RDFL Thread 2007

Dont forget tonight people... :thumbsu:

This weeks games between the RDFL & WRFL U14 & 18 sides will be played at Soldiers Reserve, Werribee (Melway ref 206 A9). We look forward to all RDFL supporters attending and providing support to our young up and coming sides.

hopefully not 2much a alight the joint mite blow up due t o the fumes !!!!

hey there ims, what are the starting times for the 18's game?
any one we should all look out for? someone look likely to set the old smelly town of werribee alight??
The game starts at 8.00pm..

Players to watch will be Nipper and Al Collins from Macedon, Ben Sullivan, Danny Harrison and Phil Romeril from Romsey and of course Pauly Newton from the Kangaroos.(These are the guys that have stood out to me at the moment in the comp), unfortunately the one player I would have suggested that everyone kept an eye on in young Joel Plowman from Macedon isn't playing...

gee cobber21 apoligises for the remark didnt realises you were the humour police on this thread.

Lol... Yeah, that's clearly my job!!!!!!!!!!

Does anyone rate the Redbacks?

I've watched a few times and have found them to be exceptional at running the ball when they're on song and frustratingly the look bad when they overuse the bloody thing.

They lost to the Kangas at Romsey by 9 points and kicked horribly for goal, I understand as they say " bad kicking is bad football". They had a convincing 42 point win over Kilmore at JJ Clancy and Kilmore even had 2 more scoring shots. The also won by around the same margin against Diggers at Diggers.

I think perhaps some are under estimating them. Any thoughts?

Does anyone rate the Redbacks?

I've watched a few times and have found them to be exceptional at running the ball when they're on song and frustratingly the look bad when they overuse the bloody thing.

They lost to the Kangas at Romsey by 9 points and kicked horribly for goal, I understand as they say " bad kicking is bad football". They had a convincing 42 point win over Kilmore at JJ Clancy and Kilmore even had 2 more scoring shots. The also won by around the same margin against Diggers at Diggers.

I think perhaps some are under estimating them. Any thoughts?

I don't think anyone under-estimates them, as everyone knows they can beat anyone on their day. They have strong on-ball brigade with Connellan (ruck), Luke Edwards, BJ Nettleback and Matt McLellan.

Throw big blokes such as Morgan and Timmy Cox in there from time to time and its potent.

Up forward, they have some quality big men in Burlak, Morgan and Dawson, but probably lack a Salpietro or Dowling at their feet to snag some crumbing goals.

The backline looks reasonably settled with Keenan, Cox and Brady across half back, and the full back line is tough to score goals agianst with Wazza Kairns, McCarthy and Baker holding down the ship.

Out wide, Hollywood Wilson and Danny Harrison look to have the wings to themselves and have pace and skill, just lack a little bit of defensive skills at the moment in my opinion.

Romsey will pose a genuine threat come finals time, but I think Sunbury, Riddell and Woodend-Hesket are slightly ahead at the moment. On a big ground in finals though, the Redbacks will be very hard to beat.

I don't think anyone under-estimates them, as everyone knows they can beat anyone on their day. They have strong on-ball brigade with Connellan (ruck), Luke Edwards, BJ Nettleback and Matt McLellan.

Throw big blokes such as Morgan and Timmy Cox in there from time to time and its potent.

Up forward, they have some quality big men in Burlak, Morgan and Dawson, but probably lack a Salpietro or Dowling at their feet to snag some crumbing goals.

The backline looks reasonably settled with Keenan, Cox and Brady across half back, and the full back line is tough to score goals agianst with Wazza Kairns, McCarthy and Baker holding down the ship.

Out wide, Hollywood Wilson and Danny Harrison look to have the wings to themselves and have pace and skill, just lack a little bit of defensive skills at the moment in my opinion.

Romsey will pose a genuine threat come finals time, but I think Sunbury, Riddell and Woodend-Hesket are slightly ahead at the moment. On a big ground in finals though, the Redbacks will be very hard to beat.

that's not a bad effort, matty. i reckon you've named 15 of their strongest 21. :D surely if they've lost a few games, they've got some holes. or are the 6 you didn't name to blame. i wouldn't want to be one of the 6 you didn't name.

Its actually a four-man interchange in this comp DD. :)

Players who have played seniors this year that I didn't mention were: James Moore, Braden Stokes, Robert Keenan, Dan Hartley, AJ Higgins, Ben John, Paul Evans, Brad Cuthbert, Phil Romeril and Ben Sullivan (the last two are Under 18s).

There are probably a couple of others that I forgot too. Apologies :thumbsu:

IMS and TB full forward from Darwin arriving ?? another handy acqusition maybe. I must admit you have picked up some handy players this year. I think the pick is your ruck and rover combination. Bonnici being the pick. Mongrel just starting to get a bit of it age shall not weary. Do you have many youngsters from your juniors playing seniors ? Kangas top spot 2 games clear at the end of the season followed by Woodend,Riddell,Romsey and if Diggers can beat Kilmore (game to decidethe final 5) over there they will get 5th spot percentage might hurt them.

Luke Smith, Matt Welsh, Garth Ploog, Jackson Baddeley, Steve James, Steve Boyd, Nathan Hole, Ash Powell, Joeb Ploog, Leigh Sporle and Daniel Ellery all played junior football with the club.
Damien Niki has been at the club approx 7 years now, Leigh and Mark McInerney came over because of family connection with Dummy as did Danny Miskin. Robbie Ellis came across after moving to Sunbury, James House came over from Uni connections, Helmers from his close friendship with Leigh McInerney and Bonnici from his friendship with Joeb. Jordan Handicott came from friendship with Leighroy, so all players pretty much came to the club through connections or original junior players which is a really good sign for the club.

