- #1,851
So... Not a flash round of games on paper this week.. Which game are you looking forward to?
Toss of the coin for me, Kilmore v Rockbank or Woodend v Broadford

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
So... Not a flash round of games on paper this week.. Which game are you looking forward to?
Here goesSo... Not a flash round of games on paper this week.. Which game are you looking forward to?
How many games do you go to at Lancefield over the course of the season to qualify your comment that the surface is slippery all year round? Also, I think you will find most grounds would have been in ordinary condition last weekend after the heavy rains late in the week. Was it the slippery conditions in the last quarter at Lancefield that cost you in the big one in 2012?
Thanks for your unbiased and informative response. For the uninformed, what was the answer to the stupid, no brain question?Well I have lived in the area all of my life, played football for a long time all in this league. I have been to more matches at TUMBLEWEED TOWN than you have had hot breakys, so I think I might have an idea of what the ground surface is and has been for a very long time CRAP.
We all know the answer to your last stupid no brain question.
How many games do you go to at Lancefield over the course of the season to qualify your comment that the surface is slippery all year round? Also, I think you will find most grounds would have been in ordinary condition last weekend after the heavy rains late in the week. Was it the slippery conditions in the last quarter at Lancefield that cost you in the big one in 2012?
And so many sitting on the fence not willing to put their hand out to offer help to the club they all say they have a interest in ( apparently only when things like last night happen ) do we now see them..
I've personally asked people of yester year to return and help
( you being one of them )
But for what ever reason my calls for help have gone unheard..
So please if people really care about the past and the future of the BFNC where ever they might play
Then get off ya a$$ and put your hand up to help
And not just turn up around the club because there is talk of moving leagues
cant believe this if not many outsiders or life membes turned up then the ones who did should be thakned not have there turn up questiond
In hindsight it doesn't really matter who did or didn't front Cal, time evolves and those who want to get onboard as push to move (or to stay) will decide if they have the time/interst to devote. The club needs to secure themselves a sustainable future and will now investiagte how best to achieve that so we all just have to wish them well. Time for me to not get wound up and comment anymore as in hindsight and after reading previous posts, if I can't commit then there was no point rolling up on a Tuesday night.
On a sidenote to the whole league switch thing, just read this one on the Ballarat FL thread.
"Even so its been almost a decade since Melton last flag and 8 years since they have played finals. Melton South have mostly been irrelevant and Darley create a buzz but always under achieve. If Sunbury were to leave there is really not a whole lot that the Eastern block teams are offering the Ballarat League and probably makes most sense for Melton, South, Darley and Bacchus to break away and re-join the Riddell league and then the Ballarat can go back to its roots and either join up with the CHFL and create 2 divisions or recruit some stronger CHFL teams into the BFL."
Correct me if Im wrong but is there a real East/West thing happening over there? If the Ballarat based clubs don't want them then surely the Riddell DFL should/could say "we will" ....
Just a thought, perhaps you could make it that if you win a divvie 2 title you're not forced to go up if you dont want to, but if you win two in a row you must.
Div.1
Riddell
Romsey
Sunbury Kanga's
Diggers Rest
Rupertswood
Sunbury Lions
Melton South
Melton
Darley
Bacchus Marsh
Div.2
Rockbank
Melton Centrals
Macedon
Lancefield
Woodend
Wallan
Kilmore
Broadford (if they were to remain)
With 2 suburbs bobbing up along the Hume south of Wallan (Beveridge/Kalkallo) and also out Melton way, within no time Auskick Centres will be there which will turn into junior then senior clubs which could mean a lot of potential new clubs within 5-6 years ..... and surely East Sunbury/Rolling Meadows must be re-thinking the EDFL thing?
In hindsight it doesn't really matter who did or didn't front Cal, time evolves and those who want to get onboard as push to move (or to stay) will decide if they have the time/interst to devote. The club needs to secure themselves a sustainable future and will now investiagte how best to achieve that so we all just have to wish them well. Time for me to not get wound up and comment anymore as in hindsight and after reading previous posts, if I can't commit then there was no point rolling up on a Tuesday night.
On a sidenote to the whole league switch thing, just read this one on the Ballarat FL thread.
"Even so its been almost a decade since Melton last flag and 8 years since they have played finals. Melton South have mostly been irrelevant and Darley create a buzz but always under achieve. If Sunbury were to leave there is really not a whole lot that the Eastern block teams are offering the Ballarat League and probably makes most sense for Melton, South, Darley and Bacchus to break away and re-join the Riddell league and then the Ballarat can go back to its roots and either join up with the CHFL and create 2 divisions or recruit some stronger CHFL teams into the BFL."
Correct me if Im wrong but is there a real East/West thing happening over there? If the Ballarat based clubs don't want them then surely the Riddell DFL should/could say "we will" ....
Just a thought, perhaps you could make it that if you win a divvie 2 title you're not forced to go up if you dont want to, but if you win two in a row you must.
