RDFL Thread 2007

HaHa, now i know who you are and where your from.

No wonder your so bitter.

Sorry boys, I don't want to come across as a grown up. But I think its time we put this little feud to bed. Gisborne are a good team, score is on the board. Gisborne piss off a lot of people, score is on the board. 1 all draw. Lets move on.

My mid-season top 30

AFTER seven rounds in the RDFL senior competition, I list my best 30 players at this stage of the season, comparing them from my pre-season Top 30.

1. Daniel Bonnici (Sunbury Kangaroos) – NEW.
2. Matt Robertson (Kilmore) – Up 1 position.
3. Mark McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos) – Up 3.
4. Michael Allen (Riddell) – Up 8.
5. Brydon Morgan (Romsey) – Up 12.
6. Cole Laurie (Diggers Rest) – Down 1.
7. Linton Kemp (Kilmore) – Up 8.
8. Steve James (Sunbury Kangaroos) – NEW.
9. Jason Allen (Riddell) – Up 1.
10. Matt McLellan (Romsey) – Up 18.
11. Leigh McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos) – Up 2.
12. Justin Belleville (Riddell) – Up 8.
13. Matt Stacey (Woodend-Hesket) – NEW.
14. Shaun Sims (Diggers Rest) – Down 12.
15. Garth Ploog (Sunbury Kangaroos) – Up 1.
16. Adam Johnstone (Woodend-Hesket) – Up 13.
17. Warren Else (Woodend-Hesket) – Up 7.
18. Chris Collins (Lancefield) – Down 14.
19. Ryan Connellan (Romsey) – Down 11.
20. Jeremy Jose (Diggers Rest) – Down 11.
21. Daniel Salpietro (Woodend-Hesket) – NEW.
22. David Cornish (Kilmore) – NEW.
23. Rick Dowling (Woodend-Hesket) – NEW.
24. Ben Nettlebeck (Romsey) – NEW.
25. Bobby Johnson (Sunbury Kangaroos) – Unchanged.
26. Leigh Coles (Riddell) – Down 4.
27. Simon Choate (Lancefield) – Down 9.
28. Brian Wheelahan (Melton Central) – NEW.
29. Luke Walker (Rockbank) – NEW.
30. Luke Edwards (Romsey) – Down 16.

WHO’S NEW
Daniel Bonnici – Averaging around 30 disposals a match and is the Kangaroos’ key ingredient in the midfield.
Steve James – Sunbury Kangaroos are on top because of James’ presence in the ruck.
Matt Stacey – Will be leading Woodend-Hesket’s best and fairest at this stage, is dominating in the ruck and around the ground.
Daniel Salpietro – Kicking goals and finding plenty of the ball for the Hawks.
Rick Dowling – Should have been in the pre-season Top 30, all class in the forward pocket.
Ben Nettlebeck – The former Riddell midfield has battled injury this season, but has proved his class for the Redbacks.
Brian Wheelahan – The key performer every week for Melton Central. Needs more support.
Luke Walker – Continues to give the opposition headaches, despite playing in a poorly performed side.

WHO’S MISSING
Notable exclusions from my pre-season Top 30 are:
Daniel Sipthorp (Woodend-Hesket) – Yet to play due to injury.
Steve Burlak (Romsey) - Injured and poor form.
Kar Weng Ng (Woodend-Hesket) – Been overseas.
Steve Ruane (Diggers Rest) – Isn’t having the greatest of years since winning the Bowen Medal.
Chris Payne (Diggers Rest) – Has been banished to the reserves.
Matt Senyschyn (Kilmore) – Shoulder injury.
Dean Helmers (Sunbury Kangaroos) – Starting to find his fitness, expect him to be in my end of season Top 30.
Chris Kakoschke (Lancefield) – Hasn’t delivered on his practice match form. Still been a good contributor for the Tigers though.
Sam Bowen (Woodend-Hesket) – Struggled for consistency.

