RDFL Thread 2007

Its Doyen Wars me thinks, way to much Philosophy for me.

What will be will be !

Tips for Rnd 16

Diggers - easy

Kangas - easy

Riddell - easy

Romsey - easy

Woodend/Kilmore - draw

Read my post again i didn't say it was their first preference, i said it was their goal

'Read the article again then.. It is not their GOAL either...

My tips for the week:

The Matt Robertson we have come to love over the years to show the competition his full hand and lead the Blues to a season defining victory, pipping the Hawks by any margin under 12 points. Sipthorp to be more than useful for the Hawks, with smaller forwards Dowling and Podbury giving the Blues' defence a few headaches. Expect Colliver to get the gig on Sippy early - doesn't have the build to match it with him - but has the heart and motor to stay with him all match. Salter will miss for the Blues, Barton needs to stand up this week and have his best game for Kilmore if they are to win.

Diggers to take Macedon a little lightly early, before waking up to kick 10+ final half goals to win by over 60 points. Heritage to be prominent.

Melton Central will travel to Boardman Reserve full of confidence but still lack three or four quality players to match Sunbury Kangaroos. Ploog to kick five after his controversially poor performance last week. Should be an enquiry.

Riddell to smash a brave but undermanned Rockbank outfit. My man to rack up 35 possies in the centre and Mick Allen to give Cornish a scare in the race for the RDFL goal kicking award.

Lancefield's grand final will be played at Romsey this Sunday - note people, Sunday game - get there! against the Redbacks. You can bet that every single piece of energy the Tigers possess will be spent in this encounter. Phil Conway v Ryan Connellan in the ruck will be the match-up of the day. Romsey's tall options will stretch the Tigers with Burlak to kick five, Connellan two, Dawson two, Morgan two. The same old performers in Collins, Smithwick, Choate, Conway and Shewan will be the Lancefield's best.

hey not 100 % sure but did hear a whisper that sippy left training early due to a niggling hammy that he suffered last week and is a big chance not to suit upo 2morrow?
is that true?
if so how much dose that help kilmore??

Some Very good posts, i am dissapointed at some people who beleive they are the RDFL. Saying that we should forget the past is a poor statement History is their for a reason to learn from it and hopefully not make the same mistakes as back then,
Now i am only new but if you have a look at some posts how are people ment to head down the one track if some from the same club don't agree with each other.
At lot of water to go under the bridge before anything happens

My tips this Week

Woodend
Kangaroos
Romsey
Diggers
Riddell

Was wondering if anyone had knowledge of why Shane Geddes who was appointed Melton Centrals coach for 2006 was given the flick 3 weeks before the season started. Even a PM would be appreciated.

Information wrong there HTD. Yes it was late but early January is not 3 weeks before the season started. Wasn't given the flick either. He wasn't re-appointed which many now believe was the biggest mistake Melton Centrals have made in their short history.

Harry's Happenings!!

Esteemed readers of the wonderful world of Big Footy, please find listed below the opinionated opinions of one Harry Wilson....

Diggers Rest v Macedon

Sims, Heritage, Jose, Ruane etc..... These guys alone will control the game. There is but one man (kid) that Macedon have that can help steer them out of the middle, Christiansen. Unfortunately for the Cats, their injury list has more names on it than a Chinese phone book. These guys are seriously depleted but none the less will give a brave effort to stop the rampaging Diggers outfit. Another win for Diggers this week will see them back in the hunt for finals, providing Kilmore get beaten, but I'll get to that. The percentage will have no bearing on the finals so Diggers will just need to win. Given that Diggers will face Melton Centrals away next week and then Lancfield at home, one would think that they already have their big toes in the door to the finals. The Cats on the other hand will need to win or kick a respectable score to keep themselves off the bottom of the ladder. Unfortunately there are no draft picks up for grabs, at least no body could accuse them of "tanking". While Macedon have only won the 2 games this year they have been competitive in a fair few, thus giving them a platform to grow from in the years to come. Keep going boys, only a few weeks left. Harry's Tip: Diggers by 8 goals.

