RDFL 2014 Thread

Would love to no everyone's thought on diggers? With Sims, Tuckey and a few key footballers getting on in age is the great club of diggers on the decline and can they get that elusive cup this year or in coming years?

After Romsey played them earlier in the season, I think Diggers have their work cut out this year. Their 3rd quarter of 7 goals 5 behinds (only kicked 9 for the game) saved them from a flogging on a very wet oval. Not having a crack at the umpiring of the game...but even a Diggers supporter posted earlier that he felt the umps made decisions that got the game closer.
My opinion only....Diggers won't be there on the last day this.

Would love to no everyone's thought on diggers? With Sims, Tuckey and a few key footballers getting on in age is the great club of diggers on the decline and can they get that elusive cup this year or in coming years?

Doubt a club like Diggers will decline too far, but maybe one more year under Elliott and the 3-4 players I know he was working on to join the 2013 list may have been enough to go one step further with some added legspeed that was missing grand final day.

Injuries play a big part as we saw with the Romsey list last year, so it might come down to how strong the depth is and how quick guys can recover from injury, plus who they play whilst undermannded at times.

Tuckey's injury was a 8-10 weeker wasn't it?

Doubt a club like Diggers will decline too far, but maybe one more year under Elliott and the 3-4 players I know he was working on to join the 2013 list may have been enough to go one step further with some added legspeed that was missing grand final day.

Injuries play a big part as we saw with the Romsey list last year, so it might come down to how strong the depth is and how quick guys can recover from injury, plus who they play whilst undermannded at times.

Tuckey's injury was a 8-10 weeker wasn't it?

My understanding is that if everything goes well, he will be back in 4...I think you are right, they are a little on the slow side and haven't been able to replace Caton, all things being equal, I think they will finish 3-5 as already predicted by some..

Having said that our club went into a pretty rapid decline a few years ago as far as on filed results were concerned. Some might say that we were losing players because we couldn't pay them but a very large factor is that players were sick of diving to away games in the eastern suburbs every second week and the lack of relevance and recognition that we were getting locally. Playing locally in the RDFNL has changed all that and we are on the rise again but still far from being a dominate force in this comp. And even if we do become one I can't see us looking to move. Driving to Bendigo or Ballarat every second week won't be too appealing to our younger ones or myself in all honesty. The RDFNL is a great comp to be part of. We get great crowds home or away and some excellent rivalries have already started to be forged. As they say the grass isn't always greener on the other side. I wonder how a club like Melton Sth feel about their move now (no disrespect intended just using them as an example).[/QUOTE]

Great post JB. I have been saying exactly this for years . Clubs have to be relevant in the competition they compete in otherwise they will die a very slow death. Its a testament to the people of Rupo for having the courage & foresight to move leagues & in so doing give their club the chance to flourish & prosper in a League like the RDFL that is strong, vibrant, well supported & going places !!!............ It's a pitty some other ex RDFL clubs are just too pig headed to make the move & ensure their club has a future going forward.

You can build up Romsey as much as you like, I didn't realise a flogging of Macedon, counted for so much..I'd love not to read too many more posts or read too many more newspaper articles, quoting how many players Romsey have to come back into their side. I reckon that has been going on for the last couple of years. Facts are that Riddell work their way into the season, they haven't lost any key players from their premiership and have added the premier ruckman in the region, who is a proven big game performer, so for me the flag goes through Riddell, its up to the other clubs to step up at the pointy end of the season to knock them off their mantle. For the record I'm a Diggers fan and I'm not convinced about them, they have had a great run with injuries the last few years, now they are starting to get a few, it will be interesting to see how they handle it, especially given they have a new/inexperienced coaching set up down there. I see the new coach was quoted in the paper recently talking about their injures, I'm hoping he's not going down the Romsey path, you just need to get on with it, Dont Complain, Dont explain!!The addition of Jason Williams should help, hopefully he sticks around for longer than he did at Pacco.....

Great post, & one of the best so far this season. Well done !

Heard the 'out' during the week from one of their players!
Both in and out is on the RDFL website. Also a statement on the Ballarat Football club web site.

Spoke with some Riddell officials who said the clubs would not vote Sunbury in.

IMO Sunbury would have to have some sort of player payment cap to enter.

Both in and out is on the RDFL website. Also a statement on the Ballarat Football club web site.

Spoke with some Riddell officials who said the clubs would not vote Sunbury in.

IMO Sunbury would have to have some sort of player payment cap to enter.
Doona has been saying it for ages, the RDFL should look at a two division comp. The smaller towns in the northern end of the comp will never be able to consistently match it with the southern towns near the metro area. The league in recent years has become similar to the English Premier Leauge, where the championship is only won from 4 - 5 clubs who take it in turns to win it. An expanded comp with two divisions could accommodate the Lions coming in and Broadford staying.

Need at least another two of the former rdfl clubs to return to make 2 divs viable IMO

Probably the Melton sides and then try get gisborne over to strengthen the top division

I remember when the great Scott McCartney strolled into Broadford town back in 2008, quite the salesman who wooed and persuaded a vote that should never have occurred. I didn't vote as the HDFL at the time weren't even allowed a right of reply (unlike the Gisborne situation) as how can you vote on a one sided argument?

