RDFL Thread 2007

Dont think that Peter Robertson played enough Seniors.. Only reason.. John Rowe at his best is easily in the top ten in the league, first I have heard that he wont be playing this year...

nor did Scotty Clark???? and John Rowe at his best may push top 10, but this was not the case last year. and to have straney in there, who from recollection only played 2 or 3 good games had me baffled, but i guess it was picked on potential and reputation??? cant argue with most other selections though

Geez, ready to cop a pasting for this.. But here goes..

That's Special Top 50 preseason 2007
(Not including players that are confirmed leaving or new players to league)

1. M.Robertson (Kilmore)
2. S.Sims (Diggers Rest)
3. J.Jose (Diggers Rest)
4. J.Allen (Riddell)
5. M.McInerney (Kangaroos)
6. C.Laurie (Diggers Rest)
7. K.Ng (Woodend)
8. S.Ruane (Diggers Rest)
9. H.Wadden (Riddell)
10. J.Rowe (Kilmore)
11. A.James (Kangaroos)
12. T.Lyons (Centrals)
13. M.Peatling (Riddell)
14. D.Cuinik (Woodend)
15. L.McInerney (Kangaroos)
16. M.Andrews (Riddell)
17. S.Choate (Lancefield)
18. G.Ploog (Kangaroos)
19. A.Blade (Riddell)
20. M.McClellan (Romsey)
21. M.Lacy (Woodend)
22. J.Bellville (Riddell)
23. S.Clark (Lancefield)
24. L.Barker (Woodend)
25. B.Morgan (Diggers Rest)
26. G.Robertson (Riddell)
27. R.Johnson (Kangaroos)
28. R.Dowling (Woodend)
29. J.King (Kangaroos)
30. J.Heritage (Diggers Rest)
31. B.Wheelahan (Centrals)
32. A.Christianson (Macedon)
33. S.Burlak (Romsey)
34. W.Else (Woodend)
35. B.Green (Diggers Rest)
36. J.Tully (Lancefield)
37. S.Woodroffe (Rockbank)
38. M.Nolan (Diggers Rest)
39. D.Niki (Kangaroos)
40. J.Wright (Macedon)
41. D.Helmers (Kangaroos)
42. J.Ploog (Kangaroos)
43. R.Straney (Kilmore)
44. J.Shewan (Lancefield)
45. L.Harrison (Riddell)
46. M.Goodyear (Woodend)
47. N.Ash (Riddell)
48. C.Payne (Diggers Rest)
49. T.Leggett (Woodend)
50. L.Sporle (Kangaroos)
Good on you T.S. for having a dip, but only 1 young gun you could fit in ? & I suspect you only noticed that star of the future due to the fact the tallent pool at his club doesnt run that deep ! That other Robo' boy from Riddell did play half the season in the ones I believe & correct me if I'm wrong polled pretty well in the Bowen I think ?
I reakon this season could see the emergence of some real quallity players in our league, courtesy of " OUR " Draft.......... The under 18s, the standard of footy diplayed by these young men in those two Interleague games was nothing short of phenomenal ! & I am certain they will all have a huge impact (if they havent allready) on their senior teams.

Romsey who most feel will struggle after their much publicised departures will be bolstered by the likes of Rohan Burgess, Phil Romeril, ball magnets Ben Sullivan & Danny Harrison plus proven senior gun forward Cam Dawson have a lot feel optomistic about in the 2007 season.

Macedon can be confident that their two young stars in James (Nipper) Wright & Alister Collins will continue to shine bright & between them continue to gather many damaging possesions, wilst Kilmore & Rockbank have Dynamo players ready made in Travis Hede (great pedigree) & Matt Krul (league B&F) respectively.

The enigmatic game breaker Mick Kilty will again be a stand out for Diggers, & you at Kangaland T.S. must be salivating at the prospect of Paul Newton & Shayne Watson making their presence felt on the park, come round 1 ?

Now to who I believe will be the really big improvers this season & thats Woodend, due mainly to the influx of a great bunch of young goers that will compliment what is already a handy unit. What team would'nt improve with the talents of Mat Stacey, Jay Downing, Ben Shipard,the under rated Dan Eastley, tenacious Jack Germaine & the amazing Bowen boys as regular inclusions ? Whether these stars are enough to bridge the yawning gap to the Premiership only time will tell but they will certainly make a significant contribution up at the Hawks & give their loyal bunch of vocal supporters (re... Ferals) something to cheer about !