Dont know much about a FF from Darwin though.. What have you heard there?

Not sure if you're upto date with the RDFL discoduck, they've only lost the 1 game to the Kangas.

You did almost name the whole side though Pickles. :rolleyes:

oh, ok. why did you ask the question then harry? surely if they've only lost the one game, they'd have to be fairly highly rated.

my major question is - is matt nicholls as bad on the footy field as you all make him out to be, or as good on the footy field as he makes himself out to be? :D

Luke Smith, Matt Welsh, Garth Ploog, Jackson Baddeley, Steve James, Steve Boyd, Nathan Hole, Ash Powell, Joeb Ploog, Leigh Sporle and Daniel Ellery all played junior football with the club.
Damien Niki has been at the club approx 7 years now, Leigh and Mark McInerney came over because of family connection with Dummy as did Danny Miskin. Robbie Ellis came across after moving to Sunbury, James House came over from Uni connections, Helmers from his close friendship with Leigh McInerney and Bonnici from his friendship with Joeb. Jordan Handicott came from friendship with Leighroy, so all players pretty much came to the club through connections or original junior players which is a really good sign for the club.

Dont know much about a FF from Darwin though.. What have you heard there?
Good lot of locals that would make it a fairly young average age list then. Should be up there for a few years

One would assume they'd be highly rated however talk around the league is that with a few departures they wouldn't be in contention. Having said that is answer to your question as to why I asked my question, everyone seems to be talking up the Kangas, and rightly so, Woodend Heskett and Kilmore, not to many mentions of Riddle or Romsey.

Don't think too many will be rating Kilmore above Romsey, esp after last week. Kilmore were touted as big improvers, but in the last couple of weeks have shown they are still a fair way off the top teams. As for Riddell I've seen a number of posts this week rating them as still very much the team to beat.

Riddell are the reigning premier and still very much the team to beat, they are a quality football club, no doubt, they have flown under the radar a little this year so far, but are still the one's to beat.

Footy Mad, i'm not meaning to sound this biased but i would like to know how you seem to think that we didn't outplay you!

3 points simple points ill make;

Lead for 80% of the day in what was the worst 3 1/2 quarters of football we have played all year!

13 more scoring shots than woodend! (other day you stated "WE" broke down across half forward) Ok!

Down by 22 points with 8 minutes of football to play and get up and win by 2 goals (Pressure to win in bigs games when up, just still duanting for the Hawks after last years loss)

We are plodding along and when time comes to step up like we did in the last quarter, we will! However you have beaten Riddell @ Home and Diggers @ Home, but yet to put a win on the board against a quality opposition away!

Not saying this is unachievable, i just can't understand how you think, that a side '6' games undefeated 2 wins 'away' against top 5 sides and 2 'home' wins against 1 top 5 side and one win against a out of form top side, is not as good as a side who has yet to produce a 'decent' win!

Thats just my opinion, i rate all top 5 sides @ the minute and Diggers, i also personnaly believe that Lancefield could possibly cause an upset throughout the year and be a late charge!

agree with most of what you say tb although i must point out two things
1 as i said i don't believe either side were playing at there best this could be due to the pressure applied from the opposition
2 i am deffianately a kangas supporter just calling it as i see it

Got to see two games on the weekend the woodend/kangaroos game was good, i think the skill level was down but it was due to the pressure from both sides, kangaroos do look the goods but don't forget Woodend have a couple of handy players to come back. As for Riddell, believe me guys this side is flying under the rader i got to see their 1st half against Diggers and was very impressed they may have lost james and a couple of others but their pick ups and juniors coming through have more than cover the departures.
no 1 and no 49 were very impressive.

Riddell are the reigning premier and still very much the team to beat, they are a quality football club, no doubt, they have flown under the radar a little this year so far, but are still the one's to beat.

Good to see you're are keeping a lid on it at Boardman IMS :) :thumbsu: . Just wondering what the Kangaroos plans are for the future ? As they wanting to compete with the Lions down the track in the same comp i.e. Melton / Melton South in Ballarat FL ? Or are they just want to consolidate long term in the RDFL ? As with the current list of guys aged 20 - 22 years of age you guys can expect a sustained successful period if Jarrod can manage to hold onto most of the guys.

Sloth out.

Good to see you're are keeping a lid on it at Boardman IMS :) :thumbsu: . Just wondering what the Kangaroos plans are for the future ? As they wanting to compete with the Lions down the track in the same comp i.e. Melton / Melton South in Ballarat FL ? Or are they just want to consolidate long term in the RDFL ? As with the current list of guys aged 20 - 22 years of age you guys can expect a sustained successful period if Jarrod can manage to hold onto most of the guys.

Sloth out.
hey IMS gotta love a team that has never won a grand final win six games and all of a sudden they are going to replace carlton in the AFL
FM2 out

Arrrrrr c'mon mate, now there really is no need for you to be diverting attention away from the mighty Kangas & the fact that they must now be regarded as rageing flag favorites !

You lot are "walking the walk" so time to start "talking the talk".

Arrrrrr c'mon mate, now there really is no need for you to be diverting attention away from the mighty Kangas & the fact that they must now be regarded as rageing flag favorites !

You lot are "walking the walk" so time to start "talking the talk".

we will leave the arrogance and cockyness to the other 2 clubs in sunbury, were happy just doin what were doin.

hey IMS gotta love a team that has never won a grand final win six games and all of a sudden they are going to replace carlton in the AFL
FM2 out
Strike me Sloth. Kangas have yet to win a flag (I'm pretty sure) in the RDFL, and 2 years ago were still firmly entrenched in the bottom half of the ladder. Might be getting a little ahead of yourself there I'd say.:rolleyes: