RDFL 2014 Thread

Seems that the race for 6th spot is now out of 4 clubs ..... Wallan, Centrals, Rockbank and Lancefield.

Kilmore aren't on the bottom either ...... :D

With Wallans easy draw and after two crucial wins in the last fortnight they are favourites to finish 6th. In fact with only three games left for the year against the .top 5 they could finish a few spots higher.

Wallan or Centrals would be good for me, like both coaches Wheels and Frosty

I'm sure that the other sides competing for that 6th spot will be rapt that they are being thought of as "easy" games.

Is todays game Sunbury v Riddell being played at Riddells ground ??

I believe so, yes, haven't heard any different and the Riddell president was definitive last week. The Bombers trained on the ground this week.

Looks like a huge win to the Bombers coming up, answering the Redbacks straight back..

The Roos have had a very tough couple of weeks on and off field, hope they are able to bounce back in coming weeks or they could slip back into the pack pretty quickly.

Really has been an interesting round of results so far.. Opens things up again with a huge game tomorrow.. But Mongrel will be pretty damn happy with how his boys are travelling I would suggest, now the team to beat.

Wouldn't get ahead of yourself IMS.....Riddell have today shown how good, and how far ahead of the pack they are. Omni must be sitting back in the car very happy with what he is seeing atm...

I think Dawson played in the Reserves today????......Also where did Phill Lobb come from he is a star??
Correct...Dawson played today after an injury. Lobby snuck up from Melb and isn't a bad player at all. Fits nicely into a pocket and knows how to kick a goal. 6'2" and marks like Brent Tuckey. Very unselfish footballer also.

Wouldn't get ahead of yourself IMS.....Riddell have today shown how good, and how far ahead of the pack they are. Omni must be sitting back in the car very happy with what he is seeing atm...

The beauty of Big Footy has always been the undersell of your team, no one wants to get on the front foot.

There is no doubt that at this point, the Redbacks are the team ahead of the pack, they are potent across every line with some very good additions to come into the team.

The Bombers are right there though and Rupo despite the Round 1 result aren't too far behind them.

Big time Roota. Has been very much the 'team' player to date, and will give the ball to a team mate if it benefits the side. Not being the only focal point and goal kicker may help from other years

Good to hear. The bloke has more talent in his little toe than I could hope to have but his head has held him back. I hope he helps Romsey to a flag. Have always sort of followed them since I played with a few boys from there moons ago

The Redbacks are clearly the best side in the competition. ......... They
MUST be cause I keep reading all about it on FB !!!

Rupo under 18s have a decent % I see.Are most players ex students or still studying at Salesian?I think in the next few years many clubs will regret them coming into this comp and they will become a powerhouse across all grades.Time will tell I guess

I'm sure that the other sides competing for that 6th spot will be rapt that they are being thought of as "easy" games.
No one said the other sides competing for 6th were easy. But anyone with half a brain can see Wallan have the easiest draw of all sides this year. they don't play a finalist from last year twice, no other side has that luxury.

For what it's worth I believe Rupo will eventually outgrow this league. The quantity and quality of their juniors combined with the fact that the incentives to leave the club have been removed (money and travel) means their firsts will rise to the standards of similar sized clubs in the area; Gisborne, Sunbury & Melton. On the matter of wallen their position could be decided when they play rockbank.

So where do they go when they outgrow the league

You are 100 per cent correct at the end of Round 5 Riddle are so far ahead from what I seen yesterday they are the fittest ,most professional and disciplined side in the league..They play a fast moving quick hands brand of football and they are a great field kicking side as well..Ethan Foreman-Matt Sammut and Paul Sahlberg are super fit super talented and super damaging .I would have liked to see Sunbury at least have a man on Foreman yesterday he ran around on his own all day !But it,s only round 5 so it will be interesting to see at rounds 17 and 18 as I believe a couple of the other top sides are only 80 per cent fit and are working to peak at the business end of the season??

Have a crack at one Melton club, East Sunbury, Trentham and get it to a Premier and a second divison for the smaller clubs before Rupo uses us merely for a leg up and Pi$$es off elsewhere

Watched the Riddell Vs Sunbury game last night.

The Bombers were slick. Patty Carris dominated in the ruck and the Bombers midfield just got far too much easy ball from his work, but up against the work of the Redbacks (discounting the opponent) they still quite aren't there yet, the Redbacks are currently the best side in the competition.

Sunbury have some work to do, the big forwards didn't work hard enough in the contest and really lacked support on the ground, Matty Welsh was excellent across the half back line and Kayne Murphy was probably their best, but they just didn't get enough effort out of the mids and forwards which left the backline heavily exposed against a very good opposition. There is possibly a couple of big names in the line up that need a run in the early game for some confidence.

The Bombers midfield is a machine, their midfield is going to be the key to the potential match up with the Redbacks, Sammut dominated the first half, P.Sahlberg the 2nd half and Ethan Foreman and Bladey were excellent all day, the Bombers midfield just continually make the right decisions with the ball in their hands.

Going to be a very interesting few weeks coming up to see who can step up against these 2 sides.

The Bombers were slick. Patty Carris dominated in the ruck and the Bombers midfield just got far too much easy ball from his work, but up against the work of the Redbacks (discounting the opponent) they still quite aren't there yet, the Redbacks are currently the best side in the competition.

Sunbury have some work to do, the big forwards didn't work hard enough in the contest and really lacked support on the ground, Matty Welsh was excellent across the half back line and Kayne Murphy was probably their best, but they just didn't get enough effort out of the mids and forwards which left the backline heavily exposed against a very good opposition. There is possibly a couple of big names in the line up that need a run in the early game for some confidence.

The Bombers midfield is a machine, their midfield is going to be the key to the potential match up with the Redbacks, Sammut dominated the first half, P.Sahlberg the 2nd half and Ethan Foreman and Bladey were excellent all day, the Bombers midfield just continually make the right decisions with the ball in their hands.

Going to be a very interesting few weeks coming up to see who can step up against these 2 sides.

You can build up Romsey as much as you like, I didn't realise a flogging of Macedon, counted for so much..I'd love not to read too many more posts or read too many more newspaper articles, quoting how many players Romsey have to come back into their side. I reckon that has been going on for the last couple of years. Facts are that Riddell work their way into the season, they haven't lost any key players from their premiership and have added the premier ruckman in the region, who is a proven big game performer, so for me the flag goes through Riddell, its up to the other clubs to step up at the pointy end of the season to knock them off their mantle. For the record I'm a Diggers fan and I'm not convinced about them, they have had a great run with injuries the last few years, now they are starting to get a few, it will be interesting to see how they handle it, especially given they have a new/inexperienced coaching set up down there. I see the new coach was quoted in the paper recently talking about their injures, I'm hoping he's not going down the Romsey path, you just need to get on with it, Dont Complain, Dont explain!!The addition of Jason Williams should help, hopefully he sticks around for longer than he did at Pacco.....

It's not rocket science, I didn't mention the pointy end of the season, I didn't mention premierships..

July 12th is a long way away . This debate will continue all year.

Riddell play Romsey at home coming off the bye. What a massive game that will be.

My response was in reference to a previous posts of yours on Saturday where you have declared Romsey the team to beat surely this infers for the premiership or is their something else they are playing for?? I hope you can follow me on this professor!!

RDFL 2014 Thread