And Riddell........ what a group they have got coming through, forget about who they are loosing their kids are phenomenal ! & they dont know how to loose ! they have been together that long beating all comers including Sunbury in A grade 16s that it is just second nature to them. A huge plus for them to is they are versitile. I want Scooters job this year ! engrave the cup now, Riddell are home ! & the scary thing is we may have to get used to them winning the big one for quite a few more years if they keep this group together. Dour & courageous Ryan Leitch, relentless & exciting James Petran, flamboyant David Earl, racehorse Ricky Elliott, intrepid & ever reliable James Climas, & of course the Rolls Royce Peter Robinson.

Watch these names at your clubs people they wont disappoint in season 2007 !

& my tip for the Bowen.................................Michael Lacy Woodend.
Takes a great grab, big kick, can turn a game & he's got BLONDE HAIR !

Good to see someone who can make valid points when looking at the list OMNI... I agree totally with you and by the halfway mark of the season when I redo this list, I could easily see it peppered by some of these young names...
I agonized over the leaving out of a few of these kids, Robbo, Climas, Hede, Dawson and even Paul Newton.. But decided that out of the 18's that played seniors only Nipper really played all year, Trav as well, he may have been unlucky to miss out, but thought he was a little disappointing in the 2nd half of the season. Robbo is going to be a superstar, and its good to see kids starting to come through and have an impact in senior footy, and believe me, I dont think that anyone would dare not acknowledge the impact that some of these kids will have.. Especially at Riddell and Woodend. Matt Stacey was left out of the list and on reflection could consider himself unlucky. But I, like you OMNI, am excited at the prospect of some of these kids next year and into the future years.. Its a good time to be part of the RDFL.. I will redo the list a week before the start of the season(for players coming in that I know of), the halfway mark and at the end of the year and lets see whether it changes.

Im surprised that no one picked up on the real one glaring omission from this list... It was only from oversight, not from being left out, but Dean Besanko would fit easily into this list, somewhere in the top 20...

good post omnipotent, yeah dean besanko(bomber) he is a very very good player and can play anywhere on ground! i would say that matt stacey was stiff 2 miss out, in my view one of the best 3 or 4 ruckmen in the league, and a bloody good bloke too!
kilmore has lost a few young players from last year, john saunders has gone to america for the yr, and evan mills has osteitis pubis( torn heart string) and says he wont b playin football this year! but its still lookin good at kilmore with a bit more experience coming in! Robbo lookin fitter n stronger than ever!
woodend are my tip though atm for flag!
are riddell keeping all there young guns?

also riddells "Robbo" that kid can play, even though he might not have played every senior game, both times he played against kilmore he dominated! has soooo much class, as omni said "rolls royce"
cheers

Can anyone tell me where to find the RDFL transfer list on the website?
VCFL transfers opened today, is the the Same with footy vic?

Yeah Scotty they opened today, couple being filled out at Roo land last night, and couple more to come! Be interesting to see which clubs have picked up who over the pre-season!

Good turn up last night for the roos with more than 35 on the track including a number of under 18s. also a number of senior players looking very keen for the 07 season. new faces also look to be good pick ups.

yeah it was a good turn out last nite blues.i bet the boys are very sore today.all except u.i cant beleive u pulled out half way thru.soft.lol.
but thats ok pal,u were probably sick of coming last in the sprints.at least next week u wont be in my group.u will be demoted to Z group

Had to put the parachutte harness on you to slow you down last night Deano! Unlike to Emu with the blitzing pace up front then bang, nowwhere to be sighted! He'll tell you he had el-presidento issue's to commit to, you bet! Some keen boys raring to go this year, after some injuries to them last year eg; Dummy, Matty Welsh, You, both grubs! Feeling it, bloody oath, even Dave is feeling it today!

daves a little running machine.and yes i was very impressed with dummy and matty welsh.joeb looks in ripper nick.we all knew grub would be flying.
but what about mark mcinerny?super.
just wait 4 the push ups,chin ups and sit ups housey.the mongrel loves em.
good 2 see u fit and firing last nite

yeah it was a good turn out last nite blues.i bet the boys are very sore today.all except u.i cant beleive u pulled out half way thru.soft.lol.
but thats ok pal,u were probably sick of coming last in the sprints.at least next week u wont be in my group.u will be demoted to Z group

last in the sprints! i doubt it, not when your in my group, but i am sore, due to the injury i received running about 5 steps in front of you. Come on mongrel you know i'll be close to the tail anything over 500m, but under 200 You will only be seeing my fat ass.
As for next week we shall see.:D

last in the sprints! i doubt it, not when your in my group, but i am sore, due to the injury i received running about 5 steps in front of you. Come on mongrel you know i'll be close to the tail anything over 500m, but under 200 You will only be seeing my fat ass.
As for next week we shall see.:D

sorry trev,i dont know what your smoking mate.but u finished about a kilometre behind me in the long distance run.and as 4 the sprints,firstly u didnt run any of them,and secondly if u can beat me in a sprint over 50 meters ill retire monday night.besides i recall leaving u in the dust over the 400 meter race as well.