Div.1
Riddell
Romsey
Sunbury Kanga's
Diggers Rest
Rupertswood
Sunbury Lions
Melton South
Melton
Darley
Bacchus Marsh
Div.2
Rockbank
Melton Centrals
Macedon
Lancefield
Woodend
Wallan
Kilmore
Broadford (if they were to remain)
With 2 suburbs bobbing up along the Hume south of Wallan (Beveridge/Kalkallo) and also out Melton way, within no time Auskick Centres will be there which will turn into junior then senior clubs which could mean a lot of potential new clubs within 5-6 years ..... and surely East Sunbury/Rolling Meadows must be re-thinking the EDFL thing?
Another thing that I think goes unnoticed by many is the amount of bloody handy RDFL juniors that Beats and co. give opportunities to at under age level that are lost to the comp once they hit 3rds.Would be interesting to see of Gissy would also be interested in joining Div 1. Some good old rivalries , aligned juniors and much bigger crowds would have to be appealing.
As for promotion relegation, I think it would be impossible to have a black and white system. This is what killed the comp last time as Div 2 winners just dreaded going up as they would be uncompetitive.
If we returned to the former RDFL days and those current Ballarat league clubs came back to the comp, as well as perhaps Gisborne, then we would just have the same problems we did way back then.
I haven't seen any of the Ballarat sides play for several years, but Gisborne would beat Romsey quite comfortably if they were to play tomorrow. That's with Gisborne in the Bendigo league.
Put Gisborne back into the RDFL and their crowds probably double and interest peaks because they become relevant to the community again. The gap would only widen between the likes of Gisborne and the current top tier RDFL clubs. I imagine the same would happen with the Ballarat league clubs.
There is no golden solution to this problem.
It is quite possible (and I know there have been some serious discussions in Gisborne about this) that there could be a second Gisborne football club in the next decade.
The only scenario I could see working would be this:
Div 1:
Melton
Melton South
Bacchus Marsh
Darley
Sunbury Lions
Gisborne
Kyneton
TBA (need eight clubs)
Div 2:
Current RDFL clubs (12 if Broadford goes)
An 8-12 scenario would be better, IMO.
Not sure where you would source the eighth club from for division one. You could put the offer to the likes of Riddell and Romsey and the Kangas, but I'd doubt they would jump at it.
As for promotion relegation, I think it would be impossible to have a black and white system. This is what killed the comp last time as Div 2 winners just dreaded going up as they would be uncompetitive.
I think you would still have a problem in that the number quality of the kids the bigger clubs produce would be higher than the smaller clubs and I would expect your homegrown kids that come through to play seniors would have a fairly low points rating..Will find out next year
agree but believe if clubs are more country than metro etc etc other scenarios will decide how many points you start with ie if club has no 18s or 16 s or not located close to satellite city ie sunbury etc etcI think you would still have a problem in that the number quality of the kids the bigger clubs produce would be higher than the smaller clubs and I would expect your homegrown kids that come through to play seniors would have a fairly low points rating..
Agre
agree but believe if clubs are more country than metro etc etc other scenarios will decide how many points you start with ie if club has no 18s or 16 s or not located close to satellite city ie sunbury etc etc
You would think it would be based on your junior clubHypothetically speaking would this mean under age recruiting comes into vogue? At what age would "club junior" come up for consideration, 16's or 18's? Pretty tempting to lure handy 18 year olds across with a free rego/boots etc if it meant the year after they'd be deemed a "one pointer".
Points system has its pro's and con's. Personally I reckon for a club like Riddell who's list is worth far more than it probably pays it would be affected, and I reckon club's who can provide employment as opposed to the bull$hit dollars some "spuds" are getting these days shouldn't have to be disadvantaged because they didn't play juniors there yet the club as a whole has great business/networking qualities.
Comes down to good administration, planning and running your clubs like a business. As much as I hate typing that it's the way even pox level football is heading.
Just for the sake of the argument only one of Rupo's senior 22 last week was not a Rupo junior.You would think it would be based on your junior club
If your a gun on big $$$ worth a point to play at home club would be interesting to see what you attract $$$ also club like ruppo with there abundance of kids would be laughing
G'day Matthew, have you seen Romsey play a game this seasonIf we returned to the former RDFL days and those current Ballarat league clubs came back to the comp, as well as perhaps Gisborne, then we would just have the same problems we did way back then.
I haven't seen any of the Ballarat sides play for several years, but Gisborne would beat Romsey quite comfortably if they were to play tomorrow. That's with Gisborne in the Bendigo league.
Put Gisborne back into the RDFL and their crowds probably double and interest peaks because they become relevant to the community again. The gap would only widen between the likes of Gisborne and the current top tier RDFL clubs. I imagine the same would happen with the Ballarat league clubs.
There is no golden solution to this problem.
It is quite possible (and I know there have been some serious discussions in Gisborne about this) that there could be a second Gisborne football club in the next decade.
The only scenario I could see working would be this:
Div 1:
Melton
Melton South
Bacchus Marsh
Darley
Sunbury Lions
Gisborne
Kyneton
TBA (need eight clubs)
Div 2:
Current RDFL clubs (12 if Broadford goes)
An 8-12 scenario would be better, IMO.
Not sure where you would source the eighth club from for division one. You could put the offer to the likes of Riddell and Romsey and the Kangas, but I'd doubt they would jump at it.
G'day Matthew, have you seen Romsey play a game this season