RDFL Thread 2007

vantheman, doona, other kilmore posters,
confirmed today that the move is on. looking to move up mid to late june.
wondering if you fellas might know of anyone looking for a roommate for 12 months or so. hoping by then to have funds to buy. i think the boss is going to ask around as well, but thought i'd approach you fellas too.

i do know a couple of boys keen to move but i think they already lookin at rentals and are keen to be out in next 3 or so weeks....sure there will be someone about though disco - just make sure you get a clearance in by june 30 to make sure you can get out there n be part of what looks like being a good year for the blues!!

good read on the rdfl website for round 2 pickles, though i must say even as a kilmore player i might have gone for the woodend or romsey coach for the coach of the round considering their results were far more significant, no disrespect to lancefield but looking at the stock of players from last year to this year i think the result was always on the cards...

certainly makes for a ripper at romsey this week with the redbacks and the kangas to battle it out to be on top and unbeaten with woodend after 3 rounds (barring a major upset)

good read on the rdfl website for round 2 pickles, though i must say even as a kilmore player i might have gone for the woodend or romsey coach for the coach of the round considering their results were far more significant, no disrespect to lancefield but looking at the stock of players from last year to this year i think the result was always on the cards...

certainly makes for a ripper at romsey this week with the redbacks and the kangas to battle it out to be on top and unbeaten with woodend after 3 rounds (barring a major upset)

Fair point Duff, but I think Terry deserved his kudos this week. He has his men playing an excellent style of football and I don't know if any side would have beaten Kilmore on the weekend. Believe it or not, but the full squad list indicates that Lancefield is a little bit better than last year. A few key injuries and lacking a bit of confidence is hurting them at the moment. I'm sure the Tigers will be a better side after Round 18 than they were after Round 18 last season.

i do know a couple of boys keen to move but i think they already lookin at rentals and are keen to be out in next 3 or so weeks....sure there will be someone about though disco - just make sure you get a clearance in by june 30 to make sure you can get out there n be part of what looks like being a good year for the blues!!

thanks goblues. well, keep me posted if anything comes up - maybe they want a third?

i read with interest about your win over the weekend. i am looking forward to having a kick with you. i'm just having a run around in the d3 ammos at the moment, trying to get a bit of fitness up before i get up your way. like i've said in the past, i'm really only in it for fun nowadays - think my ones days are past me. should be good though.

Fair point Duff, but I think Terry deserved his kudos this week. He has his men playing an excellent style of football and I don't know if any side would have beaten Kilmore on the weekend. Believe it or not, but the full squad list indicates that Lancefield is a little bit better than last year. A few key injuries and lacking a bit of confidence is hurting them at the moment. I'm sure the Tigers will be a better side after Round 18 than they were after Round 18 last season.
Sorry Matty, but goblues is right, comparative results to the games played would have the Woodend and Romsey coaches well ahead of Terry as coach of the round, without question.

vantheman, doona, other kilmore posters,
confirmed today that the move is on. looking to move up mid to late june.
wondering if you fellas might know of anyone looking for a roommate for 12 months or so. hoping by then to have funds to buy. i think the boss is going to ask around as well, but thought i'd approach you fellas too.

I reckon a house with Trav Hede and Duffy would be a pretty entertaining environment, try getting onto them two :thumbsu:

Somehow Donn i can't see Duffy and Trav in the same house! Something tell's me with hede getting married soon (cough December) that he will be wanting any spare room in his house he can find! He'll be having kids soon!
:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

From all accounts Hedey she's got some coin!!! You could buy discoduck a house! He could be employeed fulltime as your butler! Duff can be your chauffeur! Goudge can be your butler! Robbo your PA!

Mr Nicholls i noted your absence in the best players for lancefield twos. did you play?? You didn't give your team much of rap

I played, but very poorly. Took a couple of grabs, one ripper in defence but that's it. Tried hard but was stuck in the forward pocket for a half. Hopefully the Tiger twos can perform a little better against Woodsy this weekend.

As for giving them a wrap, both sides got thumped, so I don't think there would be too many positives to write about.

a few home truths mr nicholls.you are so biassed towards the teams in your area.lancefield are very damn ordinary.thus an improved kilmore outfit should flog them.woodend,romsey and sunbury have coaches doing a great job at the moment by beating good opposition.taking nothing away from the kilmore coaching,im just not suprised u picked him as coach of the round.perhaps by round 9 u might find time 2 mention some of the quality teams as well as kilmore and a very ordinary lancefield

Spot on pal :thumbsu: .

