RDFL 2014 Thread

Haha I was kicking the footy with the kids 'til dark mate they were rooted!!! Why didn't you come say hi I don't even know you do I?

Wasn't the greatest spectacle today, but as far as a contest goes, as someone with an interest in Kilmore Footy I was rapt to see the lads in it for most the day. Lancefield seems to have some upside if you ask me, I caught with up a couple of mates who are helping the coach over there and I couldn't quite put my finger on it, but if the players all actually get on the same page they can really improve in the second half of the year I reckon.

Throw Matt Swindells back to Kilmore's team today and the Blues win, Swinny was awesome, kicked a few, had a hand in many others and again made Kilmore suffer for past indiscretions. Chris Collins, the Burkett boys, Fulton til the legs got heavy all used the ball better than the Blues and Tevita was strong in the contested stuff when it counted too.

Harrison comes in next game I think, I reckon Kilmore went inside their fwd50m close to 40 times today which is an improvement but just lacked that big set of mits, not to mention Lancefield's marking inside their fwd 50m. They probabaly took 11-12 more than the Blues which always assure a shot on goal. Clearance's would've been pretty close to square, but Lancefield were better at taking the space in front, drawing the opposition up to them which allowed overlap.

Get Kruezer, Corneille back too for some grunt and I still say the Blues are capable of winning 2-3 before the years out.
Not a very convincing display by the Tigers but they still came away with the 4 points. With the players that Kilmore had missing I thought they battled hard and pushed Lancefield all day. With the talent they have to come back in I can see Kilmore being very competitive in the second half of the season.

Great to see Diggers hand Riddell a belting with Diggers having many of their stars out!!! Who would have thought ??? I refer back to my post 3 weeks ago ! No good playing at full strength playing your best football in May......The amount of improvement in Romsey-Diggers and Rupo is frightening ...I also noticed Sunbury had quite a number of senior players playing Reserves yesterday ... Sunbury Reserves would have given the Broadford Senior side a run for their money yesterday.....

Love those 5am posts!! I'm thrilled with way Diggers went on Saturday, but seriously, if this is some sort of crack at Riddell, you must be kidding. To insinuate that they have played their best football in May is laughable, if their is one club that knows about playing your best football at the right time of the year it is Riddell FC. At the end of the day, all that win did for diggers is give them a better crack at 3rd, which if they can get there will be great spot to have another crack at it....

Here here, 3rd is where you want to finish, clean up 6th and get two cracks at the big one. Hey Big Dog, who whipped up the posters for Sunday? Were they done before or after Tuckey's injury/surgery? Shoulda had him in a sling rather than an action shot ;)

Keston said: .... "Fair call then perhaps also those that have no facts say cast no stones"

Two sides to every story, which is why facts become clouded. Now I see Josh Wheeler has left the club, what happened there?

Here here, 3rd is where you want to finish, clean up 6th and get two cracks at the big one. Hey Big Dog, who whipped up the posters for Sunday? Were they done before or after Tuckey's injury/surgery? Shoulda had him in a sling rather than an action shot ;)

Posters were done before Surgery, so unfortunately Tuckey won't be playing on Sunday, but Big Bazza is 100% confirmed for the day. Tuckey and Bazza will be in the club rooms at 12pm for luncheon and chat about their Afl days.

C
Can't agree you guys on this one. The last two years in the GV league, 6th beat 3rd and bundled them out in the first week of the finals. I realise that we are a different league and whoever finishes sixth in the RDFL will be perceived as an easy beat, but upsets happen. It wasn't a final, but Diggers supporters may recall being toppled by Lancefield last year. Go for the highest spot you can, I say.

Dan jordan cleared to rupo. Great news for the sharks, horrible news for macedon this weekend
Was waiting for it after chatting to a now ex team mate a week or two back. Hope it's gunna be more than one game, get him qualified and Rupo all of a sudden are a genuine threat

Any more than the result, you can share with us OMNI. I didn't get to the game , so I would like your thoughts about 7 goal loss.

