RDFL Thread 2007

haha nah it wasnt but now that you mention it, duffy was helping around the club too on saturda, worked on the bar for a good time im sure he enjoyed it. it has red onion on it too mate but i havent seen it since round 3 lol so im not sure maybe the sponsor has changed
Jamie duffy, now theres a name I haven't heard in a while. he used to be a half decent player. soft but extremely talented...:)

Few back for the Hawks tomorrow???

Sipthorp, Ng, Johnno, Goodyear, Sandle??? Maybe even a guest appearance from Mick Lacy???

Good news for Woodend...

Off the mark by a bit.Lacey not playing this year. He's one of the runners for Richmond-Sippy back next week or the week after, Ng back next week, Joel Goodyear playing 2's this weekend and Sandles is not playing. Johnno and Patterson do return from their kokoda trip and Stacey and Banga ( good recruit) resume this weekend. Dale Cuinik will be set to play in a couple of weeks as well. So Itsmyshow info not quite right but things still looking up for the improving Hawks. Gidda keeping the boys focused at this stage and finals footy not even been mentioned at this stage. He has a hungry side that just wants to improve each week. This week should be a cracker of game against a confident and talented side in Sunbury. This week will illustrate to both sides where they're roughly at!

Thats Rubbish! Joel Goodyear is not a two's player and is wasted playing in our two's you know it "Woody"! Lacy will play this weekend, can't afford not to, if he keeps missing games, he'll run out of quality match fitness in games such as these!
Daniel will line up this weekend, has improved his fitness, won't play all game but will come on in burst's!

Expect a nearly full strength line up from the 'Hawkers' this week in a battle for top spot!

How is the ground IMS? I have heard it a patchy and will be touch and go towards Saturday? Have the Roos got an alternative ground lined up?

Thats Rubbish! Joel Goodyear is not a two's player and is wasted playing in our two's you know it "Woody"! Lacy will play this weekend, can't afford not to, if he keeps missing games, he'll run out of quality match fitness in games such as these!
Daniel will line up this weekend, has improved his fitness, won't play all game but will come on in burst's!

Expect a nearly full strength line up from the 'Hawkers' this week in a battle for top spot!

How is the ground IMS? I have heard it a patchy and will be touch and go towards Saturday? Have the Roos got an alternative ground lined up?

We will be playing this at our ground, there is a couple of areas with patchy grass coverage, but the ground overall is reasonably soft and playable, the ground has been passed by the council and insurance, on the ground rating system our ground is in better shape than the Rockbank ground. So its all systems go for the game on Saturday.

Guess we will see at 2pm on Saturday then :thumbsu:

The word was last night @ training that you blokes were looking at moving it next door to the other ground? I know a couple of the boys including i think Gidds looked at it Monday night, and said it was terrible!

Well play wherever in the end i guess! See you tomorrow!

The word was last night @ training that you blokes were looking at moving it next door to the other ground? I know a couple of the boys including i think Gidds looked at it Monday night, and said it was terrible!

As unfortunate as it is, you cant avoid the drought, we acknowledge that the ground isn't in the best shape its been in, but it has been passed to play on and you can only play so many games away before you have no other alternative... We were just about there, of course there will be conjecture over the condition of the ground, people will complain, but realistically the ground is playable.. The fact is that I think the middle of the other ground is worse than any area of our ground...:thumbsu:

keep talking it up hawker.its a kanga home game.i hope you bring ya best.
we are ready 4 ya

Like i said, we are happy to play anywhere, look forward to a good hit out!

Anyone know the weather forcast?

Woodend had a couple of names on the track last night, once the above players come back you would have to say that they would be red hot favourites for the flag.

tips this week

Woodend 20pts (will be too strong with some names coming back)
Riddell 13pts (Riddell on a mission at the moment)
Macedon 15pts (would like to say Rockbank but Macedon just too good)
Kilmore 8 pts (kilmore at home )
Centrals 40pts (not as bad as everybody thinks)

should be a very good round.

