RDFL Thread 2007

always enjoy your friday afternoon writeups fills in a good 20-30mins or so however and im 1st to admit u rarely get it wrong but your point of diggers nearly being a full strength is way off. Just out of this weeks side is Walshe , D.Green , B.Green , A.klooster, M.Nolan and possibility a few more . However some may call it blind optimisum but i still think the boys can get up in a close one against Riddell.. Good luck with your boys against woodend reckon home ground advantage tip the scales in your favour. romsey and kilmore will be a classic as well have it on good authority morgan has set himself for a big one this week after being sent off last week

Billy boy, dont read so deep into my comments.. Diggers still have players to come back, no doubt, but they are clearly heading toward being full strength again.. Not too far off now...

Jason has played some good football in the games I have seen him, but I took him out of the youth side if you look at the side that was redone.. As for Matty Krul, was hopeful he would play for you guys, still hopeful he will.. Should never have left in the first place...

Who has taken over coaching the Rams???

Fair enough. No-one has officially taken over yet. Mark Smith is the 18s coach and he coached us last week, with some help from a couple of specialist coaches, but I can't see them taking over.

Joe Basilone has been struggling with hamstring problems. He played ten minutes last week, kicked a goal, came off the ground and didn't return. So he was helping out with coaching as well.

TBR, what about McLelland, Cox, Dawson? Not to mention some of the young running blokes coming through, plus I think Morgan might have a bee in his bonnet this week. I think the Kilmore / Romsey clash will be huge, it sounds like both sides will need to bring their A games.

Fair call, but after playing both mate, i think Kilmore will get up! Romsey are good and have some very talented players, however, BM is Romsey in 2007! He has skills, work rate, leadership and ability to win a game of his own boot! Unfortunately no one else at Romsey has the same impact at the minute! Matty Mc is not far behind him, but lacks the ability to kick big bags of goals!

Kilmore to win only because the talented players in will be dissapointed they lost last week without them!

Good point, he does work hard around the ground and always takes a good opposition player with him. I think if Dawson can kick straight and the big Yak (Connellan) gets first hands on the ball in the middle, the Redbacks may be hard to stop out of the guts. They've got some smart older heads in the side along with hard working guys in the back line like Warren Kairns. It will be interesting.

Riddell 20 pts, I had tipped Diggers, but still appears a little undermanned for this clash.
Kilmore 45 pts, I rate the Blues fairly highly this year and with the wake up call from last week I expect them step step up a notch this week
Macedon 30 pts, impressive last week and will have too much run for the Rams
Lancefield 15 pts, things will turn around for the Tigers, with some handy players coming back and a reality check last week.
Woodend 10 pts, rate both teams highly, but I think Woodend may have too much firepower.

Good luck and happy football to all.

Fair enough. No-one has officially taken over yet. Mark Smith is the 18s coach and he coached us last week, with some help from a couple of specialist coaches, but I can't see them taking over.

Joe Basilone has been struggling with hamstring problems. He played ten minutes last week, kicked a goal, came off the ground and didn't return. So he was helping out with coaching as well.

Where are you lining up tomorrow X_Box_X ? In the magoos or in the game at 2:00pm ? The Rams are a realistic chance to win both 1's and 2's for the first time in quite a while. Not sure about the 18's but they will continue to improve :thumbsu: . I asked you (X_Box_X) about any rumours last Sunday about your potential new coach. Has any coaches been mentioned ? I thought Shane Geddes would be worth chatting to. As he knows the comp and has a pretty good record with the younger players.

Wow Xie, haven't seen you about the traps for a while!

IMS, 'spect for this young feller, he's a Sweet FA vet! Had player ratings named after him for a while!

round 6

diggers too young for riddell and we'll finally see the full potential of the burra. have been the sleeping giants and will finally come to fruition. 21points
woddend flag favourites and too classy. 38 points
macedon by 39 poinrs
romsey in a hard fought away battle. 8 points
melton v lancefield a draw.

Hawkers tips for Round 6!

Burra
Romsey
Woodend
Rockbank
Lancefield

All Winners under 2 goals!!!

Watch out for Hawk inclusions!!

Harry's tips

Riddle - 28 points - too many smart options
Kangas - 10 points - may be to physical for young hawks
Macedon - 36 points - close all day, just a better side in the end
Romsey - 15 points - both sides will need their A games
Melton - 40 points - at home and they play it well on their day

Hope every one gets a kick!!

Diggers will just beat riddell 8 points
Romsey to get over a much improved kilmore 4 points
Rockbank to get their first win over macedon 12 points
Centrals to beat lancefield 25 points
Roos to tussle with the hawks all day and just get up in the last minutes

Where are you lining up tomorrow X_Box_X ? In the magoos or in the game at 2:00pm ? The Rams are a realistic chance to win both 1's and 2's for the first time in quite a while. Not sure about the 18's but they will continue to improve :thumbsu: . I asked you (X_Box_X) about any rumours last Sunday about your potential new coach. Has any coaches been mentioned ? I thought Shane Geddes would be worth chatting to. As he knows the comp and has a pretty good record with the younger players.

I will put Shane's name forward. Thanks for the advice.

