RDFL Thread 2007

Pickles, you will always get bagged for having a crack at writing things up, its part of the job! Wouldn't worry to much, everything in life is based upon opinions!

Anyway as far as stats and research goes, if someone wants to be successful, then by all means they will do what they have to do!

Even if that means studying games, filming them, taking stats and doing research ;) to give that team an advatage then so be it! Whether we do it or not, nothing stops other clubs from doing this, its there choice not to! There loss at the end of the day!

Pickles, you will always get bagged for having a crack at writing things up, its part of the job! Wouldn't worry to much, everything in life is based upon opinions!

Anyway as far as stats and research goes, if someone wants to be successful, then by all means they will do what they have to do!

Even if that means studying games, filming them, taking stats and doing research ;) to give that team an advatage then so be it! Whether we do it or not, nothing stops other clubs from doing this, its there choice not to! There loss at the end of the day!

We dont do that.... :eek:

We don't need him! And i don't want him! We are better off without!
every one entitled to an opinion tb. maybe he did cause a litle bit of a poroblem but did you actualy take notice of the litle fact he nearly won the leagues goalkicking in 6 games against the quality of forwards you named earlier

Omni, seeing as though you are the knower of all and the outstanding example of word manipulation, could you give me the complete and proper explination of the word "Drivel".. Just for the benefit of the plebs out there, like myself... :D
Well IMS, It does test my extensive lexicon but I think what HFF is saying here is that young Matty Nicholls is talking Nonsense !

Well IMS, It does test my extensive lexicon but I think what HFF is saying here is that young Matty Nickolls is talking Nonsense !

Aha... Excellent, thanks to you for clearing this temporary confusion that I was having issues with....

Appreciate it :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Aha... Excellent, thanks to you for clearing this temporary confusion that I was having issues with....

Appreciate it :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

C'mon pal you dont get off the hook that lightly, time to be a little arrogant mate, tell us all out here in Forumland how good the Kangas are & where you blokes are gunna put your impending silverware ?

& dont give us any of that "just taking 1 week at a time" crap !

Point taken, I know that Macedon has a strong youth policy. Everyone knows that. I did those ratings because all 10 clubs in this comp have been up and running against one another for at least five years and have had every opportunity to build. Some clubs like Macedon, Lancefield, Rockbank etc. will struggle because of geographics and population, as well as sponsors to pay players like the other clubs in the area. I don't think I've ever personally criticised clubs in the paper or on this forum for that matter. Nor should I have to! :D

While glad to have you lift the profile of the RDFL. Please don't do it at expense of some clubs, local people moving in to the area (disco duck) wan't unbiased appraisal of clubs from journos. You are on here as yourself and that bring's along your profession with it.

You implied a while ago Macedon used diffrent players and tactics "Using young Under 18 guns Alistair Collins and James Wright in the senior side paid dividends" to beat L/field, these guys play week in and week out. The truth is Macedon were better on the day.

If like the rest of us who are here to stir up debate and have (hopefuly) some fun with it join in but not as a journalist please distinguish between the two.

Keep up good work in the locals.

, Diggers are gone. ?
Diggers are not at full strength but were still within a couple of minutes and maybe a dodgy free kick of beating Woodend at home so im not sure why you would think they are gone. Same goes for Riddell. Diggers have played all the top 5 sides and Riddell were by far the best team so far atleast they were on that day.

Listen very carefully forum...this is the om man admitting he was wrong on the weekend. Obviously sunbury have exceeded my expectations and many woodend players too im sure. Judging by the scoreline i.e. 34 scoring shots to 21 its safe to say the kangas outplayed a disappointing woodend and would surely be flag favourites in the eyes of many followers, not mine however. will back sunbury to make finals but struggle once the pressure intensifies. the finals will be made up of positions 1-4 currently in no particular order, with the burra to fill the 5th spot and give the finals series a real shake!!!

and just for the record, Pickles l read with disgust your criticisms of the two umpires who did the Kilmore Kangaroos match.
Whoever they were they were 2 guys out there doing their best and having a crack, anyone can sit in the cheap seats and criticise. I wouldn't mind betting that those umpires made a lot less mistakes than the two teams that day.
It is so weak of jurno's potting easy targets, l wonder if you see Mongrel, for arguments sake, put in an average one would you be so quick to name and shame?
I doubt it.

thankyou browndog i appreciate your comments!!!