Just a different perspective, I think that perhaps with Morgan escaping the un-escapable on Tues night, and the fact the Romsey have played some average footy lately, look out for the Redbacks!

Diggers Rest Vs Riddell
Diggers Rest fell short again last week against Woodend, but an improved effort will have the Burra filled with a little more confidence. Now almost at full strength, Diggers will be looking to get thier season underway.
Riddell have been travelling along under the radar nicely and controlling the games they have played in, the old hands are still contributing every week and the young guys such as Petran and Climas have added the youthful spark.
With the rivalry built up between these sides in the past 2 years, expect a cracking game
Riddell by 10pts.

Rockbank Vs Macedon
The Rams put up a brave effort last week against Romsey and will look to improve again this week as they search for thier first win of the season. The return of Matty Krul will boost the stocks and a more free wheeling game plan could see a new side.
Macedon had thier first win last week against Lancefield, the kids the Cats have are working hard and will look to make it 2 in a row at the MCG...
Macedon by 20pts

Kilmore Vs Romsey
The Blues fell short against the Roos last week but were a little undermanned. With the return of Straney and King the lineup should be strengthened, young Kale Ramsdale was very impressive and the Blues youngsters provide dash.
Romsey had an unconvincing win against Rockbank last week and will look to reassert themselves on the competition against a rival for a top 5 spot. Look for a fierce battle.
Kilmore by 9pts

Melton Central Vs Lancefield
Everyone has been waiting for the Centrals spirit to shine so far this year, I really do believe that they are a better side than they have shown so far and do have some real talent in the side.
Lancefield will be disappointed with the loss last week against the Cats and rightly so, dont expect the Tigers to underestimate thier opponents this week and with the return of Chris Collins imminent the Tigers will be a different side.
Another big game for both sides.
Lancefield by 27pts.

Match of the Round
Sunbury Kangaroos Vs Woodend/Hesket
The Roos remained undefeated with a convincing win against Kilmore away from home, the Roos have a good balance across the field and have started the season strongly. The Roos will be looking to go one game clear on top of the ladder for the first time.
The Hawks are flying, so far accounting for all comers and another good win coming from behind against Diggers last week. With several contributors across the ground and Matt Stacey, Adam Johnstone, Kar Weng Ng etc returning this week as well as the speculated return of Danny Sipthorp the Hawks will be looking to consolodate on flag favouritism against the Roos.
A classic RDFL game and the one to watch
Roos to win.

My tips this week, in what has to be the best round of football this competition has seen in a few years!

This week we see 6 teams have a fair dinkum crack at the putting their case forward for 2007! For some, their is simply pride at stake, for others it's their chance to prove why they are a team to watch out for in '07'!

Each player has a something extra to give in weeks like this, and it's a great feeling!

Riddell by 5 points! - Beware of the sleeping Giant this game!
Macedon by 3 goals - The young lads to quick and skillfull
Kilmore by 6 goals - No Morgan! No Romsey! He is an influential leader too so many blokes!
Centrals by 4 goals - I have no idea why? But i think Melton at home, being so windy last couple days, will play well and suit the conditions!
Sunbury by 1 point!!! - A team stuck in 3rd gear against a side a little undermanned at the minute, but overall a excellent side! Expect some inclusions, who? Not sure! But i would expect a fair crowd and a good hit out! A classic game of 70's football i reckon!

it's time i got in on this action:

diggers - 15 points
rockbank - 14 points
kilmore - inspired with the news 'the duck is on his way' - 22 points
lancefield - melton to meltdown - 20 points
woodend - beware the hyphon - 28 points

Diggers Rest Vs Riddell
Diggers Rest fell short again last week against Woodend, but an improved effort will have the Burra filled with a little more confidence. Now almost at full strength, Diggers will be looking to get thier season underway.
Riddell have been travelling along under the radar nicely and controlling the games they have played in, the old hands are still contributing every week and the young guys such as Petran and Climas have added the youthful spark.
With the rivalry built up between these sides in the past 2 years, expect a cracking game
Riddell by 10pts.

