RDFL 2014 Thread

Wooden Soon game could be on July 5 at Clancy Reserve now, considering Woodend is 8 points clear of Kilmore and Broadford.

That's a huge statement with the talk about both camps early in the season (especially Broadford), the Roos in particular have 2 pretty tough games after interleague too I think.

I believe I said a week or so ago that if Romsey ever learnt to kick straight they'd be frightening, well unfortunately that day was today. Davo got 9, Farmer woulda got a handful at least, and if Petroro didn't nudge into the 40's in terms of possessions I'll stand he. Awesome,dominant display by the Redbacks this afternoon, when do they play Riddell as I wouldn't mind getting along to that one.

Interleague rolls round now, wonder how many "one week injuries" will bob up this week, hopefully not too many guys as I've always thought rep footy as something to strive for.

What did you think of the crap after the siren. I wouldn't mind having a bet that Semmo makes a report to the league about the shit he copped from 2 Kilmore players after the game. I don't know whats going on at Kilmore, they would have had 12 or so supporters, maybe its got something to do with people that cant handle there grog. The President did the bar, half time function, no body to do a raffle at half time. The writing is on the wall unfortunately. Clubs need supporters to survive.

The umpiring was good frees paid when they were there.

What did you think of the crap after the siren. I wouldn't mind having a bet that Semmo makes a report to the league about the shit he copped from 2 Kilmore players after the game. I don't know whats going on at Kilmore, they would have had 12 or so supporters, maybe its got something to do with people that cant handle there grog. The President did the bar, half time function, no body to do a raffle at half time. The writing is on the wall unfortunately. Clubs need supporters to survive.

The umpiring was good frees paid when they were there.

I was disappointed with the loose arm that knocked Nick Pronk out, I reckon I woulda been shitty too as it was 10-15 yards from the ump. Apart from missing that I thought the game was well officiated.

Dunno who cant handle their grog there certainly wasn't any being consumed where I stood, Kilmore are lucky to have enough guys who can have 1-2 and still be able to drive, they're all 18-21.

I was disappointed with the loose arm that knocked Nick Pronk out, I reckon I woulda been shitty too as it was 10-15 yards from the ump. Apart from missing that I thought the game was well officiated.

Dunno who cant handle their grog there certainly wasn't any being consumed where I stood, Kilmore are lucky to have enough guys who can have 1-2 and still be able to drive, they're all 18-21.

I don't think there was any malice in it Doona. You don't need drunks yelling over the fence to the players to get the bla bla bla after the siren.

I'll take ya word for it, didn't look good from where I was, especially as my kids found Pronky's mouthguard after the game from where the picked him up from. I don't mind the physical don't get me wrong, I just felt 30 goals up on a bunch if kids that was a bit of overkill.

Again didnt see any drunks, as you said there were 2 and a dog at the game. I doubt think the Redbacks are angels at the over the fence stuff, shit I remember ya's all baggin Peddo at Broadford after Riddell got ya's in a final, 3 weeks later ya's win it and all was forgotten ;) Aah ya gotta love district level footy

I know there's always talk of rep squads etc, but today I reckon was the best Ive seen Mitch Farmer play since he came to Romsey. Admittedly I have probly seen maybe 11-12 Romsey games in that time, but he seemed to work his butt off today, quite unselfish at times too when he was well within his rights to have a ping.

I know many expect ex afl players to dominate at local level all I expect from them is consistency and leadership.None of which I have seen when watching Farmer.Round 6 Verse kilmore is very different to playing the big teams come finals time.Only my thoughts

That's a fair point you make

It may be that after 4 matches Dean Helmers has worked Farmer out position wise ..He has played at Centre Half Forward against Macedon and Kilmore truly noted not top 5 opposition but he does tend to draw a quality opponent each week...Farmer is very exciting to watch at Centre Half Forward!!

Interesting times ahead with Sunbury looking half a chance to move to either the RDFL or the BendigoFL.