Listen very carefully forum...this is the om man admitting he was wrong on the weekend. Obviously sunbury have exceeded my expectations and many woodend players too im sure. Judging by the scoreline i.e. 34 scoring shots to 21 its safe to say the kangas outplayed a disappointing woodend and would surely be flag favourites in the eyes of many followers, not mine however. will back sunbury to make finals but struggle once the pressure intensifies. the finals will be made up of positions 1-4 currently in no particular order, with the burra to fill the 5th spot and give the finals series a real shake!!!

i think the burra are going to need to cause an upset or two in the final 9 matches to get ahead of kilmore. should the blues get done this week, they will still sit a game clear of diggers with macedon and the rams to complete the first half of the season - and will be confident of turning for home on the back at least 2 successive victories

very interested om if you actually frequent rdfl games (except for the odd diggers match) because alot of what you say seems to be bassed on common opinion ladder position, or "your sources". anyone who was at the game knows kangas did not out play woodend by any account, neither side were playing near there peak. however saying that i think you are spot on about finals. woodend v riddell very likely however lets just hope the kangas can keep form all year and succeed in giving the finals a real shake.

Footy Mad, i'm not meaning to sound this biased but i would like to know how you seem to think that we didn't outplay you!

3 points simple points ill make;

Lead for 80% of the day in what was the worst 3 1/2 quarters of football we have played all year!

13 more scoring shots than woodend! (other day you stated "WE" broke down across half forward) Ok!

Down by 22 points with 8 minutes of football to play and get up and win by 2 goals (Pressure to win in bigs games when up, just still duanting for the Hawks after last years loss)

We are plodding along and when time comes to step up like we did in the last quarter, we will! However you have beaten Riddell @ Home and Diggers @ Home, but yet to put a win on the board against a quality opposition away!

Not saying this is unachievable, i just can't understand how you think, that a side '6' games undefeated 2 wins 'away' against top 5 sides and 2 'home' wins against 1 top 5 side and one win against a out of form top side, is not as good as a side who has yet to produce a 'decent' win!

Thats just my opinion, i rate all top 5 sides @ the minute and Diggers, i also personnaly believe that Lancefield could possibly cause an upset throughout the year and be a late charge!

We don't need him! And i don't want him! We are better off without!

Somewhat of a shock that a Teammate or someone closely aligned to the club would say this. Not knowing him personally but just going by his record on the footy field its a huge statement to say that you dont need him. Never heard of a team not needing a quality full forward that averaged 10 goals a game for them last year . I also wondered why the likes of IMS and Mongrel who are also very good clubman didnt have an opinion on this or is it just an oversite

C'mon pal you dont get off the hook that lightly, time to be a little arrogant mate, tell us all out here in Forumland how good the Kangas are & where you blokes are gunna put your impending silverware ?

& dont give us any of that "just taking 1 week at a time" crap !

C'mon OMNI... You should know by now that I wont play the arrogant card, I have way too much on my hands attempting to play the "Power" card.

We are just taking it "One quarter at a time" down at Boardman Reserve, very happy where we are at right now and looking forward to consolodating our position in the coming weeks...

How's that for ya :D :thumbsu:

Somewhat of a shock that a Teammate or someone closely aligned to the club would say this. Not knowing him personally but just going by his record on the footy field its a huge statement to say that you dont need him. Never heard of a team not needing a quality full forward that averaged 10 goals a game for them last year . I also wondered why the likes of IMS and Mongrel who are also very good clubman didnt have an opinion on this or is it just an oversite

Thats the thing 'Billy' its an opinion! One in which im entitiled to! However in saying that, the club is bigger than one person! You can't deny the fact that he was a star last year! But in the end i would say that he was more toruble than worth at times! Great bloke, don't get me wrong, but we want to one thing this year, and yes 'Aaron' could help with this, but we can't be dependent on him, when we can't guarantee it's not going to happen again!

