RDFL 2017 Season discussion

Sunbury and Wallan far too good in the earlier games.

What a contrasting day for our two teams. 18.5s were fantastic and were seldom beaten to the ball, while the two's were the exact opposite.

Mahoney and Hall were both excellent and deserving medal winners.

Sunbury were very, very good and thoroughly deserved their win.

Really enjoyed the senior GF and well done to Macedon on the win. Thought they looked a bit fragile at 3/4 time, but fought hard in the final 1/4 to maintain the advantage.

Best side (just) over the course of the year won and deserves their premiership cannot knock them. Thought rupo had a real shot going into last, that first quick goal though was always going to make it tough. Rupo at no stage I thought chucked it in and believed til the end. Ends a great tenure by fitzy and also what of Andrews ? Plenty said today. Well done to the handful of boys that had had no success over a period of time at the chattery and stuck fat. We have had some good weather and finals matches at Romsey but seriously does anyone think it is a better venue than lancefield. Yes it has better facilities but put the same facilities at lancefield and what's better venue? Was hearing plenty on happenings at all finals clubs today, won't be long for the rumours to be public!

Think you've answered your own question

Re read what you have written regarding the facilities mate!

One for the Rupertswood members here.

How do you move Fitzy on after he's taken you to a grand final? Something previous coaches had failed to do?

Easy to say for someone outside the club but the decision was made 10 weeks ago, not yesterday.

Sent from my ZTE BLADE A112 using Tapatalk

I guess the question that sits then, why would you make such decision given the magnitude of such a decision when you were sitting top 2 and no sign of not continuing your momentum towards premiership success?

From the outside it's intriguing given your club didn't have a defensive aspect to it prior to him arriving and where all out attack under former coaches to now being still arguably the best defensive side, just lacking another 2 goals to taste success?

Lotsa woulda, coulda and ahouldas this morning. Big day at Romsey, facilities don't stand up, play it at Clarke. Well done to Wallan, Sunbury and Macedon on their wins, hopefully Rupo know now what it takes as they weren't far away against the list that is Cats. I imagine Rupo's defensive mindset will grow under Nick Ash give his playing resume. Roll on 18 and the recruiting begins.

I guess the question that sits then, why would you make such decision given the magnitude of such a decision when you were sitting top 2 and no sign of not continuing your momentum towards premiership success?

From the outside it's intriguing given your club didn't have a defensive aspect to it prior to him arriving and where all out attack under former coaches to now being still arguably the best defensive side, just lacking another 2 goals to taste success?
If new coach doesn't take this group to the big dance or beyond next year then your comment will be vindicated in the ears of those who made it just adds extra pressure to the incoming coach , Why they havent target a helmers type coach no fuss no questions just a winning attitude is beyond understanding as I've stated this club has underachieved since moving to the RDFL with the youth that's come through and financial stability taken a long time to taste success in September . Will agree fitzy has done a great job getting some September success why you move him on is not comprehending or has he decided to move on for other reasons ( family or business related ?)

Lotsa woulda, coulda and ahouldas this morning. Big day at Romsey, facilities don't stand up, play it at Clarke. Well done to Wallan, Sunbury and Macedon on their wins, hopefully Rupo know now what it takes as they weren't far away against the list that is Cats. I imagine Rupo's defensive mindset will grow under Nick Ash give his playing resume. Roll on 18 and the recruiting begins.
Clarke oval like Lancefield lacks atmosphere Romsey has the facilities and is a part of the rdfl where as Clarke oval part of the goldfields don't take that away also. I reckon if yesterday's game was at Clarke oval rupo win would have run over them, but ya gotta win anywhere to win a grand final rupo not good enough agree bring on 2018 who will be the big spenders next season

I disagree with the "defensive" aspect. BJ had a solid defensive aspect to his game too and I'm pretty sure in BJs last year we had the lowest points against of all the teams which was a target of his.