& moreover no team up that way will make the five !

But it is good to have those teams in, for boosting ones percentage !

Have to be realistic Van.. There has been a strong bias in recent articles by Mr Nicholls, it has been pretty obvious.. Romsey, Lancefield and Kilmore have been on the good end of most reports so far.. I realise Matt is with the Kilmore free press, but on here and the RDFL website it isn't a cornered market as such. So hopefully in future articles we will have more of a balance throughout the league and just a touch less favoritism... :thumbsu:

I'll take that fellas, I think you're spot on.

However, I will defend myself slightly.

Firstly, it is impossible to see each and every match over weekend. Thus making it hard to comment.

I speak to a number of people from other games and get an idea of what happens. This weekend for example I will be attending the Woodend-Hesket v Lancefield, Romsey v Sunbury Kangaroos, Wallan v Lalor and Kilmore v Melton Central matches.

All four games run at the same time so it's hard to see more than a quarter.

It's natural that I am biased towards Kilmore and Romsey in particular because I know the ins and outs of the club better than others. Therefore I know their potential and their expectations.

As for Lancefield, well I get ridiculed if I talk them up and criticised if I give them a spray .. can't win. However, many expected the Tigers to improve this season before Round 1.

As the season progresses, I will continually get a more detailled and better understanding of the other clubs, with a particular interest in Sunbury Kangaroos and Woodend-Hesket. It will also interesting to see how Diggers Rest respond after a couple of early losses.

While I may be writing a lot about Kilmore, Lancefield and Romsey, the majority of people on this thread want to talk about Diggers and the Roos because that's who they support.

I played, but very poorly. Took a couple of grabs, one ripper in defence but that's it. Tried hard but was stuck in the forward pocket for a half. Hopefully the Tiger twos can perform a little better against Woodsy this weekend.

As for giving them a wrap, both sides got thumped, so I don't think there would be too many positives to write about.

hey there matt just wondering what number you are, i will be attending the game at Gilbert Gordon and would just like to follow the progress of you, just would like 2 see if you can back the mouth up with some actions, weather its 2's or 1's footy, cheers mate.
a progress report on Mr Nicholls will be post some time next week,

watch this space.........................................

You do a good job in your stories Matt into the clubs up your way, fair enough! But it pisses me off when you do summaries for the whole league after a round and you haven't watched half the games played!

You missed the Sunbury v Diggers in round 1! And in round 2 you should have put more focus into Woodend V Riddell!

I know ya can't be everywhere but consistenly week in, week out from last year, all you did was comment about Kilmore, Romsey and Lancefield!

I know your employeed by the press, but if your do wrap ups for the RDFL the whole year, make sure you look outside the 30km radius to which you work and live please!

Sources say you did take a fair grab in the twos with your eyes wide shut, drifting across the front of a pack of three kilmore blokes! Also heard from a team mate of yours, that mark was all you talked about Saturday afternoon!

Im criticsing you constructively, that you need to look outside your area, in order for people to percieve you as a good Journo!

Eddie McGuire when reporting the district cricket in Essendon 20 odd years ago, did not just do his club but the whole league! He rode his bike to every game accesable on a Saturday's and Sundays in order to be sucessful and for people to take his opinions and stories on board!

So on ya bike son, and get to more games! JK!

You do a good job in your stories Matt into the clubs up your way, fair enough! But it pisses me off when you do summaries for the whole league after a round and you haven't watched half the games played!

You missed the Sunbury v Diggers in round 1! And in round 2 you should have put more focus into Woodend V Riddell!

I know ya can't be everywhere but consistenly week in, week out from last year, all you did was comment about Kilmore, Romsey and Lancefield!

I know your employeed by the press, but if your do wrap ups for the RDFL the whole year, make sure you look outside the 30km radius to which you work and live please!

Sources say you did take a fair grab in the twos with your eyes wide shut, drifting across the front of a pack of three kilmore blokes! Also heard from a team mate of yours, that mark was all you talked about Saturday afternoon!

Im criticsing you constructively, that you need to look outside your area, in order for people to percieve you as a good Journo!

Eddie McGuire when reporting the district cricket in Essendon 20 odd years ago, did not just do his club but the whole league! He rode his bike to every game accesable on a Saturday's and Sundays in order to be sucessful and for people to take his opinions and stories on board!

You're a fool if you think I can get to any more games than I already do. Cricket goes for half a day, footy goes for three hours. And honestly, what would you prefer:

Half-baked crap about stuff I didn't see; or

Detailed coverage about what I did see.

