anyone with all the bullshit comments that keep popping up wether it be possible recruits telling me things that have been said or just simple observers of the whole thing.
We both have a club to coach I suggest we do it and stop worrying about ourselves!

No worries Deano, I can respect what your saying but you need to talk to some people that you are are close to (that have nothing to do with the Kangas) who for some stupid reason keep lighting this fire.
I am Sunba97 and I only post under this name, I just wish people like Loot king ect who have several alias (which are not hard to find out who you are dic&heads) would have the balls to not sit behind a computer and take pot shots.
We all need to move on and maybe one day talk about what has happened in years to come, but for now I can promise you it does not look good for anyone with all the bullshit comments that keep popping up wether it be possible recruits telling me things that have been said or just simple observers of the whole thing.
We both have a club to coach I suggest we do it and stop worrying about ourselves!
Boys time to get back to the footy as a member very disturbing ? :( :footy: :footy:

Spot on mate :thumbsu: If success was judged on pure premierships then most of us would be rooted. Success breeds success, we all know that, but it just fascinates me the amount of people not prepared to do it hard at some point in time. Football don't build character, it reveals it. I remember my late father saying that one day when he coached and its stuck with me forever.

I remember playing practice games at Boardman against Sunbury Rovers many moons ago, the transformation of that club is a credit to all involved, and those who got the ball rolling that led up to recent successes. Most of you know of my admiration for Peddo, pretty sure he coached Rovers and also Centrals when they were in the position I was this year. Trust me it can be quite a rewarding experience in other area's that aren't win/loss related, Peddo kept telling me that and I believe him 100%.

Sustainability over long periods in this volatile dog eat dog environment is pretty important in my opinion. Riddell and others are proving they are very good at that, but correct me if I'm wrong but didn't even the great Riddell (and Lancefield) go into recess at one point? In Feb dont worry we spoke about the prospect but we said we'd much rather front up and learn as a young group than take the easy way out.

"It aint the amount of times we get knocked down, just as long as we keep getting up" .... was our theme all year.

When we lost our 3rds and a lot of players, we set ourselves a goal of not forfeiting a 2's game all year. We had guys double up most weeks to ensure that didn't happen, to me that showed plenty form a young/inexperienced group and when the good times come they'll be better for it.

Two other guages were getting a 3rds side going again (tick), and seeing how many of them boys saddle up to play footy somewhere in 2014. Doesn't have to be Kilmore but as long as they still like footy after what we went through then they'll stand up to anything footy (and life) throws up at them.

Wont know til March/April on the third item, but 2 out of 3 so far proves that we learnt together and as a club they've come out the other side ok, as the recent appointment of Jarrod and the signings that have followed indicates.

We can't all be judged on flags. Ive been lucky enough to have been part of senior teams that have won them and yeh its awesome, but I assure you the last 2 years have been just as fulfilling on a personal note - and in 5 years time if the majority of those 16-19 year olds I had this year are still playing footy then I will be one proud bloke when I go watch/support them :thumbsu:

Keep up the good work sunba I say.
Fair comment :)

Well said Doona, and yes there is another person on here that does deserve a pat on the back for helping out our club get to where it is today (just wish he would stop potting us at evey chance he got) Football is a funny game that we all love no matter what the end result.

I got asked by a young apprentice today who is part of the riddell football club why we have started so early and that riddell only need 2 sessions before Christmas. At first I thought maybe because they are the bench mark and don't need to do much running? But my response was that my football club is also a huge social club for those involved, it has nothing to do with getting away from work, the wives/girlfriends, kids ect, its about being around ya mates and having a few froths after some hard works been done. Yeah we need to do a lot of work to be able to compete with the good sides, but also getting these boys on the track and around each other forming great relationships is just as important Win or lose.
Success is winning flags I agree, but if you could be a part of a club that has a great social side to it and friendly people that you can class a friends for ever then that equals success just as much to me. We will be right up there again next year I can promise you that and hopefully our crowds (biggest in the league) will again support is for the success we have achieved over the last 6 years.

