RDFL 2014 Thread

Roxburgh Park FC , affiliated with EDFL Div2 , looking for an Away practice match 1st March 2014.
We have u18 - ressies & snrs looking for a hitout. If interested PM me & il get in touch.
Cheers

Heard last night that Broadford picked up a couple from Avenel. Muir and Hateley or something like that anyone know much about them? Doona?

Heard the same thing at work today.

Trav is a midfielder, and Grant for me would be ideal off half back on the small Broadford ground, with his strength and penetrating boot. They need to be getting the ball deep and dangerous 30-35m out more.

With the bottom teams having a dip by increasing expenditure and recruiting too, there could be a fair dinkum log jam for the coveted "6th spot" behind Riddell, Diggers, Kanga's, Romsey and Rupo.

Could we maybe go to a top 8? More finals = more $$$ to the league :D

Roxburgh Park FC , affiliated with EDFL Div2 , looking for an Away practice match 1st March 2014.
We have u18 - ressies & snrs looking for a hitout. If interested PM me & il get in touch.
Cheers

Hope someone is needing a game, the new Roxy coach is a top fella, lives in Kilmore and coaches one of our junior sides :thumbsu:

Whilst I mention juniors, can someone confirm/deny if there are new rules in regards to under 10s not playing for points or something along them lines in 2014? My young bloke was mad keen to start footy next year but the thought of another year of "Auskick type" stuff has his interest dwindling and mentioning basketball.

Hope someone is needing a game, the new Roxy coach is a top fella, lives in Kilmore and coaches one of our junior sides :thumbsu:

Whilst I mention juniors, can someone confirm/deny if there are new rules in regards to under 10s not playing for points or something along them lines in 2014? My young bloke was mad keen to start footy next year but the thought of another year of "Auskick type" stuff has his interest dwindling and mentioning basketball.

I hope that is not happening, kids today have to deal with too much "sugar coating". I played under 10's and we got smashed almost every week, that was over 20 years ago but I'm still playing now (well trying to) . You win and loose in life, the earlier you learn that, the sooner you can move forward and become better person, both on and off the footy field

Trav is a midfielder, and Grant for me would be ideal off half back on the small Broadford ground, with his strength and penetrating boot. They need to be getting the ball deep and dangerous 30-35m out more.

With the bottom teams having a dip by increasing expenditure and recruiting too, there could be a fair dinkum log jam for the coveted "6th spot" behind Riddell, Diggers, Kanga's, Romsey and Rupo.

Perhaps there might be a log jam at position number six but maybe a side may break open the top four ????
Would be great for the leaugue
Some top sides may be vulnerable !!!

I heard the same story Doona, but also a no tackling rule. If this is true I will go and send my kids to play soccer. I'm sick of all this rubbish where everyone is a winner and they are wrapped in cotton wool. Whatever happened in our day and we climbed trees and did other daring things like playing British Bulldog?

Dunno about "JUST" sixth spot Doon', I think with what I am hearing at this early stage a few spots could be up for grabs in the 2014 R.D.F.L. Premiership season.

Riddell to lose a few & gain a few. But its off the field where the Bombers shine. Best Admin' in bush footy bar none !
Diggers seem to have more jumping ship than the Titanic after knifing their coach !
ALL not as happy as some would have us believe at the Kangas. Plus no more inspiration from number 24 winning games off his own boot for 'em in 2014 !
Romsey to continue to be too busy fighting amongst themselves to even notice that there is a Premiership up for grabs in 2014 !
Macedon with a new (non playing) coach "Finally" ! (What idiot up there still living in the 70's thought that a playing coach could bring success these days ???) but with the same old administration that have NO idea HOW to take the next step !
Rupo'.......the "Elephant in the Room" ! New coach at a seemingly progressively thinking club. Watch this space !

Plenty of question marks there I reckon Doon'. I get the feeling that we could be in for a little "Changing of the Guard" perhaps with our top six in 2014...........That is of course assuming that one, or some of the other "Outside Clubs" wanna pick up the "Gauntlet" & run with it ???

Now what is it they say about opportunity ??? :)

Dunno about "JUST" sixth spot Doon', I think with what I am hearing at this early stage a few spots could be up for grabs in the 2014 R.D.F.L. Premiership season.

