RDFL Thread 2007

I'd just like to say how much I enjoyed the day at Boardman on Saturday. Freezing cold, but the way I was welcomed by all after the game even though I was in the oppositions colours was great. Good to see that once the siren goes we're all mates filling in a Saturday. Thanks guys:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Indeed mate.. Good day and night... :thumbsu:

No mate.. They truly are... That is a huge result from the Bombers.. They are clearly still the side to beat in 07. :thumbsu:

Are we getting ahead of ourselves here lads! Riddell BY FAR the best team at the moment, Riddell WILL WIN their third successive flag-this after a win against a side that perhaps, just perhaps has been overrated in Romsey. Lets gain a little perspective Matt and IMO-Woodend beat Riddell with all Riddell’s stars in and are still not at full strength with Disco Martin, Dale Cunik, Paul Podbury, Darko all not playing on the weekend and Ng and Sippy just starting the season (and should be fresh for the second half of the season) the hawks may be not THAT FAR behind. In regards to Sunbury they knocked off Woodend at Sunbury's ground in a great game and they too probably wouldn't be all THAT FAR behind. Granted Riddell has finals experience, but the way a team is coached, cattle on the park and the least amount of injuries come September has more of a bearing to a teams success come finals time than experience in my humble opinion. Sunbury to beat Riddell this week and close that enormous gap between top and the rest!

Are we getting ahead of ourselves here lads! Riddell BY FAR the best team at the moment after a win against a side that perhaps, just perhaps has been overrated in Romsey. Lets gain a little perspective Matt and IMO-Woodend beat Riddell with all Riddell’s stars in and are still not at full strength with Disco Martin, Dale Cunik, Paul Podbury, Darko all not playing on the weekend and Ng and Sippy just starting the season (and should be fresh for the second half of the season) the hawks may be not THAT FAR behind. In regards to Sunbury they knocked off Woodend at Sunbury's ground in a great game and they too probably wouldn't be all THAT FAR behind. Granted Riddell has finals experience, but the way a team is coached, cattle on the park and lthe east amount of injuries come September has more of a bearing to a teams success come finals time than experience in my humble opinion. Sunbury to beat Riddell this week and close that enormous gap between top and the rest!

How many times have Woodend-Hesket been beaten at Gilbert Gordon in the last three seasons? About four times I reckon. Now I have a lot of respect for all of the top-five sides, I just think Riddell will win the flag. They have a range of goal kicking options, have good key position players and have a strong defence. Perhaps their midfield isn't as classy as the Roos' and Hawks' but they are tough at it and rarely let the opposition get an uncontested ball.

The one feature of finals that I like is that games are played on big grounds generally. The granny will be at Lancefield again this year, the prelim most likely at Macedon and the others at Kilmore, Riddell and Romsey.

Now I believe the Roos will benefit from the open spaces, but perhaps the Hawks will struggle. While I appreciate the wealth of class and talent and experience in Woodend-Hesket's side, I think they lack one key ingredient - a gun forward to kick to.

Jimmy Forrest kicked six on the weekend and could fill those boots, but I'm concerned about his consistency. Dowling and Salpy have been great in the pockets and up on the flank but they are not blokes that will take a lot of contested marks.

Not many defences in this comp can contain the likes of Allen, Besanko, Wadden, Harrison etc.

Now, I have been wrong before, many times in fact, but I will still put my balls on the line and make a call before the biggest and arguably the most crucial round of the season.

How bout you do the same and just tip the Hawks to beat whoever by 95 points in the granny!

Anything can happen between now and finals, i would say that Riddell are favourites, but you never know what is going to happen to teams, injuries, form, etc can play a big part in bringing down sides! i think the final 5 will be Riddell, Sunbury, Woodend, Romsey n Kilmore.
With Diggers to miss out by 3 games, there slow start to season the killer!

Woodend, Kangaroos, Riddell can all beat each other on any given day they will finish top three in any order you wish to guess, Each of these sides has the potential to blow most sides out of the water. Woodend hasnt hit there straps yet players back in still need to get some touch, Kangaroos the inform side at the moment and a tall and skilful side- wet weather might worry them but September good weather good advantage, Riddell good onballers with good delivery the team does nt waste too many posessions all around the ground. Would be very surprised to see any other sides beat these three for the rest of the year other than each other. The winning side will be the one that lifts to the next level in september. Will it be the Hawks, the Roos or the Bombers interesting final series coming up.