Sunbury v Melton Centrals

Despite where either of these two sides are on the ladder, this game will be a belter. Played at Eric Boardman Reserve will have the game in Sunbury's favour, the fact that Sunbury are 3rd on the ladder will have the game in Sunbury's favour also. We all know how Melton can rise up to a challenge set by the higher placed sides and I expect this to be no different. The last time these two sides played the margin was just 19 points going the Kanga's way. A couple of lucky free kicks or some lucky bounces can easily change a game. Expect Wheelahan to get plenty of the ball. The battle of the little blokes should be fantastic, who can get more of it whilst not exceeding a height limit of 5'9", Wheelahan or Bonicci? Helmers should come into his own this week, as Centrals are known for having the bigger bodies, Helmers' frame and know-how will see the Centrals boys looking over their shoulders. In Harry's opinion, it should be the Kangas home by about 10 goals, but, I say again, but, I think Centrals will get closer, a lot closer. Harry's Tip: Sunbury by 16 points.

Riddell v Rockbank

David v Goliath, Pickles v Mike Lyon (oops...sorry Pickles:D). I would love nothing more than to see the Rams get up on Riddell's home soil, knocking off the top of the table. It would be fantastic for the RDFL. Great for the Rams of course, and also good the Bombers, you see, a loss at this time of year, especially to the bottom side would light the biggest "bugger off" fire in the guts of the boys from Bomber Land, thus inspiring them to a 3rd successive flag. Hang on, what am I saying, I don't want to inspire those guys:eek:. Walker, Krul, Shirley and Saxon will have a massive job ahead of them as they tackle Bowenmedal, oops, I mean Belville, Blade and Allen. The Rams will be full of energy and enthusiasm this week although I don't think it will amount to much. The Rams will stick with Riddell for a fair portion of the day and will only beaten in patches of the game i.e. 10 mins of the 2nd quarter, 5 mins of the 3rd quarter and last 10 mins of the last quarter.
Harry's Tip: Riddell by 13 goals.

Kilmore v Woodend Heskett

Again, another "DO OR DIE" affair for the Blues. The Blues were very good last week against a lackluster Romsey outfit. The Redbacks were bad, but take nothing away from Kilmore, they were the better side on the day. I think this game may genuinely be a close encounter. In round 7 earlier this year the Hawks smashed the Blues by 79 points at Gilbert Gordon. Can the Blues carry on their journey to the finals with an upset here or should they pencil in their first pre-season session now? Ohh how Harry would like to see Kilmore get over the Hawks this week (it gives Romsey a shot at 3rd!!) but the reality is I don't think Kilmore can back it up 2 weeks in a row. Having a look at their last 2 games after this one, Macedon at Tony Clarke Reserve and Rockbank at JJ Clancey, it would seem they have more than their big toes in the door of the finals. Robbo will need to give Pickles a hard on this week, Cornish needs to kick 10 and Kemp needs to sit in the hole in front of Barker. Duffy was exceptional last week and will need to play a similar role, clogging up the opposition's forwards line and repelling like a man possessed. Sipthorpe, Barker, Stacey, Salpietro, Ng, Bowen. The Hawks look too strong for Harry. Harry's Tip: Woodend by 22 points.

