RDFL 2014 Thread

Again, you are not reading or listening.
Seriously understand what you said
I admit it miss read it sorry doona
but my point is valid this forum is not a place to air this

Let's try talking footy for a week without bagging people or clubs out is it possible
Who's going to win this week ?
And why

Bugger me didn't say anything untoward and I've still copped it. The gist of it is I acknowledge the need to explore options, but surely that must include exploring why the RDFL isn't the right option too.

Haven't bagged people or the club anywhere in the above rundown from last night. People ask and they deserve to know, afterall back in Feb the BFNC was gunna take the comp by storm. Anyway I'm sure if Gav, Wardy, Gaz, Ollie or Stu was asked I reckon my appraisal wouldn't be too far off the mark. I know some of the things I mentioned above were highlighted to me from the guys from up the road anyway.

The fact of the matter is, I dont think the scenario put out last night was in depth enough and for anything to transpire for any potential move for 2015. It is going to need some serious correspondance, info and feedback to more than those who were present last night.

Onto this weeks games, it was funny that someone joked last night after the meeting that "had we held off and got on a winning run thru Wallan, Woodend, Macedon, Kilmore instead of the KDFL we coulda been aiming at the GV" .....

Well I am sure the discussion about a Broadford investigation into making a move is well and truly about footy in the RDFL and of course any discussion about it on here, as long as constructive and not abusive is exactly what the aim of this site is.. So whilst the attempt to defer discussion is honorable, it is something that people will have opinions on, and those opinions are welcomed from what I can gather.. So let the convo roll. There has been no targeting of clubs or individuals, just a response on the overall feel of the meeting last night from someone who has a steeped history of involvement with the Broadford FNC.

I did notice something else whilst I was at the club last night though, outside of this discussion.

The Broadford football club won premierships in Senior or Reserve grades in 1974, 1984 and 1994... By my calculations, that would provide the perfect opportunity for large reunion events to be held by the club this year and cash in on these historic achievements.. Has their been a reunion arranged for these historic achievements?? Maybe a question for someone other than Keston though, as he has other areas of focus at this stage, but the club has a deep traditional history that can clearly be celebrated, and in the administrative sense, a massive opportunity for club promotion, not only within the club, but within the community. Has this opportunity been capitalized on?

Romsey folk will do anything to get the grand final. Lancefield slippery because of onion grass? Give me a spell. You don't see good players slip over more at Lancefield than any other ground.

Lancefield might not have an immaculate surface in the home and away season (no one does), but it's always cherry ripe for the grand final.
When was the last time you ventured to lanny park there ground is crap there are a few grounds at the moment in terrific condition

Are you saying there where only 10-11 people that where there involved with club ?? I must have been at another meeting
The only comment and after talking with the rdfl rod ward after for an hour with webby etc the club is doing its home work and the meeting was to see if we where to continue to do so only 5 hands out of 87 people minus 10 league and media disagreed this will be the last comment and believe like other clubs this should be not aired on this sight as last night in following discussions stats brought up had not been clarified and are incorrect as pointed out by whitey and later explained not rdfl fault they just needed clarifying
But as rod said he commended the club for looking at there future
Thanks and that's all that will be aired re this topic anything else posted
Is purely speculation as it is only now the investigation will commence,
Mature 16 year old.

When was the last time you ventured to lanny park there ground is crap there are a few grounds at the moment in terrific condition
Had a run around on it on Friday afternoon.. was in top condition before the Reserves.. we had lots of rain in Lancefield in the lead up to the day.. most grounds would get a bit muddy after a lot of rain :p

I did notice something else whilst I was at the club last night though, outside of this discussion.

The Broadford football club won premierships in Senior or Reserve grades in 1974, 1984 and 1994... By my calculations, that would provide the perfect opportunity for large reunion events to be held by the club this year and cash in on these historic achievements.. Has their been a reunion arranged for these historic achievements?? Maybe a question for someone other than Keston though, as he has other areas of focus at this stage, but the club has a deep traditional history that can clearly be celebrated, and in the administrative sense, a massive opportunity for club promotion, not only within the club, but within the community. Has this opportunity been capitalized on?

Last night was what, your first or 2nd trip to Broadford in the past year or so IMS and you've hit the nail on the head right there. I'm the same, love checking out the photo's etc whatever club I walk into. I'm assuming it's not an intention oversight but more with the renovations, investiagtion etc the significance of the dates just haven't dawned upon.

