Have a stab
Diggers by 31
Broadford by 17 boys been working Hard
Rockbank by 11
Romsey 105
Riddell 92
Ruppo 81
Weather permitting not to much rain

Rain will help, slow their runners up and keep it stop/start and you'll be a show
broadford hung on by under a goal the Wallan coached was correct at quarter time when he said a few werent willing to put bodys in early. talking too Braodford People parked near me they seemed confident they would not be in the comp next year

Great to see Broadford chalk up a win today well done to the players that have a crack every week its good for football!! As for Sunbury v Diggers I thought Mongrel was taking the piss tipping Sunbury comfortably?? Didn't expect that result at all I Rate Diggers and Rupo as Romsey,s biggest threat this season!! As for the umpiring today up at Lancefield ! One really young thin professional umpire that was very consistant and fair !! On the other hand (Well lets not go there) !!!!Overall this season as a Romsey supporter the umpiring standard has been excellent however today was a revelation ???Heaven forbid we speak our minds in this era of political correctness however .....All players,clubs commitees and coaches are accountable for their performances !!I ask the question are umpires being held accountable in the same vein across the board???Or do they just get a free pass to make up the numbers because they are umpires ?? Because what I witnessed today was a disgrace!!

Please explain. Does it really matter when the margin was 101. Honest mistakes or something else? Young umpires are still learning.

Were you actually there "BLACKHALL"? Had nothing to do with the 'young' umpire, as "wedgestreet" said.
Very, very Slippery conditions at Lancefield today...thank god! Could of been an annihilation otherwise!! Chris Burkett and a few were great and tried all day, but the juggernaut that is Romsey (ATM), kept rolling on today. Fantastic to see a 100 or so Romsey and Lancefield supporters have a friendly drink and mingle all day....together.
Well done to Broadford for their first win. With 3 winnable more games coming up.....they may stay after all?

The professional looking umpire u are referring to was chris stead. Yes very good performance today by chris as per usual.

also great to see veteran jamie cuffe return from retirement today for the kangas!!!!!!

The burkett brothers and chris collins are genuine stars for the tigers

Lastly jimmy nolan and brian ruffell contunued their great form today. Nolan bagging 6 and is in great form

I've always said the umps make a lot less mistakes than the players do over four quarters, and unless you're willing to have a go yourself shut up and cop it coz without them we don't have a game. Some Wallan fans were whinging late about the umps, but they had all day to do something about how the game panned out.

Good luck to Skip and Broadford, they appeared a bit more desperate late. No one likes seeing comps with teams winless so now we just have to find Kilmore a win.

I too heard a bit this arvo cal, I'm intrigued as to what will be said (and what won't) on Tuesday night.

On another topic, I wanna wish Meach all the best. I'm told he will be stepping away for a while to fully recover from recent events. Good luck with it mate and when you're up to I hope you're back involved with local footy

Absolutely, best of luck Meach, what an outstanding way to finish, the Sunbury boys played for you today and showed what they are capable of when following instruction.

Well done mate and hope we see you back sooner rather than later.

I haven't been called young in a while. Don't feel young tonight.

I'm with you on this one pal...........101 point margin & some blokes still wanna whinge !!! :cool:

This blokes side wins by 101 points complains about umpires you bag him. If they lost and he complained you would bag him.

Doona saying players make more mistakes than umpires so just suck it up is putting your head in the sand.
If a player makes a mistake he works on improving so doesn't do it again next week, he gets down on himself, the coach and or leadership group has a crack at him.
But umpires shhh don't mention it, they are precious, they must be protected, we can't have a game with out them. This is the response from the league.
If the umpires are not up to scratch they need to get more professional ie need more money.
I don't know what umpires get paid but the league is a being held back by the quality of the umpiring, to get good umpires you need to invest in them. Get them to training, make training enjoyable .

One last thing if this league is to be considered professional you cannot have a bloke umpiring his son in a senior game, that is ridiculous and totally unprofessional.

Yes it does matter when PLAYER WELFARE is at stake !! It can also ignite ugly situations on and off the field ..As I said heaven forbid stating my and probably most people at that games opinion (Regardless that we won by over 100 points) and as dismayed said if this cannot be recognised and addressed and the RDFL strive for improvement and better education and communication with the umpiring department and encourage feedback from the clubs (Like the AFL do) then the league is the one with it,s head in the sand..... The reality is this- Ask yourself this question why would I even make this post after a 100 point win if I wasn't genuinely concerned as I said in my post the umpiring standard this year has been excellent ?? It wasn't whinging ! It was merely stating a fact!

Would be very interested to hear an example of when "player welfare" was an issue because i must have been at a different game. Yesterday the gluey surface made it difficult to move and change direction and the sun over the clubrooms made it particularly hard. As the game was filmed, i will watch it and review. Would be interesting if much was missed.

Like most clubs, the umpires have a number of injuries. About 5 senior blokes are out that moment and we also had numerous other guys off the park this weekend. Clubs need to accepting of this.

