RDFL 2014 Thread

My response was in reference to a previous posts of yours on Saturday where you have declared Romsey the team to beat surely this infers for the premiership or is their something else they are playing for?? I hope you can follow me on this professor!!

This is not going to end well.......

It's difficult to talk slowly enough for some to understand unfortunately and I am not interested in the slightest.

What were your thoughts on the game on Sunday Wild Bill?? Good to see the Bombers not miss a beat with the suspension of Nolan, Morrison did a pretty good job stepping up in his absence.

Of course it will. Good reading on a quiet 'big footy' day. Everyone has their opinion of who's good atm and who's not. Like IMS said on Sunday..teams like to play themselves down a little at times. Riddell have beaten a couple of good teams so far that Romsey haven't played yet...time will tell tho.
As for Big Dogs comment on flogging Macedon.....you can only beat the team the fixture allows you to champ.

Really has been an interesting round of results so far.. Opens things up again with a huge game tomorrow.. But Mongrel will be pretty damn happy with how his boys are travelling I would suggest, now the team to beat.

I just wanted to post this, to show I'm not making it up...I'm not here to make me or anyone else look stupid. Just challenging opinions, that's all..

Of course it will. Good reading on a quiet 'big footy' day. Everyone has their opinion of who's good atm and who's not. Like IMS said on Sunday..teams like to play themselves down a little at times. Riddell have beaten a couple of good teams so far that Romsey haven't played yet...time will tell tho.
As for Big Dogs comment on flogging Macedon.....you can only beat the team the fixture allows you to champ.

Exactly right, I saw Romsey in Round 1 and they comprehensively beat Diggers, in fact the scoreboard flattered Diggers. I was challenging the assumption that flogging Macedon was enough to make you the team to beat, when the defending premiers have got a better side than last year and have done nothing wrong..

It's difficult to talk slowly enough for some to understand unfortunately and I am not interested in the slightest.

What were your thoughts on the game on Sunday Wild Bill?? Good to see the Bombers not miss a beat with the suspension of Nolan, Morrison did a pretty good job stepping up in his absence.

I think they are stronger than last year and are going along nicely. They have a couple of players that will return in the 2nd half to further strengthen them. I have seen a lot of Cariss and knew he would do what he is doing in the RDFL. It would have been a long time since Riddell has truly had a dominant ruckmen like they currently have. It was mention before - he also likes finals and a big stage.

But saying that I think Romsey are going to be really hard to beat. I can't split them at this stage and you also have Rupo, Diggers and Sunbury who will make it hard for these two. It’s a great year for the RDFL with 2 great sides, 3 very good sides and 5 sides that could finish 6th.

I can't see Riddell and Romsey not finishing 1 & 2. The race for 3 is massive with the double chance if they win week 1 - as well as the quality that will play in the other Elimination final. I am going to put Rupo 3rd, Sunbury 4th, Diggers 5th and Lancefield 6th. Riddell V Romsey, Rupo V Lancefield, Diggers V Sunbury.

Would be a cracking 1st week of the finals.

I was talking about the cheap shot at the end of his post.

I was talking about the cheap shot at the end of his post.[/QUOTE
I think they are stronger than last year and are going along nicely. They have a couple of players that will return in the 2nd half to further strengthen them. I have seen a lot of Cariss and knew he would do what he is doing in the RDFL. It would have been a long time since Riddell has truly had a dominant ruckmen like they currently have. It was mention before - he also likes finals and a big stage.

But saying that I think Romsey are going to be really hard to beat. I can't split them at this stage and you also have Rupo, Diggers and Sunbury who will make it hard for these two. It’s a great year for the RDFL with 2 great sides, 3 very good sides and 5 sides that could finish 6th.

I can't see Riddell and Romsey not finishing 1 & 2. The race for 3 is massive with the double chance if they win week 1 - as well as the quality that will play in the other Elimination final. I am going to put Rupo 3rd, Sunbury 4th, Diggers 5th and Lancefield 6th. Riddell V Romsey, Rupo V Lancefield, Diggers V Sunbury.

Would be a cracking 1st week of the finals.

Is Petran still a chance to play at Riddell this year??

Shout out to those involved at Broadford FC for the send off they gave my grandfather Harley Hammond yesterday, it is great to see that there are people still out there that care about the history of their footy clubs and having the premiership flag out for the hearse to drive past was a lovely touch. It certainly got the better of me that's for sure!