Keep hearing about history and yet the club's greatest ever era of 4 senior WNEFL premierships (as well as reserves in that time) from 1971-1974 has not been recognised with a 40 year back to. This year also marks 30 years since the club won senior and reserves flags (ironically in the RDFL) and in 1994 the club won a HDFL reserves flag along with it's 5th consecutive 3rds title on its way to ten in a row.

Imagine getting all that history in one room, and then seriously bouncing this exact thought process off them to get a true guage for the club to utilise throughout it's investigation phase. People who had been associated in league switches back in those era's could have valid points for/against given past experiences. Who knows maybe resh workers could be found, or even potential new networks could be developed for the future.

I would've been honoured to represent my dad amongst his premiership team mates from the 70's & 80's. I remember being involved in helping organise previous premiership reunions for 1996 and ironically an earlier 1984 back to and they were great days ..... sadly as we're into the second half of the year it's probably too late now but I know in my case it doesn't change the pride I have for what my dad was involved in throughout his career, or what I was either during a brief time playing football.

Very good point you make Doon in regards to the club and the opportunity to have those reunions of past days
Those things take a lot of work as you would know..
But unfortunately we have so few doing so much
And so many sitting on the fence not willing to put their hand out to offer help to the club they all say they have a interest in ( apparently only when things like last night happen ) do we now see them..
I've personally asked people of yester year to return and help
( you being one of them )
But for what ever reason my calls for help have gone unheard..
So please if people really care about the past and the future of the BFNC where ever they might play
Then get off ya a$$ and put your hand up to help
And not just turn up around the club because there is talk of moving leagues
It shouldn't matter where the BFNC plays if you love the club you will be around it
SO GET AROUND IT!!
Also there are many life members that live in Broadford but didn't show
And don't anyone tell me they didn't know about last nights meeting
Most of them drink at the top
So it seems to me they don't care or have done their time

Very good point you make Doon in regards to the club and the opportunity to have those reunions of past days
Those things take a lot of work as you would know..
But unfortunately we have so few doing so much
And so many sitting on the fence not willing to put their hand out to offer help to the club they all say they have a interest in ( apparently only when things like last night happen ) do we now see them..
I've personally asked people of yester year to return and help
( you being one of them )
But for what ever reason my calls for help have gone unheard..
So please if people really care about the past and the future of the BFNC where ever they might play
Then get off ya a$$ and put your hand up to help
And not just turn up around the club because there is talk of moving leagues
It shouldn't matter where the BFNC plays if you love the club you will be around it
SO GET AROUND IT!!
Also there are many life members that live in Broadford but didn't show
And don't anyone tell me they didn't know about last nights meeting
Most of them drink at the top
So it seems to me they don't care or have done their time

I agree wholeheartedly, it appears not enough care for whatever reasons they might be, but until those reasons are sourced and honesty given by all parties as to why they choose to not support then we'll never know.

As for my situation I have my reasons why I couldn't or wouldn't come help (and I told Webby and Whitey so last night), but I've still got to see 4 games so far this year and will continue to do so as I hold the place dear to my heart even though I cant be involved. Let's be honest I woulda been the laughing stock of my circle of friends had I come back given the $hit I copped the previous 2 years by people still there.

Shit I remember when my calls went unheard too

Mate you have my number and I'll take your call anytime
This is a BFNC matter and other people on this forum don't need to hear the ins and outs of it all
But please feel free to call me

The 16 year old Kid started it!
You blokes are un real
If you read the quote prior to Dona first it asked him or me for a response from last night
I simply stated as skip has the forum ain't a place for this
So stating the 16 year old kid made statement you all know who I am like we know who most are on this forum why post it ?????????

More interesting conversation as doona would have heard is re intro of point system vic wide 2015 as stated last night any comments ??

It was inevitable.

I do agree with the comments in regards to assistance, but I can only go on personal history in that sense..

Only a few years ago (2007 I think) the Sunbury Kangaroos had a committee of 8 people, 6 of who did anything around the club, the club was broke and found it very difficult to acheive anything with so little support ( blues12 can back me up as he was one of the 6 along with myself) yet we identified the fact that over 21 years of history, the club had very little in regards to opportunities to bring ex players and support staff up to the club.

So the club decided to name 2 teams of the decade, for the first decade of their existence, calling on support from 2 players from that period and a team for the 2nd decade, using people who had been involved during that time.

