RDFL 2014 Thread

OMNI'S Round 1 wash up -
Umpiring over at Lancefield was first rate.....(I cant believe I am saying this - but).....Semmo was quietly FANTASTIC ! :thumbsu:
Ground surface over at Lancefield & at Romsey is the best I have EVER seen it !
Lancefield aren't as bad as first thought. Riddell aren't as good as most pundits believe. Rupo has improved.....marginally ! Sunbury hasn't slipped as predicted by some & have plenty of "Ticker" when it counts. Melton do what they have to do & don't drop games they are expected to win. Rockbank to tread water once AGAIN this season ! Wallan HAVE improved....& found a functioning forward set up this season. Kilmore are once again the pre-season hype champions......& NOTHING more !!! Romsey are ok without being too impressive, but their night footy experiment is an unqualified success ! Broadford once again prove they are the MOST undisciplined side in the competition ! The struggling Hawks show a lot of fight & a superior fitness level to nearly pinch a game no one gave them any chance of winning. AND - Macedon are in worse shape than anyone ever thought they were in !!!

Ahhhhhh it's good to have the footy back !!! :thumbsu:
Sensational summary mate! :) The surface at Lancefield is a dream.. we recently moved to Lancefield and head out to the oval pretty frequently and still have visions of Riddell premierships.. looking across all grounds, they're shaping up really well.. especially Gisborne's which will come into play this week..
It's great to see the Tiges take the game up to your lads.. it shows a major improvement in Sean's game and at least they can run with the league's best (based on being the reigning premiers) for a number of quarters.. great to say Haydn Ross star again! :)
The Rams and Centrals battled out a great game.. hopefully both sides can produce good performances this week.. we need the division between the top tier and bottom tier to be a bit closer..
Great effort from Kilmore to get as close as they did on Saturday in a spirited effort :)
Romsey could have easily had a 20 goal win on the board and Broadford did what they could with the cattle that they had.. Romsey's line-up looked awesome.. Chris Petroro and Matt Davidson are two of my favourite players to watch in the competition and both played well.. as for that little scuffle.. it involved players from both teams.. didn't see how it started.. did see Davo kick a goal because of it and Broadford not have a ruckman in the resulting centre bounce.. unbelievable..
The Cats were impressive.. the Hawks played with great spirit.. wouldn't rule the Cats out of the finals or the season at all.. they had some great moments but fronted up against a team that is better than last year.. it was a good game of football, almost as good as any finals match last year without exaggerating.. just two teams having a fair dip..
Nothing is set in stone this year.. round two will throw up some surprises :)

hey omni
I find the comment of Broadford being the most indisciplined side wide of the mark
Yes there was a couple of 50 mtr penalties given away
But I find it very funny that you didn't mention the Romsey player getting reported for striking justin Webb 3 times
And justin not retaliating
You are a flog !!!

Surely Webb wasn't involved in some sort of altercation!! One of the cleanest players going round!!! His record speaks for itself...

I agree with omni the umpiring at lancefield was fantastic. I think it was the only game I have seen Simmo umpire and not want to throttle him at some stage.
Thanks for the comments about the ground but I don't think you can have seen the ground at this time of the year very often because it usually is in even better nick at this time of year. It is a big hard at the moment, we are a bit short of water would have liked to have seen it a bit softer.

I had a look at your ground last week, still a little way to go before it is ready to go?

He was good, wasn't he ?........They BOTH were very good. Only paid the obvious free kicks. Were consistent the whole game through & kept up with the pace of the game.........although it was a pretty ordinary game, which made their performance all the more pleasing. :) :thumbsu:

I think your being a little overly tough if you could find something to be critical about, about your ground champ. It is in sensational condition IMHO. Lovely & green with a beautiful lush coverage of grass. Right now we'd kill for some of that green stuff over our way !!! :(

hey omni
I find the comment of Broadford being the most indisciplined side wide of the mark
Yes there was a couple of 50 mtr penalties given away
But I find it very funny that you didn't mention the Romsey player getting reported for striking justin Webb 3 times
And justin not retaliating
You are a flog !!!

Well I certainly understand WHY you would find my comment "wide of the mark" now wouldn't I ???
The fact of the matter is, whether YOU like it or not, when there are ugly incidents (ie - massive "ALL IN" brawls) in our competition. More often than not it ALWAYS seems to involve the Broadford Football Club !!! Look, I'm sorry pal that "MY" (and many others) negative perception of your Club is purely based on our experience of having to witness first hand the many ugly incidents that seem to occur every time we see your club take the field !
And excuse me pleeeeease pal for being a wee bit sceptical when it comes to you blokes ALWAYS trying to "play" the victim in these things..........It's getting very old, very quick & way to repetitive for mine ! :cool:

Oh & I also think "YOUR" closing comment "Skip" is pretty much symptomatic of the type of undisciplined culture which seems to pervade right throughout your club !