Don't forget, I use my free-time to write the stuff for the RDFL. It's a non-paid favour to a very good league. My first and foremost priorities lie with The Free Press, which you cannot argue is the best local newspaper covering sport.

As for the mark, the eyes were closed and I think it was the first contested mark I've ever taken! :D

Itsmy Round 3 Preview

Round 3

Woodend/Hesket Vs Lancefield:
The Hawks have played some good football in the first 2 rounds and have been sure to make a statement early with a win over reigning premier Riddell last week. Coach Giddings has the boys up and running and some good performances early from youngsters Stacey and Shippard would be promising for the Hawks, the key to the Hawks are thier 2nd stringers. Rick Dowling back in the lineup will be dangerous up forward, Shippard will get under the guard of the opposition, if the Hawks keep getting strong performances from Cuinik, Fennell and Forrest as well as Arnold, they will be tough to beat all year.
The Tigers were flogged last week, they have some good young kids down at Tigerland but they are a long way away from being a competitor in this league at the moment, with players to come back into the side they will improve a little but no where near enough.
Woodend by 130

Rockbank Vs Diggers Rest:
This game couldn't come at a better time for a Diggers Rest side a little under siege. Diggers have, probably unfairly, had thier side questioned over the past 2 weeks on whether they have the ability to be atop the ladder again in 07. Whilst they have begun slowly they have also done this over the past 2 years. This game will give them the opportunity to focus on game plans and structure and play some players into form.
The Rams were good last week without getting a win and will be looking to put pressure around the ground on a side out of form. The Rams will need plenty from players such as Jason Welfare and Tom Mainey. The Rams have improved this year but not good enough this year.
Diggers by 130

Kilmore Vs Melton Central:
This game could shape as one of the more interesting games of the round.
Kilmore dismantled an undermanned Lancefield last week and pushed Riddell all the way in Round 1. The blues have better balance this year and they are getting plenty from the guys outside the big names, Adam Goudge has been near best both weeks and the blues expect big things from the George brothers. Terry Ahern has Kilmore well drilled and they will make a run at finals this year.
Centrals had a tough hitout against Rockbank last week and only just got home. But they have quality footballers and if Kilmore take them lightly they will slip under the guard of the Blues.
Kilmore will be too good though and win by 55pts.

Riddell Vs Macedon FC:
While most of the focus for this game will revolve around the under 18 contest this should be an entertaining match.
Riddell would be disappointed with last weeks loss to the Hawks and will be looking to hit back this week. The younger brigade of Riddell players need to take a step up this year to cover the losses left by the players out of the Bomber lineup.
Macedon, while comprehensively beaten last week, actually showed some very good signs, the younger players have very good foot skills and the Cats move the ball very well. The lack of a quality forward hurts them though as they are unable to score when they do go forward, but keep an eye on some of the young guys. Very talented young footballers that the Cats will be keen to hold onto for the future.
Riddell by 80pts.

Romsey Vs Sunbury Kangaroos:
Match of the Round.
Romsey have started the year off strongly despite predictions of a Redback slide in 07. The new recruits at the Redbacks have impressed early and with some of the existing players such as Chris Wilson and Ben John stepping up the Redbacks dispatched of Centrals comfortably and then Diggers with precision. The Redbacks are the side to watch at the moment.
The Roos have also started the season well with a tight win over Diggers and a big win over Macedon. Again, some of the lesser lights have performed very well and will look to continue this week. Daniel Ellery has stepped up another level while James House and newcomers Steve Boyd and Nathan Hole have been instrumental.
Kangas to win.

:p Dont forget the Broady boys and Wallan Pickles, 3 comps to cover mate, you neglect us to satisfy non Free Press readership and the $hit will hit the fan ;)

Don't worry Doon, definitely will not be neglecting either side. Gotta look after the back pocket too!

It's good to see Broadford and Kilmore firing on the track early this season. It's not just about the wins, but they are playing a good brand of football. I know Wallan have had their struggles over the pre-season but hopefully they can bounce back.

Mr Nicholls i hope you get to stand on a few of these critics heads and take a lot more screamers. stand on the woodend heads and Roos heads Go Jezzalenko Nicholls!!! You bloody ripper, up there Cazaly.

Haha, I hope to spend more time in defence, play my best footy there. Nothing worse than being stuck in a forward pocket. The glory of kicking a goal isn't as a good as a goal-saving tackle or big spoil from behind.