My pre-season Top 30

1. Daniel Sipthorp (Woodend-Hesket)
2. Shaun Sims (Diggers Rest)
3. Matt Robertson (Kilmore)
4. Chris Collins (Lancefield)
5. Cole Laurie (Diggers Rest)
6. Mark McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos)
7. Steve Burlak (Romsey)
8. Ryan Connellan (Romsey)
9. Jeremy Jose (Diggers Rest)
10. Jason Allen (Riddell)
11. Kar Weng Ng (Woodend-Hesket)
12. Michael Allen (Riddell)
13. Leigh McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos)
14. Luke Edwards (Romsey)
15. Linton Kemp (Kilmore)
16. Garth Ploog (Sunbury Kangaroos)
17. Brydon Morgan (Romsey)
18. Simon Choate (Lancefield)
19. Steve Ruane (Diggers Rest)
20. Justin Bellville (Riddell)
21. Chris Payne (Diggers Rest)
22. Leigh Coles (Riddell)
23. Matt Senyschyn (Kilmore)
24. Warren Else (Woodend-Hesket)
25. Bobby Johnson (Sunbury Kangaroos)
26. Chris Kakoschke (Lancefield)
27. Dean Helmers (Sunbury Kangaroos)
28. Matt McLellan (Romsey)
29. Adam Johnstone (Woodend-Hesket)
30. Sam Bowen (Woodend-Hesket)

Roger Merrett was the first bloke reported for time wasting. Is there such an offence on this forum? What number do you wear pickles? Your going in the book!

Sorry boys, I don't want to come across as a grown up. But I think its time we put this little feud to bed. Gisborne are a good team, score is on the board. Gisborne piss off a lot of people, score is on the board. 1 all draw. Lets move on.
Yeah sorry boys, i just couldnt help myself once i found out who he was.

To be fair only 5 of last weeks side played any senior footy last season and I think mosts sides would have a similar amount. Woodend has had some big names in the reserves as have Riddell yet they are not undefeated.

hey there dasher, so who are the big names for woodend and riddell to come back into the seniors???

I have been involved in the Rdfl 4 about 25yrs .Went to Hawks V Sydney on saturday ,and could not believe the standard of umpiring.I was a Nuetral supporter,But it was very ordinary.
No wonder country & Metropolitan footy is doing so well.:eek::eek::eek::eek:

Anyone got any idea on the venues for the finals this year??

Considering its the outstanding teams of that year playing at the business end of the year, shouldn't we make use of the the best resources (grounds) the league has to offer.

Many moons ago i played in a league that drew clubs out of a hat to "host" the finals at the best grounds in the league. The gate, as always during any finals series, went to the the league and everything else went to the nominated club. This ensured that the best teams of the league got to battle it out on one of the better grounds in the league, as well as looked after the struggling clubs financially.

Just throwing it out for RDFL's unofficial "brainstrust" for their considered consideration.

1st option always

Anyone got any idea on the venues for the finals this year??

Considering its the outstanding teams of that year playing at the business end of the year, shouldn't we make use of the the best resources (grounds) the league has to offer.

Many moons ago i played in a league that drew clubs out of a hat to "host" the finals at the best grounds in the league. The gate, as always during any finals series, went to the the league and everything else went to the nominated club. This ensured that the best teams of the league got to battle it out on one of the better grounds in the league, as well as looked after the struggling clubs financially.

Just throwing it out for RDFL's unofficial "brainstrust" for their considered consideration.

1st option always
Isn't this how the RDFL has done it for years now?

Seems to be who ever want's to host a final tends to get a go.

I agree with HawkaT and the best grounds should host as many finals as deemed necessary possibly Macedon/Lancefield week 1 Romsey/? week 2 Macedon/Romsey (best surface) week 3 Lancefield G/F.

The junior finals have other clubs running finals at other grounds.

Seems to be who ever want's to host a final tends to get a go.

I agree with HawkaT and the best grounds should host as many finals as deemed necessary possibly Macedon/Lancefield week 1 Romsey/? week 2 Macedon/Romsey (best surface) week 3 Lancefield G/F.

The junior finals have other clubs running finals at other grounds.

What about Kilmore's ground?

For mine, when all the grounds are up and running I would have it this way.

Week 1 - Kilmore, Riddell
Week 2 - Romsey, Lancefield
Week 3 - Macedon
Week 4 - Lancefield

I don't believe Lancefield should get the GF each year, but no other club has what the Tigers do to host it.

Car parking, change rooms, reasonable exterior fencing, pavilion, undercover area (this year will be the first), ground quality and size etc.

Romsey could do it if they had better visitors rooms and better fencing etc.

The RDFL's ground will be ready next year so the makeup of finals will probably look like this.