The decision does look odd I get that but there is an explanation. Not my place to go into details but what I can say is that the club wanted to have a coach locked away well before the end of the season (rightly or wrongly).

Fitzy has been amazing for our club and he should be very proud of what he has achieved in his tenure. He has taken our club forward without achieving the ultimate success.

Sent from my ZTE BLADE A112 using Tapatalk

What part of the facilities don't stand up at Romsey?
Congratulations Macedon best team over the 2017 season. Well deserved.

if you're not on the fence at Romsey or on a the steps by the rooms you cannot watch the game properly, parking is atrocious to say the best, being winter its often wet and if you dont have a 4 x 4 you're off parking in the industrial estate.

On the flip side, changerooms and Boxes for coaches and players are great quality and the deck was in great nick which made the game good to watch.

I'd heard when Rupo originally signed Fitzy he only wanted a short tenure 2 x Years.

Agree with Jack - BJ's Rupo teams we very solid defensively, but they lacked firepower when it counted.

Good game to watch yesterday congrats to all winners on the day, McConnell was best on by a long way IMO. Thought Rupo's more experienced players struggled with the heat yesterday, Canolo, Cannon and Sultana all future Stars!

First Time long time

First RDFL granny yesterday and as a neutral supporter I really enjoyed the game. Have read this forum a bit and I find it interesting how different everyone's view on the same game can be.

David G I must view the sides very differently than you. Macedon to me looked a much better running side where as Rupo looked a more in and under side. I would think the big Clarke oval would suit the cats runners(players like Markworth, Christiansen and Dick would dominate on big grounds)more than Rupos but that's just my view.

Very good contest, both sides had a crack and the umps did not seem to influence the game too much IMO.

The bloke who was awarded the medal for BOG was very clear the best 4 quarter player on the ground IMO. He won a stack of crucial ground level 1 on 1s and also provided great run.

The big difference in the game was Putt in the first half compared to the 2nd half. I thought he was the most influential player on the ground by a mile in the first half. He destroyed Waters but also went forward and dominated in the 2nd term. He clearly couldn't go any more in the 2nd half and was almost a liability. I don't blame them for rolling the dice because from what I saw they would probably have been 2 or 3 goals down at half time if he did not play. Waters started to have a influence in the 2nd half.

For those who are regulars at RDFL grannys what's the story with the MC. He talked so much pre game and in the breaks that the mic ran out of gas in the presentations. It was quite comical watching the mic cut out as he was announcing players and coaches on stage.

All in all a cracking day for footy.

Facility is very good in general.
To complain about viewing around the ground is ridiculous most grounds have this problem with big crowds.
Another toilet block on the east wing would be good.
Scoreboard is terrible.
Parking poor.
Being very picky goals posts are to short.

But footy rooms excellent.
There are good change rooms for the forgotten netballers.
More under conver than most grounds.
Function room very good.
Grounds in excellent condition.
All up best facility in RDFL.

Clarke oval very good. Lacks facilities for the netballers.

It's district footy play it in district footy conditions. Clarke Oval not even a RDFL venue.
Lancefield had it for a long time and from afar it never appeared anything went into improving anything around the ground. At least Romsey at present seem to be trying to upgrade and improve. Netball adjacent to footy help atmosphere, as for parking I reckon people would be willing to walk a distance to play in, or watch their team compete in a granny.

Toilets etc etc were all the Leagues responsibility this year weren't they? I was of the impression Romsey had no control over the day other than provide the venue. Maybe that's why the umpires had their own BBQ instead of purchasing from Wallan's ha ha

I'd want the biggest day of the year based in the league...just my opinion
Fair enough I just don't see why people continue to talk about Clarke oval not being an RDFL ground, it's irrelevant.
We should use the best facilities available to us. If they decide Clarke oval is a better option than Romsey then so be it.
EDFL play finals at Windy Hill and Coburg, WRFL play finals at Whitten oval and Williamstown.
It's about the best facilities and the best spectacle for the league.