RDFL Thread 2007

Romsey are losing morgan, strack and another (not sure who) but will be gaining the 3 boys that left last year connellan, plant and edwards.
Diggers look to be recruiting well, who have you heard is leaving.

Plant and Edwards are definately not confirmed yet. Shaun Hunter is basically finished (retirement very likely) and there is a possibility that Luke and Daniel Carroll could be leaving. Alistair Meldrum has been offered good money to coach Heathcote and although I'm confident he'll stay at Romsey he could also be a departure.

Chris Collins is obviously back at Lancefield taking the coaching reigns, and a fully fit Scott Clark is the same as a big-name recruit for the Tigers. The core players such as Jay Tully, Tim Collins, Dale Joseph, Sam Graham and Mark Catons all have improvement left in them and will add something extra at Lancefield.

At Kilmore's end, with Terry Ahearn as coach, he will be looking to sign a couple of big name players and hold on to the talented group of predominantly young players he already has. If John Rowe gets fit he will finish top-five in the Bowen next season and Matt Robertson keeps getting better. Expect to see a new full-forward at the Blues in '07.

how will the new changes to the under 16 competition help your club, it is a win for all senior clubs in my eyes, some under 18 players will qualify for a third year in the 18s, making it a bit easier to feild a side.
Players that are in their third year could be playing senior football, but if numbers are low or the player is not physically upto it can stay down.:thumbsu:
Rupertswood wanted to enter a 18's team in the rdfl in 2007, but the league or opposing clubs thought they would be a threat. Rupo have 33 x 16.5 players coming up to the 19's in season 2007. They will have in excess of 72 eligible players for their 2 x u19 teams this year in the vafa. I cannot understand the leagues/clubs reasoning when Rupo have a strong committment to the junior programm of the RDFL.

Too damaging to local 18's I reckon

Maybe Rupo could look at some kind of Sister club with Rolling Meadows and entering an 18's side in the RDFL. This could also be used to lay a foundation for Rolling Meadows to get a senior club up and running in the not to distant future.

your right they did but why would clubs want a side to play only in the 18s comp, with the abolishment of 16 1/2 most clubs should feild sides, if they all did and if you threw rupo in, could unbalance the comp. with teams like diggers and sunbury, lions and kangas sometimes struggling to feild sides. clubs like rupo can unknowingly damage the comp, 18s fold, seniors struggle to promote youth that dont come through the ranks. Maybe Rupo can stop being selfish and push players that cannot get a game to any of the above clubs and help strengthen other local clubs.
This year at times lions had excess and roos struggled so interchange forms were signed giving both the player a chance to play and the club to feild a side.
It was great to see even a strong money club like the lions supporting not only their players but another local club:thumbsu:

If rupo do fear losing players to other local clubs, maybe lancefeild could be an option they would greatly appreciate help in fielding a side, with romsey so close it makes it very hard.

Good Idea about the Rupo kids playing for Rolling Meadows. My only question would be where would they play ? As the ground at Bulla last time I saw it was nowhere near good enough to play senior/U-18 footy on it.

why would it, they dont have seniors either, they may as well put rupo in.
They should be supporting existing clubs

Rolling Meadows JFC got a grant to imporve their ground and I think it's actually being built out on Lancefield road somewhere. May take some time to build and get right, but it was only an idea.

Rupo used to have only u18's in the RDFL until they joined the VAFA so why can't the same be done with Rolling Meadows?
One or two years of the 18's being out of whack isn't really that bad if the foundations of a new club are being laid.

Rolling Meadows JFC got a grant to imporve their ground and I think it's actually being built out on Lancefield road somewhere. May take some time to build and get right, but it was only an idea.

Rupo used to have only u18's in the RDFL until they joined the VAFA so why can't the same be done with Rolling Meadows?
One or two years of the 18's being out of whack isn't really that bad if the foundations of a new club are being laid.