Riddell to lose a few & gain a few. But its off the field where the Bombers shine. Best Admin' in bush footy bar none !
Diggers seem to have more jumping ship than the Titanic after knifing their coach !
ALL not as happy as some would have us believe at the Kangas. Plus no more inspiration from number 24 winning games off his own boot for 'em in 2014 !
Romsey to continue to be too busy fighting amongst themselves to even notice that there is a Premiership up for grabs in 2014 !
Macedon with a new (non playing) coach "Finally" ! (What idiot up there still living in the 70's thought that a playing coach could bring success these days ???) but with the same old administration that have NO idea HOW to take the next step !
Rupo'.......the "Elephant in the Room" ! New coach at a seemingly progressively thinking club. Watch this space !

Plenty of question marks there I reckon Doon'. I get the feeling that we could be in for a little "Changing of the Guard" perhaps with our top six in 2014...........That is of course assuming that one, or some of the other "Outside Clubs" wanna pick up the "Gauntlet" & run with it ???

I think that's a little harsh on Romsey. Unlikely to have the same injury run. Too much talent on that list for them to drop far. Davo, Farmer, Dawson, Petroro, Mitchell, Henderson, Robbins, Austin, McNaughton etc these guys are all quality players and im sure they will add a few. Top 3 certs in my view.Think Sunbury and Diggers losses very much exaggerated but agree they are likely to feel it more from the challengers this year.

Rupo biggest threat to top 4 although I don't know much about their recruits. Chambers from all reports is a star back men.

Terrific to hear Kilmore, Broadford and Wallan recruiting well.

100% correct about the change to junior footy. Under 9 has been scrapped and they now come in at under 10. Real footy with tackling starts at under 12. Also rupo recruiting going very well. Chambers is a gun but we have plenty more too.

Sent from my C625b using Tapatalk

I heard the same story Doona, but also a no tackling rule. If this is true I will go and send my kids to play soccer. I'm sick of all this rubbish where everyone is a winner and they are wrapped in cotton wool. Whatever happened in our day and we climbed trees and did other daring things like playing British Bulldog?
100% correct about the change to junior footy. Under 9 has been scrapped and they now come in at under 10. Real footy with tackling starts at under 12.

I wont send my kid anywhere but I know his interest already isn't the same as it was when he thought he would be playing "real footy" in 2014. If he opts out of playing then that's fine with me, we will find him other avenue's to nurture the skills he will miss out on for a couple more years.

Good thing about it though is surely this means a reduction in league fee's to all junior clubs now that under 10s isn't a fair dinkum football comp :(

Must say I haven't taken a lot of interest in it all, for the first time in 11-12 years I have not even a fleeting interest this time of year and it's great. You do however make some intersting points if true (and I don't doubt you) so I guess time will tell.

I'd still have Centrals ahead of Wallan, Broadford, Rockbank, Kilmore at this stage so it sounds like a few clubs are going to pay big overs for where they'll actually finish.

Must say I haven't taken a lot of interest in it all, for the first time in 11-12 years I have not even a fleeting interest this time of year and it's great. You do however make some intersting points if true (and I don't doubt you) so I guess time will tell.

I'd still have Centrals ahead of Wallan, Broadford, Rockbank, Kilmore at this stage so it sounds like a few clubs are going to pay big overs for where they'll actually finish.
Understand that the past has shown that the top 4 sides are where they are at but believe that looking at last years results clubs outside the 6 also had large amount of injuries etc And only missed a spot in the finals by a game so adding good recruits and better program may find theses teams winning two or three more games the team that finished 4 th last year Won ten game only so hopefully the season can be broken open by a couple of bolters be great for local footy.

I'm sensing enough subtle hints on here to assume the Broady boys think they can push a fair way in 2014 :thumbsu:

No just saying that lot of non sign ons and movements all over think that the teams thAt improved last year may improve further lancefield Melton centrala etc

Just to clear up any confusion
There is no in fighting at Romsey that you speak off , training has been great committee united and we will look forward to 2014 season with a side that want to play for Romsey and not a side that have been forced to play with Romsey

Name one player who was forced to play for Romsey?

I was not saying any player had to play for Romsey , what I am aluding to is a player that may not want to play elsewhere this year but has been forced to .
Apologise if you thought I was meaning last year or any other year previous .

I was not saying any player had to play for Romsey , what I am aluding to is a player that may not want to play elsewhere this year but has been forced to .

Which player is that? Where are they playing? Same league, different league?

Perhaps you should just come out & say what you mean pal without the pointless subterfuge of alluding to it ???
Sure works for me !.........& makes for a little less confusion on here. :)
God knows the place could do with an immediate injection of intellect of late, what with all the mind numbing dross vomited on here by "some" Romsey Neanderthals mistakenly thinking that those of us on here that can formulate a valid thought into a coherent sentence may actually give a shit to decipher their contribution of a massive maze of backward boring drivel ! :cool:

RDFL 2014 Thread