IS S Tresize going to be factor come September for the Bombers ?

Not trying to stir the pot but may worry some clubs.

Scotty played well on the weekend, but I don't know if there is room for him when Riddell is at full strength.

Five goals was his biggest haul of the year, and he has spent most of it in the reserves.

Is a handy top up player though, and has 10 more games to secure a position!

I for one think its pretty early for bold predictions as to who will win the big one and by how much. There is still along way to go and anything can happen. It doesn't take much, an injury to 2 or 3 good players, to put a side under the pump and to rule out a side that is undefeated at this point is plain stupidity. No offence pickles but if the cap fits. Looks to me that any side in the top 4 are a good chance with the likely winner coming from sunbury, riddell or woodend. Long way to go though. What ever happened to taking it one week at a time?

Just spicing things up fellas. Its my job after all, not only to report, but to create discussion and make comments. Sport is all about opinions.

If Sunbury Kangaroos lose this week it puts three sides 8-1 at the turn. Also, I never said the Roos or Hawks were out of contention, just said that Riddell will win IMO.

Spot on there crookknee. As has been stated, any of these teams can beat each other on a given day. I for one won't be making any bold predictions until September coz having the strongest list won't cut it then. It will be all about which 22 take the park on the day.

I will say that it appears to be a race in three atm, and it is great that the league is sparking so much debate. It shows we are stronger and more competetive, which in turn attracts the better quality players back to the league.

How many times have Woodend-Hesket been beaten at Gilbert Gordon in the last three seasons? About four times I reckon. Now I have a lot of respect for all of the top-five sides, I just think Riddell will win the flag. They have a range of goal kicking options, have good key position players and have a strong defence. Perhaps their midfield isn't as classy as the Roos' and Hawks' but they are tough at it and rarely let the opposition get an uncontested ball.

The one feature of finals that I like is that games are played on big grounds generally. The granny will be at Lancefield again this year, the prelim most likely at Macedon and the others at Kilmore, Riddell and Romsey.

Now I believe the Roos will benefit from the open spaces, but perhaps the Hawks will struggle. While I appreciate the wealth of class and talent and experience in Woodend-Hesket's side, I think they lack one key ingredient - a gun forward to kick to.

Jimmy Forrest kicked six on the weekend and could fill those boots, but I'm concerned about his consistency. Dowling and Salpy have been great in the pockets and up on the flank but they are not blokes that will take a lot of contested marks.

Not many defences in this comp can contain the likes of Allen, Besanko, Wadden, Harrison etc.

Now, I have been wrong before, many times in fact, but I will still put my balls on the line and make a call before the biggest and arguably the most crucial round of the season.

How bout you do the same and just tip the Hawks to beat whoever by 95 points in the granny!

I'm a little confused Matt-Based on your criteria the team that has a good focal point will be favourite to the flag-This is something that Riddell clearly no longer has. All those players you mentioned (Riddells forwardline) were well held when they played the hawks in a pretty quick game that provided plenty of space if they wanted to run to it. I'm not going to say Woodend will win the granny by 95 points because i dont want to come out with outlandish comments for the sake of it, particuarlywhen i dont think its true. My point was i disagree that at this stage Riddell are montys based on what we've seen so far. Furthermore Woodend and Sunbury have proven that they will be worthy contenders and are not nearly as far behind as you've been expressing. In fact they might even be in front of Riddell in relation to what they've achieved thus far and scope for improvement. Can you concede Matt that Riddell is not the side of the last two years. I'll stick to Sunbury beating them this week. For the record i believe the team that can spread their goals and be a little unpredictable will win the flag this year-i dont believe Riddell fits into this mould. Matt i also believe Sippy and cunnik might be two good options to take the odd mark up on the flanks. Respect your opinon Matt but just think your way off the mark with this one-but not as far off as predicitng Woodend to miss the finals.;)

Fair point woody, I would love to see the Roos or Hawks win it. Both very good sides and have an array of super blokes amongst them. Me and the Riddell boys don't really have much to do with one another.
I will also agree that Riddell are not the same side as the past two-three seasons. But I work for a newspaper and I decided to write that article this week instead of next because I didn't want people judging me of jumping on the bandwagon if Riddell won.
Needless to say, the result in this game won't affect the grand final result too much ... but you know that both sides and the Hawks will be desperate to finish first this year as it almost guarantees a grand final berth.

