RDFL Thread 2007

Come on BB practice matches are for just that, Practice. trying new things, win or lose you will gain something learning experiences, confidence etc.

Personally not much point playing if a 30 goal Win/Loss is likely, but it is all match fitness and come round 1 we are all going to be wishing we had more of that.

Hey yep, Question?

Why would a team like Woodend play a side as weak as Trentham and what would they get out of smashing a side by 30 goals? A run is a run but surely not many of the guys would get much out of it. Didnt Rockbank play them a couple of weeks ago and beat them? Shows the standard of footy they play.
From all accounts the Broadford vs Sunbury was a game that was evenly matched and everyone got plenty out of it.

Same goes for the Bungaree vs Diggers this Saturday other than maybe trying to make it a regular pre-season game, diggers are going to get smashed just like last year.

I just dont understand.

Both clubs play fot the Leith Dicker memorial trophy! You might be right in the difference of standard, but we do it every year to honour a great bloke who had a big impact on both clubs, hopefully in the future Trentham will improve to make it a more competitive affair.

Salpy, gun, I reckon he will figure in TS TOP 50 at year end.

Both clubs play fot the Leith Dicker memorial trophy!

Well that would explain a lot, a practice game is a practice game but u do need a sense of pressure to get the team match ready ... not jog to a hardball get.

But if the match has a significance behind it well done on staying with traditional matches. Its what more local leagues need

Well that would explain a lot, a practice game is a practice game but u do need a sense of pressure to get the team match ready ... not jog to a hardball get.

But if the match has a significance behind it well done on staying with traditional matches. Its what more local leagues need

I agree with above. Wasn't aware of any trophy being played for.

Come on BB practice matches are for just that, Practice. trying new things, win or lose you will gain something learning experiences, confidence etc.

Personally not much point playing if a 30 goal Win/Loss is likely, but it is all match fitness and come round 1 we are all going to be wishing we had more of that.

hmmm blues12 I dont understand your response. 1st paragraph you disagree with my comments then 2nd paragraph you do? Not having a crack mate but that was my whole point of why play if 30 goal Win/Loss likely.

Any of you fog-dodgers interested in fielding a team? :p

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=314342

Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League?

Seeking interest in players for a Regional Leagues fantasy footy comp.

This is a) not real footy and b) not pick-a-team-of-AFL-players footy. Its even lazier!

All you do is express interest, I'll do the rest via QOOTY, a crappy random aussie rules simulator I created years ago and have been trying to bring up to speed. FAQs here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=75728

I'll try to collate a league of teams that are representative of the more popular local leagues here, so I need raised hands from the posters. I won't make up any names, I won't allow any sudden new arrivals.

So either post here or PM me if you want your Bigfooty alter-ego registered for a team.

Hopefully we can turn some rivalries into some even more potent partnerships!

I'll probably aim for starting the season, say, end of next week. I MAY have to be an inflexible prick with okaying a team and treating latecomers.

For this season, hopefully the inaugural season of an ongoing league, all we need are 20 players per team. There is already a Fantasy league, more closely based on the AFL clubs, at Bigfooty, here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30 - its into its 7th season and has developed a bit of history! There is also another league at another footy forum site, this year with only 3 teams but had been as strong as 5 clubs in its 3 year tenure.

So get in touch if you're interested. Remember you don't have to do anything apart from dob your Bigfooty nickname in for a spot. Please tell me which club/league of regional footy you would prefer to be aligned with (please state both).

We'll see how we go. If it doesn't happen, ah well, if it happens later than I hope ... I'll still give it a burl.

Onward lads! ...

im very happy at kilmore there is no tension that im aware of, itsmyshow by the look of your top 50 countdown so far you dont rate to many kilmore players is this because you might not get 2 see them play as much as the other teams? or genuinely just dont think much of the players? i believe there are at least 5-6 worth of a gig in your top 50, possible 3 in the top 20 i look foward to your top 20, hope u dont leave out young gun peter robertson...

im very happy at kilmore, itsmyshow by the look of your top 50 countdown so far you dont rate to many kilmore players is this because you might not get 2 see them play as much as the other teams? or genuinely just dont think much of the players? i believe there are at least 5-6 worth of a gig in your top 50, possible 3 in the top 20 i look foward to your top 20, hope u dont leave out young gun peter robertson...

he probably wouldnt know many of your players van.and remember its only his opinion.good 2 see someone have a go at it

yeah thought he wouldnt know many of our players just checking mate. wouldnt mind seeing a few other people make a top 50, it'd be a hard thing 2 do. any more practice matches this weekend? kilmore have king lake at home on sat arvo

i dont think duffy is playing but dont quote me on it. he wasnt at training tuesday (beep test) plus i think he had a fairly solid drinking session monday watching his beloved hawks get up at the G n then a long day at work.
any injuries floating around to key players?

Nah everyone is 100% done our neck of the woods!!! We did rest some of our older group of players and key position players, but as far as injuries! None!

One thing that has improved is player injury management this year and its reflecting on the amount of players that will be avaiable round 1!

Duffy was drunk all weekend, i left him Robbo and Goudge all in fine state Thursday night!

yeah thought he wouldnt know many of our players just checking mate. wouldnt mind seeing a few other people make a top 50, it'd be a hard thing 2 do. any more practice matches this weekend? kilmore have king lake at home on sat arvo

i dont think the roos have any more matches van.as for injuries im not sure mate.ill find out tnite.