A huge effort to invite as many past players to the day was made, by the 6 people doing anything, and the turnout was overwhelming, only 3 players named in the 2 sides was unable to attend including an ex president that vowed never to return to the club after the treatment he received.

The day was an overwhelming success and something, that despite the hard work, was one of the key pillars in my view to turning the fortunes of that football club around, and one of the key pillars in where that club is today.

Yes, volunteers are hard to find, but if the right ones are willing to choose the right type of event to bring those back to the club that might not have returned, then that type of event can be the catalyst to a massive turn around in fortunes.

A multiple premiership reunion celebrating 40, 30 and 20 years could have just been that moment.. In my view, it's a massive opportunity missed.

More interesting conversation as doona would have heard is re intro of point system vic wide 2015 as stated last night any comments ??
It was inevitable.

I do agree with the comments in regards to assistance, but I can only go on personal history in that sense..

Only a few years ago (2007 I think) the Sunbury Kangaroos had a committee of 8 people, 6 of who did anything around the club, the club was broke and found it very difficult to acheive anything with so little support ( blues12 can back me up as he was one of the 6 along with myself) yet we identified the fact that over 21 years of history, the club had very little in regards to opportunities to bring ex players and support staff up to the club.

So the club decided to name 2 teams of the decade, for the first decade of their existence, calling on support from 2 players from that period and a team for the 2nd decade, using people who had been involved during that time.

A huge effort to invite as many past players to the day was made, by the 6 people doing anything, and the turnout was overwhelming, only 3 players named in the 2 sides was unable to attend including an ex president that vowed never to return to the club after the treatment he received.

The day was an overwhelming success and something, that despite the hard work, was one of the key pillars in my view to turning the fortunes of that football club around, and one of the key pillars in where that club is today.

Yes, volunteers are hard to find, but if the right ones are willing to choose the right type of event to bring those back to the club that might not have returned, then that type of event can be the catalyst to a massive turn around in fortunes.

A multiple premiership reunion celebrating 40, 30 and 20 years could have just been that moment.. In my view, it's a massive opportunity missed.
What's that got to do with point system little confused

I know you are attempting to be clever, but I will humor you.

The first line "it was inevitable" was about the points system.

The rest was a response to the comments re: Helpers.

As most people can understand when comments are split over two topics, I thought it was generally common sense.

I know you are trying to deflect the questions, but try a little more subtly, I am not attempting to cast a negative light over the Broadford FNC, I am asking a question based around what SHOULD BE a large event in the calendar of the club... You wanted the discussion to deflect from the "investigation" and I did so...

That's your vi
I know you are attempting to be clever, but I will humor you.

The first line "it was inevitable" was about the points system.

The rest was a response to the comments re: Helpers.

As most people can understand when comments are split over two topics, I thought it was generally common sense.

I know you are trying to deflect the questions, but try a little more subtly, I am not attempting to cast a negative light over the Broadford FNC, I am asking a question based around what SHOULD BE a large event in the calendar of the club... You wanted the discussion to deflect from the "investigation" and I did so...
I agree it should be but skippers comment answers why

The question re points system was a different topic what's your view ?

Off Broadford for a little bit and this story was quite interesting about Sunbury Lions and the Ballarat League.

Reading between the lines and I can see that Sunbury and some of the other eastern clubs in the comp want to move away from Ballarat, where they have no connection. Perhaps this new league with Gisborne and some of the western RDFL clubs might have some legs.

http://www.thecourier.com.au/story/2355800/sunbury-to-stay-with-bfl-in-2015/?cs=63

That's your vi

I agree it should be but skippers comment answers why

The question re points system was a different topic what's your view ?

And my response was directed at that.. "Lack of support" is not an excuse.

Lancefields surface is onion grass, it is slippery all year round. It was in very poor condition on Saturday. The grand final is all about watching the best 2 teams go at, on the best playing surface.
There is nothing worse than watching players slipping over on a surface that is not up to scratch. I think the amount of parking at Lancefield and Romsey wouldnt be to much of a difference. Both have ample parking around the ground and side streets. Romsey also has the old motor bike track behind the score board, I couldn't guess how many cars could park there ( a lot). Macedon on the other hand has stuff all parking.
How many games do you go to at Lancefield over the course of the season to qualify your comment that the surface is slippery all year round? Also, I think you will find most grounds would have been in ordinary condition last weekend after the heavy rains late in the week. Was it the slippery conditions in the last quarter at Lancefield that cost you in the big one in 2012?

RDFL 2014 Thread