RDFL Thread 2007

Kangas Pre season training starts tommorrow night 6:30 at club rooms. It will be very interesting to see the numbers turn up. A few new faces before xmas, and will be good to see them back and wanting to play in the blue and white.

No such thing as a boxed qunella.

But I would pay
$11 for a Diggers-Kangaroos 1-2
$15 for a Kangaroos-Diggers 1-2
$8 for the quinella

Top five odds

Woodend $1.10
Riddell $1.20
Diggers $1.40
Kangaroos $1.55
Romsey $1.80
--------------
Kilmore $2.20
Lancefield $2.90
Macedon $4.10
Centrals $9.80
Rockbank $17.00

you sure there is no such thing as a box quinella matty?? i think you'll find there is.

Not many bats about with good technique Ng has. As for Steve Pyke face him in the nets and tell him to forget about his crook back and let some rip (have helmet on) he is and was one of the top 10 bowlers in this comp in the last 20 years easily.

Good to hear about the GDCA looking to go back to format of the 70's & 80's.

Comps standard poor to what it was.
Faced him many times in the nets and no doubt he is a freak. The trick is not to hit him for 4 so as not fire him up. His back is letting him down a bit these days which is why I say he probably wouldn't rate as one of the best these days not that I would enjoy facing him.

Few pretty decent players left out of that. Woodend have some bats ahead of Ng in my opinion and plenty of other good bats around the comp not to mention bowlers.Steve Pyke doesn't even open the bowling for Diggers when at full strength these days.I think Steve Grey is one guy who has had a huge year with the bat for united.Some chance that they are expanding McIntyre next year to inlude teams like Diggers , Macedon and Romsey on a permanent basis. The gdca has people looking into it and asking the clubs for opinions.

Best players just off the top of my head

Woodend- Chew , Loughnane , Johnstone , Ng
Bacchus- Huddle , Stuhldrier , Lalor
Macedon- Belcher , Smits
United- Grey , Billinghurst , Hughes
Sunbury- Bogdanovic , Tyler , Boffey
Romsey- Cox , Carrol
Gisborne- Walsh , Harmon , Lethborg
Diggers - McDorman , Morse

There is more teams but I cant be bothered. Competition is still pretty healthy I reckon.

Who will win it or be around the mark. And why? New players, up and comers, coaches, financial situation? Whatever!:thumbsu:

you sure there is no such thing as a box quinella matty?? i think you'll find there is.
No, there is no such thing as a "Boxed Quinella". A quinella is having 1st and 2nd in your selections, in any order. Eg Woodend, Diggers and Riddell in a quinella would mean as long as two of these teams finish 1st and 2nd,you have the quinella. Choosing the order is an exacta.

No such thing as a boxed qunella.

But I would pay
$11 for a Diggers-Kangaroos 1-2
$15 for a Kangaroos-Diggers 1-2
$8 for the quinella

Top five odds

Woodend $1.10
Riddell $1.20
Diggers $1.40
Kangaroos $1.55
Romsey $1.80
--------------
Kilmore $2.20
Lancefield $2.90
Macedon $4.10
Centrals $9.80
Rockbank $17.00
Geez Pickles, when are you going to change your name to Luke West, Mk 2?

Geez, ready to cop a pasting for this.. But here goes..

That's Special Top 50 preseason 2007
(Not including players that are confirmed leaving or new players to league)

1. M.Robertson (Kilmore)
2. S.Sims (Diggers Rest)
3. J.Jose (Diggers Rest)
4. J.Allen (Riddell)
5. M.McInerney (Kangaroos)
6. C.Laurie (Diggers Rest)
7. K.Ng (Woodend)
8. S.Ruane (Diggers Rest)
9. H.Wadden (Riddell)
10. J.Rowe (Kilmore)
11. A.James (Kangaroos)
12. T.Lyons (Centrals)
13. M.Peatling (Riddell)
14. D.Cuinik (Woodend)
15. L.McInerney (Kangaroos)
16. M.Andrews (Riddell)
17. S.Choate (Lancefield)
18. G.Ploog (Kangaroos)
19. A.Blade (Riddell)
20. M.McClellan (Romsey)
21. M.Lacy (Woodend)
22. J.Bellville (Riddell)
23. S.Clark (Lancefield)
24. L.Barker (Woodend)
25. B.Morgan (Diggers Rest)
26. G.Robertson (Riddell)
27. R.Johnson (Kangaroos)
28. R.Dowling (Woodend)
29. J.King (Kangaroos)
30. J.Heritage (Diggers Rest)
31. B.Wheelahan (Centrals)
32. A.Christianson (Macedon)
33. S.Burlak (Romsey)
34. W.Else (Woodend)
35. B.Green (Diggers Rest)
36. J.Tully (Lancefield)
37. S.Woodroffe (Rockbank)
38. M.Nolan (Diggers Rest)
39. D.Niki (Kangaroos)
40. J.Wright (Macedon)
41. D.Helmers (Kangaroos)
42. J.Ploog (Kangaroos)
43. R.Straney (Kilmore)
44. J.Shewan (Lancefield)
45. L.Harrison (Riddell)
46. M.Goodyear (Woodend)
47. N.Ash (Riddell)
48. C.Payne (Diggers Rest)
49. T.Leggett (Woodend)
50. L.Sporle (Kangaroos)