Fair point woody, I would love to see the Roos or Hawks win it. Both very good sides and have an array of super blokes amongst them. Me and the Riddell boys don't really have much to do with one another.
I will also agree that Riddell are not the same side as the past two-three seasons. But I work for a newspaper and I decided to write that article this week instead of next because I didn't want people judging me of jumping on the bandwagon if Riddell won.
Needless to say, the result in this game won't affect the grand final result too much ... but you know that both sides and the Hawks will be desperate to finish first this year as it almost guarantees a grand final berth.

Great discussion topic-keep up the great support and passion for our league. Be great to see a few more journalists get on board instead of following that poor excuse of a team called Kyneton! Sorry IMO-had to get that one in!

Haha. Great call about Kyneton, would love to see them get beaten by North City this weekend (sorry no BFL talk on here IMS). Although Jamie from the Express is a good mate of mine and I think she would love to do more RDFL stuff but gets no support from the people above her.

Next discussion, most improved players this season. Qualification: must have played senior footy last season in the RDFL.

I'll start by nominating young Nathan Milner from Lancefield and Danny Harrison from Romsey.

Interesting stat - number of players used this year

Woodend 35
Kangaroos 26
Riddell 36
Romsey 31

Could be used either way for Mr Nicholls Case......

Interesting stat - number of players used this year

Woodend 35
Kangaroos 26
Riddell 36
Romsey 31

Could be used either way for Mr Nicholls Case......

Well I think those numbers are positive for all clubs involved.

Roos: Have kept same playing group together all season.
The only negative is that they haven't had any injuries to deal with. Although thats good for Dixon, odds suggest they'll get them at some stage.

Hawks: Have won most games without their best 22 on the park, appear to be getting close to full strength within 3-4 weeks.

Redbacks: Have given some young blokes and chance and been able to reward good reserves form. The two coaches know their best 22 though.

Bombers: Have proven that they can win games without their best 22, and have given some young blokes a go as well as reward reserves form.

Riddell truly are the best side in the competition... To smash Romsey without Bomber and the Allen brothers is a huge effort.. Would expect that the Allen brothers will return this week too to just strengthen an already awesome unit... :eek:

:eek: - Are you using this face because I said it was my favourite?
So many pretty faces to pick from as well. Very creative IMS.

Are you able to let me know who moderates the moderators?

:eek: - Are you using this face because I said it was my favourite?
So many pretty faces to pick from as well. Very creative IMS.

Are you able to let me know who moderates the moderators?
Safe to say that not everything written on here is about you KA. Get over it.:thumbsdown:

If you paid any attention to what was going on the :eek: smilie was clearly in reference to the fact the the Kangas are facing their toughest challenge this week against a side that is only getting stronger.

Well I think those numbers are positive for all clubs involved.

Roos: Have kept same playing group together all season.
The only negative is that they haven't had any injuries to deal with. Although thats good for Dixon, odds suggest they'll get them at some stage.

Hawks: Have won most games without their best 22 on the park, appear to be getting close to full strength within 3-4 weeks.

Redbacks: Have given some young blokes and chance and been able to reward good reserves form. The two coaches know their best 22 though.

Bombers: Have proven that they can win games without their best 22, and have given some young blokes a go as well as reward reserves form.

Are going to just the one game this week Matt or will get around to a couple?

Next discussion, most improved players this season. Qualification: must have played senior footy last season in the RDFL.

I'll start by nominating young Nathan Milner from Lancefield and Danny Harrison from Romsey.

Matt Welsh - Kangaroos
Dan Reilly - Diggers Rest

Are going to just the one game this week Matt or will get around to a couple?

As a huge RDFL fan I'd love to sit and watch the four quarters of Riddell v Sunbury Kangaroos. But I'm sure I'll be expected to drop in at Woodend-Hesket v Romsey and Lancefield v Diggers Rest (unless anyone can supply some good photos for me :confused:).

Haha. Great call about Kyneton, would love to see them get beaten by North City this weekend (sorry no BFL talk on here IMS). Although Jamie from the Express is a good mate of mine and I think she would love to do more RDFL stuff but gets no support from the people above her.

Could'nt agree more about Harrison that kid is a ball magnet & a fearless one at that.

Others on the improve I've seen,

Al Collins - Macedon
Ben Shippard - Woodend
Mat Krul - Rockbank
Murry McDougall - Riddell