The fact there is more to this than meet's the eye but, the fact that he contacted another RDFL club this year for a transfer has me thinking that, i wouldn't want to have him our side at the minute, simply because we have worked so hard to get back on track and rebuild this year, and we are not about to give one bloke who can play 3 games a chance when we travelling fine at the moment! We have spent hours and months training to get where we are, not about to blow it for the sake of one bloke! I wish him the best of luck, he a top bloke, but we have one thing in mind this year and thats 'premiership' glory! If he does go to the club he contacted, then best wishes to them and to Aaron, for the future!

While glad to have you lift the profile of the RDFL. Please don't do it at expense of some clubs, local people moving in to the area (disco duck) wan't unbiased appraisal of clubs from journos. You are on here as yourself and that bring's along your profession with it.

You implied a while ago Macedon used diffrent players and tactics "Using young Under 18 guns Alistair Collins and James Wright in the senior side paid dividends" to beat L/field, these guys play week in and week out. The truth is Macedon were better on the day.

If like the rest of us who are here to stir up debate and have (hopefuly) some fun with it join in but not as a journalist please distinguish between the two.

Keep up good work in the locals.

HFF, the point I was trying to make is that Macedon didn't play them hard in Under 18s that morning. Clearly a smart move that paid dividends. It was differently worded but it must have been changed by editor or sub-editor before it went in the paper.

Sometimes it can be a pain in the arse being a journo, some people wont tell you anything because you're one, some people will tell you EVERYTHING because of the same reason. I would like to think that as a player in this competition, and as a supporter of the RDFL, and as a journo I can remain clear minded when I speak on this forum, in the public and in the paper.

It's not easy and I reckon I've copped more flack off Lancefield than any other club for the stuff I write. It's a no-win situation. You praise them and you're biased according to everyone else, and if you criticise it's because you don't want to be seen as biased according to them.

But don't worry, I take all comments on board. I know I make mistakes sometimes. If I hear people having a crack it means that they are reading! :D

It was a poor statement to make.

Dont forget tonight people... :thumbsu:

This weeks games between the RDFL & WRFL U14 & 18 sides will be played at Soldiers Reserve, Werribee (Melway ref 206 A9). We look forward to all RDFL supporters attending and providing support to our young up and coming sides.

Thats the thing 'Billy' its an opinion! One in which im entitiled to! However in saying that, the club is bigger than one person! You can't deny the fact that he was a star last year! But in the end i would say that he was more toruble than worth at times! Great bloke, don't get me wrong, but we want to one thing this year, and yes 'Aaron' could help with this, but we can't be dependent on him, when we can't guarantee it's not going to happen again!

The fact there is more to this than meet's the eye but, the fact that he contacted another RDFL club this year for a transfer has me thinking that, i wouldn't want to have him our side at the minute, simply because we have worked so hard to get back on track and rebuild this year, and we are not about to give one bloke who can play 3 games a chance when we travelling fine at the moment! We have spent hours and months training to get where we are, not about to blow it for the sake of one bloke! I wish him the best of luck, he a top bloke, but we have one thing in mind this year and thats 'premiership' glory! If he does go to the club he contacted, then best wishes to them and to Aaron, for the future!

fair enough i guess, i was just shocked to read that original comment.

Dont forget tonight people... :thumbsu:

This weeks games between the RDFL & WRFL U14 & 18 sides will be played at Soldiers Reserve, Werribee (Melway ref 206 A9). We look forward to all RDFL supporters attending and providing support to our young up and coming sides.

hey there ims, what are the starting times for the 18's game?
any one we should all look out for? someone look likely to set the old smelly town of werribee alight??