Personally I think the way it is set up at the moment is really good. You have the two BFL leagues in the region for the stronger clubs and the RDFL for the smaller clubs sourced from smaller towns. Sunbury is down a little bit at the moment but is still doing well with the strength of its kids. When they recover from the issues they had last year they will be far too powerful for most teams in the RDFL. Pretty tough for sides like Kilmore to compete with a club the size of the lions. Pat on the back for the league that they are looking at it though.

Interesting times ahead with Sunbury looking half a chance to move to either the RDFL or the BendigoFL.

Personally I think the way it is set up at the moment is really good. You have the two BFL leagues in the region for the stronger clubs and the RDFL for the smaller clubs sourced from smaller towns. Sunbury is down a little bit at the moment but is still doing well with the strength of its kids. When they recover from the issues they had last year they will be far too powerful for most teams in the RDFL. Pretty tough for sides like Kilmore to compete with a club the size of the lions. Pat on the back for the league that they are looking at it though.
Does anyone know why they are looking to leave?

Both in and out is on the RDFL website. Also a statement on the Ballarat Football club web site.

Spoke with some Riddell officials who said the clubs would not vote Sunbury in.

IMO Sunbury would have to have some sort of player payment cap to enter.
In the end I'm not to sure it will be up to the clubs AFL Victoria might have a big say in the matter,bit hard to inforce a cap on just Sunbury I'm sure Riddell and Romsey would be spending a fair amount on players this year

Sunbury may have made cuts this year but last year would be double what the big clubs in the RDFL can pay - let alone the smaller spending clubs.

Why are they looking to move?

Riddells expenditure would surprise you, most people are aware of their ability to offer recruits employment as opposed to the ridiculous amounts some guys get to play district footy.

What are you suggesting Doona...that their payments are built into their wage so it looks like a low salary cap?? Surely not!!

There is no salary cap so there is no reason to try and lower your spending. Some players get work if they play for Riddell - but still they have to able to do the job they hired to do. The payments are not built into their wage. They may get paid less to play football while having the security of job.

Everyone wins - also Riddell are not the only club that offer employment opportunities.

There is no salary cap so there is no reason to try and lower your spending. Some players get work if they play for Riddell - but still they have to able to do the job they hired to do. The payments are not built into their wage. They may get paid less to play football while having the security of job.

Everyone wins - also Riddell are not the only club that offer employment opportunities.

Read bw the lines Bill....you can have a cap on payments, and it doesn't work!! Good luck to Riddell for being in a position to offer work for footy services.
This is what Doona was getting at.

Doubt a club like Diggers will decline too far, but maybe one more year under Elliott and the 3-4 players I know he was working on to join the 2013 list may have been enough to go one step further with some added legspeed that was missing grand final day.

Injuries play a big part as we saw with the Romsey list last year, so it might come down to how strong the depth is and how quick guys can recover from injury, plus who they play whilst undermannded at times.

Tuckey's injury was a 8-10 weeker wasn't it?

Doon, it turns out your mail was better than mine. I found out on the weekend that the surgery was more complicated than they had hoped so Tuck will be looking at a 10-12 week layoff...

Read bw the lines Bill....you can have a cap on payments, and it doesn't work!! Good luck to Riddell for being in a position to offer work for footy services.
This is what Doona was getting at.

Agree salary cap is useless, how do you administer cash in a brown paper bag or deals for employment in local leagues?? Maybe the touted points cap may work, I have little understanding of this, but you would think that would favour your Sunbury's and Rupo as they have good quality kids coming through you would think they would start with a lower point rating and therefore a clear advantage..