"You make your bed you lie in it" I reckon, 4-5 years aint enough to make judgement after all the bull$hit that was spun as to why Broadford should've joined the comp. But now they have I don't think they should move on, but yes a vision or aim at a two tiered comp in the near future might be enough.

Need at least another two of the former rdfl clubs to return to make 2 divs viable IMO

Probably the Melton sides and then try get gisborne over to strengthen the top division

Could East Sunbury/Trentham slip into a second division?

East sunbury could go either way....going to the rdfl Might help them attract players with local rivalries and a comp that is more relative to their geographical location or it could make it a less attractive destination for prospective players being the fourth option in sunbury with no point of difference

Disagree, other teams can win flag, they just need to do things better. Maybe they could try keeping their team together for more than one year. Be relevant to their local communities, build a place that people want to be around, but if you have the attitude that only certain teams can win then it's likely to eventuate.

Agree 100% Leo. I'm only new into following the rdfl and have played in multiple leagues in country Victoria but belive me you have a wonderful league here. Now I no over last couple of years riddell, Ramsey, Sunbury and diggers have dominated but if you look back ten years ago different clubs like woodend, Lancefield, were right up the top. Its a cycle and your clubs success depends on three things in my way of thinking. 1. A junior system that works great and has good coaches in the right position, eg rupo. 2. A pathway for your juniors to play senior football succesfully. 3. Recruit good people to your club and install good people in major positions at your club eg coach, pres, board members, players ect. Its about having good solid hard working successful people in the right roles all working to one goal.

Now you could recruit two Melton teams, trentham Sunbury Gisborne ect but in all honesty you may get 1 or 2 clubs at best coz you would be disrupting too many country leagues in Victoria for this to happen so two div would be very hard to achive.

And if people need guidence to be succesful just look at a riddell for example. How a club with a small population have such success in all grades is staggering. They have a great culture out there. And romsey is now bigger town than lancefield, wallan, kilmore or woodend. I belive you should Enjoy your great comp as its very rear that the top 5 in any league is so tight and believe that the wheel can turn in your direction.

I believe I said a week or so ago that if Romsey ever learnt to kick straight they'd be frightening, well unfortunately that day was today. Davo got 9, Farmer woulda got a handful at least, and if Petroro didn't nudge into the 40's in terms of possessions I'll stand he. Awesome,dominant display by the Redbacks this afternoon, when do they play Riddell as I wouldn't mind getting along to that one.

Interleague rolls round now, wonder how many "one week injuries" will bob up this week, hopefully not too many guys as I've always thought rep footy as something to strive for.

I believe I said a week or so ago that if Romsey ever learnt to kick straight they'd be frightening, well unfortunately that day was today. Davo got 9, Farmer woulda got a handful at least, and if Petroro didn't nudge into the 40's in terms of possessions I'll stand he. Awesome,dominant display by the Redbacks this afternoon, when do they play Riddell as I wouldn't mind getting along to that one.

Interleague rolls round now, wonder how many "one week injuries" will bob up this week, hopefully not too many guys as I've always thought rep footy as something to strive for.

There is no doubt that the Redbacks form is ominous, I will say it again, currently, they are the side to beat!!!

Great to see the Rams take it up to the Burra for 3 quarters, shame that they couldn't stick it out in that last quarter as the Burra put some distance on the scoreboard, but looking forward to seeing the game when it goes up on the website.

No Facebook in China mate ha ha, this is on the RDFL page

Here's today's Round 6 final scores in the Melton Toyota Riddell District Football Netball League senior football competition...
Woodend-Hesket 10.10.70 d Melton Centrals 5.13.43
Lancefield 12.14.86 d Macedon 7.12.54
Romsey 34.17.221 (Matt Davidson 9 goals, Phil Lobb 6, Mitch Farmer 5) d Kilmore 4.4.28...
Riddell 16.13.109 d Broadford 8.13.61
Rupertswood 12.14.86 d Wallan 8.7.55
Diggers Rest 16.14.110 (Leonard Clark 6 goals) d Rockbank 9.12.66

Spot on Doon... No Facebook, Twitter, You Tube or Instagram over here.. The joint I am staying doesn't even have a TV!!!! Makes it tougher..

Thanks Iceman and Doon for that.. Can't wait for the website to have the games so that I have something to do...

Big win for the Hawks, I know we say this every week, but that really throws the race for "6th" wide open!!!!

Wallan performed pretty well again today Iceman, would have to be considered the front runners with Lancefield possibly.

Big win for the Hawks, I know we say this every week, but that really throws the race for "6th" wide open!!!!

Wallan performed pretty well again today Iceman, would have to be considered the front runners with Lancefield possibly.

Wooden Soon game could be on July 5 at Clancy Reserve now, considering Woodend is 8 points clear of Kilmore and Broadford.

RDFL 2014 Thread