Have a crack at one Melton club, East Sunbury, Trentham and get it to a Premier and a second division for the smaller clubs before Rupo uses us merely for a leg up and Pi$$es off elsewhere
I find this discussion really interesting considering we are only in our second year in this comp. Yes our U18s are dominating this year and our club as a whole (reserves & seniors) has only gotten stronger due to the talent that came up from last years U18 side (which lost the GF mind you). The strength of our club has ALWAYS been our junior program and we are on par with other strong clubs from our area like Sunbury Lions and Gisborne in regards to our junior program. It just so happens that those clubs don't compete at senior level here anymore, hence where I think this discussion has come from.

Having said that our club went into a pretty rapid decline a few years ago as far as on filed results were concerned. Some might say that we were losing players because we couldn't pay them but a very large factor is that players were sick of diving to away games in the eastern suburbs every second week and the lack of relevance and recognition that we were getting locally. Playing locally in the RDFNL has changed all that and we are on the rise again but still far from being a dominate force in this comp. And even if we do become one I can't see us looking to move. Driving to Bendigo or Ballarat every second week won't be too appealing to our younger ones or myself in all honesty. The RDFNL is a great comp to be part of. We get great crowds home or away and some excellent rivalries have already started to be forged. As they say the grass isn't always greener on the other side. I wonder how a club like Melton Sth feel about their move now (no disrespect intended just using them as an example).

You can build up Romsey as much as you like, I didn't realise a flogging of Macedon, counted for so much..I'd love not to read too many more posts or read too many more newspaper articles, quoting how many players Romsey have to come back into their side. I reckon that has been going on for the last couple of years. Facts are that Riddell work their way into the season, they haven't lost any key players from their premiership and have added the premier ruckman in the region, who is a proven big game performer, so for me the flag goes through Riddell, its up to the other clubs to step up at the pointy end of the season to knock them off their mantle. For the record I'm a Diggers fan and I'm not convinced about them, they have had a great run with injuries the last few years, now they are starting to get a few, it will be interesting to see how they handle it, especially given they have a new/inexperienced coaching set up down there. I see the new coach was quoted in the paper recently talking about their injures, I'm hoping he's not going down the Romsey path, you just need to get on with it, Dont Complain, Dont explain!!The addition of Jason Williams should help, hopefully he sticks around for longer than he did at Pacco.....

Romsey were decimated by injuries in 2013. Romsey FNC and others have merely stated that there are some very handy players to come into the side to further strengthen it.
To state that I hope he is not going down the Romsey path is pretty pathetic.

I find this discussion really interesting considering we are only in our second year in this comp. Yes our U18s are dominating this year and our club as a whole (reserves & seniors) has only gotten stronger due to the talent that came up from last years U18 side (which lost the GF mind you). The strength of our club has ALWAYS been our junior program and we are on par with other strong clubs from our area like Sunbury Lions and Gisborne in regards to our junior program. It just so happens that those clubs don't compete at senior level here anymore, hence where I think this discussion has come from.

Having said that our club went into a pretty rapid decline a few years ago as far as on filed results were concerned. Some might say that we were losing players because we couldn't pay them but a very large factor is that players were sick of diving to away games in the eastern suburbs every second week and the lack of relevance and recognition that we were getting locally. Playing locally in the RDFNL has changed all that and we are on the rise again but still far from being a dominate force in this comp. And even if we do become one I can't see us looking to move. Driving to Bendigo or Ballarat every second week won't be too appealing to our younger ones or myself in all honesty. The RDFNL is a great comp to be part of. We get great crowds home or away and some excellent rivalries have already started to be forged. As they say the grass isn't always greener on the other side. I wonder how a club like Melton Sth feel about their move now (no disrespect intended just using them as an example).
One of the best posts ever published on this thread & yes Melton & Melton Sth are going no where in a hurry, Centrals are building momentum, if they could acquire a new ground & club rooms they would become the power club in Melton for all the reasons Jack has just stated.

Shout out to those involved at Broadford FC for the send off they gave my grandfather Harley Hammond yesterday, it is great to see that there are people still out there that care about the history of their footy clubs and having the premiership flag out for the hearse to drive past was a lovely touch. It certainly got the better of me that's for sure!

Sometimes history needs be taught first as I'm sure you were brought up to understand. The sun shining set the scene for a lovely send off for a wonderful man The turn out was massive, quite often the crowds are significantly less when it's an elder, but to have probly a 100 or so outside the church was good to see. The current executive, committee coach (Skip)and several players should be commended, all dressed in black strides and BFNC tops :thumbsu:

A lot of club folk from the 60s-80's present too, many who were involved in the great "4 in a row" era of 71-74 in the Waranga North East, as well as premiership team mates of Sharpie's from 1984.

Romsey were decimated by injuries in 2013. Romsey FNC and others have merely stated that there are some very handy players to come into the side to further strengthen it.
To state that I hope he is not going down the Romsey path is pretty pathetic.