Romsey v Lancefield

The true "Local Derby". This game is probably the biggest rivalry in the RDFL. The Tigers play their Grand Final this week and will throw everything they have at Romsey. The Redbacks, coming off a very dissapointing loss, will be setting themselves up for a huge win. The scores are normally high with both sides using every opportunity to score when they go forward. Smithwick will be keen to get the better of a very good Romsey backline while the 3 x C's; Choate, Collins and Conway will be at their best to try to out-smart the Romsey onballers. Connellan, I belive, holds the key to Romsey's success. If he gets his hands on the prune first in the middle the Redbacks can penetrate their forward line and score goals quickly, likewise with their run off half back. Sam Graham will need to put his skates on if he is to damage the Redbacks on the wing, something he has failed to do over the last few weeks. Tim Collins (Steven Milne look-alike) will need to play-alike Milne this week for the Tigers to get up. It's a proven fact that these two sides dis-like each other immensly and will do anything to hurt the other side. Romsey have Riddell at Riddell the following week and will then have to host Woodend, while Lancefield, who won't be playing finals, have Sunbury Kangaroos and Diggers Rest. This should be an absolute ball tearer on Sunday. Get there if you can get away from the missus!!! Harry's Tip: Romsey 7 goals.

That's the Happening's for this week. Good luck to those pulling them on:thumbsu:

Harry Wilson

Do we really want to turn into a league where we need to start spending big dollars to try and stay competitive? As a long time Diggers supporter I would hate for my club to lose the brilliant atmosphere and togetherness it currently enjoys because we were forced to start paying big dollars to try and stay competitive on field. I have no issue with the clubs that want to come back other than it would promote teams spending more money on players from outside which I think would dilute the great atmosphere our league currently has.

Checked out all todays results on RDFL site,great to see the burra back in the 5 .But honestly we talk about how even this comp is ,1st plays Last ,margin 33pts.To me that is a great Result 4 the League Even in the ressies Rockbank were in front @ 3/4 time .
To the catters ,you guys thought the game out the whole day.Also to Macedon Ressies who only had 10 players once stage,but started with 16 :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: Never gave in.Even coach Newman gave them praise .

It's hard to make of today's clash between Kilmore and Woodend-Hesket. On the scoreboard, the Hawks dominated the Blues. In general play, it was the same. Woodend-Hesket were awesome for 90% of the game, Kilmore just 20%. The Hawks simply were too fast, too strong, too tall, too committed, too disciplined for the Blues.

Did Kilmore play poorly? Absolutely. But it wasn't through lack of trying. The players attempted to bring their A-game but Woodend-Hesket simply didn't allow them to. At one stage the Blues kicked five unanswered goals, proving that they had the players and skill to match or topple the Hawks. But the visitors never game in a typically Woodend-Hesket team effort, powered home to take the match.

Don't be fooled by the best players, Salpietro wasn't best on ground. While he was good working up the forward flank/wing, Morton was clearly best in my opinion, followed by Sipthorp, Ng, Downing and Barker. Barnes did a good job on Digger but once again the Blues midfielders didn't make it easy for their defenders. Robbo was sensational for Kilmore, but I thought Jason King was the home side's best player with the skipper a close second.

For Kilmore fans, they now need to defeat Macedon (away) and Rockbank (home) and hope that Diggers Rest lose to either Melton Central (MacPherson Park) or Lancefield (Diggers Rest). I think the Centrals are Kilmore's best bet of an upset victory. Hopefully for the Blues' sake Mark Greenshields can get his men up for a stellar victory.

Centrals played a good brand of football against a close to full strength roos, leading at half time with a good game plan, the roos ran over them in the end. To beat Diggers next week they will need to play for 4 quarters and I believe they are more than capable of doing Kilmore a favour.

diggers massive chance

Do we really want to turn into a league where we need to start spending big dollars to try and stay competitive? As a long time Diggers supporter I would hate for my club to lose the brilliant atmosphere and togetherness it currently enjoys because we were forced to start paying big dollars to try and stay competitive on field. I have no issue with the clubs that want to come back other than it would promote teams spending more money on players from outside which I think would dilute the great atmosphere our league currently has.

That's true. Money has started becoming the soul obect in the Central Murray Football League with Balranald spending huge amounts of money on players..and from all accounts this has caused plenty of in-fighting and the coach who they lured with a 70 grand a year business is not happy at all - he wanted to play a few of the young kids who work hard but the guy who puts all the money said somethin along the lines of "no. i pick the side", the coach Shaun Filo was not happy at all about this..and even considered leaving the club halfway through the season..
it would be disappointing if many country vic clubs started following in balranald's footsteps..