I'm lining up in the seniours, but starting on the bench again. I've only been playing around 50% game time in the seniours. Not that happy with my form, but I'm getting over a niggling quad injury. Almost at 100%, and I am very keen to show my teammates that I am a worthy and solid seniour player. I thought I had a good year at U18s level in 2005, but I had a bone spur in my groin so I decided to take all of last year off, so I'm just starting to get the hang of seniour footy. A much different ball game to U18s, I didn't realise how different and more challenging it would be.

nothing wrong with helping around the club, would be good if a few more helped out a saturday would make it easier for everyone at the club haha

the big question is would you help out if ya weren't suspended - or if one d carroll didnt ask you to....

riddel by 30 to a side that is struggling with there only win for the season against rockbank. if i wasn,t there would not believe they were in the grand final last year.

Oh we're the Rockbank Rams. A fighting fury we're the Rockbank Rams!!

Come on, you little beauty!

Great effort by the Rams!

Romsey beat Kilmore by 10 odd goals. Same amount of scoring shots but Romsey deserved to be six goal winners.

Young Dawson booted nine majors. Paul Brady did a reasonable job in shutting down Robbo. Matt McLellan BOG by a mile.

Sunbury beat Woodend by 13 points and Riddell won by five goals.
Lancefield v Melton scores will be psoted as they come to hand

EDIT: Lancefield won by five goals! Now just one game and percentage out of the top-five. Collo apparently killed it

Romsey beat Kilmore by 10 odd goals. Same amount of scoring shots but Romsey deserved to be six goal winners.

Young Dawson booted nine majors. Paul Brady did a reasonable job in shutting down Robbo. Matt McLellan BOG by a mile.

Lancefield beat Centrals by 4 goals. Tigers had the ascendency early, led by 5 goals at 1/2 time. Wheelahan and a couple of others dominated the third quarter, 6 goals to 1, scores level at 3/4 time. Tigers then dominated the last quarter, 4 goals to nil with a couple of misses. There's some bite in the Tiger yet!!

EDIT: Lancefield won by five goals! Now just one game and percentage out of the top-five. Collo apparently killed it
Good stuff, mate.

Cam Dawson with nine goals and not a B.O.G effort?

I reckon we'll roll the Centrals when we play them at Ian Cowie reserve later in the year. Our squad is slightly improving as each game goes on. Round one was a shocker against Lancefield when we lost by 10 or 12 goals, whatever it was at the end. But the performance of the boy's last week, and especially today, has the Rockbank Rams in good spirit. We should win two or three games this year, possibly even four.

Rams led by eight points at quarter time, eighteen points at half time and also at three-quarter time. The Cats ran over the top of us in the last quarter scoring two goals to our zero. Their full forward (#16) marked about twenty out in the dying stages of the game to win the game for them, but his kick was astray and went out on the full. At that stage there would have been less than two minutes remaining. In that last two minutes there were three boundary throw ins and two ball-ups between the wing and half forward line for the Cats. With ten seconds remaining the Cats got a clearing kick inside fifty and was coming straight in my direction. I was just praying that I could take that mark (which was contested in the end). I did just that and the siren sounded with the ball in my hands - great feeling, great win. I am still pumped.

Now it's time for me to go out and get trashed. Woo yeah!

Good stuff, mate.

Cam Dawson with nine goals and not a B.O.G effort?

I reckon we'll roll the Centrals when we play them at Ian Cowie reserve later in the year. Our squad is slightly improving as each game goes on. Round one was a shocker against Lancefield when we lost by 10 or 12 goals, whatever it was at the end. But the performance of the boy's last week, and especially today, has the Rockbank Rams in good spirit. We should win two or three games this year, possibly even four.

Rams led by eight points at quarter time, eighteen points at half time and also at three-quarter time. The Cats ran over the top of us in the last quarter scoring two goals to our zero. Their full forward (#16) marked about twenty out in the dying stages of the game to win the game for them, but his kick was astray and went out on the full. At that stage there would have been less than two minutes remaining. In that last two minutes there were three boundary throw ins and two ball-ups between the wing and half forward line for the Cats. With ten seconds remaining the Cats got a clearing kick inside fifty and was coming straight in my direction. I was just praying that I could take that mark (which was contested in the end). I did just that and the siren sounded with the ball in my hands - great feeling, great win. I am still pumped.

Now it's time for me to go out and get trashed. Woo yeah!

Dawson was brilliant but probably only had 11 touches. McLellan doesn't stop running and dominated. Honourable mentions to the following players for good efforts too: Ryan Connellan, Dave Cornish, Tim Cox, Danny Harrosin, Kale Ramsdale and Linton Kemp.

Can someone in the know please enlighten me. How are the underage interleague squads selected. Are the clubs asked to nominate their best players to go and train with the squad or do the coaches select what they consider are the best palyers from each club?

Depending on the age group 18's , 15's, 14's.

18's inital squad picked by selection panel and added to as season goes along with new players as some are dropped on form. Coach normally finalises team.

14's have a trial day at the start of season squad selected from that.Final team selected after practise game against EDFL.

15's usually same squad as previous year's 14 squad with improved and new players added. Final team as above.

Younger squads are nominated by clubs.

IMO.