Rockbank Vs Macedon
The Rams put up a brave effort last week against Romsey and will look to improve again this week as they search for thier first win of the season. The return of Matty Krul will boost the stocks and a more free wheeling game plan could see a new side.
Macedon had thier first win last week against Lancefield, the kids the Cats have are working hard and will look to make it 2 in a row at the MCG...
Macedon by 20pts

Kilmore Vs Romsey
The Blues fell short against the Roos last week but were a little undermanned. With the return of Straney and King the lineup should be strengthened, young Kale Ramsdale was very impressive and the Blues youngsters provide dash.
Romsey had an unconvincing win against Rockbank last week and will look to reassert themselves on the competition against a rival for a top 5 spot. Look for a fierce battle.
Kilmore by 9pts

Everyone has been waiting for the Centrals spirit to shine so far this year, I really do believe that they are a better side than they have shown so far and do have some real talent in the side.
Lancefield will be disappointed with the loss last week against the Cats and rightly so, dont expect the Tigers to underestimate thier opponents this week and with the return of Chris Collins imminent the Tigers will be a different side.
Lancefield by 27pts.

Match of the Round
The Roos remained undefeated with a convincing win against Kilmore away from home, the Roos have a good balance across the field and have started the season strongly. The Roos will be looking to go one game clear on top of the ladder for the first time.
The Hawks are flying, so far accounting for all comers and another good win coming from behind against Diggers last week. With several contributors across the ground and Matt Stacey, Adam Johnstone, Kar Weng Ng etc returning this week as well as the speculated return of Danny Sipthorp the Hawks will be looking to consolodate on flag favouritism against the Roos.
Roos to win.

always enjoy your friday afternoon writeups fills in a good 20-30mins or so however and im 1st to admit u rarely get it wrong but your point of diggers nearly being a full strength is way off. Just out of this weeks side is Walshe , D.Green , B.Green , A.klooster, M.Nolan and possibility a few more . However some may call it blind optimisum but i still think the boys can get up in a close one against Riddell.. Good luck with your boys against woodend reckon home ground advantage tip the scales in your favour. romsey and kilmore will be a classic as well have it on good authority morgan has set himself for a big one this week after being sent off last week

Diggers Rest Vs Riddell
Riddell by 10pts.

Rockbank Vs Macedon
Macedon by 20pts

Kilmore Vs Romsey
Kilmore by 9pts

Lancefield by 27pts.

Match of the Round
Roos to win.

What makes you think Matty Krul will play for the Rams this weekend? He wasn't at training last night and the last I heard is that Glenorden isn't going to give him a clearance.

That, on top of the fact he wasn't named in the side last night, means that he still isn't able to play for us. It's a shame really.

Jason Wellfare makes his return this week, in the seconds. Haha. You horribly overrate him, naming him in the youth RDFL best side. Dylan Nicholson would be a much better nomination.

Training last night was an absolute corker. Best training session of the season so far, the boys are pumped, I am totally pumped up to the max, and we really know we can beat this mob tomorrow.

Van, GoBlues#9 anyone from Kilmore whats the story with Chris George just noticed a clearance went in Wednesday from Cobram?

Also Im confused about your rego/clearance system if the Dave Forbes that has gone to Wallan is the same bloke that played 2's at Broady last year?

What makes you think Matty Krul will play for the Rams this weekend? He wasn't at training last night and the last I heard is that Glenorden isn't going to give him a clearance.

That, on top of the fact he wasn't named in the side last night, means that he still isn't able to play for us. It's a shame really.

Jason Wellfare makes his return this week, in the seconds. Haha. You horribly overrate him, naming him in the youth RDFL best side. Dylan Nicholson would be a much better nomination.

Training last night was an absolute corker. Best training session of the season so far, the boys are pumped, I am totally pumped up to the max, and we really know we can beat this mob tomorrow.

Jason has played some good football in the games I have seen him, but I took him out of the youth side if you look at the side that was redone.. As for Matty Krul, was hopeful he would play for you guys, still hopeful he will.. Should never have left in the first place...

Who has taken over coaching the Rams???