The competition would really benefit having 10 sides competing. There were rumours that Gisborne had a large influx of Under 18s and were considering placing a side in the RDFL. I don't know what is right or wrong when it comes to U18s sides with no senior affiliate, but if it makes the competition fairer and stronger then I don't have a problem with it. We want as many players as possible to continue playing aussie rules football, rather than quitting because they didn't get a go.

your right they did but why would clubs want a side to play only in the 18s comp, with the abolishment of 16 1/2 most clubs should feild sides, if they all did and if you threw rupo in, could unbalance the comp. with teams like diggers and sunbury, lions and kangas sometimes struggling to feild sides. clubs like rupo can unknowingly damage the comp, 18s fold, seniors struggle to promote youth that dont come through the ranks. Maybe Rupo can stop being selfish and push players that cannot get a game to any of the above clubs and help strengthen other local clubs.
This year at times lions had excess and roos struggled so interchange forms were signed giving both the player a chance to play and the club to feild a side.
It was great to see even a strong money club like the lions supporting not only their players but another local club:thumbsu:

If rupo do fear losing players to other local clubs, maybe lancefeild could be an option they would greatly appreciate help in fielding a side, with romsey so close it makes it very hard.
In theory sounds great, but when the kids only want to play with their mates at Rupo its a bit hard to convince them to go elsewhere. Your comment that Rupo are being selfish is crap. they set a limit on player numbers per age group at 28 for all junior teams. Maybe the other clubs need to lift their image to attract players and not expect Rupo to hand feed them. I have only been involved with Rupo for the past 3 years and having been involved as both a coach and administrator of a Essendon District senior club for 25 years and I can tell you a lot of clubs in that league are modelling their own junior programmes on Rupertswood FC.

The competition would really benefit having 10 sides competing. There were rumours that Gisborne had a large influx of Under 18s and were considering placing a side in the RDFL. I don't know what is right or wrong when it comes to U18s sides with no senior affiliate, but if it makes the competition fairer and stronger then I don't have a problem with it. We want as many players as possible to continue playing aussie rules football, rather than quitting because they didn't get a go.

For a 10 team under 18 comp to get going Romsey and Lancefield senior clubs will have to get involved with their juniors the rangers had 147 players in their U/16's to U/12s last season with the restructuring of the Junior comp time is NOW for these clubs to prove that they are trying to develope their clubs and not let the junior body take the easy way out with the rangers.

Macedon had the same agreement with Gisborne as the Sunbury clubs last season in the 18s and Macedon got 2 players for 1 game when Gisborne had a bye more players wanted to play but were warned not to if they wanted to play finals what a pity Gisborne 18's didn't make the finals.

The reason RDFL clubs are reluctant to let other clubs to have 18's is obvious as the junior part off these club's continually watch their better players wanting to play with their "mates" at other leagues. Funny how only VERY GOOD players have "mates" at other clubs !!!

For a 10 team under 18 comp to get going Romsey and Lancefield senior clubs will have to get involved with their juniors the rangers had 147 players in their U/16's to U/12s last season with the restructuring of the Junior comp time is NOW for these clubs to prove that they are trying to develope their clubs and not let the junior body take the easy way out with the rangers.

Macedon had the same agreement with Gisborne as the Sunbury clubs last season in the 18s and Macedon got 2 players for 1 game when Gisborne had a bye more players wanted to play but were warned not to if they wanted to play finals what a pity Gisborne 18's didn't make the finals.

The reason RDFL clubs are reluctant to let other clubs to have 18's is obvious as the junior part off these club's continually watch their better players wanting to play with their "mates" at other leagues. Funny how only VERY GOOD players have "mates" at other clubs !!!

Thats carp Halffull about Romsey and Lancefield. The Rangers is very well run and the reality is that if not for the merger then Lancefield would be stuffed. Romsey have enough people to field junior sides, senior and under 18s sides, but Lancefield do not. They only have enough to fill the senior sides. I think the club's are heading in the right direction. Lancefield will field an Under 18s side this year. I don't think they'll be strong, but they'll get a side on the park (even if its 16 players one week).

I went through the hard yards in the 18s at Tigerland with 15 blokes one week and through the three years i played there, we only forfeited once. Realistically, it should be a Romsey-Lancefield Under 18s side also, but I, along with other players stupidly voted against it two years ago when we were asked. Too late now but hindsight is a beautiful thing.

Thats carp Halffull about Romsey and Lancefield. The Rangers is very well run and the reality is that if not for the merger then Lancefield would be stuffed. Romsey have enough people to field junior sides, senior and under 18s sides, but Lancefield do not. They only have enough to fill the senior sides. I think the club's are heading in the right direction. Lancefield will field an Under 18s side this year. I don't think they'll be strong, but they'll get a side on the park (even if its 16 players one week).

I went through the hard yards in the 18s at Tigerland with 15 blokes one week and through the three years i played there, we only forfeited once. Realistically, it should be a Romsey-Lancefield Under 18s side also, but I, along with other players stupidly voted against it two years ago when we were asked. Too late now but hindsight is a beautiful thing.