Super effort witht he top 50
hard to do but i think youve done a pretty good job.

personally maybe have lacy a bit higher, Spot on with Robbo though.

good effort but no peter robertson? yet u managed to find a spot for james wright n straney!
also john rowe is not top 10 based on last year, didnt finish top 5 at kilmore best n fairest!!! pretty sure hes not playin this year too.

good effort but no peter robertson? yet u managed to find a spot for james wright n straney!
also john rowe is not top 10 based on last year, didnt finish top 5 at kilmore best n fairest!!! pretty sure hes not playin this year too.

Dont think that Peter Robertson played enough Seniors.. Only reason.. John Rowe at his best is easily in the top ten in the league, first I have heard that he wont be playing this year...

Geez, ready to cop a pasting for this.. But here goes..

That's Special Top 50 preseason 2007
(Not including players that are confirmed leaving or new players to league)

1. M.Robertson (Kilmore)
2. S.Sims (Diggers Rest)
3. J.Jose (Diggers Rest)
4. J.Allen (Riddell)
5. M.McInerney (Kangaroos)
6. C.Laurie (Diggers Rest)
7. K.Ng (Woodend)
8. S.Ruane (Diggers Rest)
9. H.Wadden (Riddell)
10. J.Rowe (Kilmore)
11. A.James (Kangaroos)
12. T.Lyons (Centrals)
13. M.Peatling (Riddell)
14. D.Cuinik (Woodend)
15. L.McInerney (Kangaroos)
16. M.Andrews (Riddell)
17. S.Choate (Lancefield)
18. G.Ploog (Kangaroos)
19. A.Blade (Riddell)
20. M.McClellan (Romsey)
21. M.Lacy (Woodend)
22. J.Bellville (Riddell)
23. S.Clark (Lancefield)
24. L.Barker (Woodend)
25. B.Morgan (Diggers Rest)
26. G.Robertson (Riddell)
27. R.Johnson (Kangaroos)
28. R.Dowling (Woodend)
29. J.King (Kangaroos)
30. J.Heritage (Diggers Rest)
31. B.Wheelahan (Centrals)
32. A.Christianson (Macedon)
33. S.Burlak (Romsey)
34. W.Else (Woodend)
35. B.Green (Diggers Rest)
36. J.Tully (Lancefield)
37. S.Woodroffe (Rockbank)
38. M.Nolan (Diggers Rest)
39. T.Leggett (Woodend)
40. J.Wright (Macedon)
41. D.Helmers (Kangaroos)
42. J.Ploog (Kangaroos)
43. R.Straney (Kilmore)
44. J.Shewan (Lancefield)
45. L.Harrison (Riddell)
46. M.Goodyear (Woodend)
47. N.Ash (Riddell)
48. C.Payne (Diggers Rest)
49. L.Sporle (Kangaroos)
50. J.Armstrong (Centrals)

im not even going to ask how you figured the above out and where did u find the time but its all ones opinion i must say though knowing BM reads this thread for him in your opinion to be number 25 and have blokes like G.Ploog ahead of him is great news. It will defiantly serve as inspiration come Round1. Although very rotund for a player to kick nearly 80 goals for the season and be Numbered 48 is also a very good motivation tool so thanks TS.. OK NOW THAT ive said all that reckon your Top 10 is pretty close to spot on although i would have possibly sweezed Bellieve in there a very important player for Riddell and although not as flashy as his teammates can really carve sides up. My tip for the biggest mover up the list come annual review is J.Hertitage i know u rate him highly as well reckon come the end of 07 season he may sneak into top 10.. he may be challenged by the player at 41 if all the reports preseason are factual....