U
Well I certainly understand WHY you would find my comment "wide of the mark" now wouldn't I ???
The fact of the matter is, whether YOU like it or not, when there are ugly incidents (ie - massive "ALL IN" brawls) in our competition. More often than not it ALWAYS seems to involve the Broadford Football Club !!! Look, I'm sorry pal that "MY" (and many others) negative perception of your Club is purely based on our experience of having to witness first hand the many ugly incidents that seem to occur every time we see your club take the field !
And excuse me pleeeeease pal for being a wee bit sceptical when it comes to you blokes ALWAYS trying to "play" the victim in these things..........It's getting very old, very quick & way to repetitive for mine ! :cool:

Oh & I also think "YOUR" closing comment "Skip" is pretty much symptomatic of the type of undisciplined culture which seems to pervade right throughout your club !
You say that Broadford is involved in
ugly incidents every time my club takes the field..
I rest my case my dear friend on my second last line of the previous post
The end

He was good, wasn't he ?........They BOTH were very good. Only paid the obvious free kicks. Were consistent the whole game through & kept up with the pace of the game.........although it was a pretty ordinary game, which made their performance all the more pleasing. :) :thumbsu:

I think your being a little overly tough if you could find something to be critical about, about your ground champ. It is in sensational condition IMHO. Lovely & green with a beautiful lush coverage of grass. Right now we'd kill for some of that green stuff over our way !!! :(
I heard you liked the green stuff OMNI! :D

It's got nothing to do with Friday night Skip, it's all about the Donnybrook from last year! Omni was a very good full forward in his day but he still has nightmares about Kamel Sidki coming for him!

It was actually Saturday night buddy. And no mate, I don't hold grudges about the past, just make assessments & observations based on what I see & experience.............I think they call it "having an opinion" ! :rolleyes:
& definitely no nightmares here pal. Why would I ??? Kamel Sidki's undisciplined whack of my cranium (from behind !) was the catalyst which gifted to me what SHOULD have been YOUR'S & HIS..............................................A Premiership Medallion !!! :)

For Broadford's sake I hope so dismayed ;)

They dont wanna drop this one, even early in the year with the gap of "top" teams a lot of you are gunna have to beat those similarly place around you to push for that coveted 6th spot

It was actually Saturday night buddy. And no mate, I don't hold grudges about the past, just make assessments & observations based on what I see & experience.............I think they call it "having an opinion" ! :rolleyes:
& definitely no nightmares here pal. Why would I ??? Kamel Sidki's undisciplined whack of my cranium (from behind !) was the catalyst which gifted to me what SHOULD have been YOUR'S & HIS..............................................A Premiership Medallion !!! :)
Yes that was a lesson I learnt the hard way, we have all done things on the football field we regret, your boys have jumped fences & you have had thugs in your teams of the past, over the last six years I haven't had a problem with Broardford, last years night game as physical as I have seen in years but all above board, so where there's smoke

The night games are good because we get to watch more than our own team in a day. Diggers flogged bmarsh last week and the guru tucks only played a half. Bford look qick az but romsey looked like a team of anacondas and strangled the lufe out of them. Bford will be good this year and romsey will 2 but too many backman out for romsey this week. Diggers by 8 goals and dont say I didnt warn yas number 17 and tucks to kick 20 between them

Yes Romsey were fantastic last Saturday night
I think with a little more time together and this new group we have, will gel together ok
We know we have a lot of work to do to get near the big boys of this league. The positive thing is that we still have a few to come into the team.
We have a tough game this Saturday against lancefield but I'm sure my boys had their wake up call last week.
Wet and windy footy coming this weekend and it's head over the footy stuff to get the points

Question to people at all clubs? Ive just read on Broadford's facebook page a reference to "Nagambie Rock Oval" surely it hasn't come to this.

Are any other clubs doing similar with their ovals?

Central Park as it was once known was then named Harley Hammond Reserve as a tribute to a man who had probably given 50+ years service to the Broadford Football/Cricket/Athletic Clubs as well as other local sporting groups.

To think people who have been there since Yesty's Smoko can name it that for a few extra $$$ surely isn't sitting well with the old school Broadford folk. But then again people who had been there bugger all packed us up and sent us to the RDFL so it aint that surprising :thumbsdown:

A lot of the footy grounds in the Bendigo FL are "renamed". It's nothing official, the original names remain, but most clubs have an arrangement with the local paper to use those names in stories.

RDFL 2014 Thread