Geez, ready to cop a pasting for this.. But here goes..

That's Special Top 50 preseason 2007
(Not including players that are confirmed leaving or new players to league)

1. M.Robertson (Kilmore)
2. S.Sims (Diggers Rest)
3. J.Jose (Diggers Rest)
4. J.Allen (Riddell)
5. M.McInerney (Kangaroos)
6. C.Laurie (Diggers Rest)
7. K.Ng (Woodend)
8. S.Ruane (Diggers Rest)
9. H.Wadden (Riddell)
10. J.Rowe (Kilmore)
11. A.James (Kangaroos)
12. T.Lyons (Centrals)
13. M.Peatling (Riddell)
14. D.Cuinik (Woodend)
15. L.McInerney (Kangaroos)
16. M.Andrews (Riddell)
17. S.Choate (Lancefield)
18. G.Ploog (Kangaroos)
19. A.Blade (Riddell)
20. M.McClellan (Romsey)
21. M.Lacy (Woodend)
22. J.Bellville (Riddell)
23. S.Clark (Lancefield)
24. L.Barker (Woodend)
25. B.Morgan (Diggers Rest)
26. G.Robertson (Riddell)
27. R.Johnson (Kangaroos)
28. R.Dowling (Woodend)
29. J.King (Kangaroos)
30. J.Heritage (Diggers Rest)
31. B.Wheelahan (Centrals)
32. A.Christianson (Macedon)
33. S.Burlak (Romsey)
34. W.Else (Woodend)
35. B.Green (Diggers Rest)
36. J.Tully (Lancefield)
37. S.Woodroffe (Rockbank)
38. M.Nolan (Diggers Rest)
39. D.Niki (Kangaroos)
40. J.Wright (Macedon)
41. D.Helmers (Kangaroos)
42. J.Ploog (Kangaroos)
43. R.Straney (Kilmore)
44. J.Shewan (Lancefield)
45. L.Harrison (Riddell)
46. M.Goodyear (Woodend)
47. N.Ash (Riddell)
48. C.Payne (Diggers Rest)
49. T.Leggett (Woodend)
50. L.Sporle (Kangaroos)

Good effort TS but your comment on Lacy not having enough impact in big games is a long way off mark. I saw him dominate in first final against Diggers at Centrals ground and was clearly one of woodends best all thru finals.
Good to see veteran Mick Goodyear sneak in, apparently he may have hung them up this year which is a great loss for hawks as new group of young stars come through.

Will have a go at my top 20:
1. Sipthorpe (almost certain starter at hawks)
2. Sims
3. Robertson
4. Allen
5. C Collins (C/C of Tiges and can play)
6. Laurie
7. M McInerney
8. McLellan
9. Jose
10. Lacey (likely to miss a few due to work)
11. Christianson
12. Kemp (back at Kilmore)
13. Ruane
14. Wadden
15. Ng
16. G Ploog
17. Andrews
18. A Johnstone (woodend capt)
19. S Choate
20. R Martin (flashy redhead back for hawks)

Realise there is a woodend bias but seen more of there games than others over past couple of years. Battle for flag very tight between Riddell, Diggers, Kangas & Hawks. My tip: Hawks over Roos in tight one....

Thats fine Footyhead... Like I said, its just my opinion on Lacy.. In the 2 losing finals he just didn't have as big an impact as he should have.. But thats just my opinion..

I didnt include the new guys into the comp.. Will do so on my start of season list.. The one's I know of anyways.. Heard Sipthorpe was no chance of leaving Gissy...

Thats fine Footyhead... Like I said, its just my opinion on Lacy.. In the 2 losing finals he just didn't have as big an impact as he should have.. But thats just my opinion..

I didnt include the new guys into the comp.. Will do so on my start of season list.. The one's I know of anyways.. Heard Sipthorpe was no chance of leaving Gissy...

2/2/2007n/aSCOTT, Rick From EXT.: Riddell District Football League > Sunbury KangaroosMelton SouthIn Progress