I remember "Coach Newman" was highly praised when he got you away from the Diggers Rest Football Club. You fat (word that rhymes with bunt)...

As for getting me away from the club it was always going to be my last season with Diggers as I had moved to Sydney mid-season (which didn't work out) or to spend a couple of seasons with Geds before he retired. Newman had no part in my decision to leave.

Coach Newman has a very short memory of who got him the coaching position at Diggers. They struggled so badly to lure a 2's coach they went for someone with no ability after I made the call to a committee member and set up the initial interview. People forget that Glen runs the 2's and Newman is his bi**h.

It's hard to make of today's clash between Kilmore and Woodend-Hesket. On the scoreboard, the Hawks dominated the Blues. In general play, it was the same. Woodend-Hesket were awesome for 90% of the game, Kilmore just 20%. The Hawks simply were too fast, too strong, too tall, too committed, too disciplined for the Blues.

Did Kilmore play poorly? Absolutely. But it wasn't through lack of trying. The players attempted to bring their A-game but Woodend-Hesket simply didn't allow them to. At one stage the Blues kicked five unanswered goals, proving that they had the players and skill to match or topple the Hawks. But the visitors never game in a typically Woodend-Hesket team effort, powered home to take the match.

Don't be fooled by the best players, Salpietro wasn't best on ground. While he was good working up the forward flank/wing, Morton was clearly best in my opinion, followed by Sipthorp, Ng, Downing and Barker. Barnes did a good job on Digger but once again the Blues midfielders didn't make it easy for their defenders. Robbo was sensational for Kilmore, but I thought Jason King was the home side's best player with the skipper a close second.

Good wrap-up Matt-only got one or two things wrong mate (in my humble opinion). You're looking at Robbo with rose coloured glasses my friend. Robertson wasn't great but serviceable. Didn't man -up, doesn't get enough contested ball and got too many possys in the back half behind the play. Credit to most Kilmore players who provided spectators with some great passages of play and a hard fought contest. It was Unfortunate for the Kilmore players who put in a sustained effort over the course of the game to be let down by a few of their more undisciplined comrades who were more intent on getting stuck into Sippy than putting their head over the ball. All the best to Kilmore for the remaining games-still hope they sneak in -would be a wonderful effort!
Didn't throw Banga ( The unassuming assassin ;)) )into you're best Matt. Thought he was a little more than serviceable!

Good wrap-up Matt-only got one or two things wrong mate (in my humble opinion). You're looking at Robbo with rose coloured glasses my friend. Robertson wasn't great but serviceable. Didn't man -up, doesn't get enough contested ball and got too many possys in the back half behind the play. Credit to most Kilmore players who provided spectators with some great passages of play and a hard fought contest. It was Unfortunate for the Kilmore players who put in a sustained effort over the course of the game to be let down by a few of their more undisciplined comrades who were more intent on getting stuck into Sippy than putting their head over the ball. All the best to Kilmore for the remaining games-still hope they sneak in -would be a wonderful effort!
Didn't throw Banga ( The unassuming assassin ;)) )into you're best Matt. Thought he was a little more than serviceable!

i wasnt at the game woody but with a side getting beaten by 50 odd points most would say that the ball would have been in the backline for kilmore for a fair proportion of the game, so be where the ball is at or where it is going to be. to everyone- anyways its rdfl and you all have got opinions as though everyone on here has played 420 games of afl football,(and im pretty sure tucky wouldnt post on bf) every player goes out to give 100% and if an on-looker thinks someone played well than so be it, how bout you voice your opinion on who you think played well in a positive manner, pretty sure none of these guys from any teams in the comp play this standard of footy for anything else but enjoyment.

well anyways well fought out by rockbank yesterday but we can all say riddell can afford to take their foot off the pedal every now and then, good game by belleville, boy just keeps going and going and going doesnt he, this kind of consistancy might well bring the bowen back to riddell:)

Fellas, Nichollenko made his much anticipated return to football today. Under the coaching regime of Simon O'Donnell and Billy Brownless, the 20-year-old showed the crowd his exciting speed, amazing skill and ball winning ability.