I am saying now is the time for the rangers to split with the restructuring of the Juniors they will have 30+ players per team. How many players have given up or now play elsewhere because they could not play every week over the last couple of years? Woodend will be in a similar position with extra players.

Not laying blame for the past but trying to look forward. As I said to you last year Lancfield footy will struggle without a local cricket team this has been adressed and good luck to them, but to go forward some hard yards have to be done starting with juniors. As you have said thru this thread how good it is to have C Collins back at the club (local gun junior). I think it is the easy way out with the Rangers, my opinion only.

Lancefield will always struggle with an 18s after the kids play for the rangers, majority of kids will be from romsey as we all know the town is only getting bigger, but even with the kids from lancefield they grow up playing together with the romsey boys,I'm sure it would be hard to split a group up, especially if they had success in their years together.
These 2 committees need to get together, sit down and work out some sort of plan of attack. i'm sure something can be worked out, but to combine an 18s side, not sure if that is the answer, it would leave some young men confused as to where to take the next step. The league needs all 10 clubs to feild 18's to become stronger.
1 example of a player with mates at both clubs would be Burlak, lancefeild 18s, romsey seniors and next year who knows rumoured to be going back to lancefeild.

Dont wanna go over old ground but that name Al Meldrum keeps getting brought up in the same sentences as the words Heathcote and coach over my way . . . I was told this morning that a Romsey player has the job and if it aint him then who could it be?

Has there been any official announcement from the Romsey club that Meldrum is staying, I know guys on here say he's signed etc but has the club actually come out and stated it?

Hey Pickles,
S Ruane here... Added up the scores when we got back to the rooms... We definatley made 182... on both scorecards... (add up the batters scores) you made 178... so just know that you can have the points, but we won... Also how about them cut shots, beautiful shots my friend...

***NEWSFLASH***
Shaun sims, Jeff Heritage: both going to play for Tatura...
$250 a game + inscentives...

95% confirmed...

They are having a final meeting with the coach on Monday 27th November, but are expected to sign...

Huge loss to the burra...

***NEWSFLASH***

95% confirmed...

They are having a final meeting with the coach on Monday 27th November, but are expected to sign...

This news flash is B.S why would a diggers boy tell all whats going on, bit early for mind games.

Diggers meant to be the closest bunch of players. Simsy captain and backs his mates all the way, i doubt they will leave when they think the flag is just there, if so why would they go to tat and leave the boys they have worked so hard with, surely money isn't everything. The other question is, Where will roo be this year?

***NEWSFLASH***

95% confirmed...

Your a ******** stirrer Roo and I wont talk to you until you get your strawberry blond locks back to shoulder length. Also I counted the score as well and it added up to 182. Not sure what goes on down in F grade sometimes.

Another one for the rumour mill is that Dan Reilly could be bound for Rockbank. He had a falling out with his team mates after they tore his house to pieces at his housewarming. Morse and Howard could be not far behind as the bankers have offered them a replacement washing machine. I know it was you that put the rope in it Ruane lefty dobbed you in.

Hey Pickles,
S Ruane here... Added up the scores when we got back to the rooms... We definatley made 182... on both scorecards... (add up the batters scores) you made 178... so just know that you can have the points, but we won... Also how about them cut shots, beautiful shots my friend...

G'day Roo. Some great cut shots yesterday mate. Our book says you made 166 and it was you blokes that filled it out. We checked your book and it came to 166 also. We definately didn't want to cheat you blokes though. Plenty of good banter in the field too! :thumbsu:

As for Tatura, no chance!

What a devastating display of pull shots and straight drives on the Boardman 3 oval, that bloke almost got his side over the line himself, fantastic performance... :thumbsu: :D

What a devastating display of pull shots and straight drives on the Boardman 3 oval, that bloke almost got his side over the line himself, fantastic performance...

The Bowen medalist certainly did better than the Lancefield twos benchwarmer. Coming from opening the batting for B-grade at Romsey last year to F-grade is a hell of a difference. Need to put my head down and respect the bowling, even though it is of a pedestrian speed :D

Was the scratchiest 5 i have ever made, and trying to hit the bowler onto the other Boardman Oval wasn't the best idea after a big night at the trots and a hard effort wicketkeeping in the sand pit that lies at Boardman No 3. My Under 16 boys came through with the goods at the end though. Some excellent sledges came from the Diggers boys too!