Super effort witht he top 50
hard to do but i think youve done a pretty good job.

personally maybe have lacy a bit higher, Spot on with Robbo though.

Lacy is a gun, but my personal opinion was that he didn't have enough impact in big games.. So in my list it dropped him down the list a bit... :thumbsu:

im not even going to ask how you figured the above out and where did u find the time but its all ones opinion i must say though knowing BM reads this thread for him in your opinion to be number 25 and have blokes like G.Ploog ahead of him is great news. It will defiantly serve as inspiration come Round1. Although very rotund for a player to kick nearly 80 goals for the season and be Numbered 48 is also a very good motivation tool so thanks TS.. OK NOW THAT ive said all that reckon your Top 10 is pretty close to spot on although i would have possibly sweezed Bellieve in there a very important player for Riddell and although not as flashy as his teammates can really carve sides up. My tip for the biggest mover up the list come annual review is J.Hertitage i know u rate him highly as well reckon come the end of 07 season he may sneak into top 10.. he may be challenged by the player at 41 if all the reports preseason are factual....

Alot of people like to downplay Garth's influence in the competition, the fact is, I thought he was the best CHF in the comp last year.. We all know Brydon is a great player and rated highly by myself, trust me, this list was not the easiest thing to do, especially when you rate players of different positions to one another. I tried to do this list by importance to each individual side, at the moment, what impact on Diggers do we know Brydon will have?? As for Payne, if he needs this for motivation he is struggling.. I have said it before and ill make it clear again.. I dont rate Chris that highly as a senior footballer, he is lucky to have made the list at all.. He kicked 70 goals, mainly against the bottom 3 sides... Prove you can do it against the best (Lee James, Arnel Davis, Al Meldrum) and ill admit I was wrong.:thumbsu:

well done 4 having the balls to do it TS.theres a few blokes a bit hard done by,but hey its your opinion.:thumbsu:
on past form i would have put jobe b4 me.but its a new year,
lets just see what it brings?

How will Romsey cope in 2007 without the likes of Carroll x2, Meldrum, Morgan, Strack and possible Moore. All leaving for the mighty dollar, it certainly can talk when it comes to local footy. Any news on the recruit of 2006 James House, where will he lace up the boots this year. Who will be fortunate enough to secure the services of without doubt one of the toughest local footballers getting round.

:thumbsdown:

How will Romsey cope in 2007 without the likes of Carroll x2, Meldrum, Morgan, Strack and possible Moore. All leaving for the mighty dollar, it certainly can talk when it comes to local footy. Any news on the recruit of 2006 James House, where will he lace up the boots this year. Who will be fortunate enough to secure the services of without doubt one of the toughest local footballers getting round.

my apologies if im wrong here.but that sounds like the old sarcasm.
he will remain at sunbury in 07 and once again have a great year stopping the oppositions key onballers.and he has more than enough tough blokes around him 2 sort out the hard stuff.but no doubt your a real hard ********.

haha, here we go again! Ill be lining up at Sunbury again this year, training is at 6:30! Bad form leading up the finals cost me a senior selection, having put 8kg on and fitter than ever i look forward to this year and the highly anticipated round 1!

I appreciate your cause for concern though, cheers Housey!

hey boys,

i know its been talked about but how r the grounds looking, especially the kangas ground? no doubt they are worse then last summer but just wondering if it will hold back the satrt of the season, it has already to bendigo and a few others, saw gvfl sides mansfield ground last w/e and they would b lucky to play at home all season, will teams have to share grounds it has been talked about here in the north east, GVFL and KDFL clubs might have to share grounds until there is large rainfall

il back ya to be in the top 3 taggers this year housey ;)

hey boys,

i know its been talked about but how r the grounds looking, especially the kangas ground? no doubt they are worse then last summer but just wondering if it will hold back the satrt of the season, it has already to bendigo and a few others, saw gvfl sides mansfield ground last w/e and they would b lucky to play at home all season, will teams have to share grounds it has been talked about here in the north east, GVFL and KDFL clubs might have to share grounds until there is large rainfall

il back ya to be in the top 3 taggers this year housey ;)

Season will start on time.. Possibility of some games being shifted due to the state of a couple of grounds.. With predicted rainfall in early April I would think most grounds will come up pretty close to the mark.