One of the other issues is that the top rdfl clubs are very well run at the moment, hard working committees bringing in good sponsorship which is funding some quality players. Up until this year Sunbury Footy Club enjoyed a nice little free kick every year in the form of pokies, now their has been a drop off in this revenue stream over the last 12 months but that's not always going to be the case. That is not a very level playing field and I would think the clubs would be dead against them coming in. rdfl clubs, particularly Riddell, have done well off the back of players wanting a change of scenery from Sunbury, would these players be so keen to move if they were going to have to play against ex-team-mates, I'm not so sure..Their's not much to gain from an rdfl club point of view if Sunbury are re-admitted into the comp...

From Sunbury's point of view I think coming back into the rdfl would make them more relevant in the local community, like what Omni was eluding to before, if they came back right now their would be great interest in games against our top 5 clubs. But longer term I think, based on the way things are now with pokies and the quality of the kids, I can see them thrashing most of the comp and then I think the comp will be worse off for it...You can see with North Ballarat re-entering the Ballarat league, it has taken a couple of years, but they are now going to dominate that comp for years, maybe that's one reason Sunbury are keen to get out..Dont know why Bendigo would be more attractive, at least they get the Sunbury/Gissy rivalry back and there's no North Ballarat to deal with, but they would still have the local community relevance issue, bit like Gissy has now...

Wooden Soon game could be on July 5 at Clancy Reserve now, considering Woodend is 8 points clear of Kilmore and Broadford.

doona as soon as Broadford collect bye points they wil be safe. eight goal loss to riddell reads a lot better than almost 200 points loss to romsey. have i missed somethign do braodford want to leave the rdfl or are they considerign folding

Agree salary cap is useless, how do you administer cash in a brown paper bag or deals for employment in local leagues?? Maybe the touted points cap may work, I have little understanding of this, but you would think that would favour your Sunbury's and Rupo as they have good quality kids coming through you would think they would start with a lower point rating and therefore a clear advantage..

One of the other issues is that the top rdfl clubs are very well run at the moment, hard working committees bringing in good sponsorship which is funding some quality players. Up until this year Sunbury Footy Club enjoyed a nice little free kick every year in the form of pokies, now their has been a drop off in this revenue stream over the last 12 months but that's not always going to be the case. That is not a very level playing field and I would think the clubs would be dead against them coming in. rdfl clubs, particularly Riddell, have done well off the back of players wanting a change of scenery from Sunbury, would these players be so keen to move if they were going to have to play against ex-team-mates, I'm not so sure..Their's not much to gain from an rdfl club point of view if Sunbury are re-admitted into the comp...

From Sunbury's point of view I think coming back into the rdfl would make them more relevant in the local community, like what Omni was eluding to before, if they came back right now their would be great interest in games against our top 5 clubs. But longer term I think, based on the way things are now with pokies and the quality of the kids, I can see them thrashing most of the comp and then I think the comp will be worse off for it...You can see with North Ballarat re-entering the Ballarat league, it has taken a couple of years, but they are now going to dominate that comp for years, maybe that's one reason Sunbury are keen to get out..Dont know why Bendigo would be more attractive, at least they get the Sunbury/Gissy rivalry back and there's no North Ballarat to deal with, but they would still have the local community relevance issue, bit like Gissy has now...

Great post TBD, agree 100%. The big 5 need the leadership to make the tough decisions that will ensure a healthy & viable future for their respective clubs which is RELEVANT for themselves, their supporters & the community.
IMHO I believe that can only happen if they start their own league. There is just no way I see our clubs voting to let them come back into the RDFL. Even as a 1st div' competition. That would only serve to under value what we have now. Although I feel for our ex RDFL clubs, I cant see a way for them to join with their junior clubs & come back into the fold unfortunately. ........ unless they came back in as a div' 2 without a promotion/relegation system in place !!!!

doona as soon as Broadford collect bye points they wil be safe. eight goal loss to riddell reads a lot better than almost 200 points loss to romsey. have i missed somethign do braodford want to leave the rdfl or are they considerign folding
Cal I can guarantee the club will not fold its not finnancial

Will the final team be posted on rdfl web site
Where is the game

RDFL 2014 Thread