Loot king I now remember where I knew that alias from and I used to work very close with the person who created it, if my memory serves me correct the password was actually passed over to a person who also regularly causes arguments on here may even be a moderator?[/

I'm sure all clubs have set out their program's that they think will work for them in the up and coming season, and also remember clubs like diggers and Riddell played an extra 3/4 weeks than some, so pushing it back a few weeks isn't really an issue IMO for those clubs. If clubs want to start early then that's great, but you don't want to be sick of training come February!!

Back onto the footy chaps, who's training already, who's recruiting from outside, who's trying to pinch from inside, what is this AFL Goldfields title I read on facebook etc etc.

Kilmore kicked off Monday night, close to 50 I'm told, with 15-20 3rds kids so that's a cracking way to start after a rough 2013 :thumbsu:

Fixture Difficulty Rating.

Based on allocating a number to the finishing position last season only. (No Home/Away analysis).

Highest being the hardest, lowest being the easiest.

Rupertswood - 123
Melton Centrals - 118
Lancefield - 115
Woodend/Hesket - 115
Kilmore - 112
Sunbury Kangaroos - 111
Broadford - 110
Diggers Rest - 110
Rockbank - 110
Romsey - 109
Riddell - 107
Macedon - 106
Wallan - 104

Fixture Difficulty Rating.

Based on allocating a number to the finishing position last season only. (No Home/Away analysis).

Highest being the hardest, lowest being the easiest.

Rupertswood - 123
Melton Centrals - 118
Lancefield - 115
Woodend/Hesket - 115
Kilmore - 112
Sunbury Kangaroos - 111
Broadford - 110
Diggers Rest - 110
Rockbank - 110
Romsey - 109
Riddell - 107
Macedon - 106
Wallan - 104

For us simpletons IMS, could you please explain what this means.

I don't understand why Rupo have a high score (harder) than Riddell who have the third lowest score (easier).

Thanks.

For us simpletons IMS, could you please explain what this means.

I don't understand why Rupo have a high score (harder) than Riddell who have the third lowest score (easier).

Thanks.

I simply allocated a number to where the side finished on the ladder last season

Eg: Riddell - 13, Diggers Rest - 12, Sunbury Kangaroos - 11, Romsey - 10 etc

Then I allocated those points to the side that each club played.

Eg:
Rockbank
Rd 1 Vs Melton Centrals - 8
Rd 2 Vs Broadford - 5
Rd 3 Vs Sunbury Kangaroos - 11
Rd 4 - Bye - 0

I did this for the entire season and came up with that final number.

It had nothing to do with the structuring, just a simple exercise to see how the draw panned out for next season.

When you look at it, Riddell don't have to face themselves, so they don't have a 13 point match to deal with, whilst others do etc etc.

And just to see if Macedon got a cruisy draw again ;)

So when will the rest of us see the draw anyway?

Sent from my C625b using Tapatalk

Your club would have a copy, although the fixture has been released, it hasn't formally been ratified as yet. (Normally takes place at the AGM)

The draw is released but there is still possibility of changes re times. Etc etc
Giving clubs the chance to discuss possibilities with leaugue and each other !

I simply allocated a number to where the side finished on the ladder last season

Eg: Riddell - 13, Diggers Rest - 12, Sunbury Kangaroos - 11, Romsey - 10 etc

Then I allocated those points to the side that each club played.
Another factor to this is recruitment and club loss of players could make a difference

Eg:
Rockbank
Rd 1 Vs Melton Centrals - 8
Rd 2 Vs Broadford - 5
Rd 3 Vs Sunbury Kangaroos - 11
Rd 4 - Bye - 0

I did this for the entire season and came up with that final number.

It had nothing to do with the structuring, just a simple exercise to see how the draw panned out for next season.

When you look at it, Riddell don't have to face themselves, so they don't have a 13 point match to deal with, whilst others do etc etc.

And just to see if Macedon got a cruisy draw again ;)

The other factor will be club recruitment and player retention then injuries etc !!!

That has absolutely ZERO to do with what I was doing here.

Understand that but stating that the position some teams ended may due to recruitment and player retention may effect the toughness of the game based on 2012 positions .
But follow your theory also ! :)

Understand that but stating that the position some teams ended may due to recruitment and player retention may effect the toughness of the game based on 2012 positions .
But follow your theory also ! :)

That's common sense and will be determined at the end of the year, this was a looking forward exercise only.

RDFL 2014 Thread