Diggers were very good on Saturday & thoroughly deserved their 43 point victory. Actually if they had kicked straight the winning margin would have been much greater as they missed some absolute sitters !
Lenny Clarke was B.O.G. for mine. He's big, tall & can jump and pretty much dominated the ruck hit outs at the stoppages. He gave the Diggers mid fielders first use of the ball on most occasions & that was pretty much where the contest was won & lost. I've seen Clarke a number times now & to me he is the premier ruckman in the competition. He also bobbed up for a couple of handy majors as well.
Another pivotal performance was put in by Diggers key forward James Breen who provided a strong target for the Burra up forward. He finished the day with five goals & provided the Bombers with plenty of head aches trying to shut down his aggressive & effective approach.
The Bombers had few shining lights. Paul Sahlberg was great in the first half, but faded badly after that. Peter Robertson flashed in & out & looked as though he was gunna have a big day........but didn't ! Brian Ruffell was the one exception to what was otherwise a very bleak day for the Bomber faithful. Ruffell is doing everything right so far this season & is probably having his best year with Riddell since crossing over from the Tigers. He finished the game with six goals, & could have easily had a couple more if he was as selfish as some of his other team mates !
If Saturdays match is any indication there is a lot of work to be done down at Riddell if the Bombers are to go back to back in season 2014. At the moment they have way too many players not prepared to sacrifice their own game, not prepared to be defensive when required,........ not prepared to do the "TEAM" things !
A wise man once said - A team of Champions will NEVER beat a Champion team............And that was never more apparent than at Riddell on Saturday !
Luckily for the Bombers the wake up call has occurred in round 7. I'm sure coach Scoble will address this sudden & might I say unexpected "break out" of INDIVIDUALITY within the Bomber unit well & truly before the pointy end of the 2014 RDFL season arrives ! :)

No cheap shot at Riddell they are a professional outfit and they are a great club to watch !! However when I look at Diggers Romsey and Rupo they appear to have a lot more upside than Riddell at this stage of the season....Those sides would have played 32 plus players in their senior sides this year !! They also have a certain unpredictability about them .. Diggers will be very hard to match up on if at full strength at finals time especially for Riddell if Darby is out ? I wonder if Leigh Erwin and or Cam Dawson will play this year at Romsey?/?

Gee ! And here I was on Saturday wondering about WHEN Jarryd Silvester, James Petran, Brayden Allen, Ricky Elliott, Glen Robertson, Jarrod Cox, Rob Henry & a couple of other PROVEN premiership players were coming back into the side for Riddell ???............To improve the Bombers "Unpredictability"........ of course !!! :cool:

Saw that Brayden played 2s on the weekend, will be a nice little handy addition to the back 6 when he is ready to go, not sure that Glen Robbo would be in the best 22 though and of course, when and if James Petran comes into the side, that changes things up for the Bombers in a big way.

It was a timely reminder that the good sides will get a hold of you quickly if you don't run out switched on. They have Woodend, Macedon and Kilmore in the next 3 weeks to bring players back into the side and build some momentum for the Romsey block buster.

C

Can't agree you guys on this one. The last two years in the GV league, 6th beat 3rd and bundled them out in the first week of the finals. I realise that we are a different league and whoever finishes sixth in the RDFL will be perceived as an easy beat, but upsets happen. It wasn't a final, but Diggers supporters may recall being toppled by Lancefield last year. Go for the highest spot you can, I say.

I don't disagree with you Blueboy, I'm sure Diggers will be trying to win every game, my point was more that I still believe the best that Diggers can hope for , is fighting with Rupo and Kangas for positions 3-5 and by winning on Saturday they have given themselves a better chance of finishing 3rd as I still think Romsey and Riddell will finish 1/2...As already spoken on this forum at length, the final 6 is flawed, however if the 6 is to stay I don't have a fairer solution.I know you have to plan your finals venues so this probably cant happen, but I would like to see the minor premier get the first final at home, so they get some advantage for finishing on top.

I can recall Redan in the Ballarat league winning a number of flags from 3rd, so we all have our stories from different leagues and how the final 6 can work for you or against you.. I just believe that whatever finals system you implement it should be designed to give the minor premiers the best chance of winning the flag, but it seems like money has gotten in the way of this in recent years and that advantage has been taken away...

You are a Romsey supporter? Surely someone has mentioned whether those 2 would return?

Crazy to take too much out of the weekends results. The good sides will all beat up on each other based on who is up on the day. Diggers needed the win lets be honest.

I'm told Petran is not far off.

Without having seen a footy kicked in the RDFL this year, all I know is that Riddell will be cherry ripe come the first week of the finals. Whether they finish first or fifth, you know all their efforts have been concentrated towards September.

The Bombers are the experts at getting into grand finals.

Without having seen a footy kicked in the RDFL this year, all I know is that Riddell will be cherry ripe come the first week of the finals. Whether they finish first or fifth, you know all their efforts have been concentrated towards September.

