RDFL 2014 Thread

Good luck with it PeterO, worst night out of the entire 2014 season was when we had to officially withdraw Kilmore from the 3rds comp, fingers crossed you can get the necessary numbers to kick on. You can use under 16's on permits, and I'm led to believe Lancefield are really battling. I know it's like Carlton v Collingwood over your way but if its the difference between kids playing and not then it could be worth exploring
Thanks Doona, yes I reckon it would have been a hard call mate and from what I hear a few more clubs might have to make the same decision. If you think any of the Kilmore U18's would be willing to make the trip to Romsey they are more then welcome to give me call to discuss it, would hate for any YP to miss out, if they stop playing for a season at this age can be bloody hard to get them to come back with all the other distractions out there for them.

This is becoming a concerning issue right now in a number of competitions with several Premier sides and div 1 Edfl not having numbers and I know Bundoora and Hieldelberg are feeling the pinch of the lack of 19's that qualify for sides. How many sides would be feeling the lack of 16-19 year olds at their club in today's footy?

You are correct with Heidelberg but I think you will find bundoora have two 19s teams , one plays out of yarrambat starting from this year !!!

Romsey Redbacks U18.5 are looking to recruit for 6-8 more players for the 2014 season.

The RDFNL have advised that if any young players turns 19yo on or after July 1 2014 then they are still eligible to play U18.5 football in 2014.

So this is a call out to ALL, that if you know of any young fella that is still keen to play football and has yet to commit or does not have a team to play for this season, then send them our way. We train every Tuesday and Thursday night.

We would welcome any YP that is wanting to play football no matter where you played your junior football or because your club has not been able to field a side due to lack of numbers, you are more then welcome at Romsey until your club can field a side, we wouldn't hold you back from returning to the club you are loyal too, just don't miss out on playing the game you love, U18s can be a difficult transition anyway coming up from Junior football to Senior ranks and I would hate for any aspiring young footballer to miss out just because you are not able to play for your team this season for whatever reason.

You can pass on my number to anyone you think maybe interested or repost this thread if you think that would help or give me a call on my mob.# 0417596621 and we can have a chat, even if your only able to play a handful go games, gisa a call anyway. Cheers Peter O.

Gday Peter O, I was informed that Pupo had the numbers for two under 18 sides & wanted to field both but may have hit a snag, might be worth giving them a call if they are going to have kids missing out on a game of footy.

Thanks slyone, i take it you mean Rupo? i will do that, worth a try. Cheers

This is becoming a concerning issue right now in a number of competitions with several Premier sides and div 1 Edfl not having numbers and I know Bundoora and Hieldelberg are feeling the pinch of the lack of 19's that qualify for sides. How many sides would be feeling the lack of 16-19 year olds at their club in today's footy?

y
You are correct with Heidelberg but I think you will find bundoora have two 19s teams , one plays out of yarrambat starting from this year !!!
I have a mate who is the coach of an NFL div 3 under 19 side and he and the club are two weeks away from pulling the under 19 out for the season as they have only been able to get 9 players so far and he was saying that there might only be 1 out 7 NFL div 3 sides with unders this year ,i have also heard quite a few callers on 1116 sen asking for under 18/19 players across all competitions, this has to be a concern to all competitions. People i have spoken to all shake their heads and have no answers as too why the boys are dropping off at this level. but if this trend continues than where are we going to get senior players from in the numbers required to keep both senior and reserve levels going in a few years time.

Yes Lancefield had their first last week against Violet town and notched up a win and there are a couple playing a lighting premiership next sat 15th at Trentham I hear

Thanks Doona, yes I reckon it would have been a hard call mate and from what I hear a few more clubs might have to make the same decision. If you think any of the Kilmore U18's would be willing to make the trip to Romsey they are more then welcome to give me call to discuss it, would hate for any YP to miss out, if they stop playing for a season at this age can be bloody hard to get them to come back with all the other distractions out there for them.

Sorry PeterO massive typo sorry, meant to say 2013. Kilmore will be right this year for numbers and will field a 3rds team

Oops! that could have put the cat amongst the pigeons, glad to hear they can field an U18 team in 2014. Were pretty confident we can too, just be nice to have a full team at training each night, as always as the 1st round quickly approaches there will be few boys come out of where they hide and want to play.

Hey Doona,
Sounds like things will never change in some circles.

Haven't you got any role in 2014?

Decided it was in the best interest of everyone (so I thought) to not seek a 3rd year at Kilmore, had agreed to an assistant role at another RDFL club before the coach got the lemonade and sarss a week after I had told Kilmore. How's my timing ha ha!!!

Pretty much thought "stuff footy clubs" after that, so will cruise around for the first time in a long long time and just enjoy watching, enjoying a few beers and who knows might give a bit of lip over the fence ;)

Hey guys!! :)
Sounds like everything is all gearing up for a big season ahead :) We're still on the look out for anyone that would like to get involved in radio in any capacity.. deck, presenting etc.. we're doing many games along the calder corridor this year and would love if anyone is interested or we can call upon them if we're short one week.. you're most welcome to PM me :) keep up the legendary work :)

The Riddell Umpires have just released our 1st 2014 promo photo "Umpiring Is For Everyone". It doesn't matter who you are or what your background is, Umpiring is a great way to be involved in the greatest sport ever. If anyone is interested in becoming an umpire, please visit www.riddellumpires.com.au

On thursday we will release our 2nd promo photo "Umpiring Is Everyone's Business" including two RDFL superstars, one of which is a bigfooty legend. image.jpg

Would think you would be a chance of a big win this saturday after umpiring the kilmore vs craigieburn game. The brothers that played at Kilmore a few years back look like their best players.

Yep if they dont win by 10-15 goals then pack it up and hand it to Riddell :D

I'm sure Craigieburn like all sides at this time of year had a number of players out. They have recruited strongly this year and have added 3 or 4 that would fit easily in the best 10-15 in the RDFL. Guys like Nolan and Davies are serious players who are proven at EDFL A grade level. McErlain and others are real quality too.

Would say its a tad silly to be writing them off after a 10 goal win in a practice match.

Hand what to riddell doona, the pre season cup????? Lol. Doesnt say much for kilmores chances this year then. Cburn beat kilmore by 9 goals with 10 players out and romsey are meant to beat cburn by 15 goals? Does that mean that kilmore are 25 goals off romsey then doona????

Not too sure cburn had ten players out but both sides def had a few missing , I think you will find it will be a lot closer than a 15 goal margin.

Kilmore take on yea this weekend hopefully we can take another step forward with a couple boys back for this weekend

Hand what to riddell doona, the pre season cup????? Lol. Doesnt say much for kilmores chances this year then. Cburn beat kilmore by 9 goals with 10 players out and romsey are meant to beat cburn by 15 goals? Does that mean that kilmore are 25 goals off romsey then doona????

Aint seen Kilmore, aint seen Romsey, aint seen Craigieburn ..... only trying to fire this board up mate, she's gone a bit quiet ;)

If your not linked to a club this year Doona, you should join us. We could get Omni down, maybe Mongrel and Sunba97 could slot in for an U/18 game. One big bigfooty umpiring panel.

RDFL 2014 Thread