RDFL 2014 Thread

Was on ok game that I reckon the RDFL had 55% of the ball but couldn't convert. Crowd was good..not great, but those that were there would have to agree that the venue is the best in the comp for a Grand Final. As good a ground as any in the comp and fantastic facilities now. Best part of it is the huge standing room on the wing area for everyone to gather and have a great view of the game

I watched the 1st half with some people from Alberton, and they were amazed with the ground surface, the facilities and the way the league and Romsey ran the day.

I think we should be playing as much finals games as possible at Romsey. I understand we all want the money to be spread around the clubs, but finals games deserve the best surface and facilities and the Romsey committee certainly know how to run the big games.

I watched the 1st half with some people from Alberton, and they were amazed with the ground surface, the facilities and the way the league and Romsey ran the day.

I think we should be playing as much finals games as possible at Romsey. I understand we all want the money to be spread around the clubs, but finals games deserve the best surface and facilities and the Romsey committee certainly know how to run the big games.

Thanks for the positive feedback Iceman. Good for a club when an opposing team thinks it's run well. The view of the crowd and rooms must have looked quite good too from where you were standing and watching??

3 years ago we hosted jnr grand finals, followed by 3 weeks straight of senior finals due to muddy conditions etc of other grounds. All ran like clock work and the ground held up

Some interesting reading. I can't see it happening.

http://bit.ly/1lNPqUG
It won't happen.. in order for our competition to grow as a major strength in this region.. we need to maintain our Senior clubs and invest time in developing and strengthening our Juniors.. in an ideal world.. would love Gisborne and Sunbury Lions to join our Senior comp again to match the Juniors.. look at the short term benefits that Rupo have enjoyed in the last 18 months through this connection.. our comp will only get better ..

Agree - zero chance they will pluck 2 teams out of a thriving comp.

I agree, for the first few years it may work, but clubs that are in rdfl don't have the junior system setup of big clubs. You cant expect rdfl clubs that are lucky to get a team in each junior grade compete with sunbury that have up to 3 teams in each grade, this flows through to the seniors in 10-20 years time and it could kill clubs like centrels, diggers and sunbury that are around big clubs. Try and recruit a kyneton and someone else. Just leave the rdfl alone!

Goldfields aren't a league are they, it's a zone/region and Im pretty sure the enitire state will soon be structured in similar fashion. Correct me if Im wrong but from 2015 or 16 wont the RDFL will fall back into the VCFL jurisdiction, as well as being recognised my Vic Metro due to the under age state championships we participate in? Not a bad set up if you ask me, access to both?

Wont bother you Keston either way, the KDFL fall under the Goulburn Murray Region dont they?

The thing I would like to know is who planted the seed with the press and why?
Diggers, Kangaroos and Sunbury in the same competition would not work as they would all be competing for the same sponsorship money selling to the same market.
At the moment they share the source of money because they all offer something different to their sponsors, competing in the same league would mean that eventually at least one would disappear, only the most successful on the ground could possibly attract the money needed to compete in such a strong comp.
And why not Rupo?
I do expect changes in the structure of leagues over the next 2 to 3 years, hope the clubs combine to keep as much of the RDFNL together as possible.
We have such a proud history and some great rivalries built over 100+years and would be a shame if it was ripped apart because of some administrators sitting in an office.

Keston you'd be surprised how much Roota knows, competed against in the HDFL days and then nearly joined us in 2009 so I think he's taken an interest from afar for a fair while now. He looks at the clearance pages, and knows who's who in the zoo around a fair chunk of country and northern suburbs footy.

You have no idea pall instead of throwing rocks from a far come down on the 17 th to hear the facts
The club internally is well run has zero to do with that

Zero idea you reckon. I'd love to come down mate to hear the facts mate but just make sure that it is all facts and not like the last time. Silliest thing the club could have done was leave the HDFL. That's no slight on the RDFL either

Lancefield-4 flags in last 20 yrs is a great effort.Have a knack of striking at the right time spending up for success and accepting the inevitable downward spiral there after.Collins and Burkett top line players but really lack depth.Phil Conway been a great servant over a long period and still goes ok.
Sunbury-Gone are the days of regular bottom half finishes.Always had great respect for them even when struggling they kept at it (not going into recess like Riddell Lancefield and Macedon).Always a tough opponent and good bunch of people.Ground surface crap but.
Diggers-Often criticised for lack of premierships but I reckon they done well to get so far so often.Would be a shame if Sims and Lefty cant get a flag before time.Terrible wind tunnel ground gives them a fair home ground advantage.
Rupo-Only seen a couple of times but am sure will be a success in this comp.Very good depth with some star u18s also.Seem to be very well run club.
Romsey-not much success in the 90s but done very well since 2000.Whilst im sure they spend decent $$$$ they have some super players on list.Only 1 flag in last 6 yrs doesnt do justice.Very strong ex player presence around club which is great for culture.
Riddell-Gotta say I hate them (for my own reasons)but respect them.From near down and out around 2001 to consistent league powerhouse is a great effort by the hard working committee.Having sons of guns like Darby and Nolan also helps.Employment oppurtunities work well for them also.Full credit to them

Fair call doona but let this run it's course there are many people in favour of investigating options and nothing set in concrete

Good luck to them I say, many people were in favour of joining the RDFL too. Word I'm hearing is that a few neighbouring club's will be ready to pounce if you and the committee opt to re-locate, afterall playing against Broadford wont be an issue then.

Just remember the joint was established in 1890, not bloody 2009 .....

We do mate and perhaps a positive view that the club is looking at its future is positive if we sat around and did nothing and the clubs future was not investigated then we would be persecuted ya can't win either way this discussion needs to end
If you want to find out why then come along and if where wrong then throw rocks

ha ha let it go Dave, you're wasting your time with me about all this, but please just ensure that there is a club in 10-12 years time so my boys have the option if they so wish.

I just find this whole thing, well in the words of Alanis Morissette ...... Isn't it ironic don't you think?

ha ha let it go Dave, you're wasting your time with me about all this, but please just ensure that there is a club in 10-12 years time so my boys have the option if they so wish.

I just find this whole thing, well in the words of Alanis Morissette ...... Isn't it ironic don't you think?

Keston clearly doesn't have the strong ties to the club that you have, Doon. By the way, you should read this ;) http://fgk.hanau.net/articles/ironic.html

I rarely have a go at the tipping as I regularly stuff a few up ha ha but here goes .....

In the battle of the Kangaroos I expect the Sunbury variety to win by about 5 goals which will actually give the Northern based Roos confidence ahead of Baz's appearance next Sunday at Diggers. With Romsey having the bye I'd say a few Redback's might wander down for a look at Sunbury before what should be a cracking contest next Saturday at Romsey.

Rockbank to drop a close one to Wallan by 8
Lancefield to claim the Rowe/Swindells/Davey Wightman Cup over Kilmore by 31.
Centrals to return to the winners list over Macedon by 27.
Riddell to easily account for a Tuckeyless Diggers by 49 if dry, 25-30 if it gets wet.
Rupo to keep us all impressed with a convincing 67 point win over Woodend.

RDFL 2014 Thread