Week 1 - RDFL, RDFL
Week 2 - RDFL, RDFL
Week 3 - RDFL
Week 4 - RDFL

Although I have been told from the GM that this hasn't been planned. I can see it happening. Similar to the Bendigo FL and the QEO.

For mine, when all the grounds are up and running I would have it this way.

Week 1 - Kilmore, Riddell
Week 2 - Romsey, Lancefield
Week 3 - Macedon
Week 4 - Lancefield

I don't believe Lancefield should get the GF each year, but no other club has what the Tigers do to host it.

Car parking, change rooms, reasonable exterior fencing, pavilion, undercover area (this year will be the first), ground quality and size etc.

Romsey could do it if they had better visitors rooms and better fencing etc.

The RDFL's ground will be ready next year so the makeup of finals will probably look like this.

Week 1 - RDFL, RDFL
Week 2 - RDFL, RDFL
Week 3 - RDFL
Week 4 - RDFL

Although I have been told from the GM that this hasn't been planned. I can see it happening. Similar to the Bendigo FL and the QEO.

am i the only one that has not heard of this. where is it going to be and what or who is going to use it.

Through the Melton Shire Council, the RDFL will take over the second oval at Diggers Rest.

It's likely the umpires will be based there and that home interleague games will be played there.

It has recycled water access so if we have a repeat of this season then sides like Rockbank, Riddell and Sunbury Kangaroos could play home games there early in the season.

It's likely that the league would also use the ground for a couple of RDFL night matches too.

I was speaking to Dale Keenan from Kilmore, and he has decided to return back to Wallan.

Interesting.. Isn't he in the Rep Squad????

I was speaking to Dale Keenan from Kilmore, and he has decided to return back to Wallan.

No doubt disappointing for the Blues but some good news for the folk at Greenhill Reserve finally. At least he will some recent RDFL insight for when you's return to the league!!!

There has been no official talk of us returning to the league yet.

Wasn't being smart but just share an interest in all local clubs and reckon for the Wallan Footy Club to get up off it's knee's then the RDFL is the best option.

I know going back a few years for a brief moment there was talk about the future of the RDFL, I could be wrong but Wallan took right option of the time when it looked like 7-8 fellow clubs may have needed new homes and jumped into the DVFL.

To it's credit the RDFL has pulled up it's socks and is back on track both on and off the park and Wallan's re-inclusion can only be a massive plus in my opinion.

Tell me to bugger off mate, as I said my opinion only and for the sake of a few mates I have at Greenhill I just wanna see the Maggies competitive.

Wasn't being smart but just share an interest in all local clubs and reckon for the Wallan Footy Club to get up off it's knee's then the RDFL is the best option.

I know going back a few years for a brief moment there was talk about the future of the RDFL, I could be wrong but Wallan took right option of the time when it looked like 7-8 fellow clubs may have needed new homes and jumped into the DVFL.

To it's credit the RDFL has pulled up it's socks and is back on track both on and off the park and Wallan's re-inclusion can only be a massive plus in my opinion.

Tell me to bugger off mate, as I said my opinion only and for the sake of a few mates I have at Greenhill I just wanna see the Maggies competitive.

Wallan was a good passionate club with rich R.D.F.L. history, should be welcomed back, IMO.

Through the Melton Shire Council, the RDFL will take over the second oval at Diggers Rest.

It's likely the umpires will be based there and that home interleague games will be played there.

It has recycled water access so if we have a repeat of this season then sides like Rockbank, Riddell and Sunbury Kangaroos could play home games there early in the season.

It's likely that the league would also use the ground for a couple of RDFL night matches too.

The ground i dont believe would be big enough to host rdfl finals.
As for night matches, where would the league find an extra $100k to put up lighting that is at a standard to play night football under.
As for a back up ground, for the roos hopefully this year will never repeat itself, recycled water should be hooked up to boardman this september.

Wallan was a good passionate club with rich R.D.F.L. history, should be welcomed back, IMO.

I'm sure any additional teams to the RDFL would be welcomed back, it would only strengthen a league that is already getting stronger.
I'm sure the league wouldn't be able to approach any clubs in a position of a possible move, the clubs must approach the RDFL, but affiliation fees are a hell of alot cheaper than DVFL, EDFL & WRFL. that would have to make it attractive.