That's a massive 2013 you're running there :D

Watched both Romsey and Riddell on the weekend.. when Romsey were given the freedom to do as they pleased, they looked really impressive.. but the quality of opposition that Riddell faced was a 107 point better side than the team that Romsey beat.. Riddell are still the team to beat and have no doubt that they could have won by more considering the big run on that they had.. Riddell played better than Romsey.. and that July clash is looking appealing.. Romsey have beaten Diggers Rest but if form says anything.. Riddell have beaten the two other flag contenders, Sunbury and Rupo.. you can only beat the quality of team that you face each week..

G'day Norfolk and crew
It was an honour to play a little part on Monday at your grandfathers funeral.
We as a club try to Respect the past and build the future
There will be a minutes silence this Saturday at Harley Hammond Reserve in honour of your granddad
We play the reigning premiers Riddell and extend an invitation for the Hammond family members to join is
Kind Regards Skip
Senior Coach
Broadford Football Netball Club

G'day Norfolk and crew
It was an honour to play a little part on Monday at your grandfathers funeral.
We as a club try to Respect the past and build the future
There will be a minutes silence this Saturday at Harley Hammond Reserve in honour of your granddad
We play the reigning premiers Riddell and extend an invitation for the Hammond family members to join is
Kind Regards Skip
Senior Coach
Broadford Football Netball Club

Good luck on the weekend mate and once again, thank you to those involved from the club on Monday.
I would love to attend, however I have a team to coach myself down in Melbourne.
I'll be keeping an eye on the results regardless! Carn the Roos!

Watched the Riddell Vs Sunbury game last night.

The Bombers were slick. Patty Carris dominated in the ruck and the Bombers midfield just got far too much easy ball from his work, but up against the work of the Redbacks (discounting the opponent) they still quite aren't there yet, the Redbacks are currently the best side in the competition.

Sunbury have some work to do, the big forwards didn't work hard enough in the contest and really lacked support on the ground, Matty Welsh was excellent across the half back line and Kayne Murphy was probably their best, but they just didn't get enough effort out of the mids and forwards which left the backline heavily exposed against a very good opposition. There is possibly a couple of big names in the line up that need a run in the early game for some confidence.

The Bombers midfield is a machine, their midfield is going to be the key to the potential match up with the Redbacks, Sammut dominated the first half, P.Sahlberg the 2nd half and Ethan Foreman and Bladey were excellent all day, the Bombers midfield just continually make the right decisions with the ball in their hands.

Going to be a very interesting few weeks coming up to see who can step up against these 2 sides.

Scouted this game with a few boys who play the game at a higher level, with word of a close contest, could not agree more on this, that forward structure lacked exactly that .. confidence, big boys with no gusto. Riddell defenders seemed to read the SK midfield better then there own forwards, so back to a 12pm kickoff or maybe a shuffle down back to understand how to read the play, yet the riddell juggernaut rolls on- a couple of mids and the ruckman is top shelf in that team, taken names and number for 2015 ;)

Watched the Riddell Vs Sunbury game last night.

The Bombers were slick. Patty Carris dominated in the ruck and the Bombers midfield just got far too much easy ball from his work, but up against the work of the Redbacks (discounting the opponent) they still quite aren't there yet, the Redbacks are currently the best side in the competition.

Sunbury have some work to do, the big forwards didn't work hard enough in the contest and really lacked support on the ground, Matty Welsh was excellent across the half back line and Kayne Murphy was probably their best, but they just didn't get enough effort out of the mids and forwards which left the backline heavily exposed against a very good opposition. There is possibly a couple of big names in the line up that need a run in the early game for some confidence.

The Bombers midfield is a machine, their midfield is going to be the key to the potential match up with the Redbacks, Sammut dominated the first half, P.Sahlberg the 2nd half and Ethan Foreman and Bladey were excellent all day, the Bombers midfield just continually make the right decisions with the ball in their hands.

Going to be a very interesting few weeks coming up to see who can step up against these 2 sides.
Do you know how John Baker has been travelling at the Kangaroos so far this year?

Started off pretty well, but hasn't had the greatest couple of weeks I wouldn't have thought.

Any news on the injured kid from kilmore? And what is going to happen to the guy that did it?

Snaithy will be out of footy for a long time fingers crossed he gets the all clear to start playing again towards the end of the season , as for the guy involved in the incident it's in the hands of the league now ?

Would love to no everyone's thought on diggers? With Sims, Tuckey and a few key footballers getting on in age is the great club of diggers on the decline and can they get that elusive cup this year or in coming years?

RDFL 2014 Thread