The Bombers are the experts at getting into grand finals.

Agree - although the way they lost on the weekend was unacceptable Riddell would be very happy with a 6-1 start with 3 of the bottom 4 teams to come.

I don't disagree with you Blueboy, I'm sure Diggers will be trying to win every game, my point was more that I still believe the best that Diggers can hope for , is fighting with Rupo and Kangas for positions 3-5 and by winning on Saturday they have given themselves a better chance of finishing 3rd as I still think Romsey and Riddell will finish 1/2...As already spoken on this forum at length, the final 6 is flawed, however if the 6 is to stay I don't have a fairer solution.I know you have to plan your finals venues so this probably cant happen, but I would like to see the minor premier get the first final at home, so they get some advantage for finishing on top.

I can recall Redan in the Ballarat league winning a number of flags from 3rd, so we all have our stories from different leagues and how the final 6 can work for you or against you.. I just believe that whatever finals system you implement it should be designed to give the minor premiers the best chance of winning the flag, but it seems like money has gotten in the way of this in recent years and that advantage has been taken away...
The Diggers we saw on Saturday was amazing.. they didn't just beat Riddell, they absolutely pants them.. as Omni said, the margin could have been greater.. how a team kicked 1.8 in the first term and then finishes the game with 12 straight for the second half is amazing.. Riddell didn't have too many winners on the day.. it was a case of role reversal because the Bombers would've served up Diggers Rest's performance to all teams this year.. I spoke to one of the committee members before the game and said that if Riddell weren't up by at least six goals at half time, I'd be surprised.. scores were level but Diggers were the better side at that point.. I'm a big believer in what they have built up in recent weeks and all of a sudden, we have five teams that can win it this year.. especially if Sunbury get close and or win over Romsey on Saturday.. Diggers are the real deal.. look out! :)

Diggers were very good on Saturday & thoroughly deserved their 43 point victory. Actually if they had kicked straight the winning margin would have been much greater as they missed some absolute sitters !
Lenny Clarke was B.O.G. for mine. He's big, tall & can jump and pretty much dominated the ruck hit outs at the stoppages. He gave the Diggers mid fielders first use of the ball on most occasions & that was pretty much where the contest was won & lost. I've seen Clarke a number times now & to me he is the premier ruckman in the competition. He also bobbed up for a couple of handy majors as well.
Another pivotal performance was put in by Diggers key forward James Breen who provided a strong target for the Burra up forward. He finished the day with five goals & provided the Bombers with plenty of head aches trying to shut down his aggressive & effective approach.
The Bombers had few shining lights. Paul Sahlberg was great in the first half, but faded badly after that. Peter Robertson flashed in & out & looked as though he was gunna have a big day........but didn't ! Brian Ruffell was the one exception to what was otherwise a very bleak day for the Bomber faithful. Ruffell is doing everything right so far this season & is probably having his best year with Riddell since crossing over from the Tigers. He finished the game with six goals, & could have easily had a couple more if he was as selfish as some of his other team mates !
If Saturdays match is any indication there is a lot of work to be done down at Riddell if the Bombers are to go back to back in season 2014. At the moment they have way too many players not prepared to sacrifice their own game, not prepared to be defensive when required,........ not prepared to do the "TEAM" things !
A wise man once said - A team of Champions will NEVER beat a Champion team............And that was never more apparent than at Riddell on Saturday !
Luckily for the Bombers the wake up call has occurred in round 7. I'm sure coach Scoble will address this sudden & might I say unexpected "break out" of INDIVIDUALITY within the Bomber unit well & truly before the pointy end of the 2014 RDFL season arrives ! :)

I'd have to agree Clarke from Diggers the best ruckman in the comp this year, seen him a few times and he's clearly ahead of Carris for mine. With the Big Fish from Sunbury out for 2014, and Jamie Cuffe retired it's Clarke for me. Heard the Big Fish might be back in RDFL IN 2015, not sure at which club though ! Reckon he'd look ok in Redbacks colours !

He'd be in my best 22 easily pal !.... Massively underrated player with four or five senior premierships to his name, of which HE was B.O.G. in a couple. He is well & truly in his prime at 28yo. Has freshened up nicely with a year off last season. He is exactly the type of "TEAM" player that Riddell needs right now & would slot in very nicely anywhere in that Bomber line up. For mine, both he & Brayden Allen would be fantastic inclusions down back for Riddell & bring to the side a real solidity & hardness in the defensive half that appears to be missing at present.

RDFL 2014 Thread