At Assumption College for Ray Carroll's 50th year testimonial, I pulled the boots on for the former ACK champions against the current First XVIII. In a shaky opening five minutes I struggled to pick up the tempo of the game, but snuck forward to give off a nice goal just before qtr time. In the second qtr it appeared as if the ACK boys didn't hear about my Leo Barry-esque mark against Kilmore's reserves in round two and I was without an opponent in the second term. Sneaking to the pocket, I took a fair dinkum screamer (simple mark) 45 metres from goal (10 metres) and on a 90 degree angle (45). In front of a 1000-strong crowd at the Main Oval. Nichollenko calmly went back and slotted what appeared to be a match winner.

Unfortunately my legs were unable to run out four quarters so i spent half the third term resting up, only to see teammates such as Adam Pickering, Bo Nixon and Jon Henry let the side down and let the schoolboys overrun us. In all seriousness it was a fantastic day for one of Australia's most iconic sporting legends. Ray Carroll has done so much for the students at Assumption College over the past 50 years and it was a fitting tribute for the great man.

Champion Data says I finished with 4 kicks, 5 handballs, 2 tackles, 3 marks, 1 goal assist, and 1 goal.

I'm now very bloody sore and a hot bath beckons Nichollenko, who has hung the boots back up until another cameo beckons.

i wasnt at the game woody but with a side getting beaten by 50 odd points most would say that the ball would have been in the backline for kilmore for a fair proportion of the game, so be where the ball is at or where it is going to be. to everyone- anyways its rdfl and you all have got opinions as though everyone on here has played 420 games of afl football,(and im pretty sure tucky wouldnt post on bf) every player goes out to give 100% and if an on-looker thinks someone played well than so be it, how bout you voice your opinion on who you think played well in a positive manner, pretty sure none of these guys from any teams in the comp play this standard of footy for anything else but enjoyment.

well anyways well fought out by rockbank yesterday but we can all say riddell can afford to take their foot off the pedal every now and then, good game by belleville, boy just keeps going and going and going doesnt he, this kind of consistancy might well bring the bowen back to riddell:)

Pete’s Pies, if you had read my post carefully you'd notice i metioned Robertson played a serviceable game-fairly positive comment I would have thought-certainly not scathing. If i'm to disagree with Matt Nicholls (although i did mention it was a good wrap-up) i assume he would want me to justify my comments rather than rattle off something about everyone thinks they've played 420 games of AFL on this site bla bla bla. Would i be right Matt in assuming that? Not disputing Robbo being a good player but did dispute that he played superbly. Just for the record Pete, if players are to sweep the defensive side of play as an onballer then it generally means there's a opposition onballer running loose (perhaps he was instructed to do that)-On the weekend Robbo’s direct opponent was Adam Johnstone who i thought played a very good first half and was pivotal in getting our team into a winning position. I dont mean to be too forthright with my comments Pete, but playing 421 games of AFL footy will do that to you.

wouldn't suprise me if coach Newman praised himself on a stella coaching effort against 10 men........

jesus blueboy16, please move on from the newman sledging, everyone is getting so sick of it. you are no longer there so how about writing something positive for once, they (the 2nds)aren't missing you that much if they are winning easy most weeks.

just on other note , today at the sunbury under 14a semi between sunbury and gisborne during the 3rd quarter gisborne were caught having 19 players on the field and the umps did a count and gisbornes total score was wiped off and they ended up losing by 33 points. pretty poor coaching by the gisborne coach , i feel sorry for the young fellows, but i still think sunbury would of one anyway.