Would be very interested to hear an example of when "player welfare" was an issue because i must have been at a different game. Yesterday the gluey surface made it difficult to move and change direction and the sun over the clubrooms made it particularly hard. As the game was filmed, i will watch it and review. Would be interesting if much was missed.

Like most clubs, the umpires have a number of injuries. About 5 senior blokes are out that moment and we also had numerous other guys off the park this weekend. Clubs need to accepting of this.

Once again as I have stated the umpiring standard this year has been excellent and yes yesterdays conditions were very difficult especially for you guys the umpires but 1 umpire Chris Stead did such a terrific job yesterday. Yes he made decisions I might not of agreed with but generally he was fair and consistant which is all that we ask for !! As for player welfare whether it be a physical or emotional act of frustration in reaction to a number of ridiculous umpiring decisions I see that as a major concern for everybody....This is where progress can really be made here between the Umpires the RDFL and the Clubs by voicing our opinions and our perceptions and have an understanding how we can improve in all areas to help the umpires ..

How many cans did you have at the game?

Even the best umpires in Australia make terrible errors. Just ask Mick Malthouse after the Cats game.

People are programmed to bag the umps - now if a really poor decision is made early it heightens every decision after that. If you think it is easy you should have a go at it.

I don't know which game you were watching but I thought the umpiring was pretty good across the board from both stars out there yesterday.. maybe it's bias because when you've umpired the game, you can understand why certain free kicks were paid but knowing the background of the two out there yesterday, I thought they gelled together pretty well for memory in challenging conditions :)

No point arguing this point as there is a shortage of umpires and there is no quick fix perhaps make it a proper part time job and pay seniour umps $500 a game like some players get and you may get more people intrested
Such as past players etc we had a 67 year old umpire at our under18 game he had to umpire from a average of 40-60 meters from the play it's a problem and not a easy fix

I wasn't talking
I don't know which game you were watching but I thought the umpiring was pretty good across the board from both stars out there yesterday.. maybe it's bias because when you've umpired the game, you can understand why certain free kicks were paid but knowing the background of the two out there yesterday, I thought they gelled together pretty well for memory in challenging conditions :)
Well maybe you should ask the Romsey Coach or President or any other Romsey member or supporter that were sober what they thought of a certain umpire out there yesterday??? Im sure there will be a common theme !!! Unacceptable ( This is the problem you can voice your concerns about anything but Umpires ) As for you Wild Bill no I didn't have a drink yesterday but I had $300 on Carlton at $5.75 versus Geelong to win $1725 and you don't think some of those decisions at the elite level weren't put up for discussion by the media or Carlton coaches members and supporters???? I thought that this was a Forum where we put forward our opinions and views?? All year I have supported the umpires Im open minded and respectful to the Umpires I couldn't do the job it,s a tough gig !! Like Ketson wrote maybe we should invest more money into umpires ?? Why should the players be paid more than the umpires in our competition?? If the AFL are fair Dinkum about everything they preach regarding umpires why don't they invest in Umpires in our competition in a financial sense?? You get what you pay for and the AFL to always take the moral high ground makes me vomit!!

I wasn't talking

Well maybe you should ask the Romsey Coach or President or any other Romsey member or supporter that were sober what they thought of a certain umpire out there yesterday??? Im sure there will be a common theme !!! Unacceptable ( This is the problem you can voice your concerns about anything but Umpires ) As for you Wild Bill no I didn't have a drink yesterday but I had $300 on Carlton at $5.75 versus Geelong to win $1725 and you don't think some of those decisions at the elite level weren't put up for discussion by the media or Carlton coaches members and supporters???? I thought that this was a Forum where we put forward our opinions and views?? All year I have supported the umpires Im open minded and respectful to the Umpires I couldn't do the job it,s a tough gig !! Like Ketson wrote maybe we should invest more money into umpires ?? Why should the players be paid more than the umpires in our competition?? If the AFL are fair Dinkum about everything they preach regarding umpires why don't they invest in Umpires in our competition in a financial sense?? You get what you pay for and the AFL to always take the moral high ground makes me vomit!!

Well we would love to be paid higher dollars (not saying what we are paid isn't enough). Some of the talented umpires that we had in the past might not have left if we were paid more. Maybe suggest it to your club because they are the ones that pay. If they were willing to pay more, and we could recruit enough talented umpires, we would be able to put 3 umps on all senior games and that would definitely lift the standard but at this stage our association only gets paid for 2 umpires. When you see 3 at a game it comes out of the umpires associations pocket.

As for yesterday. I have no problem with people knowing who I am. I was the one you were happy enough with. I also think if there is genuine concern about the standard of umpiring you should contact your club representatives and get them to contact our umpiring group. However I think you should ask the Romsey coach or president their views on the day as I have already asked one of them and their answer was a touch different to yours.

I wasn't talking

Where there many sober lol☺️

RDFL 2014 Thread